Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
58 reviews
FT
Second time engaging Jayson to design our home

Reviewed by Florence Teo・Submitted 16 Sep 2019・ Project completed Sep 2019・Designer Jayson

This is our second time engaging Jayson's services to design our home. Our first project was a fresh project as it was a new apartment. This time round, it was to refurbish our old HDB. The design concept proposed was fresh and exactly what we wanted - minimalistic/Nordic display cabinets for the living room and similar concept but different colour palette for the room. Design proposals were sent across promptly and follow-up was timely and efficient. Carpentry work and paintwork were all properly scheduled for maximum efficiency - so that everything can be done within the week. Workmanship was good with nothing to fault on. Timeline and budget were all met.

Read More
Vl
Professional and great service

Reviewed by Vicki l・Submitted 19 Oct 2019・ Project completed Aug 2019・Designer Jayson Ong

As my unit was really quite old, albeit well-maintained, I wanted to touch up on some areas and refresh it before renting it out. Due to my tight schedule, I needed to wrap up everything within 2 weeks or less for my relocation overseas. Jayson was very patient and did a great job attending to my requirements and getting his team to keep to the schedule very well. Two weeks ago, I was informed that the bath mixer in my MBR bathroom was faulty and the prospective tenants were coming to view the unit in two days’ time. Jayson responded to my call for help and arranged his plumber down the very next day and the faulty mixer was replaced. Excellent efficiency and very good service!

Read More
Casey Ong
Complete Make Over at #02-01 Golden Heights
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Casey Ong・Submitted 18 Sep 2019・ Project completed Aug 2019・Designer Jayson Ong

Earlier this year, I bought a very unique apartment, that I would call a Congalow, a Condo with the balcony of a Bungalow. However, it was very run down, as it was used as foreign workers’ quarter. So, I engaged a contractor, that I had used 15 years ago to undertake the job, with the intention to let him run it end to end, as I had trusted him since we actually became family friends over the years. He convinced me that, with him around, I won’t need an ID, as he has mastered the skills. A school mate learned that I was renovating my apartment, so suggested that I should get a 2nd quote from Jayson, though I was reluctant, I agreed eventually. Lo and behold, Jayson’s quote was on average at least 30% lower then the first contractor, whom has already started work. Suspicion that Jayson was just low balling the quote, I didn’t respond immediately to his proposal, until shit starting to hit the fan with the first contractor, and it became clear that crisis is unfolding, as we have a tight dropped dead dateline to evacuate from my old apartment. Staying beyond the dateline would come at a cost of SGD3,000 per day. So, I called in Jayson and seriously study his proposal, and the rest is history. Working with Jayson, was an entirely different experience, as he smoothly guided us through with the overall design theme and the selections of tiles, vinyl … and works. It was a breeze. The subsequent execution was near flawless, despite the extra challenges of having a shorter runway and an uncooperative first contractor, not to even mention the trail of disaster he left behind, including sub-par drainage at the Balcony that leads to ponding, sand/cement choked drainage in 2 of the bathroom that led to water seeping under the Vinyl that cause damage to the entire lot … just to name couple from a long list. Jayson was simply amazingly professional and talented in his work. He also commands great respect from the folks that works for him, most of them much older than him, some can be his Father, but they all follows his leadership, unwaveringly. We were very fortunate to have him guide us and lead the project, the cost/benefit equation was disproportionate, in our favour. Most importantly, Jayson save us from the disaster of a train wreck proportion, from the 1st contractor, and transformed the dilapidated apartment into unique, exotic and resort like Congalow! I am never gonna sell this place regardless of bid price.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
J
Commercial Project (office )

Reviewed by Joanna・Submitted 19 Sep 2019・ Project completed Mar 2019・Designer Jayson Ong

- Very Good service. - Prompt attention and reply. - Close Follow up on handover by each individual contractor such as carpentry, Plumbers works. - Personally check to ensure that all works are carried out accordingly. - Arrangements of timings are accurate so no unnecessary wasting of time. - Attends to all requests with good ideas and solutions. - Pricing reasonable - definitely high recommended

Read More
cheah jun curren
Enjoy your wonderful Renovation experience only with ASCENDERS DESIGN STUDIO
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by cheah jun curren・Submitted 26 Sep 2019・ Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Jayson & Sherman

Hope this review finds you well. Special thanks to ASCENDERS DESIGN STUDIO as they did a remarkable job in renovating our new home. A strong Team (Jayson & Sherman) are foundation for a high-performance service business and good ethic ensure our home is in safe hands. Below are a few points which held largely accountable for the smooth & sound renovating experience. 1) PATIENCE / FOCUS - During every meet up session with Jayson & Sherman, they always show calm, details oriented and a listening ear towards every single points or design we discussed. Never in a rush and always using their professionalism to help my wife and i understand better on what we need. They will take down every details we said even though we could not describe some of the things we intended. 2) CREATIVE - They provide us tons of ideas trying to match our style, personality & concept. Minimalist Scandinavian was our ideal choice. To our surprise, they are always calling in to tell us that some changes have been made to make the design look even better. All i have to do is provide some key words and they will do the rest. 3) ATTENTIVE/COLLECTIVE - Either Jayson or Sherman will be the first one to reach and last to go along the course of renovation. They will ensure the workmanship from living room , kitchen & all bedrooms are to their requirement. 4) BUDGET CALCULATING/ TIMELINE - Their quotes are reasonable with high quality materials & products. They will source every possible supplier to meet my needs. Every cost in within our budget as we first agreed and did not promote extra items which we do not require. Timeline has a bit of delay due to some design changes but overall was a smooth experience. 5) AFTER SALES SERVICE - They are very responsive for any defects or damages found after completion. In the end, i would thanks ASCENDERS DESIGN STUDIO again for their effort & service

