Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
25 reviews
verified-review
Verified reviews are cross-checked against their renovation contract.
LY
Excellent Quality & Service! Would Def Recommend To My Family and Friends!

Reviewed by Li Yin Lim・Submitted 27 Feb 2019・ Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Edward and Leonard

We were introduced to Edward via my younger brother, who happened to be his army mate. From the get-go, Edward impressed us on several counts. Not only is he creative, he is also very "hands on" - even in the moodboard stage, he would sketch ideas and 3d drawings to explain his ideas to us - but most importantly, he was very patient and went to great lengths to listen to us to find out what made an ideal home for us. It was great fun and super exciting exploring various options with him, and I think the added fact that he was always patient, not pushy; creative, not calculative made it so easy for us to decide to work with him - out of all the other IDs we had met with. Thereafter, Leonard was roped in to help with our renovations (an extra pair of hands, yay!). Throughout the entire process, the both of them displayed great professionalism and commitment to helping us with our renovations. We were constantly impressed by the level of service they brought to the table, and the many extra lengths they took to help make the entire process that much easier for us first homeowners. For example, they would walk us through the various steps in the process, keep us updated of progress via photos, videos etc, help to source for items that we were looking for, go shopping with us for tiles, lights, furnishings etc - even as the both of them were actually in the midst of preparing for their weddings. Not to forget, when we had some issues with our kitchen furnishings (due to no fault of theirs but entirely of ours), Edward and Leonard were the ones who alerted us to it, and we were eventually able to resolve it pretty quickly. Thank you so much Edward and Leonard (Chapter One) for being so helpful, reliable and resourceful throughout our renovation journey. I think as first homeowners, it's always a little scary doing up your first home, but the both of you made that journey absolutely pain-free and more importantly, enjoyable. I will definitely be recommending the both of you to my family and friends! :)

Read More
A
Horrendous Experience!

Reviewed by Anthony・Submitted 7 Feb 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer John, Edward, Leon

It was a nightmare experience for us with ChapterOne. We selected them initially from a list of 5 IDs via Qanvast. First impressions, interviews, proposals went well. The journey from the day we placed our payments till the end was probably the worst nightmare we have engaged in any business transactions. The nightmare: - the Reno timeline schedule completion date was badly missed including a project schedule that had a missing month! - countless “over-promising/under-delivering” items - the journey went from bad to worse the moment the owner John stepped in. This is probably the standout worst experience - many threats to stop all renovations in the middle of the reno despite timely installment payments

company-logo
Response from Chapter One Interior Design

As the reviewer did not sign off with his real name, we are not able to verify and pinpoint the project in question.

In general, we would not delay works without rhyme or reason. With the many cogs required to pull off a renovation within a tight timeline, a simple indecision, miscommunication or delay from a third party would have compounding effects on the timeline.

Definitely, timely and close communication with the client would mitigate any misunderstanding, but communication is a two-way street and mis-matched expectations will cause relations to spiral downwards quickly.

As with every review good or bad, we will be reflecting on the due process and work to communicate more effectively with our clients.

Read More
Chapter One Interior Design responded to this review
CG
Most responsive and responsible ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Cheryl Goh・Submitted 20 Feb 2019・ Project completed Oct 2018・Designer Edward Seet

We started our search for an ID over a year before our keys were due to be delivered, assuming a long process to finding the 'right fit' ID. However within 2 months we chanced upon Chapter One on Qanvast, contacted them and arranged a meetup that would put an end to our search. Our whole process from meeting the ID to handover took us 2 years! Edward happened to be assigned to our project and when we first met, he was patient in listening to our amateur requests, and even incorporated our needs and wants for our first home into the design. If our ideas were not practical, Edward would highlight this during the design process and recommend an alternative. We ended up with a beautiful home design because of these suggestions! The best part about the design process was that Edward (who used to be a graphic designer), would draw out the ideas immediately so we could get a good visual of the space! Very helpful especially if visualization is not your strong suit. Our tile selection, appliance selections, lighting selections, and HDB defects check were all accompanied by Edward. In fact, he was more than willing to accompany us lest we make a choice that would not fit the house, causing more issues later on. During the actual construction process, Edward was very responsive, proactive and was the one chasing us for decisions when we were taking too long. Any delays or changes were promptly updated so we were well aware of the timeline at any given moment. On top of that, no matter the day or time, Edward would be contactable via Whatsapp whenever we have questions or when we need help with any issues. For example in the weeks before handover, we would go down to the flat to test out the items and have a look at the finished works. Any items we were not entirely satisfied with, we would let Edward know and he would not only respond to our queries but rectify the issue ASAP! We were very impressed with how Edward handled the whole process for 2 years not only with immense patience, he also had good knowledge of HDB procedures and was always willing to help no matter what! Through it all, despite our additions, Edward managed to help us keep our costs within budget, and always proposed alternatives for every idea so we are aware of the options and cost outlay. So far, every visitor to our apartment has only praises for how nice our space looks. We completely agree with them! Many thanks to Edward and Chapter One!

