Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
11 reviews
JW
Professional, efficient, dedicated
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Joshua Wong・Submitted 1 Jun 2020・ Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Syakirah

Initially attracted by the unique designs, the quality of the presentation and professionalism of our designer convinced us to entrust and engage DISTINCTidENTITY for our renovation. Our favourite features are the living room’s feature wall, the dry and wet kitchens and the bar counter. Overall our experience would be summarized as professional, efficient and dedicated, and we will recommend the company.

Read More
PG
Apartment Renovation

Reviewed by PG・Submitted 30 May 2020・ Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Ambika Chowdhry

Thank you so much Ambika and team, the work was conducted very diligently and without any delay. We are very happy with the quality of the work and delivery, as well as the responsiveness of the team throughout. Ambika's attention to our questions, ability to assist and follow up were much appreciated. All questions could be sorted out promptly and solutions found consistently. We are very happy with the renovation and highly recommend Distinctidentity team for their professionalism.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Sally Yong
An outstanding make-over of our 20+ year old home!

Reviewed by Sally Yong・Submitted 12 Feb 2020・ Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Ambika Chowdhry

We used Distinctidentity a few years ago for a TV console cabinet and were impressed by the professionalism, quality of work and after sales service. We decided to work with them to renovate our 20+year old home, and are glad we did. They have met and exceeded our expectations. Our home is now transformed into a modern, comfortable, functional and beautiful sanctuary. Ambika, our ID, is a professional - dedicated, reliable and a good listener. She listens, observes (during her visits to our home) to understand our needs - spoken and unspoken. She checks back with us, and then leverages her professional and expert advice to give constructive and useful information to help us make our decisions. She is well supported by the team - Steve, SK and the work crew are on site to supervise and coordinate the works. We started with a plan for the balcony, dining and kitchen areas, and despite that we added more works to include plastering the walls of the entire house, bathroom and other improvements - all the works were carried out satisfactorily and completed within the timeframe and budget. A few times we changed our minds about details, and they would always accommodate where they could. There is a lot of care and initiative shown by the team, suggestions by Ambika and Steve that added value to what we wanted, such as the bathroom fittings, accessories, cabinet finishings, measurement, layout, etc, that we could only discover during the work process. Our home with all the contents in a live-in condition required much planning and they did it! The after sales service and support remains responsive and reliable. Thank you Ambika, good job Distinctidentity.. I would gladly recommend you to my friends and family to share the positive experience and high quality work!

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Minnie Lim
Designer with Detail, Taste and Commitment

Reviewed by Minnie Lim・Submitted 16 Nov 2019・ Project completed Aug 2019・Designer Lucas Choo

Lucas Choo, our designer, is young and energetic. He has great taste and understood our design choice straightaway. He is also very detail in his work during renovation, not allowing anything that is substandard. We relied very much on his expertise when choosing our furniture. We feel we must get his go ahead before we bought anything in order not to spoil the overall design that he designed and we loved. And he was always quick to reply, even during sundays, holidays and midnights (our apologies). The eventual result speaks for itself, perfect for a magazine. As a designer, he gave us our design work in three days, as my hubby was going overseas. We were expecting a draft, as we were still shopping around, instead he gave us a complete slideshow of all the possible outcomes and many possibilities that he took from magazines or such. It gave us inspiration to move forward, and we had plenty of ideas. His choices were spot on, for the rooms, for the bath, for the living hall etc. It was then that the deal is somewhat sealed, even before the quotation. He went a step further proposing the kind of material look that we can consider, with the sample slabs that he showed us on the same day. Everything was so surreal. When you heard of so many renovation horror stories. The budget was met exactly as what was signed, the design was delivered to a T and above expectation. As the company insists on quality renovation, their pricing is not at the low end, but the quality is quite assured. And, with the right designer that can deliver the taste, the overall renovation experience is certainly a breeze. We love our house tremendously. All our individual preferences are well catered for. Thank you, Lucas. I know you will have a very bright future ahead with your Design talent. All the best. SM Hsu

