Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
20 reviews
Review of 19 Eighty Three
MA
High Synergy Teamwork
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Marcus Aurelius Goh・Submitted 19 May 2020・ Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Ben

Ben is our creative mastermind behind our monochrome themed house. We approached Ben with not many ideas but only the theme. It didn’t take him long to produce the mood board and presented the elements and details of the design. We were convinced by his passion and dedication in his work from design to transparent communication between CloverSpace and us to completion of the renovation. Ben does not mince his thoughts and will openly express his opinion yet allowing us to provide feedback to our preference. This is the reason why we chose him for his flair in design and eye for details. We're impressed with the team at 19eightythree for working together to turn our house into a living space called home. Special thanks to SH for the elevated drawings and Bow for the accessories and furnishing. We also want to take this opportunity to express our thanks & gratitude to the CloverSpace team for your hard work and professionalism in managing the site and providing us with updates when work is done. We also want to thank you for listening & accommodating to our requests (no matter how last minute), and attending to them. Well done Gary, William & Finna! We could not have asked for a better team with such high synergy with each other. This could not have happened without all your dedicated teamwork. Thank you!

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
Lyn Chow
Enjoyable Reno Journey
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Lyn Chow・Submitted 15 Apr 2020・ Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Shi Hwei

Shi Hwei and team had a consistent track record and they delivered yet again! I first chanced upon 19eightythree when I was browsing Qanvast. Their portfolio are actual photos, not 3D renderings, and yet very captivating. The use of lightings and the details of the carpentry is very subtle yet on point. It is obvious that they pay attention to every detail. Their pricing is unique and transparent. They included furnishings such as sofa, curtains and lightings in the budget, and they do not give you the most basic quote and ask you to top up for premium materials halfway through the renovation. They also ask for your budget upfront and advise if it is feasible or what has to be compromised (eg buy loose furnishing instead of built in) before renovation. This makes the reno journey more enjoyable as we don’t have to worry if there will be hidden costs along the way. Shi Hwei was able to give us very good design advice and ideas, and the end product is so much more than I’ve ever imagined even with my extensive online research. She is very detailed in her designs, and she spent a lot of effort shortlisting suitable materials for us. For our tv console, she hopped a couple of shops, shamelessly asked for 500+ samples before shortlisting 5 for us to choose from. This was very different from my past reno experience when I was just given a catalogue and I had to imagine what the end product will be like. Shi Hwei and the Cloverspace team is also very responsive, always trying to answer our questions, and during renovations, we would receive updates of what’s going on. Despite the tight timeline, the team was able to readjust the schedule so that we could move in on time. As expected of any reno, there will always be things that require rectifications. Shi Hwei and team would rectify straight away, sometimes even without our prompting. That’s the level of professionalism they exude! We certainly have a very enjoyable renovation journey with Shi Hwei and team, and I’d highly recommend them.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of 19 Eighty Three
J
Want a Showflat Tok Gong Home!?
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by James・Submitted 29 Jan 2020・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Ben

We choose Ben as our ID because his past projects always give us the right feeling that we wanted. Working with Ben is easy and hassle free. Just by giving him the a rough idea on how we want for our house and he is able to deliver something amazing. He Bao almost everything for us, from choosing of wallpaper , tiles , lighting and furnishing etc ... making my renovation such a Breeze .... In the end, the final product is Tok Gong too. If u want to your house to have a show flat feel, just look for Ben. Thanks Ben and his team for making a dream house come true.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of 19 Eighty Three
BS
Dreams Come True!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Brandon Soong・Submitted 27 Dec 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Bow

When me and my wife were looking around for an ID and we came across 19 Eighty Three portfolio and immediate felt in love with their works but what made us engaged them was the fact that they are home designers and they love what they do. For our home design, we wanted a modern resort theme but we were blank of ideas (research too much) but Bow as our Designer, she was able to bring forward a design and concept for our home that we both loved. I must say that she has a good eye for matching different colors, materials and elements, that is bold but yet subtle. To top it off, the whole experience was very transparent, from the cost to the schedule and we were constantly updated of the progress. It's very much a hands off process for us and at the end of the day, we got our dream home. Bow and her team was able to bring forward a design to life. We are very happy with Bow and her team for delivering our beautiful home. Thank you very much. We would definitely recommend anyone to engage 19 Eighty Three and dreams to come true.

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
RC
Looking for a Talented, Reliable and Responsive ID, look no further!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ryan Cheah・Submitted 4 Dec 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Ben and SH

I have seen many of Ben’s work and I like what I see so it was a natural choice to let him design our home. As we are very busy, we let him handle everything from start to finish. He was very transparent with his costing and explained very clearly on the renovation process. We told him our expectation and the mood board design he came up with was exactly what we wanted. After selecting the materials and colours etc, he quickly kickoff with the renovation to meet our timeline. His recommendation and service are excellent. No matter the issue, no matter the time, no matter the place, Ben and SH will get it done! They will constantly feedback to you on the status with pictures and videos so you know things are getting done. Ben has an eye for detail and will directly get the contractor to change things when it doesn’t meet his expectation, so you don’t have to worry! For bigger issues he will inform you and suggest options with his rationale and that made deciding so much easier! Any queries you may have will be answered almost immediately which is impressive. Looking for a talented, reliable, responsible and responsive ID, look no further! Well done Ben and SH and thank you!

