Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
53 reviews
Review of Habit
J
Consummate Professionals
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Joel・Submitted 27 May 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Yanling, Denise and Daniel

We engaged Habit after reviewing their projects and sensing the X-factor that their designs exude. It is challenging to toe the line between garish/ostentatious and subtle/sleek and Habit leans towards the latter. The initial meeting was great; Habit paid attention to our whims, wants and needs and we could sense that they were trying their best to build a home which would accede to the lifestyles of the individuals living in it. Importantly, we gelled well with the designers who have different, but synergistic personalities. As a sucker for good organization and clear communication, I could not be happier with the project management and updates provided by Habit. Daniel has an impeccable sense of organization and I caught myself smiling every time I read his briefs and documents. Yanling has a great sense of style and her decisiveness when it came to opining on furnishing (no sugarcoating, just the plain ole truth) was very useful for us to eliminate options and come to a decision. Denise isn't afraid to be a contrarian and would speak her mind to design options which were not previously considered. Essentially, Habit does not fall into the trap of groupthink and I like that. Most importantly,. Habit stuck to the timelines projected from the get-go despite the pandemic. We were also pleasantly surprised that our final invoice matched the initial projected invoice cent-for-cent! My wife and I are overjoyed with our new home. Habit masterfully worked with a small space (700 sqft) and cleanly created living, work and dining spaces that appeal to the eyes. Throughout our renovation journey, and indeed after moving in, Habit continues to engage us meaningfully to provide insightful recommendations on furnishing and decorating. We can't wait to see how our home evolves over the next few years. Personally, I can't wait to engage Habit again for our second home.

Read More
Review of Habit
A
Ansley

Reviewed by Andrea・Submitted 24 Feb 2022・ Project completed Jan 2022・Designer Yanling, Denise and Daniel

Embarking on a renovation is normally daunting, much less during a pandemic. As such, we could not have wished for a safer pair of hands than the Habit team to guide us through the entire process. Their value-add became quickly apparent from the proposal stage where we were given layouts we wouldn’t have previously thought of as being possible in light of the technical specifications and space constraints. They were quick to draw our attention to potential blind spots as well as provide thoughtful, practical and elegant solutions to make the space truly liveable. Despite the global supply chain/pandemic-related delays, they were able to manage processes and troubleshoot issues effectively. Their reliability and responsiveness really (in my humble opinion) puts them heads and shoulders over other outfits. Finally, even after the handover process was completed, Yanling and Denise continued to amaze with their problem solving abilities and definitely went above and beyond in getting teething issues rectified promptly. In summary, the experience with Habit has been nothing short of outstanding, highly recommended if you want a smooth and nightmare-free renovation process!

Read More
Review of Habit
Leslie Lee
A Habit of great work.

Reviewed by Leslie Lee・Submitted 28 May 2022・ Project completed Nov 2021・Designer Denise and yan ling

When we were thinking of renovating our place, we had a concept in mind, so we were following a few interior firms online. Coincidentally, a friend also recommended Habit, which happened to be one of those firms that we had shortlisted. In addition, after meeting Habit and another firm, we felt that we were more comfortable with the team from Habit. They had a better grasp of what we had in mind. In all, we are quite happy with how the designs turned out. We are especially happy with the designers’ attention to details. They genuinely want the design to turn out well. We also appreciate the vendors and workers (both internal and external) that Habit works with. All of them are helpful and flexible. In fact, we have already recommended Habit to one of our friends and that project is currently in progress.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Habit
Kelvin Wks
Carebelle
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kelvin Wks・Submitted 23 Jan 2022・ Project completed Jul 2021・Designer Yanling, Denise, Daniel

