Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
34 reviews
Winny Yeoh
Very professional, good service, fast response and excellent after service

Reviewed by Winny Yeoh・Submitted 12 Aug 2019・ Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Eva

We are very glad to have met Eva as our ID. She had been very patience and accomodating throughout the service period. Our case was abit exceptional as the TOP date was delayed and Eva had gladly serviced us for 1.5 years and throughout the period she had redesigned the whole house for more than 3 times to meet our changes needs. As long as you demand for something, she will try her best to deliver. The workmanship and quality of work are good. What impressed me the most is the after renovation service. She still responses promptly to our requests whenever we contacted her. I highly recommended D'Initial, Eva for her great service and good design.

Read More
K
Fantastic Design & Service By EVA
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kevin・Submitted 12 Aug 2019・ Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Eva

Eva was the first we met and we we happy with her enthusiasm. Met a few more who seem less eager given the property is 12 to 18 months to key collection. We decided to sign on the dotted line with Eva. No regret! We firmed up our design in 3 months (or less) but unfortunately, as time passes by, we felt the design requires high maintenance as it is a very white theme. We then decided to change the design altogether. Poor Eva had to redo but she didn't complaint and was very supportive. To her, customer satisfaction comes first. Our new design blends together functionality with ID treatment as we are particular about functionality given the tiny houses that developers build nowadays. We were very happy to see the final product. There were minor hiccups along the journey but Eva managed it very well and timely. Last minute alterations were made as and when we realised we needed something extra. I will not hesitate to recommend her to potential homeowners who value practicality a lot. Practicality and design never go hand in hand but Eva is able to balance and marry both. Lastly, quality doesn't come cheap and I've always a believer of "good things no cheap, cheap things no good". The quality of the workmanship is fantastic. Given the quality finishing/ raw material used, I do feel that it's reasonably priced.

Read More
E
Good space planning
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Eunice・Submitted 23 Jul 2019・ Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Eva Ong

We first came across D Initial Concept profile during my search for a suitable ID. Eva took up my case and can immediately understand what I am looking for after our first discussion. During our second discussion she is able to present to me the first draft of the space planning and the concepts which fits our requirements. Eva is also very meticulous towards details and patience with us whenever we raise additional request to fine tune the design as well.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
PL
A valuable designer you can't do without
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Peony Leong・Submitted 13 Oct 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Ms Akemi

To me, besides the price, the personality of the Designer is equally important. Akemi comes across as an understanding, patient & capable person, whom I feel comfortable with and easy to communicate. Her designs are impressive, most of which I accepted accordingly. And she willingly & happily make changes to certain aspects of design to suit my preferences & requests during the renovation process. One thing that touched me most was that besides her excellent customer service, she also provided personal service by embarking on a special project all by herself. It took her a few days to painstakingly complete the project with amazing results. The workmanship of carpentry & other work was generally good, and the whole renovation was completed in time. I recommend Akemi to anyone who is looking for a Designer who can produce and deliver results to your satisfaction.

Read More
Chris Hnin
5/5 Expectations to Reality
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Chris Hnin・Submitted 15 May 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Ye Min

I engaged D Initial Concept to renovate my 15 year-old condo 3BR + study unit. I wanted a timeless look that could last another 15 years and Ye Min worked very closely with me from ideation to completion. Overall, a great job well then. About the project: Because it is a renovation project of an old unit, there were a few key goals I set out for the designer: 1) The outcome must feel like a new place. 2) Try to minimize work in areas that still look pretty OK and are functional. 3) Good materials, but friendly to the wallet as well! I didn't quite have a clear vision at first but after scouring through Qanvast and other sites for ideas, Ye Min helped visualize my unit and worked with the graphic designer to really come up with a close render of the current outcome. No complaints at all about the entire process. Ye Min did a great job managing the project and sticking to his original planned schedule. Of course, there are a few very minor delays but he was very communicative whenever there are changes and made sure I was informed. One thing I appreciate about D Initial is the quality and workmanship. I requested to see a completed project before I signed with them, and I think that would be a good advice for anyone who's considering an ID. It gave me confidence that the work is of good quality. Budget wise, I spent about 55K on my contract and I do believe it was well worth the money! Many of my friends have commented that the house feels brand new! I think for anyone who's embarking on this exciting home renovation/building journey. Just remember a couple things: don't scrimp on furniture, lighting, laminates! They'll make all the difference!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Michelle Chern
Thank Goodness for Sheena!

Reviewed by Michelle Chern・Submitted 28 Feb 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Sheena

I’ve been liaising with Sheena for several months now. The first project we wanted to do ended up not going through because we had a change in plans. Nonetheless, Sheena continued to be responsive and reliable, entertaining my requests and questions even when I really didn’t deserve her kindness. Recently, we contacted her again for another project and once again she impressed us with her amazing designs, insight, and responsiveness. She is incredibly talented, responsible and accountable, and enabled to work with our budget for a small renovation project. Needless to say we will definitely look to her again when our BTO is completed 2 years from now. Sheena is trustworthy and I’ve already recommended her to my friends. One of them engaged Sheena for a renovation for her resale condominium and the results are simply amazing and fantastic. I’m incredibly excited to continue working with Sheena. Seriously thank Goodness for Sheena!

