Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
89 reviews
Review of Meter Square
CC
Professional and hassle free experience

Reviewed by Cassie Cham・Submitted 11 Feb 2022・ Project completed Feb 2022・Designer May Chang

We have engaged May for all our renovation and house requirements and have been with her for more than 10 years. She has never failed to provide the practical solutions to enable to best effect and to maximize the budget that we have to achieve the best effect for our house. Our family and friends have also engaged her services and her team and her has always delivered in time. Thank you May, for another job well done! Truely appreciate the whole team's effort for our new house. We never had to worry about any aspects and left everything in her care.

Read More
Review of Meter Square
Sophia Nyam
Fabulous experience with Meter Square

Reviewed by Sophia Nyam・Submitted 14 Jul 2021・ Project completed Jul 2021・Designer May Chang

Meter Square was a referred to us by my sister-in-law, who engaged May as her ID for both her houses. After visiting 3 sources, we decided to go with Meter Square, because May is able to provide us practical options that meet our budget and needs. Her ID to make our place look spacious , where the entire area are lighted up evenly that provides us a cozy cum elegant ambient where we call home. The whole renovation experience with May and her team especially Mr A was fabulous. The renovation was completed on schedule during COVID-19 situation is a thumbs up, as Meter Square’s carpentry factory is based in Singapore which avoided risk of delay. Today 14/7/21, we are very pleased as the actual outcome is what May had shown us, where the finishing is really elegant. We have no regrets in choosing Meter Square.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Meter Square
Albert
The ID who gives you the least worries
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Albert・Submitted 24 Jul 2021・ Project completed Jun 2021・Designer May Chang

I began my search for an ID company with 6 shortlisted ID companies, ranging from lesser known to the high end companies. Even though May was recommended by a relative of mine. I still wanted to do some comparison of price, idea, material and "feel" with the IDs as I have not engaged an ID for more than 10 years. Long review ahead. Pricing: Even though Meter Square's pricing was not the lowest and in fact, slightly higher than the popular mass-market IDs you see advertised, I went ahead with Meter Square as May was very assuring, confident of her quality and most importantly, we felt that we "clicked" well with her. She was not pushy with her pricing and allowed us to decide on which we felt was most comfortable, while providing us with her comments on practicality. Designer: May was very patient with us as we spent many days and countless hours going through various laminates, tiles, and fittings for our house. Even though we made some design changes along the way due to various reasons, she always did her best to accommodate without bursting the budget. That said, May has never forced her ideas on us and in fact, tries her best to come up with what we wanted to achieve. In fact, our final completion was almost identical to the 3D rendering which she did for us. May's recommendations were almost always spot-on as she tries her best to understand what we want vs what is practical. If she feels that something might not work well, she says it very honestly to us and this is something we like a lot. Her sense of style and taste is impeccable as well, which of course comes with her bags of experience. Project & timeline management: May's management of timelines was tip-top - I've never seen such meticulous planning and project management over 3 months, even with COVID restrictions. We never had to worry about going on site (even though we were just 10-15mins away) as May kept us up to speed almost daily with her messages and pictures on WhatsApp. If we noticed something wasn't right, we could text May and she would almost always respond to us immediately. May's management of the contractors were also good, with Meter Square's carpentry factory being based in Singapore, which really lessens the downtime especially during COVID. In fact, some friends who were also renovating their homes during the COVID period, shared horror stories about unnecessary delays, unresponsive & M-I-A IDs, bursting of budgets etc - I was relieved that I had chosen a reliable ID in May and Meter Square. We also had to move in before renovation was 100% completed due to COVID measures, but May was always prompt to ensure all the touch-up and fixes were properly done. Quality: Quality of workmanship is good. Meter Square's own carpentry factory was able to come back with rectifications very quickly, with virtually minimal downtime. Though a few of the external contractors she worked had a few minor hiccups, May always sought to resolve them for us without much fuss. We were very satisfied with the overall look, feel and quality of the finishings. Conclusion: If you're looking for an ID that will give you the least worries, deliver quality renovation without busting your budget for your dream home renovation, look no further than Meter Square.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Meter Square
Brendan Loh
Good experience with Meter Square!

