Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out moreS$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized DealsGet more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
11,857 reviews
JY Goh
Excellent work

Reviewed by JY Goh・Submitted 29 Mar 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Joel

Joel and ZY are both very receptive and helpful with the execution of our remodeling (reconstructing from a 3 to 4 bedroom) and adopting a congruent design theme overall. Despite Covid labor constraints, we were worried that we may not be able to complete work on time (as we were renting and need to move back within stipulated timeline), but Joel & ZY managed to find solutions to make it work and provide handover on time. Little touch ups and fixes were also handled quickly and efficiently. Awesome work!

Read More
Benedict Tay
Cheerful and Helpful ID

Reviewed by Benedict Tay・Submitted 12 Mar 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Christine

Due to our budgetary constraints and the rising cost of raw materials, we were forced to pick a contractor over an ID. But if it is not for this, I would've proceeded my renovation with Christine. Amongst all the IDs that I've met, she has a cheerful and bubbly persona. And she follows up closely to all of our questions during and even after our meetings. I'd highly recommend her to my friends and to you, if you'd like a hassle free experience

Read More
Review of Versaform
N
Honest Review

Reviewed by Nicholas・Submitted 18 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Vincent

We were introduced to Vincent by a friend, who previously engaged him to renovate his HDB. It was also more reassuring that we got to see our friend's house after renovation. The design element, and quality of finishing impressed us so we decided to meet up with Vincent to discuss more and obtain a quotation. First meeting was pleasant. This was after encountering at least 4-5 other IDs. Vincent was genuinely interested in finding out more about what we wanted for our house, not forgetting functionality and practicality of implementation. He had suggestions which ultimately was still up to our decision to accept or not. More often than not, we accepted his ideas as we trusted his professional eye and experience. This was a vast difference from the other IDs, which mostly gave us the impression of wanting to look for areas to charge us more. One of them was strongly imposing his ideals onto us, which was quite the turn-off. Vincent embraces the term "different strokes for different folks". Subsequent meetings, we went through drawings and quotations. We were satisfied with the overall design: in particular how Vincent had helped us extend the Master Bedroom space to cater for a walk-in wardrobe. Vincent had also prepared a very nice mood board, which enabled us to visualize how the whole house would look like, and what type of furniture we are recommended to select. We also went into long discussions on certain material selection and the type of design and feel we would like to have for the whole house. There are 2 main things we love about Vincent: - Candidness. If something looks nice, he will tell you it looks nice. If something looks ugly, he will tell you it looks like crap. No sugar-coating, no patronizing, just calling a spade a spade. - Extreme attention to detail. This greatly reassures us as we could see that he is genuinely very interested in our project, as well as his passion for not only the design aspect, but the entire journey from first meeting to handover. Then came the quotation, which we were initially surprised. At first glance, the amount was 20-25% higher than all the other quotations. Eventually, we chose to go with Vincent anyway because of a few points: - Quotation amount was very transparent, and encompassed 100% what we had wanted (barring changes in requirements as the project progressed). We were aware that some items in Vincent's quotation were not mentioned to other IDs, and if we were to revisit them, the overall price would surely go up. - Vincent will only add items to the contract as per requirement. None of those shady "oh we have to do this and that and this will cause you more because blah blah" crap. If you do not request for additional items, what you see in the signed contract is what you will pay in the end. - The amount of attention Vincent invested in our project. We were very sure that the other IDs would not provide the same amount of attention that Vincent had given to us. This was also further supported by our friend, and the numerous good reviews he had already received before us. - The workmanship and finishing quality which we had already inspected from our friend's house. - The fact that after seeing hundreds and thousands of photos from IDs, Vincent's work was the only one that had elements of design, uniqueness and still being practical. - The post-sales service, which my friend highly recommended him for being extremely responsive to his problems, and getting his problems solved very quickly. - Chances of him running away with our money was very low. (Anything can happen, but we trust Vincent) After contract signing, we were given a folder with all designs, drawings, and a schedule for the renovation work. I'm not sure how other IDs do it, but this really impressed me, as I literally got everything served on a silver platter (or a transparent folder). Tile selection went smoothly, even though we shared a few ideas. Lightings selection went OK too, ended up going to 2 different places as the first place did not have some of the designs which we were looking for. Choosing of toilet and kitchen accessories were fine as well, if there are some accessories like oven/hob etc that we wanted to get from elsewhere, that was not a problem. Curtain selection was very good: he had his curtains guy go down to our place, midway through renovation when the walls were painted, so that we could do live color matching. Throughout the renovation, Vincent provided regular updates, photos and videos on the progress. It was very informative, that we hardly had to worry about going down to the site to inspect anything. There was a period of time where we were overseas, and Vincent took care of everything nonetheless. Everything was according to schedule. There were certain inevitable delays such as shipping of certain toilet accessory, which was out of anyone's control due to the lockdown situation overseas. Vincent was very receptive to our requests for certain changes, midway through the renovation. He always had a good solution or workaround for our concerns. From installing pull-out drawers in kitchen cabinets, to installing of wall mounts, everything was taken care of. Vincent was nothing short of patient, responsible and resourceful. Finally came handover day. We're not exaggerating when we say that the placed looked exactly like what we dreamed of. It looked better than the renders, and the whole place gave the feel that we wanted. Down to every single detail like the cabinet laminate, the color contrast between feature wall and common walls, the lightings, cabinet knobs: everything came together perfectly and harmoniously. Sometimes, when we see photos of the finished product on social media, and we look at the actual product, there is a disappointment in expectations not being met. We can safely say Vincent's final product exceeded expectations. Of course this is not the end: there are certain areas that need touching up etc, which is to be expected. There are also other small things to be done, but those are trivial. Post handover, Vincent is still easily contactable, and patiently answers all our questions, helps to arrange for things like touch-up work. We are very appreciative of his professionalism and being responsible even after handover. Quality of the workmanship is excellent as expected. As this is an honest review, as much as we would like to share an area Vincent can improve on, we have yet to find one. This is also because Vincent accepts faults that occur during the renovation and constantly improves. We do not think anything needs improvement, as customers should also have reasonable expectations and baselines. This doesn't mean that we do not have high standards, which Vincent certainly met. Overall, we would strongly recommend Vincent to anyone who is looking to materialize their dream house. He is truly passionate about his work, which is your project. He never complains, always responds within the day, and his attention to detail is second to none. They say "you get what you pay for", and we are certainly pleased with our decision in selecting Vincent for our project. For others who wish to renovate their homes, please engage a few other IDs first before coming to Vincent. You will then be able to see the vast differences between him and other IDs. p.s. Vincent, we can't express how much more thankful we are throughout this entire journey. We hope that this review, together with several others before will be able to bring you more projects and fun in working with many other different designs and concepts.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Jialux Interior
A
5-room BTO

