Free Space Intent

Free Space Intent

No. 8 Ubi Road 2, Zervex #02-07, Singapore 408538

D
Dream Team Companions for Renovation Journey
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Denise・Submitted 14 Feb 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Raymond Seow & Carlos Sim

All the accolades you have read of FSI, I can personally vouch they truly deserve. At risk of repeating what others have already said many times over, I would however like to share what makes FSI really stand out in this crowded industry for me: ⭐️Frank, sensible & practical advice/approach (that does not shy away from hard truths, even before you engage them) ~ Credit must go to The Boss ie. Raymond Seow; while other IDs whom I met gave me quotations based on my indicative budget, Raymond was the only one who questioned the feasibility of doing so without having gone through the design details. ~ Other IDs expected a 10% down payment upfront based on their quotation (which can come up to tens of thousands for a big project) but FSI’s approach is to charge a design fee first & then come up with more accurate costing once the design is more or less done. Their take is that if their costing is not acceptable to you eventually, you are welcomed to take their designs/drawings and engage your own contractor to implement them. This gives you an opportunity to assess how well you can work with the ID and a ‘Get-Out-of-Jail-Free’ card (since you are not locked in by the hefty 10% down payment) if things don’t work out between you and the ID ultimately (which thankfully, I didn’t have to use). ~ While my renovation budget tended to be more design-centric, Raymond never failed to give cost-saving advice. Normally, based on what I know of others’ experience, it is the ID’s over-indulgent flights of fancy which the client must rein in so as to manage the budget. Whereas it is rare for an ID to counsel the client to save money. Being that rare ID, Raymond has demonstrated that his heart is in the right place when it comes to his clients’ interests. ⭐️Superb service (before, during & after) ~ Prior to engaging FSI, I’d met up with several IDs at my place and shared specific requirements for my renovation which included revising the layout of certain areas. Amongst the first proposals that were presented to me thereafter, FSI was the only one that faithfully “stuck to the script” – the rest presented versions that seemed ‘tone-deaf’ or perhaps, were aimed at helpfully expanding my design imagination (which did not help me since I was a client who knew exactly what I wanted). Raymond never tried to impose his design preferences on me but did his best to put himself in my shoes & see things from my perspective. ~FSI was also the only one to come down to my place at the very first meet-up with a team who went straightaway to work in doing measurements and taking photos. This commitment of resources even before there was any talk of potentially engaging them for the project, reflected their dedication to serving their clients. ~ For my project, Raymond had another ID (Carlos Sim) and a Project Manager (Perlinda Too) to assist him. Carlos was the Project’s CPU, meticulously handling the technical details on dimensions and drawings while Perlinda did the heavy lifting to make sure the ‘output’ could/would be in line with the ‘input’. Together, the 3 of them made up my ‘Dream Team’ who would bend over backwards (to the extent of even somersaulting, I reckon) in order to fulfil the many wishes I had for my renovations. They were never fazed when my plans/decisions changed mid-way through the renovation works but always tried their best to accommodate my requirements. They were also game to try out some of my ‘radical’ ideas (like my TV Console) and do things they had never done before (like my ceiling-hung kitchen cabinets). In particular, thanks to Carlos’ brilliant idea and Perlinda’s ingenious execution of works, I managed to get a virtually dust-proof display case. ~ While things did not work out as planned/intended all the time and issues did crop up along the way (which was understandable, given the incredible number of details that an ID has to juggle & my design-as-you-go changes they had to cope with), the FSI Dream Team never failed to swing into action. They were more than willing to re-work the construction in order to right any wrongs or solve problems. A test of great service is not how an ID responds to issues/problems during the renovation but their response after handover and when all payments have already been made. FSI is truly the Gold Standard as they are still going the last mile and extra mile in settling move-in teething issues for my project as well as entertaining my add-on requests. ⭐️Integrity & generosity ~ Right from the start, FSI has always been very open and transparent about their pricing strategy. An ex-ID friend once told me that Variation Orders (VO) are like ‘blood’ to an ID as it brings out the ‘Shark’ in them – that is where they would take advantage of your (by then) helpless situation (since you’ve already put your hands & feet in the water) and extract as much financial compensation as possible for the changes. If such is common in the industry, I must be lucky as I’ve had countless VOs during the construction phase but never encountered any shark at FSI. On the contrary, I even had the benefit of some charges waived for my change requests. Mine was a very extensive renovation journey involving literally gutting and re-building the insides of my 35+ year old apartment, spanning more than 1.5 years from design phase & including the Circuit Breaker hiatus. It has truly been a roller-coaster ride – fun but adrenaline-pumping with its fair share of ups & downs, twists & turns as well as thrills & spills. However, I could not be more fortunate than to have Raymond, Carlos & Perlinda as my Companions on this ride. Even though I do have some regrets on some aspects of the renovation, I can safely say I have absolutely no regrets getting FSI onboard for my project. From Raymond, I have gained wisdom (in seeing things ‘half glass full’); from Carlos, insights (into a whole new world of the renovation industry) and from Perlinda, the most useful knowledge (that Lighter Fluid is an amazing cleaning agent!). Theirs was clearly a labour of love, blood, sweat & tears to transform my apartment into what I wanted and for that, I will forever be in their debt.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Free Space Intent
Established in 1999, Free Space Intent (FSI) is a full-service residential and commercial interior design firm. With 2 decades of experience under our belt, we have worked with a large variety of private and corporate clients, creating a wide range of residential spaces, bars/lounges, restaurants, retail outlets, and office spaces. Our aim is to provide distinctive, customized interiors while remaining sensitive to every client’s budget and time constraints. The purest form of beauty lies in the raw basics. Free Space Intent (FSI) espouses designs that speak of timeless elegance, defined grace and modern functionality. This down-to-earth approach is clearly marked by clean lines, muted shades and clever space planning to suit the cosmopolitan lifestyles. Celebrating the notion of going back to the bare essentials, FSI creates urban retreats that soothe the senses and rejuvenate the tired soul. Always an active hub of fresh designs, FSI plays along boundaries that are untouched by many, creating homes with a strong presence and personality.
Read More
View all 92 projects ›