Just when we thought we had all options explored and sketched on our PowerPoint, and all the IDs we had pre-engaged earlier seemed to think along the same plane, Habit decided to surprise us with three space planning proposals that showed us how our new space can be reimagined and reconfigured in a way that optimizes the small footprint and yet meet our brief. What sealed the deal was not being given a cookie cutter floorplan, but one that really got us more excited about our new apartment than before. The design process did involve some test of our imagination since there was no 3D rendering, but there was already alignment in terms of aesthetics and design language, based on our mood board and Habit's past works. We were therefore able to converge pretty quickly, since the team was clear with their vision (with very detailed cross-sections) yet open-minded enough to hear and incorporate our views. The recommendations on the furnishings were also spot on. As for the actual renovation, we can only say we were truly impressed by the team's professionalism and meticulousness. Every millimetre counts, every detail matters. Because of this, there were a lot of consultation videos via whatsapp which allowed us to decide on the placement/palette/position quickly (with good advice from the team) and get a sense of the progress real-time. We can also see that the team exercised good control over the different groups of workers and the schedule. Despite some drag brought about by the pandemic and our stringent MCST, the team worked really hard and delivered the final product in time for our scheduled move-in date. All in all, we are really happy with how our home has turned out. We have stayed in our place for half a year now, and are still loving every nook and corner. Looking back, the renovation journey was every bit enjoyable, almost care/fuss-free. A big shout-out to Yanling, Denise and Daniel for giving us a stylish home. We cannot recommend Habit enough. ☺ Kel & YN

Read More
project-upload
Review of Habit
Sarah Choo
Emery Point

Reviewed by Sarah Choo・Submitted 7 Jun 2021・ Project completed May 2021・Designer Denise, Yan Ling, Lena

Over the past 2 years, my partner and I have been looking around for an ID that meets our needs and aesthetic demands without compromising on practical living. We have been doing our research on several ID companies and narrowed our choices to 2 firms based on what we had seen and also heard about each company. Initially apprehensive, both my partner and myself were sure of our decision to work with Habit when we left their office after their proposal presentation. It was clear then, in our exchanged glance, that we were floored by their proposal. The team had clearly considered all our requests and had created 3 different layout options with attention to details from information exchanged from our prior visit. The care and amount of thought given to the reconfigured space & placement of items through the introduction of carpentry, furniture, even down to switches and power sockets, is impressive. Habit's sensitivity to clients' demands, manners and routines, is a testament to the name of their company. Along the way, through multiple consultations, the team listens attentively and is always game to try alternative, unique ideas for our home. Fusing spaces for work, play, fitness and enjoyment within 1324 sqft, Habit was also able to keep to our budget, patiently proposing alternative solutions to meet our needs. Despite the challenges faced this year due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the team is able to keep within the timeline as discussed and handled all concerns/queries with patience, professionalism and astuteness. Along the course of developing our home, it became clear that the team at Habit is filled with creatives who are passionate and takes great pride in their work. As a creative myself, I probably would have desired full control and taken to designing every inch of this project on my own. However, Habit's ability to effectively work with us and to advise where we are lacking, has ensured a smooth and successful ride. We count our blessings everyday to have been acquainted with these creatives.

Read More
Review of Habit
e
Never too small
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by emma・Submitted 27 May 2021・ Project completed Mar 2021・Designer Denise, Yanling, Lena

Overhauling a 20+ year old flat in its original state was daunting... adding the small size of the unit and COVID restrictions to the mix, it felt impossible. During our first meeting with Habit over zoom during the circuit breaker, we were immediately impressed by the depth of the discussion - Denise and Yanling really took the trouble to get to know us and our lifestyles before drafting their initial designs. We had our second meeting a month later where they presented three very different proposals, each equally creative and attractive with our needs in mind. We could tell that they are extremely passionate about what they do and we decided right away that they were the one! We had to wait a while to start the renovations as they had their hands full with earlier projects/delays from COVID but they managed our expectations accordingly and we were happy to wait. The whole renovation process went extremely smoothly and they were beyond helpful in liaising with our condo management and neighbours. We barely had to lift a finger. All the vendors/furnishings/lightings they recommended us were also fantastic. We were initially a bit worried that their aesthetic might be a bit too dark/modern for our taste, but they took our preferences on board every step of the way and the end product was beyond what we had ever imagined! The quality of the workmanship by their contractors and carpenters seems superb so far and they were quick to rectify any minor faults right after we moved in. They also really made every inch of our small space, not just beautiful but functional. It also feels infinitely more spacious now. The renovation cost a little more than we anticipated but they communicated any additional costs (mostly due to material choice) so there were no surprises at the end. Overall, given the service and quality they provide, we think it was absolutely worth it. Thank you Habit!!

