Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
15 reviews
Ong Swee Leng Michael
5 Room Resale Flat
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ong Swee Leng Michael・Submitted 30 Jan 2020・ Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Ng Shui Min

Contacted Shui Min through Qanvest’s recommendation. Shui Min is patient and detail, he is able to accommodate most of our requests into his design and is able to provide good advices. His project planning and management is top class and is always in control amid various unexpected situations and still keeping the project within the agreed timeline. All in all, we are very happy with his design and workmanship especially his carpentary.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
B.Lim
Modern & Functional Design

Reviewed by B.Lim・Submitted 13 Nov 2019・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer Ethan Soh

When I first collected the keys for my studio unit I really wasn’t sure how I want to design it. What I had in mind was that it must be something that can maximise the space usage as well as to create storage for this 42 sq metres unit. A friend of mine then referred me to GB Interior and I’ve got Ethan as my Interior Designer. During my first meet up with Ethan, I shared with him that I wanted something that is functional, and can save yet create space at the same time. After listening to my needs, Ethan presented his proposals and showed me the 3D photos, taking into considerations my color preferences for the carpentry works for my living and study corner, and immediately we went on to discuss on the next level details like what material and texture to choose etc. because I like what he proposed and it's exactly what I needed too. I must say that Ethan is a very patient designer and attentive to details. He also personally went down with me to do some lighting shoppings and provided advices on the type of lightings to choose. When the renovation started, I felt very assuring leaving my unit to him as I know he is meticulous with his works and take care of my unit like his own house. Along the way when I have some new ideas he was also very accommodating to my requests. So overall I’m very satisfied with Ethan’s designs, quality of works by the team, and the timely completion of the renovations (price is reasonable too!). Glad and happy to have him as my ID and project manager. And would like to say a big thank you to Ethan for making my little space a cosy one :)

Read More
Jimmy TheMan
769 Pasir Ris Street 71 (Modern, Scandinavian)
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jimmy TheMan・Submitted 29 May 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Ethan Soh

My interior designer is Ethan. I wanted to build a dream house for my wife therefore entrusted the task to Ethan whom I come across his other projects on the internet Ethan certainly knows his stuffs and very knowledgeable in renovation. He is approachable and friendly. He pay attention to details, he is organise and has good planning skills throughout the execution of the whole project. Overall, he treat the renovation as his own house and very comfortable to work with and will recommend him to future home owners who are looking to get their renovation done with no worry.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
KY
Excellent designer / firm for design and build!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Koh Yee Seng・Submitted 18 Mar 2019・ Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Shui Min

Not our first renovation so we know what to look for this time round. We got leads from both friends and Qanvast, went through initial meet up, discussions and quotations for more than 5 firms. *Edit* We've had a little accident with one of the built-in. We contacted SM, and without a second thought, he scheduled his workers to come in for a repair. That's solid after-sales support if I ever saw one. That is really peace of mind! Would give more than 5 stars for professionalism if we could! Pre-project: Ideas: Being a design-and-build project, we already have a pretty good idea on the overall concept. Shui Min (SM) was very open and caught on to our themes and requirements very quickly, so the back and forth is very effecient and fruitful. SM was never pushy, and serves as a practical voice to remind us on what is possible or not. Problem solving: Even when our requirements are challenging, for the "must" on our wishlist, he gave us the attention and time to sit down and work out how to overcome these obstacles. His never-say-never attitude helped us realized some really difficult design details and requirements where a lesser designer / firm may have given up. Price: Not the cheapest, but certainly down-to-earth compared to other exorbitant competitors. We never felt that we were taken for a ride at any time. Actual renovation: Responsiveness: Fast enough, even on busy days he will try to get back within the same day. Big on responsibility and we never felt that he was AWOL throughout the project. Kudos. Flexibility: Very impressive. Job scope is a living document that is always open to changes if needed by clients. This becomes an obvious benefit as projects never goes according to plan and clients' wishes may evolve mid-way. I would imagine some other firms we interviewed may have big issues with this. Details: The flip-side of flexibility. Does miss out certain details and needs reminders on some details. Crisis management: For onsite hiccups, he is quick to respond and can call up alternative resources in reasonably quick time. Doesn't dodge responsibility, that's a big plus! Quality: Average, some workers are more skilled than others. Certain areas needed rework after we inspected onsite. Leadtime: Gave 2 months, completed in + 1 week due to unforeseen issues. Did his best to pull in resources when problems encountered. Aces in this area. Budget: Flexible in scope to help manage budget. Spot-on pricing with less than 5% deviation. Conclusion: You can't do any better for a design-and-build project. If you have a clear idea in mind, SM and GB Interior will turn your vision to reality and then some. They deal very fairly with their clients and that is really a breath of fresh air compared to many other firms that we have spoken to. SM will put you at ease and never pushes ideas that will make you uncomfortable. When things don't turn out perfect, (and they inevitably don't when the complexity is high) SM never leaves you hanging and never dodges responsibility if it is his. That speaks volumes for the ship he runs. That alone is good enough to recommend him to anyone in a similar situation. Work quality and eye for details could be improved, but nothing's perfect. Having gone through the entire process we think the pro's far outweighs the con's. Especially in this industry with so many nightmare stories. We are happy campers and very glad we chose SM and GB Interior for our home. (Take note this review is based on design-and-build project with complex scope, we may not be able to represent homemakers that are completely reliant on design, or looking for "off-the-shelf" packages.)

