Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
33 reviews
KK
Renovation progress

Reviewed by KK・Submitted 4 Jan 2020・ Project completed Dec 2019・Designer C

Our experience with urban design wasn’t pleasant and it could be better. We only renovated the living room and our master bedroom but the renovation took almost 3 months instead of the initial planning of 1 month. It stressed me so much that I feel aged and grow lot of white hair during the process of renovation. I can’t sleep well and I don’t understand the way they handle the work. We have to follow up with the ID on the progress on the renovation. My hubby and I am working so the reason to engage an ID co so we can relax and ensure work are done properly and we don’t have to stress over it. But we are the one who go to the site to oversee it most of the time. The waiting time for the carpenter is long and we have to wait for weeks for urban design to arrange the carpenter to come over! All the wait delay our renovation and moving in! People will think we should be relax and let them handle the renovation but it’s hard when we realised 1. The ID gave the wrong laminates code to the carpenter and resulting in using the wrong laminates. 2. the design for the living room shoes cabinet and display cabinet is different from 3D. All these added time as amendment required. Our renovation start in Sep 2019. We are still waiting for urban design to arrange the carpenter to come for touch up.

Read More
qihui
Loft unit in modern style with an oriental twist
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by qihui・Submitted 1 Sep 2019・ Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Cherrie

The modern oriental style is not something that most designers are used too. In addition, I was not too keen to affect the furnishing provided by the developer. With these constraints in mind, I turned to Qanvast to recommend designers whom may be able to do so within my budget. I’m was very glad to meet Cherrie through Qanvast. Before our first meeting, she reached out to me to find out my design vision and preference. I was pleasantly surprised that she was able to suggest a layout plan and shared reference photos to verify what I had in mind during our first meeting. Working was Cherrie and her team was a breeze. With my requirements in mind, it only took us 1 round of edits to get to the 3D drawings which I was satisfied with. I’m similarly impressed by her project management skills. With my loft unit, a scaffolding is required for the works. And this needs to be coordinated between painters, carpenters, electricians and even my zip blinds contractor. Not an easy task for sure! Overall, the renovation works took about 4-5 weeks. This is within the estimated 6 weeks which Cherrie has first committed to me. With this, I was able to achieve my objective of moving in before the lunar 7th month. The end results of the renovation was amazing. And it far exceeded any expectations I had from the start and surprisingly within the budget that I’ve set. Well done to Cherrie and her team and thank you for the efforts that you have put in (really appreciate it!) and the attention to details (would have otherwise be missed out by me!)

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
KV
Great Service and Design! Highly Recommended!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by KANNAN VIJAKUMAR・Submitted 12 Aug 2019・ Project completed Jun 2019・Designer Kent Tan

Urban Design not only offers great design options and service, they also package them in affordable prices compared to many other interior design companies we consulted. As first time buyers, my wife and I were quite lost about renovation procedures until we consulted Kent from Urban Design. He was also my brother's ID who did a great job for them. With that confidence, we engaged him directly. From designing to detailing, Kent offered us nothing less of good quality. Kent also helped us to coordinate with most of our house fixers and external furniture/lighting contractors to sync up with the theme and the overall look of the house. He went out of his way at many instances to recommend furniture shops and cost efficient ways to decorate the house. He is a smart and genuine ID who knows how to work within your budget without compromising the quality of the design. Urban Design is definitely a go to for any young couples who are starting out to build their new house with a moderate budget. We highly recommend this company and Kent! Our sincere thanks to Urban Design for building our dream house!

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Cheng Hao
Prompt And Reliable

Reviewed by Cheng Hao・Submitted 16 Jun 2019・ Project completed Jun 2019・Designer Kim Tang

As this was our first home, we were quite anxious about what to do especially with the whole renovation process. Thankfully Kim was patient and able to help us reduce that anxiety by explaining all the details about doing the renovation. He was quick with replies and also manages his contractors well in order to deliver the project quickly with good quality. Highly recommend Kim again if anyone needs any reno job done.

Read More
YL
Great Service and Renovation Experience - Highly Recommended!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Yong Lyu・Submitted 23 Aug 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Teyos Tay

We got to know Urban Design House through referral by Qanvast and they clearly stood out amongst all the other 4 ID firms we met - Thanks to the professionalism and great service of our ID, Tayos. Their quotation may not be the cheapest but the quality of work, service and also warranty that comes with it make the choice very worthwhile. Tayos is very smart and spent time to understand our requirements and expectation. He is always very candid in sharing his advice to our ideas so that the final design can be optimized with the combination of aesthetics, functionality and practicality / cost. This is greatly valued by us as we want to have an experienced ID that can help us to improve our initial renovation ideas, rather than someone who simply takes our view and gets it straight to drawings / plans. He kept us informed on the progress and responded to our questions and requests promptly despite of managing a few other projects at the same time. Whenever there was an issue / hiccup during the process, Tayos is always able to propose solutions to meet our needs, including sometimes changes and rectifications needed (pretty much unavoidable for renovation based on our prior experience across different places :-)). We are also quite happy with the strong commitment on timeline and budget by Tayos and his team. The workmanship is satisfactory as well and you receive 5-year warranty from completion. Now we have lived in our new home for a few months and this review is over-due - We want to sincerely thank Tayos and his team for a smooth and pleasant renovation experience. His professionalism and great service are highly appreciated. We will be happy to recommend Urban Design House and Tayos to anyone who is looking for an excellent and reliable ID for their project. All the very best with your renovation experience!

