Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
14 reviews
Review of The Scientist
Linus Ang
Recommended for Uniqueness
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Linus Ang・Submitted 16 Jun 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Shyn Sum

Before Renovation: We were searching for a designer that can come up with a concept that is not just unique from most others but also willing to explore a colour palette that is not conservative, particularly not to include white and wooden tones. We came across The Scientist Interior when they were featured for their design by one of the social media pages. At that point in time, we knew The Scientist Interior should be able to achieve the concept we have in mind. Upon contacting them, we were introduced to our assigned ID, Shyn Sum. Before we were sure about The Scientist Interior, Shyn was patient with us, sharing different ideas and concepts to compliment what we have in mind. Her response to our queries was prompt. She also advised us on what are some of the concepts that may not be practical in the long run and would only be aesthetically pleasing. Despite this, she was able to provide alternatives that could fulfil both aspects while keeping in mind of our budget. After much consideration, we decided to let her handle our renovation. During Renovation: The process was really smooth, without any delay. The impression that she gave was that the entire renovation was well-planned and organised. At various stages of the renovation, she would update us with photos and seek our opinions to ensure that everything was going according to what we had discussed. Site visits were also welcomed to explain why certain approaches were taken to realise the plan in mind. During the process, we had many queries and she was able to address them promptly and clearly. In addition, our requests for rectifications and changes were also promptly addressed. After Renovation: To date, Shyn remains prompt in answering our queries and providing after-sales support. She is definitely not like some designers out there that fades off as time passes by after job completion. In fact, she also provides us with tips on cleaning some parts of the flat. Summary: In overall, we can see that Shyn is a young but passionate designer with a positive learning attitude. Her promptness in response and creativity in design within budget are qualities that make us not regretting choosing The Scientist Interior. For those wanting to be different, The Scientist Interior should definitely be in your list of consideration.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of The Scientist
J
Makeover of 4-Room HDB
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by John・Submitted 24 Mar 2019・ Project completed Mar 2019・Designer Yee Ling and Rachel

We engaged Yee Ling and Rachel from The Scientist some time back in Nov/Dec 2018 to undertake a makeover of our 4-room resale HDB home which we are currently living in. Our instructed scope covers, amongst other things, the repainting of our home, installing and fabricating of additional wardrobe for our guest bedroom, and a huge book shelf and whiskey bar for our study room. Given that our budget for the makeover was about S$20K, and it being a relatively small project, Yee Ling and Rachel were not dismissive to us like other ID firms (some reputable ones did not even bother to call us back). Yee Ling and Rachel were happy to take on the project and approached it with much enthusiasm. To be honest, we were initially sceptical of their ability to deliver due to their relatively young age. We were also worried about whether they are able to complete the makeover in time since we are presently staying in our home and do not have anywhere else to move to if they are to bodge the makeover. We trusted our instincts and went with the 2 girls as our designers. From the engagement process, material and design selection, and coordination, Yee Ling and Rachel were always professional and prompt in responding to our queries. We were glad that we engaged them as only then, did we have the opportunity to witness how amazingly talented these 2 girls are, and how lucky The Scientist is to have them as employees. We arranged with The Scientist to commence work while we were on 1 ½ weeks’ vacation. We were expecting the makeover to be completed within 3 weeks, but to our pleasant surprise, Yee Ling and Rachel guaranteed that the works can be completed by the time we are back. During the time we were away, the girls kept us posted on the progress (with pictures and videos) and managed their sub-contractors like seasoned pros. Yee Ling and Rachel were professionally authoritative and gave very specific and clear instructions to the sub-contractors. We got home at about 12 am that night from the airport, and with fingers crossed, we opened our door for the very first time since we handed the keys over to them - we were immediately left speechless. All the works were completed impeccably and as designed, the condition of our house after the cleaning was pristine and in a totally liveable condition despite there being quite a bit of carpentry and painting works done a few days ago. All our existing furniture were not damaged and was in the condition as we left them. We have more to commend Yee Ling and Rachel on, but I guess the only best testament to their work is to re-engage them (hopefully for our next home) and to recommend our friends to engage The Scientist. Kudos to you girls, and The Scientist!

