Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
143 reviews
verified-review
Verified reviews are cross-checked against their renovation contract.
July Yuan
Resale EC reno

Reviewed by July Yuan・Submitted 3 Nov 2022・ Project completed Nov 2022・Designer Jasmine Chong, Qi xuan

it was a very efficiency renovation experience, I like the way how they manage my project. coordinate is very patient and serious in works. designer's color sense is very good. contractor's especially carpenter works make me recommending to my friend, it really not bad. But if the owner have higher standard in storage manage, you have to follow up closely and explain your requirement clearly and detailed.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
JY
Wonderful Team

Reviewed by Jennie Yeo・Submitted 3 Nov 2022・ Project completed Sep 2022・Designer Raymond and Perlinda

After meeting with different IDs and having heard horror stories from friends about their experiences during their renovation journey. We were quite apprehensive when embarking on this journey to select one ourselves. And truthly, we met with an irresponsible and unprofessional ID!! who fired us due to various PERSONAL reasons, ie: decided to leave currently ID company during our permit application period/process without proper handover. It is with blessing that Raymond and Perlinda decided to take on this project during this difficult period of us. Raymond is fast to pick up the vibe and our requirements with many counter proposes against the design faults from the previous ID. Perlinda is detailed and carried out the work without us worrying and update us the status/ progress almost daily since we could only visit the site on weekend. And in 4 months (yes, inclusive of design changed!), this amazing tac-team provided us with such beautiful house. We could felt the passion and attentive towards our project during the consultation stage till handover. Its such blessing that we were have found this amazing team and now we tell our friends, it’s all thanks to that irresponsible ID - ( I ), that we have such beautiful place called - home

Read More
J
First choice for my dream home
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jeridyn・Submitted 28 Aug 2022・ Project completed Jul 2022・Designer Jasmine & Brandon

I've been following FSI ever since I saw one of their projects featured in the news. It was a great experience working with Jasmine and Brandon on my dream home. They worked as a tag team to complete my resale project by my requested deadline. Compared to the horror stories I’ve read about other IDs, my journey with FSI was smooth-sailing with very few hiccups. Jasmine is an experienced and creative designer with a good eye for aesthetics. She listened attentively to my brief (a scandi-ish style featuring curves and pops of blue and purple) and was genuinely excited about the project. She was bold in advocating for ideas she believed in, while respecting my preferences and not being pushy. Some of the materials she proposed were not things I would normally go with, but I trusted her and they turned out to be beautiful choices that I now enjoy seeing every day. I especially love the geometric wall painting designed by her. As project manager, Brandon liaised seamlessly with dozens of vendors and ensured that the project progressed smoothly without giving me heart attacks. He was observant and meticulous since our first meeting and helped me to resolve many construction problems throughout the renovation. He provided me with regular photo updates, giving me assurance even when I was not on-site. Throughout the process, Jasmine and Brandon value-added with many practical considerations that I would never have thought of. As a person who is very fussy, I appreciate their attention to detail, down to little things like strategic placement of grout lines. They were also highly responsive and responsible ─ there was once both of them were down with Covid but they remained contactable and ensured the project carried on without a hitch. Especially Jasmine, who kept replying to my messages and helping me with selections even when she was recovering from a surgery ─ this was something that touched my heart. As expected of all renovation projects, I detected minor blemishes and defects after I moved in. However, the team fixed all these issues for me promptly as best as they could. They certainly didn’t leave me to fend for myself and not once did they MIA on me. FSI’s fees are certainly not for the budget-conscious, as they work with above-average to premium level vendors that are their long-time partners. But with this investment, you can be assured of quality products, great customer experience and peace of mind where everything is taken care of for you from conceptualisation till completion.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
BC
Excellent Project Management and Unique design ideas

Reviewed by Ben Chan・Submitted 26 Aug 2022・ Project completed Jul 2022・Designer Jasmine