Rating

4.8
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.9 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.9 / 5
Design4.8 / 5
Qanvast Awards
Refers to the number of times this firm's project photos were saved to homeowners' boards.
Photo Saves
15,000 Saves
Based on homeowners’ reviews left on Qanvast.
5-star Reviews
80 Reviews
Accreditation
HDB-registered
HDB-registered

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB6-S$82,833.33
3-Room4-S$69,250.00
5-Room1-S$80,000.00
Condo3S$61,500.00S$120,000.00
3 Bedrooms3S$61,500.00S$120,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Daniel Phua
Top Notch Design and Renovation

Reviewed by Daniel Phua・Submitted 6 Jun 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

I engaged FSI as my interior design company as I've always loved their unique designs and they never looked dull or boring. Jasmine was the designer who was assigned to me. From the start with the 3d design with Jasmine, there was a lot of attention paid towards the reference images I provided and the requirements I gave her. I can see a lot of thoughts put into the design. And it really shows in the rendering. Even though I didn't have much of a theme in mind, Jasmine managed to capture the gist of it and it really impressed me. After confirming the designs, it was now onto tiles selection and all the various fittings that would be needed in the home. As I wasn't really good at picking colors and designs, Jasmine always gave really good advice on which ones to pick. And I was never disappointed in the choices. They were always interesting and not the run of the mill designs and choices. When actual renovations started, Jasmine was very pro active in keeping me updated on the progress of the renovation. I almost never had to go down on site to check on the progress. When there were some miscommunication or errors, she very quickly got them rectified and kept me updated. Towards the end of the renovation, she also helped coordinate the delivery of various items and installations of fixtures in the home when she didn't have to. She even helped to purchase various fixtures such as mirrors in the house for me as I wasn't available at that time. I'm very grateful to her for that. It made me realise how important it is to have a trust worthy ID helping with renovation. All in all, the entire renovation progress went very smoothly and quickly. The completed home looked really close to the 3d renderings. And I am very happy with it! Thanks Jasmine

Read More
WT
2nd Engagement with FSI
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Winston Teo・Submitted 20 May 2022・ Project completed Mar 2022・Designer Raymond Seow

This is our 2nd time working with Raymond (and Perlinda) from Free Space Intent. We first engaged Raymond and team in 2012. We loved the collaboration with Raymond and team, and are extremely happy with the results of the two houses that we did (8+ years apart). Raymond is a thoughtful and attentive designer who takes time to understand you (and your family) as an individual, and tries to figure out the likes and dislikes of each party. He was able to come up with designs that not only matched our personalities, but included our functional requirements. We could tell that it's clearly not a cookie-cutter design but one made out of his acute design sense, attention to details and practicality. It was a breeze working with Raymond and team, as they would provide recommendations on the types of materials such as tiles, wallpaper, etc that are suitable based on their design instead of us having to make individual trips to each different shops to make the selection. Raymond and Perlinda were also upfront and transparent with things they can and cannot do, and was forthcoming about the progress throughout the project, and it helped us manage our expectations and align on alternatives when we needed to. Customer satisfaction is their upmost priority and they shirk no responsibility when it comes to rectifications, even after full payment is made. They focus on helping us resolving any issues that we may encounter even after moving in. At the end of the day, Raymond and team really cares about giving you a happy (and beautiful) home to stay in, and he and his team will do whatever they can to achieve that, from the start, to finish, and including prompt rectifications.