Reviewed by Angeline・Submitted 18 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer JiaRui

Enquired a few ID firms and only Jialux promptly replied me and also assigned my ID JiaRui to me. JiaRui understand what were we looking for and understand what was our preference for colours and design. My 3D design came out better than my expectations and JiaRui gave a lot of useful suggestions. JiaRui was also able to quote within my budget and will advise us further whenever he has better renovation ideas. Renovation process was smooth, JiaRui always keep us updated about the progress. Renovation works were very neat and JiaRui is very attentive to every small details that myself will overlook. JiaRui is always contactable whenever I've queries. He takes pride in his work and is not pushy. I am very satisfied with the outcome of my flat. Will highly recommend JiaRui to my friends.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Juz Interior
Wei Da
Juz interior at senja ridges

Reviewed by Wei Da・Submitted 14 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Zoel

Was searching for ID for our bto and we happen to passby Juz Interior. We met our ID Zoel, sharing our theme and ideas that we had in mind. He's able to conceptualise from what we shared with him, which I feel is very important as ID will be the one who will execute the whole renovation. Quotation was share to us from Zoel even though we enquire more than a year from our bto completion which some other ID just don't bother as the renovation date is far. Along the way we still look around for different ID and feel that Zoel is the one that we can rely on. We have some changes on the renovation ideas along the way and Zoel will understand our needs and make necessary changes. During renovation, there will be bound to have hiccups but Zoel will make sure things are taken care of. Quality of carpentry work was great and satisfactory. Timeline was also on track despite covid restrictions. Lastly we would like to thank Zoel for his hard work for completing our project and making our dream home come true. 😁👍

