Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
18 reviews
Review of Stylerider
RW
Sub-standard Service & Poor Workmanship - Totally unsatisfied

Reviewed by Rachel Wong・Submitted 12 Mar 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Terence Tan

I had bad experience engaging the ID firm STYLERIDER INTERIOR DESIGN, the Home Space INTERIOR Designer/ID is Terence Tan. Finding the right ID is a highly intuitive thing so one to have self-access, are we convinced after talking with the ID and their proposal etc. Very often before an agreement was signed, we were swept away by their smooth talking. I am not different from anyone too, I was moved by his desperate desire to close a deal & prove himself with promises laid out to me. During my discussion with him, I sense his inexperience but out of his sincerity and desperation I award him the reno job out of kindness. I gave him the benefits of doubt despite his claim to have at least 4 years of ID experience. After the renovation commenced, the process proved me right and the truth left me with my jaw dropping. Based on his conduct as an ID,he is obviously very inexperience, irresponsible & ignorant. I know ID usually goes on-site to give instructions on what to do etc. and I don’t expect him to be there witnessing the sub-con doing their work. But I would expect him to check on work done after every stages of work-in-progress to ensure there is nothing left out or defects, and work not well done but this is not fulfilled as promised. As an ID this is the basic responsibility, if he is there to do a check on every stages of work completed, it could have been rectified and avoid unnecessary delay and dispute. I make regular trips to my flat to spot for defects & jobs not well done. Not only were he irresponsible, ignorant his misjudgement is really a big problem. What proofs his lack of knowledge and incompetence is he can’t even justify the size of a spot light & the driver depth to be fixed onto the bedside open shelf despite his carpenter’s advice. Unfortunately he is not apologetic for his attitude but only to find reasons to cover himself up. The mishaps I encountered – - Toilet wall tiles and service yard tiles were tiled up despite part of it was chipped off visibily. - Bedside open shelve with spot light – the opening depth is too shallow for spot light driver to be fixed in causing the spot light dropped off. - Kitchen dish rack door dropped due to the inappropriate weight of the hydraulic pump used to support the door thus causing the flip door to give way. I am totally dissatisfied with his service especially the tiling workmanship is the worse I have ever came across. In conclusion, I am extremely regrettful to have recommended my sister to use his service before my unit is completed to justify the entire workmanship, his reliability and responsibility. I truly feel sorry to witness my sister’s encounter of problems and mishaps which are far more serious than mine. Till today, her 1-bedder condo (taken into consideration to offset 1 month for peak period in Dec 2018) she has yet to move in. This is absolutely ridiculous. My sincere and heartfelt advice to other home owners to make informed reviews, decisions, better to take more time to scrutinise than be regretful. I believe this quote is commonly encountered by consumers – “ Over promise, Under deliver “ . I will never refer anyone to use his service at all.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Stylerider
TP
Bukit Permai
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Tan Poh Kim・Submitted 28 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

We shortlisted a few IDs but decided to engage Stylerider as it was referred and the pricing was good too. We are quite happy with happy with their workmanship. Of course there is some minor hiccups here and there along they way, but they managed to rectify it. The project wasn't completed within the promised timeframe. They took longer than expected, which we thought it wasn't good as it will affect the homeowner's plans. I hope they can improve on their project management & the scheduling being realistic to their customers. Apart from the delays, we are happy with our renovation. Renovation completed in: January 2017 Cost of renovation: $58,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
MY
Holland
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ms Yap・Submitted 28 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

Stylerider was recommended to us by a contractor who did the renovation for my previous house. There was no ID involve for my project. From my knowledge and experience, i did the designs and drawings myself. There was not much problem as it is done based on what i want. Jack was very helpful as he went out of his way to help us with things that is not part of his work and we thought he deserve credit for it. There is just one thing that we are not very happy about which is the painting job as it was not done by professionals and we have to provide the painters with their painting equipment. For further improvement, i hope they will engage professionals instead of bangladesh worker to do the painting job. Other than that, we had no complaints. Renovation completed in: July 2016

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Stylerider
W
Sengkang
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Wilson・Submitted 28 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

Stylerider was recommended to us by colleague. The IDs were very professional and offered us a very good price. Our project was very well managed and completed on time. As we had some things to be patched up, they are able to do it for us without incurring any charges! Both communication and coordination was taken care of very well. We would definitely engage them again!