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
CK
Elegant designs. Responsive and Great work ethic!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Chermaine Koh・Submitted 15 Nov 2019・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Ben

My partner and I worked with Ben for the renovation and styling of our new apartment. When shopping around for an ID, Ben was transparent in terms of feasibility of some initial ideas we had, and also in terms of the deliverable given our budget. We felt comfortable, and decided to entrust him with the renovation. His designs were well thought through, and took our lifestyle requirements into consideration. Throughout the renovation process, Ben handled it really well, and provided us with constant updates to put our minds at ease. As with any renovation projects, hiccups were bound to happen. Solutions were provided quickly, and he was always responsive to any questions that we had. We are pleased with the quality of the workmanship, and are thankful for the new house that Ben and his team delivered.

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
AY
Passionate Team you can Trust!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Albert Yee・Submitted 27 Dec 2019・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer Ben

Ben is not your average designer. We needed storage to grow, and space to work at home, all within the confines of a HDB unit. Ben has not only delivered a unique layout that fit our needs, he designed a home with no compromise on aesthetics and look. Curved sofa in a circular living room, transparent chairs and floor-to-ceiling glass panels were one of his many design elements that added so much sense of space to our new home. We were also happy with 19EightyThree and Bowerman's partnership on our project. Cost breakdown and renovation schedule were completely transparent. Furnishing, colours and aesthetic details were meticulously shortlisted by Ben—with design rationale were fully explained to help guide our final decisions. Communication with Ben and his team was never an issue. He allayed all concerns and helped rectify hiccups along the way. Post project rectifications were completed so quickly—I was so surprised that they were all able to work around our schedule. If you want a dream home, designed with no compromise and hands-off project management, 19EightyThree is the passionate team that you can trust.

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
GK
Long Overdue Review!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Glen Koh・Submitted 19 May 2020・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Ben

We worked with Ben for the renovation of our new house and he was an absolute pleasure to work with. We loved Ben’s design aesthetics and he was able to marry his ideas with our concepts. His designs are beautiful, sophisticated yet practical. Also, he was absolutely transparent with his pricing and was able to design according to our budget. After the work was done, we realised that we were not satisfied with some decisions made and he was more than happy to help us with some minor rectifications. Some months after our renovations, Ben realised that we were overcharged and he made it a point to meet up with us again to return us the extra cash. If he didn’t contact us, we would never have known! Much love to him for this kind act. As a person, Ben is very honest, communicative and has a passion for making homes beautiful. You will never regret working with Ben and his team at 19EightyThree!

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
A
Renovation nightmare? Not if you find the right firm to help you ...

Reviewed by Annie・Submitted 21 Dec 2019・ Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Shi Hwei

My condo renovation is done by Mr Shopper Studio and the designer is Shi Hwei who has left to form 19EightyThree. I am very pleased with how the whole project was completed from start to finish. Entire project team (Shi Hwei, Tommy, Reyane) has been very professional; they keep me updated on a daily basis throughout the renovation period on the progress. You’ll have 100% peace of mind with them!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of 19 Eighty Three
P
Can't Recommend Enough.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Pete・Submitted 27 May 2019・ Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Ben

Very grateful to Ben who helped us design our dream flat - listened to our requirements and delivered on the final product, right down to the last detail. Craftsmanship they use is of top quality and unlike most, the project was delivered ahead of schedule. Can’t recommend enough.

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
AP
Creative with eye for detail
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Allison Phua・Submitted 17 Oct 2019・ Project completed Mar 2018・Designer Ben

I had a great experience working with Ben! He’s very accommodating but also gives great suggestions and is very creative with a wonderful eye for detail. We particularly liked that he was able to suggest designs that worked within our budget. The actual renovations were done fairly quickly without much need for us to intervene or “supervise”. My husband and I are very happy with the end result and we would highly recommend to anyone looking for to design their dream home. If we ever reno, will 1000% reconsider Ben again.

Read More
Review of 19 Eighty Three
Wesley
Truly a one stop renovation and interior designing firm
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Wesley・Submitted 23 Mar 2019・ Project completed Mar 2018・Designer Bow

This is truly a one stop renovation and interior designing firm which deliver outstanding dream homes. After visiting several ID firms, we finally decided to engage them as they offer a unique proposition in the crowded renovation market and stand out with their amazing portfolios. We were amazed by their completed projects with full furnishings as they turn out to be way better than the 3D drawings. This is rarely accomplished as rest of the ID firms do not provide home styling services and this makes all the difference. With a great team led by Ben, our renovation journey is pleasant and enjoyable. Bow (Designer) was able to grasp our dream home ideas and conceptualize them into realistic 3D drawings. She worked within our budget and provided various options to cater to our needs. The project manager has extensive experience in renovation and shared many practical ideas for our carpentry works. On top of that, he took charge of the liaising with other services we engaged as well as the delivery of home items. This saved us a lot of time and hassle! The home shopper was able to source the best deals for our home furnishings and made Bow’s designs come to life. The icing on the cake will be their top notch service. We have heard a lot of horrid stories from our friends where the service level dropped drastically or became non-existent once you engaged the firm and hand over bulk of the payment. They provided timely updates on the project and they were accommodating to our requirements. There were a few miscommunications along the way but they were cordially resolved due to the great working relationship they have built with us. We will like to express our heartfelt gratitude and appreciation of all the hard work Ben, Bow and rest of the team have done to create such a beautiful first home. All of our relatives and friends gave raving comments on our home and this is a strong testament of your quality and design. We highly recommend them and will definitely engage them for our next home!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?