Read More
Review of The Scientist
D
Cantonment Renovation

Reviewed by DIxin・Submitted 12 Mar 2019・ Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Alvin and Yee Ling

We met with Alvin and Yee Ling, and was impressed with their meticulousness during the first meeting. We felt that they got the aesthetic and style immediately even though we felt we came across as vague and ambiguous. Subsequent meetings made us more certain of choosing them as they proposed ideas and put together a mood board that was anchored around our original idea but made it more cohesive. They were also important in providing us with practical tips since we were new to the renovation process. Throughout the whole renovation process, they kept us on track by setting milestone meetings with us. They also constantly kept us updated on the progress by sending pictures and snippets of the day's work. They gave us lots of tips when we were choosing furniture and other fixtures of the house. Communication was also smooth throughout the process. They informed us of any hiccups that needed our attention and made sure we were agreeable to any last-minute changes before going ahead with them. We are very happy with the final outcome. The workmanship (paint, carpentry, flooring) was of good quality. We also love the aesthetic and style - it's unique and unlike what other IDs offered. Really appreciate them pushing us beyond our comfort zone (e.g. the wall colours, floor tiles) because the end result is beyond our expectations. Thank you Alvin and Yee Ling for our cosy abode!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of The Scientist
Michelle
Excellent ID and Workmanship
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Michelle・Submitted 15 May 2019・ Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Shyn

It has been a long awaited dream to have a place of our own. When we finally bought our humble abode, it was was time to find an interior designer to create our dream home. I have been following The Scientist’s project for awhile and it didn’t take long for me to decide to call them for a discussion. It was however not easy to secure an appointment with them but I persevered. When I got to meet Shyn, an interior designer from The Scientist, she impressed me as someone who has a good head on her shoulders and able to balance practicality with whimsical design ideas. Of two shortlisted interior design firms, I decided to go with Shyn from The Scientist. It is probably the best decision I made with regard to our house renovation. The renovation process was very exciting and dynamic. Shyn is such a joy to work with! As with most house renovation projects, ours was not without unexpected challenges but Shyn always took things in her stride and calmly navigated the whole renovation journey. What I appreciated most was her attention to details, professionalism and great ability to transform our design ideas into reality. Even when the house renovation has ended, she would take time to attend to our questions and requests, and always going the extra mile despite her busy schedule. My husband and I absolutely love our house. We have been recommending Shyn and The Scientist to our friends who are looking for a reliable, creative and passionate interior designer/firm to embark on their house renovation journey.

Read More
project-upload
Review of The Scientist
DL
Elegant and Cozy House
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Dickson Lim・Submitted 21 Mar 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Cynthia and Alvin

I engaged The Scientist to renovate my 3-bedroom condominium unit. It was a major renovation project which included hacking and reconstruction of spaces. I was extremely impressed with the professionalism and service rendered throughout the process. The designers had numerous discussions with me and my husband to fully understand our preferences. On top of this, they value-added by including a more practical perspective to our preference and yet keeping the look and feel that we liked. They did not use technical difficulties to dismiss any of our suggestions Most importantly, their professionalism and the very good understanding of their customer's needs led to an elegant and cozy house that I am most proud of.

Read More
Review of The Scientist
K
1-bedroom Condo

Reviewed by Kenneth・Submitted 27 Mar 2019・ Project completed Aug 2018・Designer Krystle Bell

Pretty sure I was one of those nightmare clients who couldn't make up their mind but wanted a say in everything - and I mean everything - throughout the renovation. Thank goodness Krystle had grit and persistence. She was a joy to work with from the start, a good listener, open to fresh ideas. She was patient, mostly stayed on budget (though I made a hundred changes every week, it seemed), and delivered everything on time, with a few exceptions. The quality of work throughout was good, as well as the followups. If there's anything I thought could be better, it's this: I was willing to take big design risks with my place, and I often wished Krystle was equally willing to explore them with me.

Read More
Review of The Scientist
Mark Khaw
Excellent ID And Highly Professional
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mark Khaw・Submitted 16 Jun 2019・ Project completed Jun 2018・Designer Alvin Ling And Krystle Teoh

We shortlisted Scientist out of 3 ID proposals because we liked their design proposal, technical capabilities and mood board presentation. They were very patient and accommodating and were very honest in sharing their sub-contractors and carpentry capabilities. This gave us confidence in their workmanship quality and technical capabilities from the beginning. We also felt very comfortable working with Alvin and Krystle. They are very meticulous and spent many hours working through every single detail with us. We also like the fact that they considered our ideas and discussed technical complications and came up with great solutions. Every detail was prepared properly into drawings. They were also very patient as we spent many trips to Hafary to select the right tile combinations. The team is also excellent in project planning. The project completed almost exactly to their plan, which was important as we had a fix date to move in. We also like that they are very current in their design ideas as well as sourcing for unique materials. We were introduced to very unique variety of knobs and handles, fittings, furniture pieces and lighting accessories. They are also very prompt in fixing issues during construction and even after handover. We had couple of post handover discovery which was fixed very promptly even a few months after handover. The overall process with Scientist was very enjoyable and we are very impressed with the professionalism and quality from Alvin and Krystle. This is a highly recommended ID.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of The Scientist
S.ss Wei
Great Coordination And Recommendation

