Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
71 reviews
Review of Tan Studio
Justin Dilinger
Thumbs up Tan Studio

Reviewed by Justin Dilinger・Submitted 19 Nov 2020・ Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Delson

Tan Studio was one of the short-listed ID that came to my mind when i got my BTO. Decided to go ahead with them cos of the gd reviews they accumulated. Delson was the spearhead for my project. I have nothing to complain as all was done within budget, professional advices and even creative recommendations. Things were explained throughly. Even when in covid situation, he managed to do whatever he can to ensure his client about the project. Might have make some mistakes about my own DIY but he shared with me practical ideas on how to maximise space infused with creativity. Never regret choosing Tan studios. Pricing is friendly with no hardsell. Delivers results on time n budget. 2 Thumbs up !

Read More
Review of Tan Studio
Howard Ng
Kids Room Renovation
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Howard Ng・Submitted 15 Nov 2020・ Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Delsen Tan

We were looking for a designer that could maximize our small room space with high ceiling for 2 kids. Requirements was 2 beds, 2 wardrobes and 2 study tables. We interviewed 4 different interior designers. Delsen provided the most practical and cost effective solution to maximize our space. He was very accommodating to our changes and provide expert advise on our request. He was also able to recommend his contact for electricians, lighting and curtain partners whom each professionally execute thier parts as per designed. During the construction and installation phase, Delsen is constantly in contact and managing the implementation. Schedules were on time as plan. Overall it always a great working relationship and experience with Delsen. Very professional, honest and accommodating interior designer and project manager. The kids love their new room and design. Highly recommended!

Read More
project-upload
Review of Tan Studio
Faith Rambo
Great Experience

Reviewed by Faith Rambo・Submitted 28 Mar 2020・ Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Delson Tan

I have repair jobs recently and Delson gave me a a reasonable quote and supervise the repairs himself. He is great with communicating to the workers and I didnt have to communicate my requirement to the workers at all. I replaced my Cove lightings as they were busted one by one. He sourced some very good and clear lightings for me and made the purchase worth the money. Highly recommended to discuss your requirements with Delson and he will advise accordingly. Some things, as a layperson we do not realize that it is not so straight forward. It will definitely help to understand that and it lessens my stress to be perfect. :) Repairs were swift and done within half a day! Thank you very much!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Tan Studio
Lin Han Cheng
Trustworthy, patient and helpful ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Lin Han Cheng・Submitted 2 Apr 2020・ Project completed Feb 2020・Designer Timothy Toh

We first got in touch with Tan Studio via Qanvast in February 19 , after being impressed by their portfolio and reviews on Qanvast. Timothy Toh from Tan Studio contacted us not long after. Despite us only collecting keys to our 4 room BTO in December 19, Timothy was very patient and professional throughout the whole process. We met several times to go through the floor plan ideas and quotation, before officially engaging Timothy. He offered suggestions and ideas to help streamline the quotation to our preferred budget and theme too. We wanted the Scandinavian concept that uses pastel colors to create a more cozy, bright feeling to the house. He helped to propose several color ideas of the paint, laminates and table top for us to discuss and choose. After we received the house keys and renovation was nearly done/ finished, he suggested furniture ideas and placements that match the house concept we wanted. He also managed to finish the renovation within the timeline. The communication throughout was very clear and he responded promptly when he have the answers to our questions. When things were unclear with the renovation works, he would seek clarification with his contractors and rectify any issues quickly if there are any. Service before, during and after renovation was impeccable. While the workmanship quality was very good, as with any renovation, there were some areas that required touch up. Timothy would arrange time for his team to come up and rectify most of the issues on the spot. For areas that are unable to fix, he would separately make arrangement and help to fix them for us either by his team or himself. After renovation was completed and handed over, he would still check with us if there are any areas to rectify or fix. The most outstanding quality of Timothy is that he is very willing to listen. He understands what the customer wants and adding that to his inputs, we are able to reach a common understanding of the end result quickly and accurately. Overall, a great renovation experience with Timothy and would highly recommend him and Tan Studio to any homeowners, especially first time homeowners like us, looking to renovate!