Read More
PS
Altar table

Reviewed by Paul Soon・Submitted 12 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Rachel Kam

We had a major renovation to our condo in March 2021 and it was completed in June 2021 despite the delays caused by the pandemic . However , we were very unhappy with our renovation contractor and wanted to redo our living room after the Chinese New Year in 2022 . We looked at Facebook and Qanvast for some ideas and decided on Kingsley Interior after some research . We went to their IMM office and spoke to one very young ID , Rachel Kam and despite her age , she was much more experienced than our first ID and Rachel was very patient and listened to what we were looking for and even presented a few ideas to us for consideration . We actually wanted to redo the whole living room but Rachel advise that the living room looks nice and new and as it’s only have been renovated for a few months we should seriously reconsider renovating it again . She suggested just doing the altar table instead as the altar table was too small and not practical in many ways . We listen to her suggestions and go ahead with just doing the altar table again . As it was such a small project , we did not expect such detailed and good service to ensure that we have what we want in mind and it took many drawings and planning before we gave the go ahead with the job . We are glad we appointed Rachel Kam of Kingsley Interior to redo our altar table as it was done according to our schedule and the final work was beyond our expectations . We will definitely recommend Rachel to our friends and relatives for any future works and as for me and my wife , our future renovation will also be handled by Rachel .

Read More
Review of Livspace
AB
Bad experience

Reviewed by Abdul Basith・Submitted 10 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Livspace

ID commiting several mistakes with reno by doing electrical and painting works contrary to requirements. They messed up with lighting switches and paint. ID was giving only excuses rather than taking responsibility and compensating for the inconveniencee caused. Moreover, didn't complete the renovation on time and works were incomplete when we moved in. As the coordination was poor, we had to their work by coordinating at times and remind ID of works to be done & not done. Overall the service was substandard. Workers didn't even cover the floor completely during reno and workers placed heavy items on bare floor, this caused scratches and minor damages to existing tiles. We reminded them to cover properly and they didn't do. Besides, they charged $400 for washing and cleaning, but it was done poorly. Dirts can be seen on floor, wall and windows after washing. ID didn't even come forward to wash again. Waste of $400! We had to do washing again on own expense. I'm still waiting for the ID to assume responsibility for their shortcomings and recompense.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Livspace
J
So many bad moments and experiences that cancel off the few good ones.

Reviewed by JS・Submitted 10 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Namrata and Neha

I asked Qanvast to re-recommended firms that provide design work as well as make recommendations for furnishing after receiving first round of recommended IDs that are really just better renovation contractors without vast-enough design experience. From the second batch provided, I chose Livspace as I think the main designer, Namrata understood my requests better than the others. Overall, I have been a very accommodating client, and I did not negotiate for better pricing or asked for discounts... I accepted the quotation as is. There was a 12% project management fee to be paid compared to the other firms that quoted where there was no additional 12% on top of project value. They assigned two designers, Namrata and Neha. Where is the Project Management person? Ah... always copied on email when it comes to contract signing and email with payment links. But not once appeared in an email response or in person. By the time we were mid-way through, I was worried cos I have to pay all remaining sum before the carpentry comes in. Yes, Livspace stipulates that in order for the carpentry to be installed, payment by then would have to be 100%. I paid of course and in good faith, with all my fingers crossed. True enough, some of the carpentry were wrongly made. Had to redo. Waste of time and materials. And makes me wonder some of the redo would indeed to sturdy enough. It's like bashing something twice, that something's gotta be kinda damaged, right? Was told no, all good not to worry. Ok, ok, good faith. Fingers crossed... General cleaning: they billed for two cleaning sessions. Seeing the word 'general' I knew not to expect too much, but two pieces of cloth for the whole house? No wonder the dried up scums showing up on laminates and glasses panels... Electrical works were shoddy. Electrician damaged a data port while moving the sockets... Telco guy who came to fix wifi for me discovered the damage. Electrician also damaged another socket in another room when he moved the socket. Oh and Electrician messed up the alternate switch wirings for one of the light switches. And best is he blamed Telco said Telco damaged the data port not him, said Developer's sockets were faulty to begin with. Bear in mind, I did defect checks before renovation started and the sockets were all working fine until he moved and damaged them. Also messed up the LED strips plus not installing one of the several LED strips saying it wasn't his job... the carpenter's job he said... He installed ceiling light without removing the protective sticker. Asked him to come back and do so, and I had to deal with his attitude re the ceiling light and the LED lights. because both designers couldn't be there when he came back to rectify. Never mind, almost at the finish line... bear with it... Finally, touch up day... Again, shoddy. left plastic coverings for me the client to clean up. Not all mentioned touch up areas were done. Because designer had to leave before they were done but she was positive that she had briefed them thoroughly. I had to deal with it again. For the painter to come back. He's upset. I am upset. I liked the painter. But we ended up not speaking and he left without a word after rectifying the unfinished job. Such a shame it came to that. As I write this review, I am waiting for the carpenter to come back (yes he was here 90min ago to touch up) to finish up the un-touched up areas. Don't even know if he will turn up at all. I simply have to stay put at home and wait. It's a toss up between whether he was even briefed on ALL THE ratifications needed. Livspace shortchanged me by expecting a designer (Neha) to play project management role. She is really not experienced when it comes to managing schedule, aligning sub-con timing, management the contractors and sub-cons, etc etc. I end up having to play middleman several times. The contractors playing punk is also likely the result of miscommunication with Livspace. Who's at fault? Where's the mess-up? Who caused it?And the unnecessary stress for 12% of project management fee based on contract value??? Seriously? Namrata is lovely in listening to my design needs. I also enjoyed the discussions we had to align on materials and colors, etc. Neha is lovely too, very helpful and sweet — just not the person to handle project management, and I am sure her strength is in designing. Together, they are lovely people to work with but the mess ups are just too much and caused unnecessary stress. Throughout it all, where is Nivedita the project lead for my renovation?