Reviewed by S.ss Wei・Submitted 4 Apr 2019・ Project completed May 2018・Designer Krystle

We were scouting around and talking to a few designers before coming across the company. We had a chance to work with Krystle and she was very helpful in our renovation journey such as recommending designs, color schemes and decorations. Without her help, we will not be able to achieve our dream home. She was always prompt in her responses whenever we have questions about the renovation. The worksmanship was great and there were no flaws from the furnishing.

Read More
Review of The Scientist
Ea
Telok Blangah
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Elyn and Shawn・Submitted 14 Sep 2018・ Project completed Apr 2018

We made an appointment where we met Alvin and Cynthia. They form a great team as Alvin led the discussions while Cynthia meticulously took down everything that we discussed (seriously, we saw her notes). We have heard of horror stories where designers ordered wrong paint colours, used wrong materials, took wrong measurements, etc. So attention to details is a quality we definitely value. Both Alvin and Cynthia are a joy to work with. There were no major issues at all throughout the renovation process, and all minor rectifications were taken care of swiftly. The best thing about working with The Scientist was that while they adhered to what we desired, they constantly pushed the boundaries in areas where we never thought possible, while keeping within reasonable budget.  The Scientist’s designs speak for themselves, really. Designs may be subjective but it is undeniable that his designs are in sharp contrast with that of other IDs. I would not hesitate to recommend The Scientist to homeowners who dare to be different and willing to pay a bit more for quality.

Read More
Review of The Scientist
Long Ching Ching
The Hillside

Reviewed by Long Ching Ching・Submitted 2 May 2019・ Project completed Jan 2018・Designer Krystle Teoh

We did some research online & invited 2 ID firms to present their ideas & finally decided on The Scientist. We like their designs which are bold especially with colour schemes & found their designs aren’t atypical of the average Singapore household. Our ID was very responsive & accommodating, but not without giving constructive comments when our ideas weren’t feasible. She would laid down the pros and cons of having a particular design concept when we were of different opinion. We were kept informed of all the details during the renovation. The renovation completed within the given time frame & we got what we paid for in terms of quality & design. We have had numerous visitors since we moved into our new home & everyone commended that it has been tastefully done. We think our ID is creative in her design, flexible, professional & responsive which are qualities required of a good ID.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of The Scientist
C
Ideal ID!

Reviewed by Cryz・Submitted 11 May 2019・ Project completed Sep 2017・Designer Shyn

Was referred to 4 ID firms by Qanvest and decided to go with The Scientist because Shyn outshone the others with her amazing ability to help figure what I want even though I am unable to articulate clearly. She is able to conceptualize and expand through the little information i shared and came up with unique ideas which differentiates The Scientist from the rest. Other than being able to grasp well what I want, Shyn is also very practical in letting me know what can or cannot be done and for ideas that I have but not practical/do-able, Shyn will try to work to achieve as closely as possible the concept that I want. Other than my requests, Shyn also spend the same effort to understand each of my family members expectation and create the dream bedrooms for them. As with all house renovation, there were various hiccups and Shyn just took it in stride to resolve them. Her meticulous and strong sense of responsibility nature makes me very comfortable in leaving my renovation in her care while I focus on my busy work. Even after the project has ended, Shyn continue to try her best to help me when things crop up, which I am very appreciative as most others would probably have ignored. I am very glad that I have chosen The Scientist and have Shyn as my ID as I am very sure things would have turned up very differently from the amazing home i have now.

Read More
project-upload
Review of The Scientist
EG
We chose The Scientist as we could feel their passion
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Elenda Goh・Submitted 25 Mar 2019・ Project completed Mar 2017・Designer Shyn and Alvin

We got 6 quotes from 6 different ID companies but we chose The Scientist as we could feel their passion even in our initial conversations with them. Though the quote was higher than the others, we felt it was money well spent. Right from conceptualizing the design of our future home to the final stage of styling the different parts of the house, the designers tirelessly worked with us, giving us feedback and suggestions. After the handover, Scientist continues to engage us to find out if any parts of the house needs further touch up. Thank you Scientist for helping us fulfill the vision of our dream home.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?