Read More
Hitesh
Amazing Design!

Reviewed by Hitesh・Submitted 12 Apr 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

We originally hired FSI after seeing their Joo Chiat walk up project (Zubir Said house). We too wanted that modern yet nostalgic feel for our East Coast walk up apartment. And boy did Jasmine deliver on that design brief! Our new home is a wonderful blend of farmhouse and perankan with just the right amount of mid-century modern. We've been getting so many compliments from friends! Our project was particularly ambitious because we also completely changed the layout. Bedrooms were hacked down and new ones built on the other side of the home. It all turned out perfect though. The new space is so much more welcoming and a great fit for our needs. We'd done renovations before but this was our first time engaging an ID. Just as WebMD makes everyone an armchair doctor, we too had too many misinformed ideas from Pinterest. Credit to Jasmine though, she pushed back several times on our bad suggestions. Taking the time to educate us on the nuances of good design. And she was always right. If you're hiring Jasmine, just trust her design sense - we never regretted doing so. Our design phase took 3 months to complete. Truthfully, there were many times where I wish we could have moved quicker. But in hindsight, the upfront 3D design process was so worthwhile. Once the building phase started, everything fell into place like clockwork. Unlike other ID firms who gave rough SketchUp models, FSI provided photo realistic renderings which looked almost exactly like the finished product. This allowed us to make very informed decisions on the colour combos and layouts before a single brick was laid. It was a game changer. As for Jasmine, she was always so responsive over WhatsApp (I'm not sure if she ever sleeps!). She was super great to work with - very detailed, great eye for design, always punctual and very receptive to our needs. I'm thanking my lucky stars that we got assigned to her! :D Prior to hiring FSI, I heard so much about them being a top design agency. After having worked with them, I can 100% affirm that they lived up to every expectation. I'm so pleased with how it turned out. I'll definitely be hiring them again for my next home. A (virtual) round of applause for Jasmine and FSI! You've gifted us an incredible home. We cannot thank you enough. :)

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
Reviews (136)
Daniel Phua
Top Notch Design and Renovation

Reviewed by Daniel Phua・Submitted 6 Jun 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

I engaged FSI as my interior design company as I've always loved their unique designs and they never looked dull or boring. Jasmine was the designer who was assigned to me. From the start with the 3d design with Jasmine, there was a lot of attention paid towards the reference images I provided and the requirements I gave her. I can see a lot of thoughts put into the design. And it really shows in the rendering. Even though I didn't have much of a theme in mind, Jasmine managed to capture the gist of it and it really impressed me. After confirming the designs, it was now onto tiles selection and all the various fittings that would be needed in the home. As I wasn't really good at picking colors and designs, Jasmine always gave really good advice on which ones to pick. And I was never disappointed in the choices. They were always interesting and not the run of the mill designs and choices. When actual renovations started, Jasmine was very pro active in keeping me updated on the progress of the renovation. I almost never had to go down on site to check on the progress. When there were some miscommunication or errors, she very quickly got them rectified and kept me updated. Towards the end of the renovation, she also helped coordinate the delivery of various items and installations of fixtures in the home when she didn't have to. She even helped to purchase various fixtures such as mirrors in the house for me as I wasn't available at that time. I'm very grateful to her for that. It made me realise how important it is to have a trust worthy ID helping with renovation. All in all, the entire renovation progress went very smoothly and quickly. The completed home looked really close to the 3d renderings. And I am very happy with it! Thanks Jasmine

Read More
WT
2nd Engagement with FSI
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Winston Teo・Submitted 20 May 2022・ Project completed Mar 2022・Designer Raymond Seow

This is our 2nd time working with Raymond (and Perlinda) from Free Space Intent. We first engaged Raymond and team in 2012. We loved the collaboration with Raymond and team, and are extremely happy with the results of the two houses that we did (8+ years apart). Raymond is a thoughtful and attentive designer who takes time to understand you (and your family) as an individual, and tries to figure out the likes and dislikes of each party. He was able to come up with designs that not only matched our personalities, but included our functional requirements. We could tell that it's clearly not a cookie-cutter design but one made out of his acute design sense, attention to details and practicality. It was a breeze working with Raymond and team, as they would provide recommendations on the types of materials such as tiles, wallpaper, etc that are suitable based on their design instead of us having to make individual trips to each different shops to make the selection. Raymond and Perlinda were also upfront and transparent with things they can and cannot do, and was forthcoming about the progress throughout the project, and it helped us manage our expectations and align on alternatives when we needed to. Customer satisfaction is their upmost priority and they shirk no responsibility when it comes to rectifications, even after full payment is made. They focus on helping us resolving any issues that we may encounter even after moving in. At the end of the day, Raymond and team really cares about giving you a happy (and beautiful) home to stay in, and he and his team will do whatever they can to achieve that, from the start, to finish, and including prompt rectifications.