Read More
project-upload
Timothy Boay
What a story to tell!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Timothy Boay・Submitted 13 Jul 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Lucas Choo

I am writing this review to show my appreciation to Lucas Choo and the team from Distinct Identity for being integral in helping us fulfil our vision of our dream home. The concept of our space is a rather abstract one – A space that exudes the homeowner’s sense of wanderlust, while maintaining an old world charm in its design elements. Each of the sub-spaces in the house must be a statement in itself, yet collectively achieving a coherent and consistent design language throughout the entire house. It was indeed challenging for us to articulate such a design concept, much less to say appointing the right firm to take on this project. We ended up meeting around 20 firms just to make sure that we have the right person, right price and right attitude. Through a friend’s recommendation, we got acquainted with Lucas of Distinct Identity. Our initial discussion on space planning took us numerous drafts and weekends to decide on the final design. What we really appreciated was the fact that Lucas was patient, willing to listen, and most importantly, responsive to our queries and requirements. You might have heard that usually the final bill for one’s renovation will be higher than its initial quotation, but my experience with Lucas was the reverse - the final bill came up to be lesser than our initial one! In fact, the final product looked so much better as Lucas was able to explore various cost effective options, give sound advice on the sustainability and feasibility of certain works. At no point, we felt that he was trying to make us expand our budget or hard sell us into buying accessories and fixtures from certain ‘partner’ stores. We really felt his sincerity and responsibility right from the start of the renovation to the hand-over. In fact, even after the project hand-over, he is still responsive in rectifying certain issues at no extra cost. In my opinion, to execute the vision of another person’s dream home does not just lie with the ID alone. At the end of the day, it is a joint effort between the home-owner and the ID and his team. I am glad that the trust and rapport that we have built throughout this 9 months have allowed us to work seamlessly to bring this abstraction into reality. In fact, it was a pleasant surprise that in the course of these 9 months, we were also blessed with 2 new additions to our family. Kudos to Lucas and his team at Distinct Identity, they were able to make readjustments, re-designing and re-rendering to ensure that the space is conducive for our newly minted family members. The pictures in Qanvast alone doesn’t do justice to the hardwork, soul and sense of ownership that Lucas and his team has put in. I hope I can use this review to acknowledge his hard work and show our appreciation to him for being an important part of our family’s milestone!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
JA
Fantastic project management & communication
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Junaidah Abdul Wahab・Submitted 13 May 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Kuay Mei Yee

We were attracted to Distinctidentity as the design seems fresh and well-thought out and yet there’s an identity that is unique to the firm. The young owner and designers who are easy to talk to and presented the film well. We finally selected Distinctidentity after comparing a few factors like design, materials, ease of communication and ability to understand our needs and match our vision of how we want our home to be. Each project, while clearly iconic of the firm’s style and taste, is seldom repetitive in design and able to portray or capture the essence of the various home owners/ property. Commitment level of designer is also impressive, even before we start work with the firm. It was fuss-free and most importantly based on trust. We were able to trust the firm to deliver what we want without much hiccups and based on prior discussions. Challenges and issues were settled promptly and we were informed reliably. Our views and opinions were respected and we were totally involved in all decision making. Designer was able to totally commit and very helpful in coming up with practical solutions. The living room and kitchen including service balcony are our favourite feature in our home. We definitely will recommend Distinctidentity to others because the fresh design and the genuine people who are really sincere. Their after sales services are also impressive! Thank you Distinctidentity to help us achieve our dream home.

Read More
RM
Great Design and Excellent Experience
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ruhaya Mohd Esa・Submitted 13 May 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Syakirah

Would like to commend on Syakirah's commitment and dedication during the renovation period. I am very touched with her readiness to help beyond her scope even. The workers are very friendly. I am very satisfied with the service by Distinctidentity Pte Ltd from designing up to handing over. I will surely recommend your services to my friends / relatives. Thank you.

