Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
28 reviews
Review of Carpenters 匠
Mrstonee Dsantos
Reliable Professional Patient Punctual

Reviewed by Mrstonee Dsantos・Submitted 11 Oct 2021・ Project completed Sep 2021・Designer Nicole

We started our renovation journey Q1 of 2021 and I started to look for the most suitable ID. We had our 1st reno back in 2015 and now decided to do another reno to add another room to our 3room HDB. I met with numbers of ID and shortlisted 3 of i think 15 IDs i spoke with. These 3 IDs quotations are not far from each other but I chose Carpernters because of Nicole (ID). They are not the lowest quote I got but engaging an ID, price is not just the qualification that you should look for but who is the ID you will be working with thru this tedious process. To make this 3rm to have 3 bedroom is the real challenge i guess. Nicole made her 1st proposal design based on the layout of what we intended but then we changed our mind.Nicole was the 1st one who submitted her proposal a day after we discussed (1am the following day). I saw the 1st characteristic of her that i should engage with, hardworking and paying attention to what client needs. Then when i discussed with her that we changed our plan where to locate the other room she was very patient to listed one by one to what I want (my wishlist). This is the MOST important attitude you should look for in an ID, PATIENT… she is also very professional and punctual as we have very specific timing when do we need to move in as we only have limited budget to spend our stay in hotel. She made a whole day also to sit down and discussed all details again one by one and is very patient with those minor details i wanted to amend. I will not think twice to recommend her and Carpenters to my friends.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Carpenters 匠
Ronny Poh
Enjoyable Experience
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ronny Poh・Submitted 27 Jul 2021・ Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Chris & Jin Hao

Chris and Jin Hao has been working together on our home, and it has been an enjoyable and wonderful experience working with them. From the initial stages of understanding our needs to proposing different ideas that infused practicality and aesthetics - they were able to curate and tailor our needs according to our budget. During the renovation, they're contactable (within 24hrs as they're also dealing with other projects) and quite responsive to answer our queries and doubts which helps to make this journey more guided and a pleasant one. With their past experience and connections, we were glad that they were able to not only accomplish our beautiful home at our desired budget range, but also in good time - especially so in a difficult time during this covid period. Post Renovation, we still keep in contact as friends and they're always availing themselves if there's any rectification works to be done. Truly professional and dedicated to our project! Would recommend Carpenters as they have their own factory locally that produces the carpentry work!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Carpenters 匠
Joanna Koh
Highly recommended for workmanship and professionalism!

Reviewed by Joanna Koh・Submitted 14 Feb 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Cecilia Chiew

My hubby and I are so glad we had Cecilia as our ID despite ours being a very small project only. Her responsiveness, timely updates and professionalism made us very assured throughout the reno journey despite all the covid issues affecting many businesses. The costs were very reasonable and ideas presented were in line with what we had in mind. Actual reno was smooth, well-managed and very punctual, also workmanship was fantastic. Post-reno when I had some minor issues after moving in, she immediately sent help over the next morning to check and rectify. I'll highly recommend new homeowners to look for Cecilia from Carpenters to design and reno their new place if you want a fuss-free experience and a beautiful place to call home.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Carpenters 匠
Idly Ali
Renovation Journey

Reviewed by Idly Ali・Submitted 5 Jul 2021・ Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Jas

We went to several IDs and discussed with them to make use of the living, dining and kitchen area.No one can give a great idea like how Jas and Carpenters did.They listen to our suggestion and execute it with their perfect planning.The 5 room hdb flat really don't look like one thanks to Jas.It look like a private apartment.Jas was very accommodative and attentive.There were changes along the way and they listen to it and made the changes without any hiccups.I would recommend Jas and the carpenters team for being an excellent ID for our house!

Read More
Review of Carpenters 匠
Erica Teoh
Horrible Reno Experience

Reviewed by Erica Teoh・Submitted 27 Nov 2020・ Project completed Sep 2020・Designer Alloyious, JJ, Celestia

We had a horrible experience entrusting our house reno with Carpenters. The company tends to overpromise on things that they couldn't deliver especially on the timeline. Be careful on how they play with words like we 'try our best' and with last minute delay of works without informing the client. We're supposed to move in on oct 7th and 2-3 days prior to move in, we'd been confirming with Carpenters that if the committed works esp painting would be completed on Oct 6th (with whatsapp conversation as proof), and the designer/in charge person replied with no issue to complete those works, and a day prior to move in, he will tried to renegotiate the new timeline for painting work completion and left you with no choice - in his own words and questioning us 'is move in more important or painting the wall more important?' He further informed us that he would cancel the remaining works that not complete a day prior to our move in date. On the commercial perspective, we've already paid up to ~95% of the total payment and the works done are not even meeting the amount of works done. After we moved in, we found out that their subcon has disconnected the gas meter without seeking approval from Citygas and this has raised inquiry from citygas to them, when we told the incharge person the water heater is not connected, in his own words, "you can use kettle to boil water to shower". We couldn't believe if he is trying to insult our intelligence or he's some difficulty in processing information from his client. After been through this experience, what we wanted to share is, if you are engaging someone to help you resolve your reno which you paid for, you shouldn't go to a company that is just "trying their best' and cant actually get the work done, and also doesn't able to problem solve untill you told them what to do.

company-logo
Response from Carpenters 匠

Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. You may email us at feedback@carpenters.com.sg Again, thank you for your feedback!

