Free Space Intent

Free Space Intent

No. 8 Ubi Road 2, Zervex #02-07, Singapore 408538

HS
Adam Is Awesome
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Huay Shan・Submitted 2 Jan 2021・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Adam Liu

Engaged Adam from FSI in March just before circuit breaker period. After some delays and disruption due to the lockdown and border closure our renovation was completed in around October and we are very satisfied with both the process and the result. Adam is a good listener (not the type who will impose their perspective on you without listening to what you want) while not being a yes-man (we wanted someone who had his own professional judgment and wouldn’t just go along with everything we said). He (1) gave very good ideas to work around our fengshui requirements while taking into account practicality and our needs, (2) was also very insightful in helping us to think about how we would actually use the space, and then designing based on that (eg. where do we usually put our bags and keys when we enter the house, and where the sockets should be and how many), which we really appreciated, (3) has a very good eye for aesthetics, and (4) managed the project very well. There were some delays and disruptions because of the border controls and other restrictions due to covid but the work quality of every one of his contractors is impeccable (and they’re very nice people too!). The only point of improvement is that Adam may lose track of cost in favour of aesthetics, so we did accidentally exceed the budget a little because we didn’t know the cost of some of the tiles. But overall our experience with him as our ID is still excellent and we would definitely recommend!

project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Free Space Intent
Established in 1999, Free Space Intent (FSI) is a full-service residential and commercial interior design firm. With 2 decades of experience under our belt, we have worked with a large variety of private and corporate clients, creating a wide range of residential spaces, bars/lounges, restaurants, retail outlets, and office spaces. Our aim is to provide distinctive, customized interiors while remaining sensitive to every client’s budget and time constraints. The purest form of beauty lies in the raw basics. Free Space Intent (FSI) espouses designs that speak of timeless elegance, defined grace and modern functionality. This down-to-earth approach is clearly marked by clean lines, muted shades and clever space planning to suit the cosmopolitan lifestyles. Celebrating the notion of going back to the bare essentials, FSI creates urban retreats that soothe the senses and rejuvenate the tired soul. Always an active hub of fresh designs, FSI plays along boundaries that are untouched by many, creating homes with a strong presence and personality.
Read More
View all 81 projects ›

Rating

4.8
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.9 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.9 / 5
Design4.8 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB5S$79,000.00S$95,333.33
4-Room1S$90,000.00-
5-Room4S$68,000.00S$95,333.33
Condo3S$64,500.00S$75,000.00
1 Bedroom1S$60,000.00-
3 Bedrooms1-S$75,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
w
Home reno for Park Place Residences at PLQ

Reviewed by wsy・Submitted 29 Mar 2021・Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Raymond and Jasmine

Very satisfied with the renovation done by Freespace Intent! Raymond and jasmine were very on the ball and very responsive throughout the renovation period. They gave great suggestions and tips on space planning due to the small size of the condo, yet not compromising on the design we wanted. We understood that there were shortage of carpenters and workers across all IDs due to circuit breaker but they were impressively prompt in the whole renovation despite that, hence able to meet our request to handover before CNY. (Raymond was chasing us to make certain decisions from time to time instead of us chasing them haha. I believe usually it's the other way round. That's how on the ball they were! ) Jasmine was highly contactable at all times too. Even our enquiries were promptly attended to after handover. Great quality carpentry and very friendly workers who worked on our place as well. End product looks the same as the digital rendering presented as promised. No regrets! Thank you so much Raymond and Jasmine!

Read More
Kelvin Koh Tong Weng
Great designs and professional service

Reviewed by Kelvin Koh Tong Weng・Submitted 15 Feb 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Raymond and Jacqueline

We decided to hire FSI for phase 1 of our renovation project: 3D design as we felt they had the design chops to get what we wanted and bring our vision of the design to life. We wanted a light pastel themed for the living room with the kitchen having a simple white design cabinets and toilets having feature walls with matching side and floor tiles. It was a great experience from pre-design to actually getting the 3D design out as their experience, professionalism and skills are of high quality. We eventually did not hire them for the execution as the quote was out of our budget but decided to still execute the well designed 3D anyway. Will highly recommend them to anyone who is keen to have awesome designs for your future place.

Read More
D
Dream Team Companions for Renovation Journey
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Denise・Submitted 14 Feb 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Raymond Seow & Carlos Sim

