Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
23 reviews
Review of NextDoor ID
Norman Ngan
Attention to details and responsive

Reviewed by Norman Ngan・Submitted 26 Feb 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Kerine

My Wife and I decided to get Nextdoor as our ID. Turns out to be a wonderful experience. Minor hiccups were encountered along the way but the journey was fruitful. Kerine was attentive, responsive and meticulous. She would often give us her professional views on whether our concept were practical or not, and how she could fit our ideas into the renovations. The key to us engaging her, was her cheerful personality and attention to details. Most importantly, as a Mother to a newborn, she was able to relate her experience to us as a newly wed couple and how we should be practical in designing our home. Without a doubt, I will recommend Nextdoor ID to anyone who wish to renovate their house.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
Annie Ong
Recommended 4 out of 5 start! Great service and response time!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Annie Ong・Submitted 21 Dec 2018・ Project completed Jul 2018・Designer Mark and Cai Ning

Sharing our personal point of view and experience. We started shopping 3-4 months before our keys collection and this means that we met more than 5 IDs. There were some ridiculous ones in terms of advices and pricing. I was lucky to have found NextDoor ID, recommended by my cousin. I went to my cousin newly renovated place before and noticed that finishing and design was great and spot-on. After meeting with Mark & Cai Ning, it only gave me and my husband more confidence in engaging them as our ID. They were patience; as we were fickle minded about colours but they accommodated and eventually gave us affirmation on what we select. End to end in terms of service, ideation, discussion, confirmation and payment is very smooth. The one star that is missing is actually on the 3D Drawing (which we have to wait for a while for edits) and also overall carpentry can be improved. Don't get me wrong, NextDoor ID were ok enough for the price we paid, however not the perfect. Maybe this is out first time and carpentry just have not ways to be perfect? Special thanks to Cai Ning on ideas and design and Mark on all the logical decisions.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of NextDoor ID
CC
Sembawang
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Chyanne Chee・Submitted 10 Jul 2018・ Project completed Jul 2018

We managed to meet several IDs from Qanvast's recommendations. Most of the IDs were quite impressive and were able to understand and interpret our needs quite well. Eventually, we went with Nextdoor ID as we found their prices are very competitive and their portfolio is quite extensive. Our assigned ID is Corrien. She is rather green but she is very keen to attend to us. Our journey wasn't without its challenges. It is also our first home so, despite all our research on our renovation options, there were still a lot of areas we were still unclear. For example to screed or not to screed, eg; whether to level the floors. We actually only got pretty vague advice from our ID. As we were often unclear of our ideal set up, we had to make a lot of changes along the way. Corrien tries her best to keep up with our changes but along the way, there were some miscommunication as some of our changes were not recorded or were misinterpreted, causing some delays to our handover. Nevertheless, as we moved into our home, we believe we got the home that we dreamt of and it was essentially a job well done. Despite the hiccups along the way, I must say they have always been respectful and trying their best to work out the issues with us, and we appreciate their efforts very much. Overall, while they still have room to improve on communications, I would still recommend Nextdoor ID as they are transparent and honest and their workmanship is really good.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of NextDoor ID
FG
Ang Mo Kio
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Fiona Goh・Submitted 6 Feb 2018・ Project completed Feb 2018

NextDoor ID was recommended to me by a friend. I engaged them as I’ve seen previous projects that they did and it was also from my level of comfort through my interaction with the ID, Cai Ning. I had a smooth and easy going experience. My requirements were delivered, the ID was also reliable during follow up and when providing after-sales service. My renovation was delayed by about a week but I was fine with it as long as it didn’t take too long. There were minor defects during the handover, which were all rectified. I felt that the communication of the ID internally between the project team members could be improved on, one or two of these communicationn issues resulted in a situation where I had to work on a counter proposal to resolve the issues.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
MY
Jurong West
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr Yeo・Submitted 8 Feb 2018・ Project completed Feb 2018

I got to know NextDoor ID through Qanvast's quote request. Their price is mid range and we were comfortable with the ID, Phoebus. After our second appointment, they gave us discounts and free gifts too. I felt that the renovation process was kind of painful for me. The ID told us that he will team with another person, Cheryl and both of them will take care of the project. About 90% of the time it was Cheryl who was liaising with us and the problem was that she is not as experienced. Due to her inexperience, there were a lot of things we didn’t know about and required a more experienced person to explain as it was our first time renovating. The project has been going on for 5 months, but we didn’t mind it as we weren’t in a rush. I would say that there are a lot of hiccups. Each time the work is completed, I feel that the ID should inspect it before we do so. We were always the ones looking for the problems and letting them know about it. It's not very efficient as the IDs should be the ones spotting the problems beforehand. I also feel that they didn’t visit my house enough and have been spending more time on other projects as it’s close to Chinese new year now. The good thing is that the ID was responsive on the group chat and usually replies us within half a day or within a day at most. Regarding the quotation provided, I felt that it wasn’t written clearly and certain things felt like it was a hidden cost, but to the IDs, it might not be. For example, for the bathroom accessories it wasn’t specified what kind of accessories it was. We were also charged extra for getting the rain shower. Carpentry works were not bad, just that we had some problems with the installation of the cerarl material in our master bedroom, it was done up 4 to 5 times and it’s still not perfect. It has been giving us a lot of problems and I have already given up. I doubt I will recommend NextDoor ID to others but I won’t say they're not good. I think it might not really be the company’s problem, maybe it’s the ID. You can’t say that just because one person is bad, means the company is bad.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
DH
Bukit Batok West
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Daryl Hung & Shevon He・Submitted 11 Apr 2018・ Project completed Jan 2018

