Find the right interior firm for your renovation.Get recommendations!
INTERIOR DESIGNER REVIEWS
Looking for a trusted interior designer? Find one with the help of hundreds of genuine reviews and ratings submitted by local homeowners.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
234 reviews
Review of Pocket Square
MM
Our dream home in a PJ suburb

Reviewed by Maya Menon・Submitted 25 Jan 2020・Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Nick Tan

We engaged Pocket Square as our preferred designer after trawling the Net. Our first meeting with Nick Tan was very positive as he was open to our concept on our house design.

As we reviewed our draft design plan, he also took on board our suggestions as well as gave us alternative proposals. Some examples of Nick' s suggestions, which initially we had some reservations, turned out to be 'conversation pieces' among our relatives and friends (eg. the tile selection and layout in the master bathroom, the focus wall on the staircase landing as well as the brick 'facade' at our foyer).

We were extremely pleased with our weekly meetings as it gave us a chance to discuss progress and any deviations from the original design plan.

Nick was willing to make good any mistakes made by his team regarding the overall finished look.

Finally he greatly assisted us during our house moving in prayers which was very helpful to us.

Nick greatest qualities was his openess, willingness to communicate and giving fresh thoughts on ideas that we had.

Read More
Review of Pocket Square
Danny Ebinesan
Review on Pocket Square's Design and Build Fit Out Work for our home at BU9

Reviewed by Danny Ebinesan・Submitted 1 Jan 2020・Project completed Dec 2017・Designer Nick

Prior to selecting Pocket Square (PS), we looked at 2 other ID companies as well. We found PS design's to be unique and clean. PS was able to do a 3D design for our living room, which other ID companies could not do prior to their appointment. The other ID companies had main stream designs which were generally loud and very common.

Upon appointment of PS, we were very specific of what we wanted and had a budget to work with. PS was able to produce the design we wanted, which met our budget.

During construction, when faced with issues unknown during the design phase, PS was able to recommend work around, which was acceptable to us and will managed to complete fit out work on time. Quality of fit out was also very good and everything was within budget. PS also helped us with selecting furniture and fittings for home, including sharing their of contacts and getting some preferred discounts.

After sales service was also excellent. PS made sure everything was working properly, even after a year of completion, PS helped with some minor repairs.

Read More
Review of Pocket Square
S
Scandinavian Style Renovation
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Sara・Submitted 30 Dec 2019・Project completed Sep 2019・Designer Nick Tan

I was first introduced to Nick through a friend who happens to live in the same apartment and had Nick as their ID. I decided to engage Nick as he was able to promise the deadline that I was hoping for. Nick is open to ideas and listen to your needs. He proposed really practical ideas and suggestions for us to consider. Nick is easy going, well organised, quick to respond, provides constant updates on work progress and keep you assured that things are going the right direction. The workmanship from Nick's team is extremely impressive. Nick and his project management team are very approachable. Being someone who values punctuality, I appreciate that Nick is never late for our appointments (material hunting, progress update meeting etc). I highly recommend Nick to anyone who wish to engage a ID team with a budget of mid-range and above.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Review an Interior Firm
Help other homeowners by sharing your experience.
EL
Responsible, creative and professional interior designer

Reviewed by Eunice Lai・Submitted 30 Dec 2019・Project completed Mar 2019・Designer Mr Qwan

He is a very responsible person. He took our request seriously and provided us with the best solution. We are very impressed with the design. Nevertheless, workmanship was satisfying too. He is a very careful and attentive person. He pay attention to detail , make sure the construction is completed in order. Our project was completed within time range. Another thing worth mentioning is that he provided us very good after-sales service.

You may consider him as your interior designer.

Read More
Review of Pocket Square
Dominic Lim
The BEST of Pocket Square

Reviewed by Dominic Lim・Submitted 30 Dec 2019・Project completed Jun 2018・Designer Nick Tan

I am extremely satisfied that Nick Tan has created a warm home for my family and perfectly fit for us. The unique about Nick is he understand our needs clearly with only two words given to him “Modern and Elegant” home. He helps us to build with WOW design that we wants to and also fit my family lifestyle perfectly. Nick and the team were really attentive to my request and the best is we are able to workout every details greatly so it is able to bring out the maximum outcome from the construction work. The workmanship is smooth and amazed me, I am really happy at the details work have put in by Nick especially the quality of the carpentry work. Lastly, looking forward to have Nick as my ID for my next property. So far you are the BEST!!!