Read More
Review of Tan Studio
Jes Tay
Highly recommended ID

Reviewed by Jes Tay・Submitted 11 Jan 2020・ Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Delson Tan

Tan Studio is the 4th ID we had engaged before for our families and this is by far the most professional, friendly, practical, economical and genuine ID we have experienced before. Our ID, Delson Tan, went beyond our expectations in both advices and ensuring the job is delivered in perfection! Delson supervised the work done by his various partners and ensure superior standard. Where there are gaps, he ensures that the work is re-done to perfection, with no delay to handover date. He visits the site almost every day to personally see to all the details and even brainstorm for alternatives when meet with challenges or obstacles to the original plan drawn. Tan Studio's quotations is also of reasonable pricing and competitive with other ID firms. Service has also surpassed our expecations. Delson responds to our queries and additional requests promptly and provides more than sufficient after-sales service without procrastination. He puts owners interest before revenue and is very genuine in the before, during and after sales service! We certainly recommend Tan Studio strongly and will not hesitate to engage them should another opportunity arises!

Read More
Review of Tan Studio
Maxilian Chan
Review for Tan Studio
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Maxilian Chan・Submitted 20 Jan 2020・ Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Delson

Our experience with Delson has been a pleasant one. Having sourced quotes from different IDs, although Tan Studio isn’t the lowest, we wanted an ID that is reliable and can deliver on time as we had bad experiences in the past with other IDs before. True enough, we never regretted our decision to go with Tan Studio as Delson is very dedicated and has very good project management skills. Throughout the project, his communication has been prompt and when there are issues, he would be upfront with us and provide his professional opinion to resolve. He has also been very patient and accommodating with our requests. Even after handover, Delson would personally check if we had other issues and would ensure that his project partners would come promptly to resolve these minor problems to perfection. We would definitely engage Delson for future opportunities!

Read More
Review of Tan Studio
R
Reliable, customer oriented ID who listens
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Reg・Submitted 12 Feb 2020・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Timothy Toh

I collected my keys to a 5-room resale in May. After meeting with several companies to discuss the ideas we had for our home, we signed with Timothy from Tan Studios. He gave us a good vibe, and we felt a genuine commitment and sincerity from Tim. Some of the other IDs spent a lot of time showcasing their past and current projects, which is great. Viewing their work is important as well. Tim showed us samples of his work as well, but he spent a good deal of time before that just listening attentively to our requirement and taking notes. Which is why he struck us a someone who understood our needs. And we were right to feel that way because he was able to present us with a plan based on our lifestyle and specific requirements. For example, my partner has a lot of shoes, so he came up with the idea of having a half-height shoe cabinet running along the windows, so we fully utilise that space. We liked that we could co-create our space with his knowledge about renovation guidelines and design principles. Tim also went above and beyond what his job requires him to do. I was moving the location for my air-con compressor, so we sought HDB's approval for this. For some reason, they did not receive the plans the air-con company submitted that included the drawings. As I was travelling at the time, Tim took it upon himself to contact the HDB branch manager, draw a set of drawings for them and submitted it on my behalf. So if you are looking for an ID that goes above and beyond, look no further, Timothy is your man! The renovation itself was smooth and Timothy provided us with timely reports. The only hiccup happened about halfway through the renovation. And made me realise that I needed to redo the kitchen, something I was not planning on doing. When this unexpected issue arose, Timothy was able to calmly explain the situation to us and give solutions and options, especially since I was on a tight budget. On another note, Tim never made me feel that I was less important of a client because of my budget. He gave us budget-friendly options to fix the issue until we could redo the kitchen, but in the end, we decided to spend a bit more and redid the whole kitchen. In this aspect, Tim was invaluable! He helped out a lot on designing the kitchen, so that not only does it look good, it is functional with all the storage we required while keeping the costs to a minimal. Lastly, after the renovation, it came time to check the place for defects. And we are happy to report that we found very little. That's because Tim is thorough in his work. Minor things, like the alignment of our tic-tack door being slightly off, something I didn't even see, but he did, and he arranged for his guys to rectify it. He checks everything even before we do, which showed us that he takes pride in delivering his best and ensuring we would be happy with the final product. I am thankful to have met Tim who is the epitome of Tan Studios motto, Design, Build and Trust. They were able to design and build a beautiful home for my family and I. Tim is a trustworthy man whom we could trust in not only getting the job done, but he became a friend we could bounce ideas off on and trust him to give an honest answer. The after-sales service is impeccable as well. Anything out of order after the hand-over is done promptly and often without extra charge. Tan Studio is definitely an ID firm I would recommend to homeowners looking to renovate. And I would engage them again!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Tan Studio
C
A Trusted ID With No Regrets - Gets the Job Done Well and More
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Chan・Submitted 11 Jan 2020・ Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Delson Tan