Read More
Carpenters 匠 responded to this review
Review of Carpenters 匠
Ashton Tan
Functional Design

Reviewed by Ashton Tan・Submitted 15 Mar 2021・ Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Xueqi

Overall the renovation and design is professional. Xueqi made effort to get what the requirements and within budget for renovation. She went extra mile to ensure the painting and cleaning are done well. The colour theme and recommendations are well given. The workmanship is also good and no problem so far. Before the renovation xueqi went onsite and did home check for free which is nice of her to do even before signing the contract. Thank you Xueqi and carpenter.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Carpenters 匠
x
Oriental Theme

Reviewed by xxx・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・ Project completed Jun 2020・Designer Jas Lye

We went to Carpenters after seeing their Chinese Theme design in one of their Facebook post. We were attracted to the design. During the initial meet up, Jas gave us the confident in her work and she knew what we wanted. Unfortunately, our renovation was stopped half way during the COVID period. Jas was very thoughtful and she helped to covered up all drainages to prevent mosquitoes breeding during the no work period. As the Government relax the restriction, she immediately spring to work and made necessary arrangements to ensure our renovation was back on track. Keeping us updated throughout the Circuit Breaker period. Although there was a mad rush to complete our project, their works were not compromised. Their workmanships remain good. We are extremely happy with their cabinets’ works, high quality and made to perfection. Thank you, Carpenters and Jas!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Carpenters 匠
Lishan
Proactive and flexible ID with great practical design

Reviewed by Lishan・Submitted 16 May 2020・ Project completed Apr 2020・Designer Nicole

Nicole brought with her years of experience, and able to provide very practical recommendations on the home design to ensure our home not only look good, but livable. She is also considerate towards our budget and would provide cost savings recommendation. Her positive attitude and flexibility in managing the ever changing scenarios due to the CB period is commendable. She gave us confidence that the project will be completed in time and has been resourceful to move the tasks around to make things work. Love this home design journey with her and will definitely recommend her to my friends and family.

Read More
Review of Carpenters 匠
S
Great work!

Reviewed by Sherlyn・Submitted 19 Dec 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Mia Li

My husband and I highly recommend Carpenters and our ID, Mia. She was patient and responsive in attending to our requests and enquiries. She was able to provide good concepts/design recommendation and professional advice on the materials selection and colour combination. There was also regular updates from her on the renovation progress. I would like to thank her for her service and dedication!

Read More
Review of Carpenters 匠
Jake SleepyHead
Excellent service

Reviewed by Jake SleepyHead・Submitted 19 Dec 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Nicole

Our designer Nicole was friendly and supportive throughout our project. She coordinated all the different people smoothly and delivered the project on time even though we had many follow up requests. She was always on site to supervise the work and would give timely feedback to us. With the multiple ideas we had, she gave excellent advise to fit all of it into our home design and we are satisfied with the project. Highly recommend.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Carpenters 匠
S
3-room BTO Renovation at Anchorvale Lane
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Suzie・Submitted 22 Nov 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Cecilia Chiew

Thankful to have Cecilia Chiew as our interior designer. Glad that we have made the right choice to engage her for our new 3-room BTO renovation work. She is responsive, responsible and approachable. Able to communicate freely and work well with us. She is very helpful in many ways whenever we have any request. She has displayed great passion and professionalism in providing good advice, helping us design with good space planning to fit in all our requirements, great job site co-ordination to get everything done "swee swee"...and transforming our small BTO into a cosy, comfortable retirement home. Great job, Cecilia! Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for an interior designer.

Read More
Review of Carpenters 匠
Maryann Au
Resale Renovation

Reviewed by Maryann Au・Submitted 19 Nov 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Jas Lye

We are extremely pleased we selected Carpenters and had Jas as our ID. From the very beginning, she was welcoming and engaging with us on our thoughts and ideas on the renovation of our new place. She listened and gave her professional advice. She kept a keen eye on managing the on-goings and issues that arose during the course of the renovation. We are very pleased on the overall outcome, and also the quality of carpentry workmanship is extremely good as well. We highly recommended the firm and our ID Jas!!

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?