Reviewed by Brendan Loh・Submitted 4 Jul 2021・ Project completed Jun 2021・Designer May Chang

We had shortlisted two ID firms - one whose portfolio we liked from our online research, and Meter Square which was a referral from a colleague who had engaged May as her ID previously. First impression matters and we eventually decided to go with Meter Square as we felt much more comfortable with May after the first meet-ups as she was able to understand what we want and clearly articulate her design ideas. While May placed emphasis on designs and aesthetics, she was still able to offer practical suggestions and ideas. The whole renovation experience with May and her team was also very pleasant - the renovation works were completed ahead of schedule with minimal hiccups which is quite a feat amidst the current COVID-19 situation (Meter Square’s carpentry factory is based in Singapore which mitigates the risk of delays caused by lockdowns). Definitely a positive experience!

Read More
Review of Meter Square
Valerie Quan
Excellent services rendered
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Valerie Quan・Submitted 25 May 2021・ Project completed May 2021・Designer May

May is an excellent designer and project manager. She has made the process of renovating our home simple and fuss free, and has exceeded all our expectations. May is systematic and efficient in her work and offers up practical solutions, so that you don't overspend. Additionally, May has been very patient and does her best to understand our needs. Quality of Reno works also of good quality and workmanship. This is our 2nd time working with May, and will not be the last. Highly recommended!

Read More
Review of Meter Square
Jennifer Liu
Our House Renovation

Reviewed by Jennifer Liu・Submitted 6 May 2021・ Project completed May 2021・Designer May

This is the second we had engaged May for doing up our house. Although the interior designs that she had proposed was good and the quality of carpentry works had definitely improved a lot as compared to the first time but there was still one area i.e. the marble flooring polishing which was not very well done and can be better managed. Nevertheless, She and her team are prompt and responsive when we had queries and questions.

Read More
project-upload
Review of Meter Square
Jesica Lee
Luxurious 2-bedder
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jesica Lee・Submitted 28 May 2021・ Project completed Apr 2021・Designer May Chang

This is the 3rd project that Meter Square has helped me with - renovation of my first home 5 years ago and my office last year. Based on the brief given, May was clear with the style I was going for and provided me with the 3D renders. The first draft captured most of what I wanted and only minor tweaks were required. May gave very good suggestions on how to include certain details (such as the performance board in the master bedroom, inclusion of flushed panels etc) to achieve the overall feel that I wanted for my second home. May is able to read her customers' mind and understand their needs. Renovation was smooth despite a shortage of manpower in the industry. May, together with Ben who was managing the project, kept me closely updated on the progress of the renovation. Workmanship of their in-house carpentry was also superb. Overall, I'm very satisfied with Meter Square and will definitely recommend them to my friends and family.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Meter Square
YZ
Satisfied returning customer

Reviewed by Yang Zhixin・Submitted 24 Apr 2021・ Project completed Apr 2021・Designer May Chang

We first came to Meter Square for our BTO renovation in 2011. The whole renovation process was smooth and we were satisfied with the final outcome. So when we decided to redo our master bedroom, it was without question that we go back to Meter Square for the project! And again, Meter Square did a fantastic job! We were very impressed with the final look and outcome. 1. The entire process from planning to execution was very smooth and our renovation was completed on time. 2. May was able to fully understand our concerns and proposed a design that suits our needs. She will advise us what are the works that are non essential and helps us to reduce renovation cost. 3. Great carpentary workmanship, all the other works e.g. electrical, aircon and painting were also very nicely done. Few minor changes required and they managed to rectify promptly. In summary, we were once again a very satisfied customer of Meter Square and we will not hesitate to go back to them and to May for future renovation works!

Read More
project-upload
Review of Meter Square
GL
Excellent service and carpentry works!