Read More
Review of Habit
Jerraine Lim
Unique, trustworthy, thoughtful, reliable

Reviewed by Jerraine Lim・Submitted 25 Jan 2022・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Denise, Yanling, Dan

We first approached habit 6 years ago when we bought our first marital home. We were so pleased with how that turned out, the day we made an offer for our 2nd home, we texted Habit immediately to chope them for our next big project! Habit listens. And I think that's what homeowners need from our IDs. Habit listened and came up with proposals based on not just what we wanted, but also based on what suited the family's lifestyle. I have heard my friends share their experiences, where their IDs would share proposals based on previous projects, and just provide solutions that would be aesthetically pleasing, but totally not functional. Their designs are also thoughtful - my place has quite a lot of bay windows which makes it difficult to play up on space and storage. Habit did such a great job proposing creative solutions to manoeuvre around the restrictions and design a living space that made our place look big & the bay window spaces well utilised. The end result was clearly a living space that was uniquely ours. What I appreciate most is the extra mile Habit is willing to go. They even approached various furniture vendors to provide us with furnishing ideas that matched their design proposal. So what we got is a holistic 360 creative proposal - this helps a lot as they know best what style fits, and u don't have to go around hunting (& visualising on your own) for the furniture you need! Most importantly, Habit is reliable and responsible. No MIA post handover. They have been providing support (for both our projects) to ensure a smooth move-in, making it such a stress-free and enjoyable experience working with them. Thanks Habit! I'll see you very soon for our next project!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Habit
K
Hotel by Habit on Clementi Avenue 3
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kavee・Submitted 22 Mar 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Daniel, Lena, Yanling and Denise

As we went about our search for an ID, it looked like most IDs are out to close with discounting and a promise of better material. Most of the IDs we met were more interested in sharing the latest promotions they were running rather than taking the time to understand what we wanted. So we had to look deeper into who we are as a couple and what we wanted. The first thing we did was to acknowledge that we are not gifted in design and space planning. We were looking for an expert to help us design a very nice home. First Impressions It took a while for the Habit team to respond to us for an initial meeting. This was interesting as most IDs would rush to meet for an initial appointment. When we first met them it was clear that the Habit team was a breath of fresh air. They asked us a series of questions about lifestyle, family, intentions and budget. They did not propose anything and simply asked for some time while they worked out proposals for us to consider. They also asked us to send them a mood board of photos to help them understand us better. After about 4 weeks, they invited us back to their office. They shared 4 floor plan proposals that challenged how we saw the conventional ways a HDB house could be constructed. Their space planning was thoughtful and it became clear to us why they were asking all those questions during our first meeting. They really paid attention to our needs and wants as a young family. However, the team had set a budget expectation that was almost double what we had in mind. We had some thinking to do but really our hearts had decided for us. So we went with them. The Planning Phase - Circuit Breaker Our key collection was delayed due to the COVID-19 circuit breaker so we got to work on finalising the floor plans via zoom. This process took about 2 zoom meetings and a bit of back and forth. It was probably the hardest part of the renovation process as the Habit team does not provide 3D drawings. However, the manner in which space planning was conveyed to us communicated much more than what conventional 3D drawings would. The attention to detail in a 2D drawing was very deep. The Habit team were extremely detailed in their 2D drawings - each carpentry (i.e. the kitchen cabinets, isles, wardrobe, etc) had been drawn in various perspectives - front view, side view, back view). It was easier to visualise with some guidance from the team. They even did up a lighting plan that showcased how much of the house would be lit up. The Execution Phase Once we finalised the floor plans, the rest of the process was fairly painless. We met them twice to confirm flooring and tiling options and carpentry and laminate colours. The 2 meetings were structured and the team had prepared 2 options for us and shared their thought process. It was clear a lot of thought had been put in prior to our meeting and there were no surprise "top ups". Additional purchases (Lighting, Toilet Fixtures, Fans) The team at Habit work with a few trusted advisors who are domain specialists. The folks they recommended to us for the additional purchases were very professional and were able to guide us well. It also helps that the Habit team had done the legwork to recommend a few options for us to consider. Once we decided on the purchase, all we had to do was to foot the bill - the delivery, checking, coordination were taken care of by the team without any issues. Project Timeline and Completion The entire renovation process from start of hacking works to handover took just under 3 months. They did not give us a timeline or expectation of progress but at this point, we trusted that things would turn out well and it did. Upon handover, there was really nothing much that needed correction. Dollars and Cents The final bill vs the one we had signed up for varied ~3%. The initial quote we had signed up for had taken into consideration the type of tiles, flooring, countertops we needed to get the final outcome, the additional top ups were minor carpentry add-ons. Living in the space two months on We have now lived in the space for over 2 months and are happy with the choice we made. The overall experience working with the team, the quality of the outcome and feeling of coming home to a well designed home is worth it. We highly recommend the team and will not hesitate to engage their services for our future homes. Sincerely, Kavee & Felicia