Read More
Review of Stylerider
MA
Yishun
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr Azrie・Submitted 27 Jun 2017・ Project completed Jun 2017

Stylerider was shortlisted from qanvast website. Out of all the IDs, we decide to engage Erwin from Stylerider as we liked the design proposed. Erwin is willing to listen and understand what we want. He also gave us tips and advices on the ideas. The renovation process was smooth and we do not have any workmanship problems. We are very happy with their service and would definitely recommend them to our families and friends. Renovation completed in: Ongoing (est 2nd wk of June) Cost of renovation: $25,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
CY
Jurong East
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Chen Yiling・Submitted 16 Jun 2017・ Project completed Jun 2017

We shortlisted a few IDs through Qanvast recommendation but our final choice was Stylerider. We decide to engage them for the style, personality and commitment. The price quoted and design proposed was good too. Stephanie and Howard was the ID in-charge of our renovation. It was easy communicating with them. In times of hiccups, they are able to resolve it quick. However, there was a slight delay in completing our project. Although it was not solely their fault, Stephanie and Howard did put in effort to try to get our project complete faster. Overall it was a good experience working with them and we would recommend them to our friends and families. Renovations completed in: June 2017 Cost of renovation: $70,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
D
Joo Koon
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Daniel・Submitted 19 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

Stylerider was engaged by my boss to do up our two eateries. The design was done by the owner of Stylerider himself, Jack. He had a very good design skills, and he gave us suggestions on our shop's seating arrangement. Their service was good ad efficient. The workmanship was good too as we can see the product's quality. The project was completed on time. Renovation completed in: December 2015

Read More
Review of Stylerider
MJ
Sky Park Residence
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ms Jacelyn・Submitted 23 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

Stephanie was a very good listener. She listened to us well, understanding what we wanted before coming up with the drawings. The design proposed was very close to what we wanted and they did not add in any unnecessary things. We are impress with how open they are with their pricing and there is no hidden cost. Stephanie is always reachable and answered any of our queries promptly. Although there was some delays, they manage to do things pretty quickly and completed just one or two days later than the initial agreed timeframe. We had no problems working with them. In fact, Stephanie helped us solved most of the problems. We had recommended Stylerider to a few of our friends. Renovation completed in: December 2016 Cost of renovation: $25,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
MH
Boon Lay Avenue
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr Heng・Submitted 22 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

Stylerider was previously engaged by a relative and we decide to engage them for their workmanship and also the price they quoted. We are happy with the design proposed by Jack and their workmanship was good too. There were no problems throughout the renovations and they did complete the project around the agreed timeframe. We are satisfied with their work and it was a good experience working with them. Renovation completed in: May 2017 Cost of renovation: $35,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
MS
Punggol
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr Soh・Submitted 19 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

After consulting a few IDs, we decide to engage Stylerider as they are negotiable with their materials and designs and not pushy. We also got some positive feedback from a friend whom recommended them to us. Our ID, Jack, is flexible and able to accomodate to changes that was made along the renovation. Overall, the renovation process was fine, it will be better if they can update on the progress more regularly. Renovation completed in: October 2016 Cost of renovation: $45,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
E
Ang Mo Kio
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Edmund・Submitted 19 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

As per recommended by a friend, we decide to engage Stylerider for our renovation for their trustworthy, efficiency and also their reasonable pricing. As they do not have much of new designs for us to choose from, we searched for the ideas of renovation ourselves, but they way they designed it was not up to what we expected. However, their workmanship is good except for some defects which they managed to rectify. Everything worked well, although there was some delay in completing the project. For further improvement, i hope they will be able to produce more innovative designs and improve on their ability to deliver what is promised. Renovation completed in: June 2016 Cost of renovation: $57,000

Read More
Review of Stylerider
W
Punggol
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Wilda・Submitted 18 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

Stylerider was recommended to us by a friend. After consulting a few IDs, we decide to engage them for their pricing. Jack was responsive although it took some time for him to come out with a 3d design. After explaining a few times, he manage to understand what we wanted. It was a slow start but everything turn out okay. They managed to complete the project on time except for some minor touch ups which was done after we moved in. For further improvement, i hope that they can take lesser time to come out with the 3D drawings. Renovation completed in: September 2016 Cost of renovation: $60,000

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?