Read More
Review of Archive Design
Glanies Ng
Appalling customer service and work standards

Reviewed by Glanies Ng・Submitted 10 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Lucas Yang

Work standards are appalling. Here are some that take the cake - some hot water pipes have absolutely no water running through them and my concealed toilet bowl and bath mixers are both installed slanted. The concealed piping for the toilet bidet was meant to be installed on the left but they installed on the right. And instead of concealing the pipe joint in the wall, they installed it outside. There are more. While installing a wooden plank in the wall, the contractor bust a water pipe. While immediate action was taken to seal the pipe on the spot, the damage caused secondary damage to the concealed pipes resulting in damaged walls and paint. When we alerted them about the urgent situation, they did not offer immediate assistance. After we got our own contractor to fix it for $1k+, they did not offer to pay for it but just kept silent like it didn't happen. There were plenty of other mistakes. My bedroom door laminates are wrong. My kitchen cabinet measurements were wrong. My expensive Ceasarstone quartz was cut wrongly because they didn't know how to install a farmhouse sink. My concealed pipes were run badly - there pipes in the concealed ceiling of the two toilets leaks, ruining my paint work even before we moved in. We were promised copper but PVC was used for the water pipes. When all these mistakes happened and were pointed out to them, no word of apology was given. No concern was also expressed for the inconvenience we had to face due to their mistakes. When we moved into the house, it was literally still a construction site. I have 2 young children and it was not safe. We had to all squeeze into one room and use only 1 toilet because the other toilet was still undone. I wouldn't have minded living like this if they had been proactive about informing us of delays and bothered to deliver good customer service. There were also two instances when Lucas completely disappeared. The first was when he supposedly contracted covid. They sent us his PCR test report as proof - so fine. The next disappearance was unexplained. When asked repeatedly where he was, Nicole, his project manager, did not respond to our queries. Only when pressed for an answer 2 months later did she say that he had suffered a serious injury (broke two wrists) and that Archive had informed all clients through an email. We never got that email. Even if we did, it is a poor choice of communicating bad news and managing a relationship with a client. Up to now, we have yet to hear from Lucas despite repeated texts and calls. We learnt from another home owner that throughout her time reno period, Lucas frequently gave excuses for his many disappearances and was similarly uncontactable. Nicole was also not responsive; we'd get a response to our texts like 2 - 3 days later or even longer. We learnt from his contractors that they have yet to receive payment for work done even after clients have made payment. At one point, Rachel, a senior project manager, came to my house saying that she'd take over the project to complete it. We agreed that it'd be reasonable to expect responses to our text in 2 days. It's been 3 weeks since I spoke to her and I haven't heard from her yet. Its gotten to a point that it is very hard to trust them. We did not feel like valued clients at all. If anything, we felt like we were taken for a ride. We chose to entrust our property to an incompetent team and that's on us - we have to deal with it and live with their mistakes. Pls note that the renovation end date stated below is not accurate. The reno is left incomplete. I have to state a reno end date because of Qanvast review platform requirement.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
RC
Smooth And Fuss Free

