Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
23 reviews
Review of KDOT
Arifin Ang
5-RM flat bukit batok skyline II
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Arifin Ang・Submitted 21 Jul 2019・ Project completed Jun 2019・Designer Daniel Ong

Our experience with KDot was very smooth and pleasant. They have good attention to detail, i.e. mitter joint for tile corners, even at service yard area without us requesting for it. The workmanship was very high quality e.g. tiling, carpentry etc. They were also willing to experiment with ideas we proposed such as transitioning between tile and vinyl. Our ID, Daniel is a great person to deal with, very rational and reasonable. He also won't hesitate to give his honest opinion on our choices, not just saying things to please us, which is what we wanted from a designer. He is also very hard-working, and was available to answer our queries promptly. He also helped us to think of ways to save cost, whether a certain design feature is necessary or if there are cheaper alternatives to achieve the same effect. Daniel and KDot did an excellent job at project management and vendor or supplier management. It was pretty hassle free for us, just purchase, give contact to Daniel and he'll take it from there. The time taken to work on our project was also as expected and the handover was also done on time - overall, good time management.

Read More
Review of KDOT
Zhihao Yang
Very pleasant experience! Kudos to our designer Daniel!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Zhihao Yang・Submitted 27 May 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Daniel Ong

The whole renovation process and experience with our designer Daniel from KDOT has been a really pleasant and hassle free one. Daniel from the very start till the very end has been a great help, giving all the possible help and useful advices whenever we needed them. Ever so patient and accommodating, even when any hiccups happens or any changes we wanted to make to the plan. Even after the completion of the project, KDOT still follows up with all the minor defects. Overall, it’s been a great experience working with Daniel and we are Glad that we have chosen KDOT to take care of our home renovation.

Read More
Review of KDOT
John T
KDOT (Kobe & Amos)
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by John T・Submitted 20 Feb 2019・ Project completed Feb 2019・Designer Kobe

Received the keys to my 4 Room BTO in December 2018 and decided to meet up a handful of interior design companies. My criteria were: 1) Portfolio of Sleek and artistic past projects 2) A designer who was mindful of practicality when designing the home, not just aesthetics. 3) Trustworthy I decided to go ahead with Kdot after seeing their past projects and meeting Kobe and Amos. From our experience, the key areas they excel in is having great design intuition, being perfectionist in their executions, and doing it all at great speed. Throughout the process they are very responsive. Be expected to received a lot of mood images of nice houses during the design phase that helps shape the aesthetics of your very own home. You know that they spend a lot of time going through images of great homes to gain inspiration and also being very aware of the latest ongoing trends. Throughout the process, they don't hard sell any particular products and you can tell that they are more interested in doing a project that they can be proud of than squeezing more profits out of you. Pricing wise they are reasonable compared to the other firms I met that had a comparable design ethos. I wasn't worried about poor workmanship because they themselves are very anal about how well things are done and maintained. You don't have to fuss over every details because they will take care of it. They're very well suited for clients who would like to leave a project entirely to them to run without any worry. Communication wise, they are very fast and responsive. They are honest too in their feedback to your requests. They'd let you know if they feel something isn't nice but if you really want it, they would still make effort to see it from your point of view and adopt it. Sometimes certain requests would mean them making more money but they would communicate with us why we should consider not to because it wouldn't be practical or nice. Overall, I'd highly recommend you checking Kdot out if you have seen their past works and like what you see. If your tastes align, you are in very safe hands. Good honest and hardworking people who will give their best, and add to that, a very strong design acumen. If anyone at Kdot sees this: Thank you Kobe, Amos and Del for taking good care of our project and building such a special space for us, we appreciate it!

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of KDOT
Huiling Tan
Rssponsible ID With Practical Designs And Quality Finishes

Reviewed by Huiling Tan・Submitted 6 May 2019・ Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Minii Ooi

After meeting with a few IDs, we decided to engage Minii from Kdot. Her keen eye for detail and receptiveness to ideas stood out among the other IDs. Minii listens patiently to our needs, shares her experiences and gives recommendations. We like that her designs are practical and aesthetically pleasing. During the renovation, she kept us well-informed of the progress. Any issues were also quickly resolved within her means. We are also impressed that she took the extra mile in liaising directly with the MCST for some issues with the unit and helped to follow up after the renovation is completed. Overall, we are very happy with her work and her effective management of the renovation project.

Read More
Review of KDOT
Alyssa Wen
Good project mgmt and aesthetics

Reviewed by Alyssa Wen・Submitted 30 May 2019・ Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Kobe Wong

Having heard many horror stories about ID firms, we were very careful in our selection. For a couple of months, my wife and i met with several IDs to discuss our initial concept but did not find a satisfactory outcome. Meeting with Kobe, principal project manager of KDOT, his sincerity and honesty put us at ease. We also like his suggestion of using Pinterest as the basis of our ideas board which we find a refreshing & easy way to collaborate. Our experience turns out to be quite smooth, given Kobe’s strong knowledge & sound expertise in the viability of construction elements & materials, coupled with a good sense of aesthetics. More importantly, he was clear about our budget and able to provide practical advice and creative workarounds, suggestions to complement the costings – without losing the big picture. What we also greatly appreciate, was the speed it took to execute the entire project, well managed without those common hiccups we often hear about, and no compromise to the workmanship and finishing. Both my wife and I juggle hectic work hours and are not the most responsive, but Kobe was able to provide constant updates on the progress and accommodate to our schedules. Kobe has made the whole experience a very pleasant one for us and I will not hesitate to recommend him to anyone!

