Free Space Intent

Free Space Intent

No. 8 Ubi Road 2, Zervex #02-07, Singapore 408538

Lee Kah Heng
FSI (Irvin Mun) designed and built our dream home.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Lee Kah Heng・Submitted 17 Dec 2019・Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Irvin Mun

It is almost a year since we took over our lovely renovated home designed and renovated by FSI (Free Space Intent), Irvin Mun. I held onto the review for so long as I wanted to gauge the quality of after-sales services and workmanship quality. Now, I truly believe Irvin deserved an honest review from us. The renovation was for our matrimonial home. A resale condo we bought in 2018. Our concept was tropical colonial or Balinese styled resort home. Open and in touch with nature. No permanent fixtures as we will re-arrange the furniture when family member increases. A place where we can wind down and relax. We almost awarded our renovation contract to another ID firm before we met FSI. We found FSI through magazines. FSI was the 8th ID firm we met. I was reluctant to call FSI as we were really damn tired after meeting so many ID firms. Luckily we did. It was the best decision we made throughout our “ID hunting” journey. We called FSI to make an appointment and Irvin served us. Over the phone, we gave her an idea of the concept we wanted, emailed her our requirements, floor plan, time line and budget. We scheduled the meeting on the following evening after my work. On our first meeting, Irvin impressed us by her preparation. Irvin was the only ID that has the conceptual design ready during the first meeting. Despite only a day notice, Irvin has already prepared some conceptual design layouts and drawings, material samples and a budgetary full cost breakdown offer to us. The design she proposed was interesting and was along the concept we wanted. Irvin was able to fully understand, conceptualize, verbalize and visualize the concept we wanted. Although the design is not quite there yet, at least she understood what we were looking for and she is willing to listen to our feedback to make changes. Out of all the 8 ID firms, Irvin was the only ID that can bring out the design we wanted. The rest of the other firms were trying too hard to impose their ideas (Scandi, industrial, muji, retro etc) and knocking off walls that were totally out for us. If FSI was the first ID firm we met, we would have a lot of time. FSI is located at Ubi Ave 2. The office is well connected by bus and MRT. There are food courts around the area. You won't go hungry after the meetings. Of course, we did not sign the contract on the spot. There were several meetings to fine-tune the requirements, site visits to her projects to check on workmanship quality and site visit to my place. The site visit to my place was like a competitive event; we have 2 ID firms from our initial list plus Irvin (FSI) all presented at the same time. This event was mainly for me to gauge which ID firm has the best design know how, technical knowledge and an eye for details. Irvin was impressive. She was open and confident to share about her ideas and concepts to us in front of her competitors. Both the other firms were not able to see what she was seeing during the site visit. They eventually copied her ideas and proposed them to me after the visit. With the confidence of good reviews, good quality workmanship from inspecting her projects and an ID who understand what we wanted, we awarded our renovation contract to Irvin. FSI’s offer was not the highest or the lowest of all the offers. We knew we had a fair offer and the confidence of getting what we wanted. Working with Irvin is (still is) a wonderful journey and stress free. We spent the next 4 weeks meeting almost every week for design reviews, changes, materials and color selection. We enjoyed the design reviews a lot. Irvin did not prepare just one design. We had several designs to choose and mix around. We found her designs were very authentic and unique. Not copied from somewhere else. She really pushed the design to show the full potential of our home. Irvin also advised us on the dimensions and color shade for our teak wood furniture, placement of furniture, what kind and size of paintings and decorations to use. I think the design term for this is called “Compositional flow, rhythm and harmony”. If you are hungry during the design reviews, get her to order the Chili Noodles delivery. The noodles are delicious. Irvin was in controlled of everything, what to do, when to do and when to end. She knows what we wanted. I am a micro-manage person, but with Irvin, I will just leave everything to her. The trust is there. Irvin has the knowledge beyond our expectation. Irvin proposed several changes in our requirement to make them more practical and outstanding. Examples are, 1) No false ceiling for the living room to make the space much bigger and with a rustic wow look. At the same time also saving me some money. 2) Knocking off a useless beam in the master bathroom to make the space brighter and spacious. Definitely, there were requests from us to make changes along the way. The biggest change was raising the false ceiling in both bedrooms up by another 1.5 meters. We discovered we have a high roof space. It was a technical challenge considering various aspects. For example, electrical wiring, air con piping, mood lighting design and overall safety. Irvin did it. The original agreed design for the master shower area was 3 pieces of 2.4(H) by 1(W) meters glass sliding doors. After discovering that we can moved the bathroom ceiling to 3.2 meters, my wife insisted to change it to 3 pieces of 3(H) by 1(W) meters. Once my wife insisted, no U-Turn. My wife is not into physics. She expects Irvin to do magic. In other to convince my wife, Irvin got a 3(H) by 1(W) meter of ply wood board from the work site to test whether it can carried via the stairwell or the lift. Luckily Irvin did, it was just too big for the stairwell and the lift. Having proved this, my wife changed to the maximum allowable dimension of 2.9(H) by 1(W) meters, which was just nice to be carried into the lift. One main concern for most people is the shops that your ID bring you to shop for bathroom accessories, water closet, kitchen accessories, tiles etc. Will we be introduce to some shops that are selling at higher price so that the ID can earn from it? Do not worry. I did a market research. The shops that Irvin recommends are good at their prices and services. In fact, I stubbornly insisted to purchase my water closets from my own source. In which later, I found out that my source was more expensive than Irvin’s recommendation. Damn. To make thing worst, my own supplier failed me on the delivery and caused a delay on the renovation. Double damn. For our teak wood furniture, we already have identified a shop. Irvin was there to help us on the design, size and wood shade selection. Anything that is too high, too short, too big, too small, too dark or too light will spoil the compositional flow, rhythm and harmony of the design. I think Irvin was pretty happy throughout the shopping process as she was the person to say yes and I’m the person to make the payment. Our renovation completed in Jan 2019. It is almost 11 months since the handover. Some minor defects were rectified. We caused these when we moved in. No major defects. Quality and workmanship was at its best. There are many outstanding qualities about Irvin; authentic design, eye for details, will not say yes or no until proven if it is possible. The most outstanding quality is her approach on safety. No shortcuts or compromise on quality, always safety first for the workers and us. Her team of subcontracts were outstanding and professional workers (carpentry, electrical work, masonry, and plumbing). It was a joy to watch them working together as a team. An area she can improve is to have a longer list of air con installers so that we can benchmark their prices. We did not select the air con installer from her list. We found our own installer. Irvin was able to work with them seamlessly on the timeline of the air con installation. We busted our budget by about 10%. We discovered our unit has a high ceiling when we removed the false ceiling. We have a very high space between the false ceiling and the building ceiling. We pushed our false ceiling height from 3 meters to 4.5 meters. This contributed a significant increase on our spending. The renovation completed 2 weeks ahead of schedule despite making several major changes. Just nice for a Chinese New Year 2019 celebration at our new resort home. My wife and I are willing to use our place as Irvin’s reference project. We welcome her customers to visit our place for a reference showcase. This is a way we can show our gratitude to her efforts for making our dream home.