Reviewed by Roy Chu・Submitted 9 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Ken Fung

We engaged yang ID and the designer allocated to us was Ken. While we only did carpentry with them, Ken was very responsible and was one that went the extra mile for us. Like all renovation, there were some touch up to be done after the main installation and I’m glad he constantly update us on the status and follow up with us promptly. After hearing so many horror stories and going through really negative experiences in the past, I’m really glad that Ken helped us to have a positive one this time around. If you need want a friendly, responsible and always open to new ideas designer, ken will be the one to go for.

Read More
Review of Interior Times
SL
We couldn't have asked for a better ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Stella Lim・Submitted 9 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Wayne Huang

We decided to engage Wayne from Interior Times to help us renovate our existing home after reading plenty of excellent reviews on the web about him. True enough, he was extremely patient and attentive to the ideas that me and my wife had, and would propose his own integration during our many discussions. I have to say he really impressed us with his valuable advise based on his expertise and experience. I feel that many top IDs have good ideas but they often insistent upon their ideas without sufficient consideration of clients needs and wants. Some of them on the other hand only do what you ask of them and are more like contractors rather than designers. Wayne was the perfect middle ground of the two. During the actual renovation phase, his standards for the end product were also very high, sometimes even higher than ours to ensure quality and timely completion. Whenever, the workers did sloppy work, he was quick to spot and rectify, allowing us a piece of mind to entrust the project to him entirely. Especially since our schedules are really busy so that was really helpful. In terms of shopping for fixtures, he also allowed us a free hand to decide where we wanted or to source from his end. He had great recommendations but never insisted on us buying anything through him. Whenever possible, Wayne would think of ways to help us save on renovation. Overall, we are really so grateful to have Wayne help us tide through the apprehensive renovations. If not for him, we probably might have a nightmare of a renovation. We couldn't have asked for a better ID.

Read More
GL
Reliable Project Manager & Smart Team of Electricians!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Giselle Loh・Submitted 8 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Jeff Lau

ID: Jeff Lau See handover photo below 1. Fast response & reliable Jeff is very easy to talk to and is an approchable guy. After meeting 12 IDs all over singapore, I choose his service. His reply is always super fast (within 5-10 mins) even when my house had technical problems during the renovation. You will feel comfortable when you meet him, he feels like a friend. I have experienced other renovation project managers before and they take hours or days to reply a simple message. When problems happen during the renovation, he wont shrink back after you make the payment, he will make sure he resolves the problem for you. This shows that he is sincere and genuine. Also, he save me from my own mistakes by giving me advice on color selections. Intially I wanted to have various colors for different parts of my house, but thanks to Jeff advice. He advise me to stick to 1-2 colors only to bring out the classy theme I want for the house. Sometimes, as home owners, you might overlook some blind spots and its best to have an ID who can help save you from your own mistakes. He also made a trip down with me to Blum to help me with the technical aspects and went the extra mile to get sample supply from my own supplier even though its not his supplier. So he is definitely a reliable Project Manager! 2. Highly skilled Electricians who resolve my LED Mirror Problem Very impressed with his electricians engineering/technical skills! I forgot to tell Jeff that my toilet tiles need to run electrical wiring for my LED mirror. After the toilet tiles were done, then I recall this. So "technically by right", my LED half moon mirror is "not supposed to light up" as there is no electrical wiring done in my tiles. However, his team of electricians think of smart ways to “engineer” my LED mirror to light it up even though there is no electrical wiring done in my tiles. This is absolutely impressive!! Big thanks to Jeff and his team of electricians! Unlike some other contractos/ID, they will just heck care and cannot be bothered since money has been received. So I’m very pleased and impressed by Jeff and his team that they are reliable, responsible and bother to think of creative ways to solve technical problems!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?