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
S
Henderson
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Serene・Submitted 24 Oct 2018・ Project completed Oct 2018・Designer Donny See

I submited a request for IDs on Qanvast, and Donny was the first ID to contact us. We had a lovely experience working with Donny. We chose him as our ID as he was professional with lots of experience. He is very efficient, and his response was always prompt. Being first time home owners, he guided us through and made it a painless process. He was always onsite to make sure that everything went accordingly and will provide us with many updates. We truly appreciate Donny’s support throughout the renovation process.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
PC
Bukit Batok
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Penny Chia・Submitted 31 Oct 2017・ Project completed Oct 2017

I got to know Chapter One Interior Design through Qanvast's recommendations of five IDs. 4 of the 5 IDs responded to us and we met all of them. We narrowed to Chapter One and another ID firm and had a hard time choosing as we love both designers. However, Jonathan from Chapter One stood out for his creative design and his willingness to challenge the initial concept. He makes use of the constraints in the house (we have many wasted bay windows) and turns them into functional spaces. No renovation journey is perfect and although we reiterated the tight timeline we had, there were still some minor hiccups. However, Jonathan was able to present alternatives and made the situation less painful. He never fails to keep us updated with the progress throughout the journey, such as texting us the photos. Jonathan's creative design attracted us. And he's quite easy going, even to the extent of helping us with the some of the minor works. Renovation completed in : Aug 2017 Cost of Renovation $45,000

Read More
WL
Anchorvale Crescent
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Wei Leong・Submitted 31 Aug 2017・ Project completed Aug 2017

Chapter One was one of the IDs recommended to us by Qanvast. We met with quite a number of IDs but we decide to engage Chapter One for the responsiveness and friendliness of the ID and also, the price quoted was pretty competitive. As we had ideas of our own, Nizam gave us some good suggestion on how to amend our ideas and make our design into a better one. He followed up with our project diligently. Never did we regret our choice engaging them. We would definitely recommend them to our friends. For further improvement, it will be good if they could lower their pricing as they lower it is, the better. Renovation completed in: July 2017 Cost of renovation : $36,000

Read More
Joash Tan Swee Wah
Reliable and Excellent Service ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Joash Tan Swee Wah・Submitted 28 Feb 2019・ Project completed Jun 2017・Designer Edward Seet

It was a pleasure working with Edward and we have absolutely no regrets choosing him to be our ID. Edward is very responsible and organized. Someone who is very detailed, he makes sure everything is done nicely even to the smallest details. We could always count on him. Definitely fun working with Edward. Lots of great ideas and wonderful tips. Whenever we proposed our ideas to Edward. He always come back to us with surprises and not forgetting what we wanted. He is the quality package because He enjoy his work with passion. Awesome service! Always cheerful!

Read More
E
Canberra Street
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ezzati・Submitted 16 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

Chapter One Interior Design was one of the IDs recommended by Qanvast. Out of the few IDs, we felt most comfortable working with Jonathan. Hence we decide to engage him as our ID as we felt that it is important to have a good communication with the ID. The renovation process went well and the result turns out just the way we wanted, even the things we don't expect, all thanks to Jonathan's suggestions and recommendations. The workmanship was good and they delivered the project on time. Renovation completed in: May 2017 Cost of renovation: $38,000

Read More
LT
Telok Blangah
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Loy Thomas・Submitted 12 May 2017・ Project completed May 2017

I got to know them through Qanvast. One of the good things is that they could work with my budget of $23,000. During the renovation journey, everything is perfect! One of the hiccups that we had was our shoe cabinet has some design flaw, the wooden panel was not function but we managed to resolve the issue. The impressive part about Chapter One - we are not there very often, our ID will update us regularly through pictures and updates. Everything is perfect and we have recommended some of my friends to them. Completed in: October 2015 Cost of Renovation: $23,000

Read More
S
Anchorvale Road
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by SY・Submitted 20 Feb 2017・ Project completed Feb 2017

Chapter One was among the five recommendations from Qanvast. I spoke to 4 of them and eventually picked them. Chapter one stood out among the rest of the IDs in terms of presentation and ideas which closely match to what I envisioned. It was an great experience with fun people. The team made my renovation journey fun and exciting! One of the most impressive thing about them its's their ABCD- Above and beyond call of duty. Perfect renovation is impossible! My hiccups/problems are solved promptly and efficiently. I would say that they have a lot of potential. Better marketing will do them good! Renovation completed in: December 2015 Cost of renovation: $50,000

Read More
S
Still Road
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Sid・Submitted 6 Dec 2016・ Project completed Dec 2016

I met up with 4 IDs from Qanvast and decided to go with Jonathan as he brought a lot of good ideas to the table, and his personality and passion in our project won us over. He was a very hands-on guy, coming down to the renovation site every now and then and. It was a very old apartment (since the ‘60s) and the last renovation was done 20 years ago. Jonathan, his first time in renovation an old apartment was put to the test as he had to liaise with the management and find ways to keep the look we wanted and yet stick to the budget. Naturally there were some top-ups and delays due to unforseen surprises when we started the renovation but nevertheless, Jonathan managed to pull a rabbit out of a hat. If we have to nitpick on Jonathan, then better if Jonathan could improve on the administrative side of handling a project. Renovation completed in July 2016 Cost of renovation: $65,000

Read More
MA
Bedok
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mohammad Azami・Submitted 25 Nov 2015・ Project completed Nov 2015

I saw Chapter One's portfolio on Qanvast and since I like some of their past projects, I decided to talk to them. Jonathan's service was very good and he gave me some nice design ideas that I like. The best part about Chapter One is that they would constantly give me updates along the renovation, so that I'm aware of what was happening. There were some things they've done initially which I wasn’t satisfied with, but Jonathan was quick to make the amendments so I'm really quite happy with their services.

Read More
How we ensure our reviews stay credible
Reviews help build trust and transparency within our community. To ensure reviews are real and unbiased, we practise the following:
Verified reviews are cross-checked against their renovation contract.
We screen reviews and only remove those that are dishonest, duplicated and/or irrelevant (e.g. gibberish).
Interior firms that are reviewed upon are unable to influence us to change their ratings.

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?

Chat