Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out moreS$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsExclusive PerksPerksFind out more
INTERIOR DESIGNER REVIEWS
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
8631 reviews
Review of Todz’Terior
Mohammed Shareef
Review of Thomas from Todz'Terior

Reviewed by Mohammed Shareef・Submitted 31 May 2021・Project completed Aug 2021・Designer Thomas

I'm thankful to Thomas for providing a comprehensive quotation for my renovation plan. He also provided many valuable advice and was very professional in his dealings with us. Thomas was very responsive, friendly and approachable. He made sure to include discounts as well as free things to perk up our quotation. Thomas was also very punctual to our meeting and was very warm to us. He ensured that we understood the things that he was quoting and was also quick to respond on any questions i had

Read More
CL
3rm Resale Chinatown Flat

Reviewed by Candy Liew・Submitted 22 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Kazel Lee

Kazel helped us to do a complete makeover of our 48 years old 3 room resale flat in Chinatown. Being a old school flat, it come with many challenges like unwieldy piping and beams. But Kazel is able to overcome all these with good sense of design and cost effective methods. She is able to overcome the layout and space constraints with good ideas that utilise every inches and fit our criteria e.g sufficient storage due to lack of store room. Her color sense help to give the flat an aesthetically pleasing country home style with warm feeling. Personality wise, she is easy to work with with great after sales services e.g. arranging for touch up painting, plumbing to fix slow drainage pipe and odd requests like additional vinyl drain trap cover. She put efforts in her design and is not the cookie cutter type of designer but listen well to us and customize the design to our taste.

Read More
Review of Project Guru
Stacy Chua
TERRIBLE RENOVATION EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by Stacy Chua・Submitted 22 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Jinling

Nightmare. I rarely give bad reviews but we had an terrible renovation experience with ID Jinling. She had threatened us that she will recalculate the signed quotation to increase the price of every section and re-charge us again, because we kept asking her contractors to come rectify issues for our house and claimed she has previously given us many discounts. Are we asking for too much when we insist her contractors to do the rectification properly since some areas are not done properly or not even rectified? Is this legal to recalculate on a signed quotation? Should I go up to CASE on this matter? Homeowners please beware, if you annoy her too much to rectify your house properly before handover, she may just pull this move on you. Is this the kind of person that you hire Project Guru? Are we homeowners not tired or frustrated when rectification are not done as promised? I have delayed bed frames installation twice and marblegum flooring touch-up services because of incomplete rectification works. Would this had happened if she oversee this project well? Because ID Jinling has miscalculated our kitchen height and measurements wrongly, so we used that against her to ask her to change the whole kitchen since she wants to threaten us in revising signed quotation. In the end she didn't revise the quotation since she said our kitchen carpentry which was worth 13k was too expensive for them to replace, and only gave us $200 discount over her miscalculation error. 1) She miscalculated our kitchen height. During countertop installation, she asked if we want to increase the kitchen height again which she claimed we told her we want Single Profile, but we have proof that it was a lie, which she then admitted she didn't communicate to Bellus staff that our countertop is Double Profile, hence affecting the kitchen height again for the second time from 89.3cm to 91.5cm if they were to add in countertop and an additional 1.2cm plank. We then had to give up the option of opening the kitchen doors and drawers from the top 45 degree angle as we didn't want our kitchen height to be 91.5cm this high as no kitchen height should be this tall, it would be very uncomfortable to use. We also couldn't see the expensive black Fenix laminate backing since the Double Profile will cover over it due to this miscalculation. 2) 18th Feb: After kitchen base was laid, we checked and discovered the width of the kitchen island base was "500mm" instead of 600mm as the width of the cabinet was 650mm. It was short of 10cm. 3) We checked and discovered the depth of our kitchen island countertop was only 85.5cm which was shorter by 4.5cm, although our quotation stated 90cm. She said she mentioned it to me via WhatsApp message but I can't find evidence of it. She then explained the depth of the quartz is 90cm so have to deduct off two sides of double profile which the depth for kitchen island is only 85.5cm. But I was charged for a 90cm depth in the quotation. So how is this fair to us homeowners or professional? My husband and I took many annual leaves from our work to oversee the renovation as she is rarely there, not what was promised to us before we signed the contract with her. She has also cancelled on us although she had promised to oversee the renovation. Yes, there are always two sides to the story but I have full evidences of WhatsApp photos, videos, text and voice messages of bad workmanship, unprofessional service and incompetence from Jinling. I am open to share and have nothing to hide or lie about this. I know no renovation are perfect but this journey was painful and terrible for us. Quality of work in both carpentry and flooring seems to be substandard for our home. No confidence in their two years warranty. If possible, please assign someone else to take charge over our house renovation warranty period. We no longer have any mental capacity to continue working with someone who has threatened us. Thank you.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Review an Interior Firm
Help other homeowners by sharing your experience.
JaWs Lyn
Awesome service!