Read More
Florence Sim
Tembeling Court

Reviewed by Florence Sim・Submitted 13 Jul 2019・ Project completed Aug 2018・Designer Lucas Choo

It was very pleasant working with Lucas. He listens well and understands my needs according to my lifestyle. He is meticulous to stay on track with the renovation time line so that it can be completed in time. He spent time to consider the layout of the apartment so that we can maximize the space and also look visually appealing. He has been helpful when I need help after renovation, this is much appreciated.

Read More
Kenn Poh
Jalan Lapang 3-storey terrace house renovation
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kenn Poh・Submitted 28 Nov 2019・ Project completed Jan 2018・Designer Rachel Lee

We are returning to Distinctidentity because we had very good experiences in working with them personally on our previous 2 properties since year 2007. Rachel was our designer for our 3-storey, land size 2400sqft terrace house, and we had to start from scratch to design our terrace house, from layout (3 floors), overall design, flooring, cabinets, painting, windows, lights, gates, etc... Rachel is very creative on the design, very knowledgeable, provide many good ideas and paid attention to small details. She understands our requirements and budget. She has many good, practical ideas, acts fast, remembers all the small details. And finally and most importantly, she communicates very well with us- which is key to a successful project. The final project was within my budget, it was also within my timeline and delivered few weeks earlier to us - before chinese new year. The renovation workmanship and service was very good, prompt, any issues were rectified very promptly, we even had few changes during the renovation and Steve promptly agreed to those changes - that is the reason why i am returning to Distinctidentity for the 3rd time. We could not ask for more or suggest any improvements from Rachel and Steve, Distinctidentity, i will come back to them again and recommend to my friends for their professionalism and service. Thanks for the great work! Ken and Sheen

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
DK
Responsive and Great Job
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Daniel Kor・Submitted 13 May 2019・ Project completed Dec 2017・Designer Kuay Mei Yee

We approach Distinctidentity to renovate our home as they had a trusted brand with good feedback from previous customers. I was recommended by friends who had engaged with them previously and we think that they portray an unique design thinking and trustworthy designers which makes them different from other company. We had a great experience working with Meiyee as our designer. She is very creative with her approach to designing our home based on our requirements. She managed the timeline well and able to accommodate her design according to our budget. She gives regular progress updates on the progress and will highlight to us immediately if there are any delays or challenges. We are very satisfied with our renovation and we love the 2- tone coloured paint of the wall whcih is grey and white in colour. We would definitely recommend Distinctidentity to others as it's not easy to find a trustworthy & capable designer like Meiyee, and we are glad that we have engaged her to design our first home.

Read More
D
Talented and Passionate. Very skilled and Experienced
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Dennis・Submitted 13 May 2019・ Project completed Dec 2016・Designer Kuay Mei Yee

We saw some of Distinctidentity works in magazines, and noticed one of our friend’s house was featured. Also noticed/recognised come of the apartments from my neighborhood, so the level of transformation before-after was impressive enough for us to reach out and contact them. We spoke to a total of 7 ID firms, and Distinctidentity’s ID is the one that has the most clear vision/idea for our home. It also helped that she was very passionate and excited to take on our project. Some ID firms we approach were fully focus on offering a budget offering or high end one, with very little room to explore options. Our ID showed us options as to how we can splurge or save depending on our preference. They are also very talented and passionate with very skilled and experienced carpenters. And a very good working relationship with various sub-cons, make us feel like it is a solid and dependable team. Meiyee was passionate and energetic while providing good customer service. All the trimming proposed by the designer was our favourite feature in the house. We love it so much it is everywhere, and it really gave our home a unique and classy look. We definitely will recommend Distinctidentity to others because generally very impressed by ID and the whole team. I hope Distinctidentity can grow and be even better in the years ahead with more knowledge and experience when I get them to do my next renovation.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?