We started our renovation journey using Qanvast ID Reviews as a source of information to shortlist ID firms and Free Space Intent stood out to us. As a family with kids, we were looking for an ID who had a flare for design, practical and able to manage the entire renovation project. We met a few ID firms before finalising with FSI. Jasmine's honesty, professional approach and her past creative works gave us assurance that the renovation will be in safe hands. Jasmine exceed our expectations through out the renovation journey! Customer focused design: Patiently worked with us to develop our ideal home design. We had gone through many changes (>7 times) in our initial design phase. She provided us with valuable advise on practical and design aspects. Excellent project management: Coordinated all activities for us, penned down our request and never missed out on details. In fact, she was always on top of task, sending us pictures of the progress, giving early notice for potential issues and resolving them. Accommodated to our last minute changes. Workmanship: Quality of the renovation was great, no major issues. Timeline: This was one of our biggest concerns especially after hearing stories of delayed renovations. Jasmine did a great job in ensuring the project's schedule was met. Our renovation was completed in less than 2 months. After sales follow up and service: She followed up with us if there were any issues and resolved them quickly. Overall, FSI provided a structured approach to our renovation project. Jasmine did a fantastic job, we could entrust the renovation fully to her and focus on our work and family.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Daphne
Highly recommended

Reviewed by Daphne・Submitted 3 Aug 2022・ Project completed Jul 2022・Designer Brandon Hee

I was looking for an interior design company which is bold in trying out new things and open to new ideas. After spending time talking to four IDs from different companies, I finally decided to sign the contract with Free Space Intent. I was first drawn to their past portfolios which many included colourful designs. Brandon is meticulous in the details of the design and is patient in listening to my ideas and concerns. I was really impressed when I saw my own paintings appearing in the 3D designs. The furniture and appliances I have picked also appeared in the 3D drawings. My house now looks almost 98% like in the 3D drawing. Amazing! While picking for the tiles, I saw a design which I liked it very much. Although it doesn’t quite fit the colour theme of the house, Brandon tried to incorporate into the design as well. That has become one of the main highlights of the house now. The whole project management was also well handled. Brandon was also able to handle unforeseen circumstances and followed through the process to rectify the issues during the renovation. His responses were prompt and he communicates clearly if some things were not possible to be done. He does not overpromise but delivers what he promised. I highly recommend Free Space Intent if you are looking for new and fun ideas for your house.

Read More
Pamela Ang
Nicely Renovated Penthouse

Reviewed by Pamela Ang・Submitted 9 Nov 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Leon Luo

Leon (Designer) and his project manager Perlinda did an awesome job! They were very professional and patient throughout the whole project, despite the challenges we experienced during pandemic time. Based on my family’s needs and wants, Leon came up with a nice design that meet practicality too. I have to say we are happy with the workmanship as well. Lots of discussions and advice from Leon, thus make the whole renovation process quite enjoyable. What we appreciate the most is their calmness and professionalism in managing issues/ challenges. They do not avoid, instead work with us to come to a resolution. Highly recommend FSI! Cheers!

Read More
Jadie Chan
Three Times Lucky! Excellent Design and Project Management

Reviewed by Jadie Chan・Submitted 17 Jul 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Raymond Seow

Our place has been transformed and we love it! In fact, we had such positive experiences with FSI in the past that this was our third time engaging them. From start to finish, we loved working with them. Raymond and his team were great listeners, complete professionals, extremely responsive and most importantly, fun to work with. From the very beginning, they understood our style and vision. We thoroughly appreciated how they excelled at project management and execution. We were kept in the loop every step of the way. They made the entire process - easy, transparent, and efficient and we cannot recommend FSI enough.