Read More
C
Highly recommended to all.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Charlotte・Submitted 14 Apr 2019・ Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Jayson & Sherman

Jayson & Sherman left us a very good impression overall. Throughout the process of our renovation, we had a wonderful working experience with both of them. They are very responsive with our concerns, attentive and accomodating. We were very frank with our budget however, they still work closely to meet our expectations. We had a very close timeline for completion and yet they completed the project as promised and allowed us to transit smoothly in our house removal. After the renovation, they still followed up closely to see if any flaws arising our required to fix. Very satisfied overall and we highly recommend this interior designing company. Thank you Sherman and Jayson for everything!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
T
Highly recommend. Thank you
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by TanS・Submitted 17 Apr 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Jayson Ong

We decided to engage Jayson, because we find that he has practical ideas, is sincere, and understands our requirements. Throughout the renovation process, Jayson is professional, patient and responsive. The floor tiles, the design of the built-in carpentry works, kitchen design, colour schemes, etc - he tried his best to help us shortlist and propose suggestions that make our current house a warm, cosy place to live in. We also appreciate the fact that when defects were found, either by him or by us (not to worry, these are not major defects, but rather minor ones, which one will expect from any renovation), he tries his best to resolve them and as prompt as he can, even after we have moved in. Thus he is a responsible ID, and my family is happy with the final renovation. I will be happy to recommend Jayson and Ascenders Design Studio to my friends and wish to thank Jayson for his efforts!

Read More
A
Pasir Ris
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Angeline・Submitted 30 Apr 2018・ Project completed Oct 2018

We came across Ascenders Design from Qanvast as they were few of the IDs which was recommended to us. They were one of the IDs which approached us to discuss our renovation plans. Their customer service was also good and we saw there was a lot of good reviews from previous homeowners. The renovation went smoothly, we were surprised when the ID managed to complete the project within 5 weeks and the ID was efficient as any minor issues were rectified quickly. We were satisfied with their services, they did a good job on our new home!

Read More
B.Ong
Bukit Batok

Reviewed by B.Ong・Submitted 9 Jan 2019・ Project completed Jul 2018・Designer Jayson

Jayson is 1 of the 10 firms/ID we met via qanvast and referals. We decided to engage his services because of the good vibes and communication. He understands what we need and the quotation is also on the reasonable range. He provides good advice on space planning and is very good with the necessities in a home. He can tell you if what we need is feasible , the pros and cons but he is never pushy with his ideas which is something we like . He has been very responsive .Patient and resolves the issue we have very prompty. The costing is very transparent and payment are done in stages. There's minimal delay in work done or completed as per the planned schedule. Although there are some issues/defects here and there during the whole process. It was resolved very promptly by Jayson. We are quite satisfied with the final result of the renovation. If there's really anything to improve. I will think it is the defects check? He manage to find quite a few but as my wife and i check almost every weekend, we manage to find a few that are harder to spot , haha. I believe theres no perfect ID. There are bound to have issues. Most importantly is finding a suitable and dependable partner which communicates well and work things together. Thank you Jayson 😃.

Read More
L
A satisfied customer!

Reviewed by Liz・Submitted 7 Dec 2018・ Project completed Jun 2018・Designer Jayson Ong

Met up with a few interior designers to discuss the renovation plan and Jayson was the one who gave good suggestions and advice. We decided to go with Jayson as he had good vibes and he seemed honest. Most importantly, he seemed interested in this project, unlike others who seemed like they were forced. He had been very accommodative and was always ready to liaise with third party contractors when I was not around. The renovation schedule ran smoothly and finished on time despite the Hari Raya peak period. We managed to not sway too far away from the budget we set. Even after moving in for some time, Jayson was still more than happy to help with a technical issue we faced. Overall, we were glad that we chose Jayson as our designer and were very happy with the results and the suggestions and ideas given by him.

Read More
D
The Criterion
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Desmond・Submitted 25 Jul 2018・ Project completed Apr 2018

After meeting around 8-10 designers, it was Min Li’s dedication in following our project that made us engaged her. We really appreciated how proactive she was, plus we were facing with a very tight timeline for our renovation as we have sold the house, and we needed a designer who is proactive instead of us chasing the designer on the works completion. When we decided to go with Min Li, we gave her 4 weeks to complete the renovation on the main rooms, along with the carpentry and rewiring. The tight timeline also meant that I didn’t have the luxury of time to decide on certain matters. Whenever Min Li called me up to ask me to decide on something, I would have to make a decision and get back to her almost immediately so that the renovation could proceed smoothly without any delays. Despite the tight timeline, the quality of the workmanship was not compromised at all. There are some areas which require some minor touch-ups but overall, I am really satisfied with her.

Read More
C
Sims Place
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Clarence・Submitted 24 Mar 2016・ Project completed Apr 2018

We were attracted to Ascenders' portfolio on Qanvast so we began scheduling a meetup with them. Their service is prompt and there were not much issues on site. They managed to complete the project even before the stated timeline. Despite my busy schedule, Jayson never fails to update me on the progress of work every day. Workmanship is pretty good and price is competitive too.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?