Read More
project-upload
Review of Habit
JY
Newton 18

Reviewed by Jonathan Yeo・Submitted 26 Dec 2020・ Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena

Habit has designed a timeless home for our family incorporating function, design and beauty all on point! Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena were able to ask us all the right questions to discover our decorating style & needs, integrating with their expertise and bring the concept to life. After deciding and agreement upon the theme and design of the home, selection of down lights, accent lights and bathroom fittings were shortlisted based on the overall design of the home. We like Habit’s artistic ability to develop practical designs that looks great but yet also aesthetically pleasing and importantly has a style that lasts through the years We had a fuss free renovation experience with a superb post-handover service. The Habit Team’s follow up is exceptional and any queries or rectifications were promptly dealt with.

Read More
Review of Habit
YS
Our designers, our 'plumbers', our friends.....
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Yim Swee Yeng・Submitted 24 Dec 2020・ Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Denise, Yanling, Daniel & Lena

"What's meant to be, will always find a way....." and so it was for our engagement with the Habit team. Despite having other "tried and tested" recommendations, we went ahead with Denise & Yanling, whose project of transforming an old Tiong Bahru shophouse into a chic, modern home captivated our hearts. Our new home was an apartment in a 30+ year old development. The unit had been, for as long as anyone could remember, tenanted, with much of the original fixtures in tact. It would be a major overhaul and we needed a team that would be able to manage a lot more than the aesthetics.... The Tiong Bahru project, hence resonated well though it was still very much a leap of faith for us to sign with the team who was unknown to us. And of course, we never looked back! Starting from the conceptual floor plans to the detailed electrical drawings (with big thanks to 'OC' Daniel), the team was meticulous and creative, never failing to have solutions to our issues, always adding that extra innovative touch..... (My dream dry kitchen with the extra long island ala MBS cantilever with circular support never fails to awe our guests!) Everything that was put in, had a raison d'être - not just for aesthetics but always had a practical reason (like how the steps to the living area became useful storage spaces!). There were a million decisions to make but the recommendations and advice of the team made it so much easier. Our renovation was unfortunately delayed by the circuit breaker - apartment was left empty and enclosed for 2 months and when we came back, we found a number of issues arising from the trapped humidity - nails in the cupboards rusted and there was warping in the panelling... all our issues were always quickly and effectively resolved. Always responsive and helpful, we realised after a while that we should actually remove their numbers from our speed dial! Big shout out to Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena! It was almost a 10 month long journey (due to no fault of anyone but COVID19) with an amazing outcome. Along the way, we also found a few good friends who made the "trip" particularly pleasant and enjoyable.