Read More
Daniel Phua
Top Notch Design and Renovation

Reviewed by Daniel Phua・Submitted 6 Jun 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

I engaged FSI as my interior design company as I've always loved their unique designs and they never looked dull or boring. Jasmine was the designer who was assigned to me. From the start with the 3d design with Jasmine, there was a lot of attention paid towards the reference images I provided and the requirements I gave her. I can see a lot of thoughts put into the design. And it really shows in the rendering. Even though I didn't have much of a theme in mind, Jasmine managed to capture the gist of it and it really impressed me. After confirming the designs, it was now onto tiles selection and all the various fittings that would be needed in the home. As I wasn't really good at picking colors and designs, Jasmine always gave really good advice on which ones to pick. And I was never disappointed in the choices. They were always interesting and not the run of the mill designs and choices. When actual renovations started, Jasmine was very pro active in keeping me updated on the progress of the renovation. I almost never had to go down on site to check on the progress. When there were some miscommunication or errors, she very quickly got them rectified and kept me updated. Towards the end of the renovation, she also helped coordinate the delivery of various items and installations of fixtures in the home when she didn't have to. She even helped to purchase various fixtures such as mirrors in the house for me as I wasn't available at that time. I'm very grateful to her for that. It made me realise how important it is to have a trust worthy ID helping with renovation. All in all, the entire renovation progress went very smoothly and quickly. The completed home looked really close to the 3d renderings. And I am very happy with it! Thanks Jasmine

Read More
Hitesh
Amazing Design!

Reviewed by Hitesh・Submitted 12 Apr 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

We originally hired FSI after seeing their Joo Chiat walk up project (Zubir Said house). We too wanted that modern yet nostalgic feel for our East Coast walk up apartment. And boy did Jasmine deliver on that design brief! Our new home is a wonderful blend of farmhouse and perankan with just the right amount of mid-century modern. We've been getting so many compliments from friends! Our project was particularly ambitious because we also completely changed the layout. Bedrooms were hacked down and new ones built on the other side of the home. It all turned out perfect though. The new space is so much more welcoming and a great fit for our needs. We'd done renovations before but this was our first time engaging an ID. Just as WebMD makes everyone an armchair doctor, we too had too many misinformed ideas from Pinterest. Credit to Jasmine though, she pushed back several times on our bad suggestions. Taking the time to educate us on the nuances of good design. And she was always right. If you're hiring Jasmine, just trust her design sense - we never regretted doing so. Our design phase took 3 months to complete. Truthfully, there were many times where I wish we could have moved quicker. But in hindsight, the upfront 3D design process was so worthwhile. Once the building phase started, everything fell into place like clockwork. Unlike other ID firms who gave rough SketchUp models, FSI provided photo realistic renderings which looked almost exactly like the finished product. This allowed us to make very informed decisions on the colour combos and layouts before a single brick was laid. It was a game changer. As for Jasmine, she was always so responsive over WhatsApp (I'm not sure if she ever sleeps!). She was super great to work with - very detailed, great eye for design, always punctual and very receptive to our needs. I'm thanking my lucky stars that we got assigned to her! :D Prior to hiring FSI, I heard so much about them being a top design agency. After having worked with them, I can 100% affirm that they lived up to every expectation. I'm so pleased with how it turned out. I'll definitely be hiring them again for my next home. A (virtual) round of applause for Jasmine and FSI! You've gifted us an incredible home. We cannot thank you enough. :)

Read More
WT
2nd Engagement with FSI
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Winston Teo・Submitted 20 May 2022・ Project completed Mar 2022・Designer Raymond Seow

This is our 2nd time working with Raymond (and Perlinda) from Free Space Intent. We first engaged Raymond and team in 2012. We loved the collaboration with Raymond and team, and are extremely happy with the results of the two houses that we did (8+ years apart). Raymond is a thoughtful and attentive designer who takes time to understand you (and your family) as an individual, and tries to figure out the likes and dislikes of each party. He was able to come up with designs that not only matched our personalities, but included our functional requirements. We could tell that it's clearly not a cookie-cutter design but one made out of his acute design sense, attention to details and practicality. It was a breeze working with Raymond and team, as they would provide recommendations on the types of materials such as tiles, wallpaper, etc that are suitable based on their design instead of us having to make individual trips to each different shops to make the selection. Raymond and Perlinda were also upfront and transparent with things they can and cannot do, and was forthcoming about the progress throughout the project, and it helped us manage our expectations and align on alternatives when we needed to. Customer satisfaction is their upmost priority and they shirk no responsibility when it comes to rectifications, even after full payment is made. They focus on helping us resolving any issues that we may encounter even after moving in. At the end of the day, Raymond and team really cares about giving you a happy (and beautiful) home to stay in, and he and his team will do whatever they can to achieve that, from the start, to finish, and including prompt rectifications.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
CL
A Pleasant Renovation Journey
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by CZ Lin・Submitted 30 Mar 2022・ Project completed Mar 2022・Designer Jasmine