Read More
Hitesh
Amazing Design!

Reviewed by Hitesh・Submitted 12 Apr 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

We originally hired FSI after seeing their Joo Chiat walk up project (Zubir Said house). We too wanted that modern yet nostalgic feel for our East Coast walk up apartment. And boy did Jasmine deliver on that design brief! Our new home is a wonderful blend of farmhouse and perankan with just the right amount of mid-century modern. We've been getting so many compliments from friends! Our project was particularly ambitious because we also completely changed the layout. Bedrooms were hacked down and new ones built on the other side of the home. It all turned out perfect though. The new space is so much more welcoming and a great fit for our needs. We'd done renovations before but this was our first time engaging an ID. Just as WebMD makes everyone an armchair doctor, we too had too many misinformed ideas from Pinterest. Credit to Jasmine though, she pushed back several times on our bad suggestions. Taking the time to educate us on the nuances of good design. And she was always right. If you're hiring Jasmine, just trust her design sense - we never regretted doing so. Our design phase took 3 months to complete. Truthfully, there were many times where I wish we could have moved quicker. But in hindsight, the upfront 3D design process was so worthwhile. Once the building phase started, everything fell into place like clockwork. Unlike other ID firms who gave rough SketchUp models, FSI provided photo realistic renderings which looked almost exactly like the finished product. This allowed us to make very informed decisions on the colour combos and layouts before a single brick was laid. It was a game changer. As for Jasmine, she was always so responsive over WhatsApp (I'm not sure if she ever sleeps!). She was super great to work with - very detailed, great eye for design, always punctual and very receptive to our needs. I'm thanking my lucky stars that we got assigned to her! :D Prior to hiring FSI, I heard so much about them being a top design agency. After having worked with them, I can 100% affirm that they lived up to every expectation. I'm so pleased with how it turned out. I'll definitely be hiring them again for my next home. A (virtual) round of applause for Jasmine and FSI! You've gifted us an incredible home. We cannot thank you enough. :)

Read More
Daniel Phua
Top Notch Design and Renovation

Reviewed by Daniel Phua・Submitted 6 Jun 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

I engaged FSI as my interior design company as I've always loved their unique designs and they never looked dull or boring. Jasmine was the designer who was assigned to me. From the start with the 3d design with Jasmine, there was a lot of attention paid towards the reference images I provided and the requirements I gave her. I can see a lot of thoughts put into the design. And it really shows in the rendering. Even though I didn't have much of a theme in mind, Jasmine managed to capture the gist of it and it really impressed me. After confirming the designs, it was now onto tiles selection and all the various fittings that would be needed in the home. As I wasn't really good at picking colors and designs, Jasmine always gave really good advice on which ones to pick. And I was never disappointed in the choices. They were always interesting and not the run of the mill designs and choices. When actual renovations started, Jasmine was very pro active in keeping me updated on the progress of the renovation. I almost never had to go down on site to check on the progress. When there were some miscommunication or errors, she very quickly got them rectified and kept me updated. Towards the end of the renovation, she also helped coordinate the delivery of various items and installations of fixtures in the home when she didn't have to. She even helped to purchase various fixtures such as mirrors in the house for me as I wasn't available at that time. I'm very grateful to her for that. It made me realise how important it is to have a trust worthy ID helping with renovation. All in all, the entire renovation progress went very smoothly and quickly. The completed home looked really close to the 3d renderings. And I am very happy with it! Thanks Jasmine

Read More
View All Reviews ›
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Free Space Intent's reviews like?

Based on 136 reviews left for Free Space Intent, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.83. Read homeowners’ reviews of Free Space Intent.

Where is Free Space Intent's showroom?

Free Space Intent has 1 showroom in Singapore. See Free Space Intent's showroom address.

Is Free Space Intent an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Free Space Intent is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Free Space Intent popular among homeowners?

20 homeowners have recently enquired with Free Space Intent for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Free Space Intent.

Is Free Space Intent a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Free Space Intent was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2019 to 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Free Space Intent?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Free Space Intent (in the past year) are S$82,833 for HDB and S$81,000 for Condo.
20 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
Style Preference
No Preference
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$50,000.