All the accolades you have read of FSI, I can personally vouch they truly deserve. At risk of repeating what others have already said many times over, I would however like to share what makes FSI really stand out in this crowded industry for me: ⭐️Frank, sensible & practical advice/approach (that does not shy away from hard truths, even before you engage them) ~ Credit must go to The Boss ie. Raymond Seow; while other IDs whom I met gave me quotations based on my indicative budget, Raymond was the only one who questioned the feasibility of doing so without having gone through the design details. ~ Other IDs expected a 10% down payment upfront based on their quotation (which can come up to tens of thousands for a big project) but FSI’s approach is to charge a design fee first & then come up with more accurate costing once the design is more or less done. Their take is that if their costing is not acceptable to you eventually, you are welcomed to take their designs/drawings and engage your own contractor to implement them. This gives you an opportunity to assess how well you can work with the ID and a ‘Get-Out-of-Jail-Free’ card (since you are not locked in by the hefty 10% down payment) if things don’t work out between you and the ID ultimately (which thankfully, I didn’t have to use). ~ While my renovation budget tended to be more design-centric, Raymond never failed to give cost-saving advice. Normally, based on what I know of others’ experience, it is the ID’s over-indulgent flights of fancy which the client must rein in so as to manage the budget. Whereas it is rare for an ID to counsel the client to save money. Being that rare ID, Raymond has demonstrated that his heart is in the right place when it comes to his clients’ interests. ⭐️Superb service (before, during & after) ~ Prior to engaging FSI, I’d met up with several IDs at my place and shared specific requirements for my renovation which included revising the layout of certain areas. Amongst the first proposals that were presented to me thereafter, FSI was the only one that faithfully “stuck to the script” – the rest presented versions that seemed ‘tone-deaf’ or perhaps, were aimed at helpfully expanding my design imagination (which did not help me since I was a client who knew exactly what I wanted). Raymond never tried to impose his design preferences on me but did his best to put himself in my shoes & see things from my perspective. ~FSI was also the only one to come down to my place at the very first meet-up with a team who went straightaway to work in doing measurements and taking photos. This commitment of resources even before there was any talk of potentially engaging them for the project, reflected their dedication to serving their clients. ~ For my project, Raymond had another ID (Carlos Sim) and a Project Manager (Perlinda Too) to assist him. Carlos was the Project’s CPU, meticulously handling the technical details on dimensions and drawings while Perlinda did the heavy lifting to make sure the ‘output’ could/would be in line with the ‘input’. Together, the 3 of them made up my ‘Dream Team’ who would bend over backwards (to the extent of even somersaulting, I reckon) in order to fulfil the many wishes I had for my renovations. They were never fazed when my plans/decisions changed mid-way through the renovation works but always tried their best to accommodate my requirements. They were also game to try out some of my ‘radical’ ideas (like my TV Console) and do things they had never done before (like my ceiling-hung kitchen cabinets). In particular, thanks to Carlos’ brilliant idea and Perlinda’s ingenious execution of works, I managed to get a virtually dust-proof display case. ~ While things did not work out as planned/intended all the time and issues did crop up along the way (which was understandable, given the incredible number of details that an ID has to juggle & my design-as-you-go changes they had to cope with), the FSI Dream Team never failed to swing into action. They were more than willing to re-work the construction in order to right any wrongs or solve problems. A test of great service is not how an ID responds to issues/problems during the renovation but their response after handover and when all payments have already been made. FSI is truly the Gold Standard as they are still going the last mile and extra mile in settling move-in teething issues for my project as well as entertaining my add-on requests. ⭐️Integrity & generosity ~ Right from the start, FSI has always been very open and transparent about their pricing strategy. An ex-ID friend once told me that Variation Orders (VO) are like ‘blood’ to an ID as it brings out the ‘Shark’ in them – that is where they would take advantage of your (by then) helpless situation (since you’ve already put your hands & feet in the water) and extract as much financial compensation as possible for the changes. If such is common in the industry, I must be lucky as I’ve had countless VOs during the construction phase but never encountered any shark at FSI. On the contrary, I even had the benefit of some charges waived for my change requests. Mine was a very extensive renovation journey involving literally gutting and re-building the insides of my 35+ year old apartment, spanning more than 1.5 years from design phase & including the Circuit Breaker hiatus. It has truly been a roller-coaster ride – fun but adrenaline-pumping with its fair share of ups & downs, twists & turns as well as thrills & spills. However, I could not be more fortunate than to have Raymond, Carlos & Perlinda as my Companions on this ride. Even though I do have some regrets on some aspects of the renovation, I can safely say I have absolutely no regrets getting FSI onboard for my project. From Raymond, I have gained wisdom (in seeing things ‘half glass full’); from Carlos, insights (into a whole new world of the renovation industry) and from Perlinda, the most useful knowledge (that Lighter Fluid is an amazing cleaning agent!). Theirs was clearly a labour of love, blood, sweat & tears to transform my apartment into what I wanted and for that, I will forever be in their debt.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Free Space Intent's reviews like?

Based on 108 reviews left for Free Space Intent, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.84. Read homeowners’ reviews of Free Space Intent.

Where is Free Space Intent's showroom?

Free Space Intent has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in North-East and East. See all of Free Space Intent's showroom addresses.

Is Free Space Intent an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Free Space Intent is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Free Space Intent popular among homeowners?

18 homeowners have recently enquired with Free Space Intent for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Free Space Intent.

Is Free Space Intent a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Free Space Intent was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2019 to 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Free Space Intent?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Free Space Intent (in the past year) are S$88,800 for HDB and S$68,000 for Condo.
18 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Free Space Intent is currently unavailable to take on new projects.

View Similar Firms