Read More
Review of KDOT
h
Our renovation journey

Reviewed by hm・Submitted 8 May 2019・ Project completed Oct 2018・Designer Kobe Wong

We are glad to have chosen Kobe Wong and KDOT to carry out our renovation project and turn our budding design ideas into reality. Kobe and his capable team did all we asked within the time frame we gave him and updated us through the renovation journey. Their work enabled us to move into our new home in time for our wedding. Choosing an ID Our first meeting came when he invited us into his home, which he does use as a showroom. We were able to see for ourselves his ideas, style and vision come to life, as well as the quality of the carpentry. His design made his home spacious yet intimate. I also saw an article on him and his home on Qanvast. The emphasis he placed on lighting is in line with my own. His concept of zoning when it comes to lighting attracted me. He was very fast in getting back on our queries and churning out figures, so that played a crucial factor in why we chose him, as we were running on a very tight timeline. After comparision with four other designers, we felt that his quotation was very reasonable and offered the best balance between the cost and quality of his proposal (design ideas, comprehensiveness and track record). Design We wanted a modern, subtle and clean look for our home, with inviting, warm lighting. During our discussions, he listened to our preferences and made further recommendations to enhance the design. It is in the details that Kobe excels in too – from recommending the placement of power points to the choice of neutral coloured light switches to having soft-close, anti-slam sliding door to the master bedroom. One of my favourite features is our master bathroom, with glass separating it from the wardrobe area and a glass sliding door. It’s like a glass cube. He also helped us choose the floor tiles for the living room and toilets. His recommendations turned out very well and we were pleasantly surprised how the various choices of tiles fell into place to make for an elegant boutique hotel-like look. Delivery We were impressed that he was able to deliver in time, considering that the start of the renovation was delayed by almost two weeks as we faced problems in getting HDB's permit to hack some walls. Kobe was able to quickly engage a PE to do the certification requested by HDB, with no fuss and at a very reasonable cost. Throughout the renovation, we pretty much left the whole process to Kobe and his team. Kobe monitored and checked to make sure everything was done properly and of good quality. He would take pictures to update us and check back with us if there were areas that needed our decision. As we were busy with our wedding preparations he also took the initiative to help us select and buy some accessories like power switches and bathroom fixtures to help speed up the process. Summary He is generous with sharing his knowledge and experience and gives his clients his best. He’s trustworthy and a man of his word so we knew we could count on him.

Read More
Review of KDOT
A
Jelebu Road
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Arissa・Submitted 2 Jul 2018・ Project completed Jul 2018

Out of the three designers whom we met up with, Kobe was the best choice because my husband and I felt comfortable working with him. We trusted him because of the confidence he inspired through his portfolio and his personal approach to designing our home. Based on the theme we wanted, Kobe came up with mood boards instead of 3D drawings, which I prefer because of how quickly it allowed us to get on the same page about the colours, furniture, as well as the overall look and feel of the house.

Read More
Review of KDOT
S
Clementi
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Sam・Submitted 12 Apr 2018・ Project completed Mar 2018

I saw KDOT Associates portfolio on their website and was impressed with their works. I made an appointment with them and upon our first meeting I felt comfortable talking to the ID. I found him quite dedicated and passionate about design. The ID had a good personality and impressed me with his knowledge of design. I was comfortable discussing with him about what I wanted for my renovation and knew he was the right person to handle the project. The renovation went smoothly and I'm happy with the end results.

Read More
Review of KDOT
T
Punggol
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Tricia・Submitted 28 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

We shortlisted quite a few IDs but our final choice was KDOT Associates as we are able to communicate well together compared to the others. We felt comfortable talking to them and most importantly they are able to provide us with what we wanted. During the renovation, they are prompt in solving any issues that arise and they manage to complete our renovation on time. We are pleased with the overall outcome of our renovation. Renovation completed in: May 2017 Cost of renovation: $26,000

Read More
Review of KDOT
K
Boon Keng
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Karen・Submitted 28 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

Out of all IDs we met, Kobe is able to understand our requirements better and provided us with a good price. It was a pretty positive experience working with him. Kobe is able to combine both functionality and good designs. Throughout the process, he responded to our queries pretty fast. However, along the renovation, there were some hiccups but they managed to get it rectified. For further improvement, it will be best if they could improve on the project timeline as we felt that it could have been better managed. Overall it was a good experience and we would engage them again for future renovation. Renovation completed in: February 2017 Cost of renovation: $75,000

Read More
Review of KDOT
MB
Telok Blangah
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ms Baorong・Submitted 28 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

KDOT Associates was one of the IDs recommended by Qanvast. Out of all we met, we felt that Kobe was the most enthusiastic. On top of that, he specialise in the style that we are looking for. Duing our discussion, he is able to give us some good suggestions that we don't even think of. Throughout the renovation, Kobe is very responsive and would reply to our queries fast even during the weekend. For any changes we want to make, he would try his best to get it done. We are very happy with our renovation experience and would definitely recommend others to engage them! Renovation completed in: May 2017 Cost of renovation: $70,000

Read More
Review of KDOT
D
Toa Payoh
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Daryl・Submitted 25 Jul 2017・ Project completed Jul 2017

Out of the few IDs recommended by Qanvast, we decide to engage KDOT Associates for their designs, also we felt that we can work well with them. The designs proposed was very good, relevant to what we are looking for and the ID was very responsive too. Our renovation went smoothly and was completed on time. It was a good experience working with them and would definitely engaged them again for future renovation. Renovation completed in: May 2017 Cost of renovation : $35,000

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?