Read More
Review of Pocket Square
Karl Loo
Clean modern design

Reviewed by Karl Loo・Submitted 29 Dec 2019・Project completed Apr 2018・Designer Nick

Nick helped create the interior for my bare-unit condo. His designs are cosy with trade mark clean lines. I am pleased with the final result: a modern, high-quality, practical and clean fit out.

The design process was enjoyable - Nick took my initial ideas and was able to provide various practical options, often steering me to better solutions which I may not have thought of.

The project was completed efficiently, and any tweaks or post-job requests were handled promptly. Pocket Square may not be the cheapest option, but the quality of work rendered was also well above average.

Read More
Review of Pocket Square
A
Minimalist, clean and functional
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Anna・Submitted 28 Dec 2019・Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Nick Tan

We instantly liked Nick’s designs when we saw his work featured here and did not search further after the first consultation.

The entire process was smooth, he and his team listens to what we preferred, what works for us and we valued his inputs and reasoning to the design he proposed.

Renovation was on time (especially critical for us as we moved out and back to the same house), we did not have to worry much of the renovation progress (another important factor since we are both working) and you can see his passion in his profession, design and quality.

If you’re looking for a clean, simple, minimalist yet functional & practical, timeless, warm, Nordic design - look no further. One tip - do let him know up front what’s your budget and watch him work his magic.

Side note, I'm an OCD person by the way.

Read More
Review of Pocket Square
LK
Irama Wangsa

Reviewed by LEE KHAR WEI・Submitted 28 Dec 2019・Project completed May 2019・Designer Nick Tan

I would highly recommend anyone who is looking to achieve a minimal and clean aesthetic designed interior to engage with Pocket Square. Nick Tan is very friendly, professional and helpful throughout the design + construction process.

Nick was very patient and helpful in his advice during the initial design phase,

His recommendations emphasised not only in aesthetic aspects but most importantly the practical aspects of home design, ultimately to create a holistically long term livable space for the residents.

I recalled furnishing him with a few very specific designs to achieve during the initial phase. He took them into careful consideration and was patient in all upcoming advice and discussions. He incorporated both his design style and my ideal home inspirations into the final product. Although the initial design process took up months with multiple design iterations, the final design was amazing and aligned well with my dream home.

Finally, Nick and his team also ensured that renovation work was done in high quality and timely manner. This greatly eases me from needing to come down KL to do constant site visits.

I am grateful for Nick and Pocket Square team for the amazing home design and quality craftmanship done.

Am very satisfied and glad that I engaged Pocket Square for this house project.

Read More
D
Good space planning

Reviewed by Derek・Submitted 28 Dec 2019・Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Agnes

Without doubt, Interior Hunters’ young team offers fresh perspective of applicable space planning in the era of minimalists. The space planning did not sacrifice practicality making interior living an ever lasting comfort. For this, I have Agnes to thank; for lending her ears and speaking the voice of customer. She has also been a keen results driven designer. Keep up the great job and all the best Interior Hunters.

Read More
II
Good services and their deliverables are of high quality

Reviewed by Illias Ibrahim・Submitted 13 Dec 2019・Project completed Feb 2016・Designer Marcus

Overall, Good services and their deliverables are of high quality. Take initiative to ensure works are completed on time and self-inspect to ensure the renovation quality are met without owner prompting. Always adapt to feedback from the owner, and ensure owner expectation are met. Really impressed with the high-quality workmanship. Besdies that Marcus has good attitude and surprisingly hardworking eventhough he is the boss. Not only he provided us with prompt service but also after work services. Will definitely engage again th the future. FYI, Highly recommended to those who always on out-station.

Read More
KT
Good services and their deliverables are of high quality

Reviewed by Kenny Tan Tze Keat・Submitted 13 Dec 2019・Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Marcus

Overall, Good services and their deliverables are of high quality. Take initiative to ensure works are completed on time and self-inspect to ensure the renovation quality are met without owner prompting. Always adapt to feedback from the owner, and ensure owner expectation are met. Really impressed with the high-quality workmanship. Besdies that Marcus has good attitude and surprisingly hardworking eventhough he is the boss. Not only he provided us with prompt service but also after work services. Will definitely engage again th the future. FYI, Highly recommended to those who always on out-station.

Read More
WN
great job done by D.co
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Wai Nee・Submitted 12 Dec 2019・Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Samantha

first of all, i would like to thank samantha and her team at d.co interior design for doing a wonderful job managing the interior design and renovation of my house. i always thought the renovation of a property would be the most troublesome and exhausting aspect of owning a property but they really did a good job handling everything from start to finish and it was an absolute breeze! they handled everything so well and their workmanship is great. they are an id company with a lot of experience in this industry. i highly recommend.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Malaysia for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and articles:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?