Reviewed by Grizelda Loo・Submitted 3 Mar 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Daphne

Our ID - Daphne was very responsive and detail orientated! It was an absolute pleasure to be working with her to design and conceptualize our second home. She offered many practical inputs to our design that added touches of functionality alongside the aesthetics. The in-house carpentry done by Metersquare were well executed and high quality, very impressive indeed. The entire renovation of our 5 room BTO was completed in 7 weeks before the CNY came around! Massive kudos to Daphne's excellent planning and liaison with all the people involved in the process. Would highly recommend Daphne and Metersquare:)

Read More
Review of Meter Square
W
Renovation in an unprecedented year!

Reviewed by Willee・Submitted 21 Dec 2020・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Mint Ng

2020 was an unprecedented year. I started looking for my resale flat right before the whole pandemic started and sourcing for an ID company. Meter Square (MS) was one of the companies I was discussing with. I met up with several IDs and Mint from MS was one of them. This journey was not easy to begin with because everything was blurry in terms of policies and processes. I met with Mint for the 2nd time few days before the great "Lock-Down" happened. I guess the ID plays an important role less of the ID firm itself. Mint has been very forthcoming and assuring since the beginning. No airy-fairy type of stories. What I appreciated about Mint was her candidness. She was not giving me assurance for the sake of closing the deal and that she was very genuine about the whole situation which sets her apart from the 6-7 other IDs I have met. Most importantly, we have the chemistry to discuss what I wanted and worries. She was not at all pushy. We reconvened the whole reno discussion after months of lock-down. My reno journey will not be as smooth sailing as it could be without Mint’s dedication. I have heard so many scary stories on the public domain around renovation works being delayed and bad handling of works/workers by some ID firms but I am glad Mint kept to her promise and made it a reality. Her design of the house and scheduling of work in the midst of this pandemic situation have won several praises from my friends and family members. Of course, I think I wanted to also give credit to her workers. The workers supporting an ID is equally important. I could sensed that Mint has a great working relationship with them. I met with some of them too when I was always visiting my unit during the renovation. What makes a great ID is also the very good and dedicated set of contractors who have been all so helpful and dedicated. They dont simply work blindly but I am impressed with how proactive they are in giving their opinions. Thumbs Up to them too. So a great ID firm is made up of a great reputation thru its dedicated and responsible ID cum workers. Thks MS, Mint and all that made this renovation journey less painful and so much more enjoyable in this incredible year. Not an easy feat!

Read More
Review of Meter Square
S
Responsive Designer
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Serene・Submitted 20 Dec 2020・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer May Chang

Read good review about May's portfolio and engage her service. We required alot of storage space and she had designed and created ample storage cabinet for us and given helpful advice on other storage alternative. She will update us upon every job done thru wat apps. During this covid period with tight manpower, they able to complete the renovation within the timeline. Thank you May and team for the good job done.

Read More
Review of Meter Square
Sheane Natasha
Reliable, Efficient and High Quality

Reviewed by Sheane Natasha・Submitted 16 Dec 2020・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer May Chang

This is our second time engaging Meter Square and they have never let us down. Our ID, May, is experienced, reliable, organised and efficient. Carpentry works are of high quality and their workers are polite and well-mannered. With May handling our project, our minds are at ease in terms of deliverables and ability to meet project timeline. May also provided good suggestions and alternatives throughout the design process. We do however find the prices a tad on the high side. We also had to incur some additional charges, eg when the plumber had to make another trip to install the bathtub when the delivery of the bathtub was delayed. We felt that the project schedule could have been shared with us earlier so that we can ensure our vendors for lights, bathtub, bathroom accessories are able to deliver according to their project schedule. It was challenging at our end to coordinate with the vendors delivery of items to ensure we meet their project schedule and not having to incur additional costs due to additional trips. Coordination and communication with our vendors could also be tighter. This may not be an issue if u work with their partnered vendors but prices may be higher than if u source your own suppliers. Overall, we would still highly recommend Meter Square.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?