Even though our first meeting took place around 8 months before we collected our keys, our ID, Cheryl, constantly checked in and assured us that they would keep the price that was initially quoted if we engaged their services. It was this sincerity that won over us. The project went relatively smoothly, although there was a bit of a last minute rush, but we can't blame them entirely either because we renovated in November and that’s when everyone wants to get their home ready for Christmas and Chinese New Year.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
K
Havelock Road
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kelvin・Submitted 30 Jan 2018・ Project completed Nov 2017

Nextdoor ID was recommended through to me through the quote request on Qanvast. The IDs in charge of my project was Loh Cai Ning and Mark Tay. I felt comfortable speaking to them during our discussions as they understood what I was trying to do and what I wanted. They were also sincere in trying to work out the quote according to what I can work with. During the renovation process, I did a few rounds of actual renovation changes which was always close to the handover period. Due to the changes, the renovation which was supposed to take about 2 months took about 4 months to complete. The IDs were very patient, flexible and accommodating to find the most cost saving way to help make the changes. I faced some really minor issues during the renovation, but they were very pro active and patient in listening to me each time I spoke to them. They were always responsive and responsible about it, didn’t try to find excuses or push the blame. The attitude was something I liked a lot and something which you will only discover while working with them during the renovation. They were always quick in providing us with constant updates throughout the renovations. One area I felt that they could improve on is by elaborating further and treating us like a newbie or someone who has absolutely no knowledge on renovations. Sometimes IDs will assume that we understood what they are talking about or referring to, perhaps it’s because renovation is something they work with daily as part of their job. I understand that it might also be difficult for them to do so as they might worry about offending us, but I felt that it would be really good if they could explain and clarify more details! I was happy working with them and will also be glad to recommend them to others.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
SH
Sengkang West
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Sumandi Ho・Submitted 30 Jan 2018・ Project completed Oct 2017

I came across NextDoor ID on Qanvast and they were also recommended through the quote request. Out of the 5 IDs recommended, only 2 got back to me and the rest requested us to call them which I didn’t as I felt that they should be the ones calling me instead. Nextdoor ID was one of the IDs who returned my call. Cai Ming and Mark came over to my place for a meet up and discussion. Mark was very helpful and responsible along the way too. Although the quotation was slightly above my budget, I was comfortable speaking to them. I compared with other quotations and thought that maybe my budget was too low as most IDs quoted around the same range. My experience working with them was good. There were some hiccups which the IDs took responsibility for and were prompt in rectifying. Some of the carpentry works were supposed to be done this way but ended up being done another way, lights being placed wrongly, etc. I felt that their engagement with customers have to be improved. Personally, I thought that the time spent with me is too rushed and they’re always in a rush to meet someone else. I had quite a number of queries but due to the lack of time, I couldn’t really clarify them.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
M&
Yishun
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr & Mrs Tang・Submitted 6 Feb 2018・ Project completed Aug 2017

We got to know about NextDoor ID through Qanvast's quote request. The reason why we engaged them was that they had good reviews and their past projects contained designs that we were looking for. They were also the first to get back to us with the quotation and follow up. The IDs allocated to us, Cheryl & Wei Ming were professional and not pushy. The workmanship which we saw at their showroom was good too. We told the ID that we had a certain budget to work with. They tried to give us cheaper alternatives and some designs weren’t really recommended. The renovation schedule was only given to us quite close to the start of renovation which was a bit last minute. We had to constantly chase for it as we needed time to arrange light fittings, etc. It was also a rush for us to get those things done. We had a Whatsapp group and the ID was constantly updating us on the renovation progress. What I liked about the ID was that when there were things which we weren’t happy about, they helped us to look for alternatives. I felt that they could work and improve on their design skills. We provided them with our desired theme and idea, but when it came to selecting colours, we were the ones deciding it rather than the ID giving suggestions which made us feel that they weren’t as experienced. Overall, we were pleased as we got what we wanted.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
MK
Pasir Ris Drive
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Muhammad Khairil・Submitted 7 Feb 2018・ Project completed Aug 2017

During our initial meetings with the ID, Donovan, we found him nice and comfortable to speak with. There was also a connection between us which made us decide to engage him. He was willing to listen to our ideas even after offering their professional thoughts and what I felt was impressive is that he even provided us with his input based on what we wanted too. Everything went pretty smoothly during the renovation. I would say that there were no hiccups and details were professionally communicated. There were slight miscommunications along the way but it wasn't an major issue. The post-renovation interaction was also good. Certain defects which we discovered 4-5 weeks after the renovation was completed. We informed Donovan who still entertained us and even got the contractors to come down to fix it. In fact, we have also recommended NextDoor ID to our friend too!

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
YH
Bellewoods EC
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Yean Hoon・Submitted 17 Sep 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

I was on the lookout for a designer who can produce the (child-friendly) designs that I have in mind, as well as produce quality carpentry. After meeting about 5-6 firms, Phoebus was the one whom I felt most comfortable with, and quotation was competitively priced. The workmanship from his showroom was a selling point too. It was a smooth renovation as he was really responsive and delivered what I had in mind. He took our feedback seriously as we had told him about his carpenters not doing a good job, and soon after, the quality improved tremendously.

Read More
Review of NextDoor ID
WZ
Jurong West
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Wei Zhe & Ling Xin・Submitted 6 Apr 2018・ Project completed Jun 2017

Nextdoor ID was one of the 3 designers we met based on Qanvast's recommendation. What stood out about them was that our ID, Wei Ming seemed very knowledgeable, and we were able to click with him during the renovation. The entire process went very smoothly - so much that we hardly visited to check up on the progress. Many of the ideas for our home were proposed by him, and we loved the result. He also went out of his way to help us liaise with our gas supplier for installation, and make minor tweaks like painting the doors for us so that it'll match our home's colour scheme.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?