Like many, we consulted several interior designer firms before finally deciding with Delson Tan of Tan Studios Pte Ltd. A number of reasons for doing so; firstly, providing sound, creative and cheaper advice and counter-proposals to our original plans to our renovation plans. His quotation was fair and he was accommodating with his quotations to meet my budget. Secondly, Delson’s pleasant personality, patience, commitment, a chap who does his work in organise manner and his attention to detail. I’m a demanding and impatient person at times, I had also made many last minutes changes to the renovation plan. He accommodates it all and does it good-naturally. He is committed to the project, he will visit the site almost every day to supervised and check on the contractors of their work. He pays attention to details, making the contracts to redo areas that were not of standards even though he seems okay with me. He will docket and update us a copy of every changes made to the renovation contract. He will also constantly update us on the progress of the work. Lastly and most importantly, Delson completed the dateline despite having an extensive renovation works, good workmanship and met to my demands. I would highly recommend Delson Tan of Tan Studio to other home owners who are looking for a trustful, sincere, experience and reliable ID.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Tan Studio
Meredith Chan
A Trusted ID who can go above and beyond
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Meredith Chan・Submitted 30 Oct 2019・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer Delson Tan

Delson is extremely experienced in working on various types of designs and he was able to give great advice to material that can last or designs that work best for our home. His firm and work can be trusted to be executed with quality and if there are faults and when the work is not up to par, he will Ensure to resolve them within the project timelines. His price point is also really competitive! Definitely an ID I would recommend to home owners looking to renovate.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Tan Studio
DL
Ran out of superlative to describe!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Dominic Leck・Submitted 16 Sep 2019・ Project completed Aug 2019・Designer Delson Tan

My Mrs and I searched on Qanvast and also outside for an ID to work on our 3-room flat. After meeting several IDs, we settled down on Tan Studio. The meeting with Delson was pleasant and very engaging, he is very friendly, knowledgeable and experienced. Saying he is top notch or professional would be an understatement. During our initial meeting, we managed to discuss on many matters and upon the conclusion of that meeting, we had a good vibe that he would be the one. The follow up from him was prompt, within a day, he managed to get back to us on the quotation and also addressed our concerns with very clear simple drawings which he could do on spot with just paper and pen, what tops it all were physical examples in his showroom. We did not feel rushed when we were at his showroom, we were given opportunities to touch, feel and ask many questions. Our biggest concern had always been the kitchen, given that it's VERY VERY small and HDB has designed some outlets to be at certain spots. Despite of it, Delson was able to give us 3 exampls of how we could have done up the kicthen and helped us visualise the works very well, unlike some other IDs, they would have just given us one design option (take it or leave it). With Delson, we found him to be very patient and will give us many suggestions but ULTIMATELY, home owners make the decisions without the need to feel rushed or regretful later. During the renovation process, it was pretty smooth. We had prompt daily updates and for urgent matters that required us to make a decision, he would take a video or pictures coupled with drawings to explain the situation and the options we can take. Saving us time to make a trip down to his office and understand the situation. Once, we had an issue with the shower curtain rod as the one we brought was defective, that would delay the installation of the bathroom accessories, as the replacement unit would take sometime to arrive. Once the replacement rod arrived, it was past the unit's hand over period. Nevertheless, we shared with Delson that we gotten the replacement rod and the very next day he gotten his guys down to install it for us at no extra cost although it is past the hand-over date. This was just one of the example, many others on pro-bono basis which we are very very grateful of. The workmanship of the work is really good, Delson also shared with us the progress especially the carpentry on what they would be working on and any issues was fixed promptly. He is able to take care of the sub-contractors very well, we needn't have to worry much. Furthermore, his recommendations are practical and very reasonably priced. What made us choose Tan Studio would be the openness and honesty Delson provided, an example was that he shared that we could look for other contractors to do certain parts of the renovation work as he would not be priced competitive in those areas. Overall, Tan Studio and Delson is able to keep to our budget and timeline, things went really smooth on schedule. Our friends and family members are impressed on how well the renovation has turned out with the budget that we worked with. Hearing about the many horror stories from others on their renovation journey make us wonder whether are we the exception as we had a smooth journey without hiccups and worries. This is just the start of the journey working with Tan Studio, we will look for Tan Studio for future works!