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Free Space Intent
Established in 1999, Free Space Intent (FSI) is a full-service residential and commercial interior design firm. With 2 decades of experience under our belt, we have worked with a large variety of private and corporate clients, creating a wide range of residential spaces, bars/lounges, restaurants, retail outlets, and office spaces. Our aim is to provide distinctive, customized interiors while remaining sensitive to every client’s budget and time constraints. The purest form of beauty lies in the raw basics. Free Space Intent (FSI) espouses designs that speak of timeless elegance, defined grace and modern functionality. This down-to-earth approach is clearly marked by clean lines, muted shades and clever space planning to suit the cosmopolitan lifestyles. Celebrating the notion of going back to the bare essentials, FSI creates urban retreats that soothe the senses and rejuvenate the tired soul. Always an active hub of fresh designs, FSI plays along boundaries that are untouched by many, creating homes with a strong presence and personality.
Read More
View all 81 projects ›

Rating

4.8
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.9 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.9 / 5
Design4.8 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB7S$ 71,166.67S$ 99,160.00
3-Room1S$ 55,500.00-
4-Room1S$ 90,000.00-
5-Room5S$ 68,000.00S$ 99,160.00
Condo5S$ 74,666.67S$ 75,000.00
1 Bedroom1S$ 60,000.00-
3 Bedrooms1-S$ 75,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Kelvin Koh Tong Weng
Great designs and professional service

Reviewed by Kelvin Koh Tong Weng・Submitted 15 Feb 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Raymond and Jacqueline

We decided to hire FSI for phase 1 of our renovation project: 3D design as we felt they had the design chops to get what we wanted and bring our vision of the design to life. We wanted a light pastel themed for the living room with the kitchen having a simple white design cabinets and toilets having feature walls with matching side and floor tiles. It was a great experience from pre-design to actually getting the 3D design out as their experience, professionalism and skills are of high quality. We eventually did not hire them for the execution as the quote was out of our budget but decided to still execute the well designed 3D anyway. Will highly recommend them to anyone who is keen to have awesome designs for your future place.

Read More
D
Dream Team Companions for Renovation Journey
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Denise・Submitted 14 Feb 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Raymond Seow & Carlos Sim

All the accolades you have read of FSI, I can personally vouch they truly deserve. At risk of repeating what others have already said many times over, I would however like to share what makes FSI really stand out in this crowded industry for me: ⭐️Frank, sensible & practical advice/approach (that does not shy away from hard truths, even before you engage them) ~ Credit must go to The Boss ie. Raymond Seow; while other IDs whom I met gave me quotations based on my indicative budget, Raymond was the only one who questioned the feasibility of doing so without having gone through the design details. ~ Other IDs expected a 10% down payment upfront based on their quotation (which can come up to tens of thousands for a big project) but FSI’s approach is to charge a design fee first & then come up with more accurate costing once the design is more or less done. Their take is that if their costing is not acceptable to you eventually, you are welcomed to take their designs/drawings and engage your own contractor to implement them. This gives you an opportunity to assess how well you can work with the ID and a ‘Get-Out-of-Jail-Free’ card (since you are not locked in by the hefty 10% down payment) if things don’t work out between you and the ID ultimately (which thankfully, I didn’t have to use). ~ While my renovation budget tended to be more design-centric, Raymond never failed to give cost-saving advice. Normally, based on what I know of others’ experience, it is the ID’s over-indulgent flights of fancy which the client must rein in so as to manage the budget. Whereas it is rare for an ID to counsel the client to save money. Being that rare ID, Raymond has demonstrated that his heart is in the right place when