Read More
D
Creative, Responsible, Efficient

Reviewed by Dorc・Submitted 9 May 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Jaslyn Hong

My new crib is relatively small (506 sq ft), so space maximization was my key concern. Jaslyn is receptive to my requests for a customized expandable dining table, practical and beautifully crafted storage space and additional storage space, tv console with feature wall and balcony decking to match my engineered wood flooring. I am impressed by her creativity on the ID, eye for detail and prompt updates on the renovation progress. The breakdown on the ID and renovation cost, payment and renovation schedule were clearly detailed and communicated before commencement of work. Renovation works were completed as scheduled. 2 thumbs up for D Initial Concept!

Read More
project-upload
Joanne Leong
Good service good workmanship

Reviewed by Joanne Leong・Submitted 3 May 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Jaslyn

Jaslyn is very patient not pushy, always provide timely update and good pragmatic advices based on the concept or idea that I have in mind. Always remind me of the Budget and try her best to keep within the provided budget and timelines. Carpentry work from them is great too and prior to actual construction, several designs are provided. After sales service remains good. Whenever I have questions I still get timely response

Read More
Jackie Manoj Kumar
Ease of mine, reliable and trustworthy
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jackie Manoj Kumar・Submitted 7 Oct 2019・ Project completed Mar 2019・Designer Akime

Akime was able to understand our ideas and concept very quickly. She also gave good suggestions which we implemented into our home design. We had a budget and she managed it. We were living overseas and didn't have much time to over see the renovation 100% we trusted most of the work with akime and she delivered her work timely and up to our expectations. Communication with her was easy and efficient. Overall we are pleased with the renovation.

Read More
J
Functional, clean and spacious penthouse
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Joanne・Submitted 3 May 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Jaslyn Hong

Jaslyn is a quick,meticulous and observant person. My previous owner gave us only one visit to the house before handing over the keys. Due to time constraint, we need to start the renovation immediately on the key collection day. Despite the minimal visit, She manage to collect all measurements and calculation of the house quickly. Her ideal for our house is very functional, neat and sleek. She also helped to create alot of space by building functional hidden cabinets. During the renovation, she made multiple trips to supervise the progress of the work. Jaslyn also patiently accompanied us to purchase the items for the house. My husband and I have different opinions on the renovation. Jaslyn managed to find ideas to strike a balance between the couple's different view. The renovation was done within our budget and the quality of the workmanship is good. She is a very warm, friendly,understanding and responsible designer. We enjoyed working with her.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Corrine Puai
A Unique Hollywood Regency Theme
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Corrine Puai・Submitted 23 May 2019・ Project completed Oct 2018・Designer Edmund Ong

Mine is not a simple renovation work per say. My premise is going through Alteration and Amendment work. In simpler explanation, 10X more authorities involvement. I already engaged my own builder, Public Engineer and Architect for the above requirement. I am just lacking of a ID to take note of finishing. Due to my work nature, I have tons of ID contacts. But when I was deciding on which one... was really a challenge. I seek friends’ recommendation and visited a few showrooms but nothing impressed me in terms of the work. Until I chance upon #sianpartmund I decided to meet up with Edmund. He took 2 weeks to go through my Pinterest favorites (thousands saved items) and come back to me with a theme - Hollywood regency (I have never heard of it) and proposed layout and finishing design. It was the layout that stunned me. He is better than my architect in term of layout planning. He gave many suggestions that wowed me as well. I am especially sold when he is flexible with some of the arrangement of contractors. Along the way, he has been keeping to his timeline and made dangerous access to my premises on scald folding just to get a better understanding of the issues. He even do site visit on his birthday. So, with that, I am really grateful for all his input to achieve this together. The whole A&A journey was horrendously long and tedious. But end result is ideal beyond words. Edmund is a decent and aspiring ID that propose out of the norm type of ID works. He is full of ideas.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
TA
Quality at the Right Cost
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Tng Ay Koon・Submitted 26 May 2019・ Project completed Sep 2018・Designer Akemi

Last year, after going through my renovation plan with 5 recommended Interior Designer firms, I finally decided to engage D' Initial Concept to create my ideal Muji Home. The first discussion with my Interior Designer, Akemi, was detailed and I could visualize on their ID software how the final outcome would look like, before I signed the contract. My requirements were carefully captured and I was given a few options on how to model my 3-room flat to give an absolutely homely feel whenever anyone steps into the house. The whole renovation process moved according to the plan, and I was given timely update via photos sent by Akemi. As I was extremely busy with work, I could not spare any time to visit the site to check the progress. I left everything in the good hands of Akemi. All ended well and overall, I am very pleased with the workmanship quality and the timeliness of the completion of each task reflected on the work plan. As D' Initial's customer, I am satisfied that I have paid for a Quality Muji Home at the Right Price.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?