Read More
Review of Habit
BL
Working with Habit was fun, I can't wait to do it all over again!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by BL・Submitted 2 Aug 2020・ Project completed Feb 2020・Designer Yanling, Denise, Daniel, Lena

I came to know of the Habit team through a few common friends. I have a few friends who also engaged Habit to design and renovate their homes. I pretty much knew quite early on that I’d want to work with Habit given my familiarity with the team and their portfolio. The Habit team is what I’d term as a top-tier design firm. You can tell from the design proposals that a lot of effort, detailed work and time went into the designs. The team drew up not one, two, but three proposals for consideration after receiving the initial brief. The proposals incorporated the initial ideas and instructions briefed to them, but over and above, many other creative solutions and proposals which I did not even think of. Having lived in my renovated home for a couple of months now, I continue to still find many aspects of the house well designed and thought-out - these are the fruits of Habit’s ingenuity and labour. The process for material selection was also very simple and fuss free, especially for a first time home owner. Just choose from various options presented to you, and let Habit run the show. I was also impressed with the execution of the renovation works as everything ran very smoothly. As my work schedule is pretty hectic, I pretty much let the team run the project. I did not have to micro manage and was not at all stressed or worried about any screw ups. I knew that I could trust the team to handle the renovation well (and boy they did). Habit was very prompt in providing updates throughout the process. They sent pictures as the works progressed along (it was always a delight to receive WhatsApp notifications from them). They were also very responsive (almost instantaneous at many times) when I needed to bounce ideas off during (many) furniture shopping weekends. Working with Habit made the entire renovation process very fun and needless to say, stress free - right from beginning when the design proposals were drawn, up till installation of carpentry work and finally, the handover. So much so that I'd want to do it all over again. To Denise, Yanling, Lena and Daniel, thanks very much for working on this project!

Read More
Review of Habit
M
First Rate Habit

Reviewed by Michael・Submitted 6 Jan 2021・ Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Denise, Daniel & Yan Ling

When we were looking for an ID firm, we didn’t feel the need to approach more than one for two reasons. First, among the many design portfolios here, Habit made the biggest impression on us. Stylistically, we found their work to consistently reflect a contemporary and seamless refined look. Attitudinally, we were attracted because many of their projects had what I’d call a bit of a swagger about them. Not the showroom or pretentious kind but the understated, elusive kind with a touch of unpredictability. Attention to detailing - another key requirement for us - was also pretty evident in their own office setup. Second, we took the time to do our homework before embarking on our project - an important step in the process because it gave clarity to our brief and kind of ID we wanted. We thought about our previous homes, what we liked, didn’t, needed, scoured Pinterest and even made a mood-board of the look and feel we wanted for our new home. All that was then left was to deep-dive into the design portfolios here in Qanvast to find the closest ID match. So. There wasn’t a need to waste time approaching several ID firms or worse, mindlessly make a bunch of them put up proposals like a GE Biz tender. Worst way to engage creatives. The Habit team may have been surprised that we signed them up right after our first meeting but we weren’t, because their portfolio, attitude, personalities and enthusiasm with the brief were bang on target for us. In the weeks later, we were - pleasantly - bombarded with design ideas and layouts, followed by detailed plans for hacking, electricals, lighting, woodworking and what-not. We found the team to be always accessible and diligent in their management of the project. Yan Ling was the project gatekeeper, Denise the creative lead, Daniel the draughtsman and minder rolled into one, and Lena the support. They were constantly on the case, passionately ideas-driven, made sure that everything was on track, and paid close attention to the detailing work that evolved through the project. I recall a meeting in which Denise and Daniel debated a good 30 minutes about the ideal placement of a switch plate on our window ledge and another in which they both kept revising the design for one of the bathrooms until they were themselves satisfied that it was original and good enough to pass muster! Denise has a great and fussy eye for ideas (and loves matt black), Daniel is a passionate stickler for getting the details right, and Yan Ling offers a cool check-and-balance design head while also having an eye for super nice furniture. If you should end up with them as your ID, give them room to express their creativity and unpredictability and trust them. You’ll be pleasantly surprised how good they really are. Their commitment and professionalism were top class and we would not hesitate to use them again in the future. First-rate quality of ideas and work. Highly recommended.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?