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
JJ
Geylang Serai
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Johnathan Jono・Submitted 31 Oct 2017・ Project completed Oct 2017

We were recommended 5 IDs from the Qanvast platform and managed to meet up with four of them. 'GB Interior' was quite responsive and we decided to meet up with them due to their pricing. After having a few discussions, we found that our ID Shui Min is proactive with suggestions as he was an experienced and professional ID. It was a good experience working along side with him, he was prompt with following up after we made a few added requests. We wanted a Scandinavian home and even though there was an additional cost, it was only minimal and we were happy with the end results. There was however a few issues with miscommunication. We managed to compromise on a solution and thus it was resolved quickly. Overall, we were satisfied with Shui Min's good service and he was a delight to work during our renovation journey. Cost of Renovation : $35,000

Read More
KS
Kun Sheng
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kun Sheng・Submitted 28 Sep 2017・ Project completed Sep 2017

Our ID was recommended by a friend and we decided to meet up with him. It was good that he was able to meet our requests eg ; our design, pricing and schedule. Our ID Ethan is very convenient, and any issues faced during the renovation was rectified promptly. We were impressed by his project management and has the ability to meet within the deadline. There was not much hiccups but just the workmanship and he managed resolve it. Even though I decided to change my ideas and colour theme, he was efficient and got it done by 3 working days. Renovation completed in : Feb 2017 Location : Compassvale Crescent

Read More
MN
Changi Green Condo
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr Nara・Submitted 4 Sep 2017・ Project completed Sep 2017

We met quite a number of IDs but our final choice was GB Interior for the prompt and friendly service. Their pricing was competitive and on top of that the delivery schedule proposed was acceptable. The IDs were very flexible and open to giving suggestions. For any defects they discover, they would get it all rectified. Overall we are very happy and satisfied with the proffesional service they provided. Keep up the good work! Renovation completed in: July 2017 Cost of renovation : $15,000

Read More
ZY
Pasir Panjang Road
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ze Yi・Submitted 22 Aug 2017・ Project completed Aug 2017

Shui Min our ID, was a friend of mine. I decided to engage him for some minor renovation and touch ups. It was an easy and fast renovation process! Shui Min is very responsive and he also kept us updated of the renovation progress regularly. The carpentry and workmanship was very good and we like it very much. Although there was some delays due to the tilers, as we want to get a small space to be re-tiled, they manage to get all the other works done pretty quick and manage to get it completed on time. We would highly recommend them to others. Renovation completed in: March 2017 Cost of renovation : $1,000

Read More
MZ
Bedok South Ave 3
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mr Zhang・Submitted 10 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

GB Interior was recommended to us by a friend. After doing some comparison, we decide to engage GB Interior for their price and design proposed. Shui Min listened to us well and able to include our ideas in the designs. We are impressed with the design proposed and the quality of the materials is acceptable too. The renovation was completed on time, in fact it was completed quite fast! An aspect for futher improvement will be with regards to the cleaning works after the completion of the renovation, also to be more careful when handling the carpentry works. Overall we are happy with our renovation. Renovation completed in: May 2017 Cost of renovation : $9,0000

Read More
KW
Pasir Ris
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kang Wei・Submitted 5 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

GB Interior was referred to me by my friend. I have engaged Shui Min directly as the designer was the friend of my friend. I am very satisfied with the overall renovation process and the consultation was smooth, with all our questions answered promptly. All minor issues that came up along the way were rectified promptly, so that was not a problem. Completed in: June 2017 Cost of Renovation: $28,000

Read More
SC
Tanglin Halt Road
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Siew Chye・Submitted 10 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

Shui Min was my acquintance. Out of all the IDs, we decide to engage them for their proffesionalism and responsiveness. Shui Min is able to understand what we needed, giving us the best options for us to consider. The project was very smooth, competed on time and the total costing they quoted was reasonable too. Shui Min understood and communicated with us really well as we felt that it is most important that they understand their client's expectation well so that they can follow up and provide better. We are very happy with our renovation and their services. Renovation completed in : February 2017 Cost of renovation : $$8,000

Read More
MS
Pasir Ris
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mohammad Shahid・Submitted 13 Dec 2016・ Project completed Dec 2016

I met Shui Min at an expo event. I decided to engage him as he was sincere and wasn't pushy. Hence, I found that he was comfortable to work with. During the renovation period, he communicated with me via whatsapp and gave me daily and constant updates, which was very useful to me. Overall, there were no major hiccups except some minor differences in expectations. However, due to the fact that Shui Min was pro-active in communicating, I was able to address my concerns with Shui Min very quickly. Regarding this, I feel that it would have been an even better experience if Shui Min had more pictures or samples to show me earlier on, it would have helped manage my expectations better. Completed: April 2016 Cost of renovation: $20,000

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?