it comes to his clients’ interests. ⭐️Superb service (before, during & after) ~ Prior to engaging FSI, I’d met up with several IDs at my place and shared specific requirements for my renovation which included revising the layout of certain areas. Amongst the first proposals that were presented to me thereafter, FSI was the only one that faithfully “stuck to the script” – the rest presented versions that seemed ‘tone-deaf’ or perhaps, were aimed at helpfully expanding my design imagination (which did not help me since I was a client who knew exactly what I wanted). Raymond never tried to impose his design preferences on me but did his best to put himself in my shoes & see things from my perspective. ~FSI was also the only one to come down to my place at the very first meet-up with a team who went straightaway to work in doing measurements and taking photos. This commitment of resources even before there was any talk of potentially engaging them for the project, reflected their dedication to serving their clients. ~ For my project, Raymond had another ID (Carlos Sim) and a Project Manager (Perlinda Too) to assist him. Carlos was the Project’s CPU, meticulously handling the technical details on dimensions and drawings while Perlinda did the heavy lifting to make sure the ‘output’ could/would be in line with the ‘input’. Together, the 3 of them made up my ‘Dream Team’ who would bend over backwards (to the extent of even somersaulting, I reckon) in order to fulfil the many wishes I had for my renovations. They were never fazed when my plans/decisions changed mid-way through the renovation works but always tried their best to accommodate my requirements. They were also game to try out some of my ‘radical’ ideas (like my TV Console) and do things they had never done before (like my ceiling-hung kitchen cabinets). In particular, thanks to Carlos’ brilliant idea and Perlinda’s ingenious execution of works, I managed to get a virtually dust-proof display case. ~ While things did not work out as planned/intended all the time and issues did crop up along the way (which was understandable, given the incredible number of details that an ID has to juggle & my design-as-you-go changes they had to cope with), the FSI Dream Team never failed to swing into action. They were more than willing to re-work the construction in order to right any wrongs or solve problems. A test of great service is not how an ID responds to issues/problems during the renovation but their response after handover and when all payments have already been made. FSI is truly the Gold Standard as they are still going the last mile and extra mile in settling move-in teething issues for my project as well as entertaining my add-on requests. ⭐️Integrity & generosity ~ Right from the start, FSI has always been very open and transparent about their pricing strategy. An ex-ID friend once told me that Variation Orders (VO) are like ‘blood’ to an ID as it brings out the ‘Shark’ in them – that is where they would take advantage of your (by then) helpless situation (since you’ve already put your hands & feet in the water) and extract as much financial compensation as possible for the changes. If such is common in the industry, I must be lucky as I’ve had countless VOs during the construction phase but never encountered any shark at FSI. On the contrary, I even had the benefit of some charges waived for my change requests. Mine was a very extensive renovation journey involving literally gutting and re-building the insides of my 35+ year old apartment, spanning more than 1.5 years from design phase & including the Circuit Breaker hiatus. It has truly been a roller-coaster ride – fun but adrenaline-pumping with its fair share of ups & downs, twists & turns as well as thrills & spills. However, I could not be more fortunate than to have Raymond, Carlos & Perlinda as my Companions on this ride. Even though I do have some regrets on some aspects of the renovation, I can safely say I have absolutely no regrets getting FSI onboard for my project. From Raymond, I have gained wisdom (in seeing things ‘half glass full’); from Carlos, insights (into a whole new world of the renovation industry) and from Perlinda, the most useful knowledge (that Lighter Fluid is an amazing cleaning agent!). Theirs was clearly a labour of love, blood, sweat & tears to transform my apartment into what I wanted and for that, I will forever be in their debt.