After meeting various IDs from a few firms, we went with FSI as we were impressed by Jasmine’s eye for detail and passion towards her work. She was the only one whom we felt had paid close attention to our needs. During our first meeting, she made several practical suggestions while respecting our aesthetic preferences. The brainstorming process was very comfortable and organic. While initially hesitant about paying an upfront design fee, we can now say with full confidence that the cost was worthwhile. The 3D renders are professional and detailed, with room proportions and perspectives scaled to a highly realistic degree. For the most part, the result of the reno actually resembles the final set of renders in real life. Being able to virtually review and ‘test’ various designs took away a great deal of uncertainty, stress, and doubt from the process. The design process alone took 2-3 months to finalize because we took our time to explore many different solutions. Major changes to the 3D renders could also take 1-2 weeks to generate. We greatly appreciate Jasmine’s patience as we kept tweaking everything from the floor tiles to the wall paint. During the renovation process itself, Jasmine’s commitment to project management and customer service really shone. There were some delays, hiccups and unexpected challenges due to the shifting pandemic regulations and some errors made by the contractors. Jasmine was timely with her updates and kept us in the loop, giving us sufficient mental preparation to decide on alternatives. She took care to ensure that the contractors’ work was up to our standards and made arrangements for them to revise or touch up their work. She is responsive and meticulous, promptly taking the initiative to address any flaws or defects that she discovers. We would recommend working with FSI if you are looking forward to a collaborative approach to your renovation journey. I would say that the communication and understanding went both ways, so I hope that we were also pleasant to work with!

Read More
VH
A Pleasant Renovation Journey

Reviewed by Vin Hoon・Submitted 18 Jan 2022・ Project completed Mar 2022・Designer Brandon Hee

When we started the renovation journey on our resale HDB flat, we spoke to 3 interior designer firms. Eventually we decided to go with FSI and Brandon Hee as the ID. During our first meet up, we found that Brandon could understand our requirements well, and he knew what we wanted. As our flat is small with some challenging layout, Brandon managed to suggest some good solution which balance between nice design and practicality. That was the key reason, we decided to go with him as the designer. The main theme of the 3D design came up to be nice, which was what we wanted. After some further alignment, only some minor tweaks were required on the design, and it was then good to start the work. Brandon has been also taking charge on the project management, and so far things have been on track. He frequently updates us on the progress from time to time, where we do not need to be on site frequently to check. We did encounter some challenges during the renovation (things we could only found out when work got started), Brandon always able to come up with good ideas of solutions. At the same time, he also respected our inputs and feedback. So far, we have been very clicked and aligned on the final solutions. He is very attentive to detail, which is why we have good confidence on his design and ideas. Our renovation currently is still on-going, we hope it could be completed on time as per the committed schedule. Base on the collaboration so far, we would highly recommend Brandon as the designer, if you are looking for designer who could understand your requirements well, attentive to detail, and very pleasant to work with!

Read More
How we ensure our reviews stay credible
Reviews help build trust and transparency within our community. To ensure reviews are real and unbiased, we practise the following:
Verified reviews are cross-checked against their renovation contract.
We screen reviews and only remove those that are dishonest, duplicated and/or irrelevant (e.g. gibberish).
Interior firms that are reviewed upon are unable to influence us to change their ratings.

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?

Chat