Read More
Review of Tan Studio
Jasmine Chan
Great service!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jasmine Chan・Submitted 29 Sep 2019・ Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Delson Tan

After meeting several companies to disucss our idea for our home, we settled with Tan Studios as he easily understood our concerns and was able to come up with good suggestions for some of our uncertainties (e.g. odd corners and a small toilet space) Despite the short time frame given, Delson was very professional in all aspects of the renovation process, delivering service excellence. His responses to all of our questions or issues raised were quickly addressed. Practicality and general design of our new place was also considered equally, all to meet our storage needs. Our last minute changes were handled professionally and were never dismissed. Delson and his team of contractors were thorough in their work of our place, making on the spot changes when we requested for it (e.g. lighting casing etc). Workmanship was excellent as well! The entire process was hassle free and we trusted that we were able to leave our home in the care of Delson and his team. Throughout the whole reno process, Delson was very patient and understanding of our needs in order to handover our new place within the short stipulated time given. Thankful to have met Delson and his team!

Read More
Review of Tan Studio
Jessica Lim
Interesting and fulfilling journey
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jessica Lim・Submitted 26 Sep 2019・ Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Delson Tan

I heard horror stories of contractors went missing or not responsive. I could imagine the aggro home owners have to bear during renovations. So it was with some fear and trepidation when I embarked on this project. One of the 5 IDs Qanvast reommended to me was Delson of Tan Studio. I met 7 companies – 5 through Qanvast and 2 through friends’ recommendations. My flat was a resale and my design preference differed vastly from previous owners, so the alterations and costs were quite beyond my expectations and budget. Delson’s quote was not the lowest among the quotes I had received. However it stood out because he quoted for an area despite my brief to keep it in order to save costs. Instead of some alteration to the then existing condition as I have suggested, he proposed to redo the space. His proposal resonated with me and made me rethink of my decision. The costs for that variation turned out to be lower than I have expected. Delson's courage to propose this variation, despite my reminders that I had a budget constraint showed me that Delson heard me during our many discussions on what I want to achieve and have courage additional item. He understood the critical points in the project. Finally I made up my mind to work with Delson. Till today, I am glad that I took his advice on redoing that area. As with any project that incur high costs and individual’s design preference which come with expectations, the journey was not easy. However, it was made pleasant with Delson’s prompt responses, timely updates, patience and readiness to make changes and tweaks during the journey. I am particularly impressed with his communication skills. It makes things much smoother and pleasant. Of course there are areas I could have done better but overall I am happy to go back to a nice home end of everyday. And my experience with Delson makes me look forward to another renovation project in the event I move to a new place some years later and have the luxury of budget then. It was an interesting and fulfilling journey.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?