Read More
Chua Lee Tiang
Carpentry, Lighting & Painting

Reviewed by Chua Lee Tiang・Submitted 31 Jan 2021・Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Raymond Seow

My sister read about about Free Space Intent in Zaobao. It has been pleasant dialogs with Raymond Seow. He communicates clearly, responds promptly and not only proposes solutions to my requirements but surprises me with practical solutions for day-to-day use like constructing bay windows to enjoy the greeneries outside plus it provides additional storage to keep house neat and tidy; practical suggestion to install metal racks for bamboo poles, old school but practical instead of latest system for drying clothing. After 2 proposals, I mentioned that I like to have my desk by the window as I like a full size desk and natural lighting and Raymond said it is difficult but he surprises me with a 3rd proposal with my desk by the window, full size desk and excellent space for working from home. Work quality is good and the best is, he assigned a PM - Ms. Perlinda to oversee the work. Perlinda is very detailed oriented, experienced, patience, kind, professional, efficient in handling the job on site and I need not be present at all and she keeps me updated. Practical, functional and yet beautiful designs are Raymond's strengths. I wish Free Space Intent have more suppliers to provide the materials like lightings, blinds ...

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Free Space Intent's reviews like?

Based on 107 reviews left for Free Space Intent, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.83. Read homeowners’ reviews of Free Space Intent.

Where is Free Space Intent's showroom?

Free Space Intent has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in North-East and East. See all of Free Space Intent's showroom addresses.

Is Free Space Intent an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Free Space Intent is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Free Space Intent popular among homeowners?

46 homeowners have recently enquired with Free Space Intent for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Free Space Intent.

Is Free Space Intent a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Free Space Intent was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2019 to 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Free Space Intent?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Free Space Intent (in the past year) are S$87,163 for HDB and S$74,750 for Condo.
46 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Free Space Intent is currently unavailable to take on new projects.

View Similar Firms