Read More
Pooja Samel
Urban Design Review

Reviewed by Pooja Samel・Submitted 15 Jun 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Cherrie Ang

We came to know about Urban design from a friend whose house was being renovated by them. We saw the quality of the worksmanship and also received positive feedback about Cherrie Ang their Id. Hence we decided to get our 3 bedroom condo renovated from Urban design. From the very beginnning what we liked about Cherrie was that she was very open to ideas which was not the case with some of the other ID's from other firms we had met up with.All throughout the renovation process which took about 3 months to complete,Cherrie was always very patient,cheerful, understanding and also willing to do changes if required.Apart from the ideas for designs she also helped with making a choice of wall paints, tiles, curtains and furniture laminates. Although there was some overrun in the budget it was expected due to the additions that we made to the renovation plan. Even during some small instances of conflict she was always calm and composed and got the work done within the stipulated time. We also had a chance to.meet up with her Manager Kent who was also helpful in resolving some minor labour issues. Overall the project was managed well and we are very satisfied with the outcome. Cherrie is a thorough professional and we would recommend Urban design for getting their house renovated. From, Pooja & Amit

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
Tracy Ng
My Cosy Abode - classy yet homely

Reviewed by Tracy Ng・Submitted 6 Jun 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Susan Loy

As a clueless home owner who have no idea how to go about renovating my resale 5 room flat, I am really very lucky to have found Susan Loy of Urban Design House as my designer consultant. Susan is the most patient consultant amongst all the id consultant I have spoken to. She never rush into things and will ask both my hubby and my preferences and feel that we would like to have for our home as she feels its important to help us create a home which suits our lifestyle. With her vast experience in reno line, she has given us many practical and good suggestions along the way which has help us alot. During renovation, Susan will promptly update us the progress of the project with calls, sms or photos. Whenever we have any doubts, Susan will patiently answer to all our questions. She has even personally went with us for shopping trips for our lightings and accessories. If anyone is looking for a responsible and reliable designer consultant, Susan Loy of Urban Design House is definitely one of the best choices.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Monice Cheung
Affordable and good quality package with very sincere service from ID

Reviewed by Monice Cheung・Submitted 1 Jun 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Jeremy

Jeremy gave us a very good impression even before we confirmed him as our ID, he was always very helpful and prompt in his replies even at night, never once I felt that he was reluctant to reply or explain things to me. The price quoted was also very reasonable and the workmanship also turned out great! I'm not very knowledgable in judging the quality but my parents also complimented when they visited my place. Most importantly, the communication was easy and Jeremy has been very sincere and friendly to us even when we did not opt for a very expensive renovation package. He was very easygoing when I prefer to engage outsourced vendors for certain things, and he never hesitated to help us solve any problems even if it was something extra and not his fault to begin with. He even offered to help us receive delivery items if we're both not free. My husband and I felt very comfortable working with Jeremy, and it was one of the best decisions we made for our housing process. Overall, we are also very happy with the design and everything turned out the way we wanted. Urban Design House is highly recommended and we are so glad we made the right choice!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Nishalini Devadas
Kitchen and prayer room renovation

Reviewed by Nishalini Devadas・Submitted 28 May 2019・ Project completed May 2019・Designer Cherrie

We were glad to choose Urban Designs to renovate our kitchen and prayer room. They did a great job. They catered to our needs. We wanted a specific design for our kitchen and many other contractors told that it was not possible but urban designs made it possible for us. They ideas were helpful and innovative. We wanted a modern yet simple and cozy looking kitchen and we got what we wanted. Even when we needed certain amendments, they were very quick and responsive. Their quotation was also affordable. Hence I would recommend urban designs. Cherrie is our designer and she did a great job. We would like to thank her.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
T
Fantastic experience with Kent

Reviewed by Tham・Submitted 6 May 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Kent

Kent was fantastic! He openly listened to all of our concerns and provided various ideas and solutions for the project. He answered all of our design questions while implementing new ideas and lay outs. He provided aid when we need them. Thanks to him we feel confident in our choices and are so pleased with the outcome of the entire house design. Would definitely recommend him and Urban Design House to friends and family.

Read More
AU
Professional service, good budget management and timely completion
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Atul Upare・Submitted 4 May 2019・ Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Cherrie Ang

We met Cherrie Ang from Urban Design through an interaction in Renopedia. We visited the showroom and some sites and were impressed with the works carried out. She prepared the estimates considering our extremely tight budget and also shared ideas to cut costs (something which other IDs could not do). The works were started and completed on time. The designers helped to provide different options within a short span which helped in maintaining the timeline. Cherrie is a pleasant, professional, prompt, communicative and disciplined person. She handled all changes well. We ended up with approximately 5% overrun which is decent considering our requirements were not very clear at the start. The service and workmanship quality was very good. I would highly recommend Urban Design House for home renovation!

Read More
V
Job well done!

Reviewed by Valerie・Submitted 21 Mar 2019・ Project completed Mar 2019・Designer Edward Sey

Urban design was not the only design firm that we met with but we ultimately decided to work with them as they gave maximum assurance with their sincerity and clear professionalism and experience. Edward, our ID, was creative yet practical. He analysed all our wants and needs and gave us advices to play around to balance aesthetics and practicability. On and off, he will send us snapshots of the progress and kept us in the loop of everything that is done. He is clear of his schedule and Ensured that all the deadlines were met and promises delivered. He was exceptional and we definitely had to thank him for giving us a worry free renovation experience.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?