Reviewed by JaWs Lyn・Submitted 22 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Vincent Lai

I went to The Local INN.terior and met up with Vincent Lai at the Serangoon Garden outlet of The Local Inn.terior!! 😊 He was super helpful, he broke down everything in simple terms for me and he had given me honest opinion about some of the things I had asked during our meetings and was never impatient with all the questions I have which is a great value to first time home owners like myself!! 😊😊.

Read More
Review of Livspace
KK
I would highly recommend Pallavi to everyone.

Reviewed by Kannan Krishnan・Submitted 22 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Ms. Pallavi

I wanted a classic English design look for my dry and wet kitchen that will blend with my black and white kitchen flooring. I engaged Livspace ID Ms. Pallavi to help me with the design and build of the dry and wet kitchen of my home. Pallavi spent quite a bit of time showing the various design alternatives for both the kitchen layouts to me. She was meticulous and detailed in her approach. She also handed issues with regards to the different lightings for the kitchen cabinets and rectified them in timely manner with IKEA. I would highly recommend Pallavi to everyone.

Read More
Review of Livspace
GC
he makeover of my mum's kitchen and bathroom was great and IKEA has make the price reasonable.

Reviewed by Goh Chu In・Submitted 22 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Don

I'm writing to express my heartfelt thanks to the designer, Don Cheong at IKEA-Livspace@Jurong Point for my mum's partial renovation work for a 5-room HDB. Don did an excellent job in helping my mum to revamp her kitchen and bathroom. He is well versed in his technical knowledge and able to offer sound advice to us. He is very patient and never rush us even when the discussion is lengthy. He spent lots of time explaining to my mum in depth. He takes into consideration her preferences/requirements and guide her in choosing the materials for the renovation works. It was my mum's 2nd time revamping the kitchen and bathroom, she has set higher expectations as she wasn't happy with the renovation done 20 years ago. My mum is an elderly and not savvy with messaging apps so Don had to take additional effort to communicate with my mum with phone calls and face-to-face meetings. He used photos, illustrations, physical samples and write in Chinese words to explain/update regarding the renovation works and progress. Don also exhibits great communication skills and was excellent in facilitating the dates and timing of each installation works between my mum and the contractors. From the inception of the project to the handover, Don took efforts to response to my mum's enquiries and attend to some minor fixes. He helped to resolve the problems encountered with the contractors swiftly and professionally. He has gone the extra mile for my mum's renovation work. My mum is very pleased and happy with the service rendered by him. The makeover of my mum's kitchen and bathroom was great and IKEA has make the price reasonable. I would thereby like to take this chance to compliment Don from Livspace@Jurong Point for the excellentwork done. Thank you Don and IKEA-Livspace! Keep up the good work!

Read More
w
Highly Recommended

Reviewed by wendy・Submitted 21 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Stepahine

We had a fuss free and smooth renovation experience. We would highly recommend Stephanie if you are looking for a reliable, patience and experienced ID. As a new home owners we had many questions and Stepahine was prompt in addressing our questions and provided her expertise to help us resolve issues. We were quite happy with the workmanship of the carpentry and achieved our ideal home within our budget. Highly recommend Stephanie if you are looking for an ID.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
JS
Happy & pleased

Reviewed by John Seow・Submitted 21 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Issac

We engaged New Age to renovate our kitchen and toilets. We are happy with the quality of their workmanship and pleased with their responsiveness whenever we have any clarification or raised any issue. Lastly, we will recommend their services because they were able to keep to the project timeline.

Read More
BH
Review of the Renovation Journey

Reviewed by Boon Hua・Submitted 21 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Issac & Henry

After getting a few quotes for our new house,included my nephew's reno company,we decided to go ahead with them as we are extremely please with the one stop solution provider for interior design,project management and renovation services.Henry,our ID is very responsible and helpful in guides of our choices of colours and materials.He is also very attentive to our needs.We have recommended some customers to him and the services they received were all good experience!Thankyou Isaac,the boss,Henry,our ID and the teams for the excellent jobs. Thankful and loves from Boon Hua and Hazel

Read More
LN
Thank you New Age!

Reviewed by LilIan Ng・Submitted 21 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Issac

We started our renovations in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. While many of our friends’ reno projects were stranded or delayed due to manpower issues, NewAge Interior was able to complete and deliver our dream home within the promised 2.5months. Our ID, Issac was responsive and updated us regularly of progress. While there were inevitable minor hiccups here and there, he was able to provide resolutions quickly and kept the entire experience rather fuss-free and smooth for us. We were happy with his design concepts which were very close to what we had in mind. He gave practical ideas and did not make us spend unnecessary money. We were also impressed by his team of sub-contractors who mostly delivered high quality work and demonstrated pride and passion in their profession. Upon comparing the rates, we also found New Age’s fees to be highly competitive and very reasonable. At the end of the project and after handing over the flat back to us, Issac continued to follow up with loose ends and minor rectifications promptly. Overall, we are happy with the outcome and many friends have complimented our new place. We will definitely recommend NewAge Interior design!

Read More
L
Truly a 5 star experience working with Siang from Truehope interior design
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by LilianZ・Submitted 20 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Siang

The best decision I have ever made! One of the most important things that I consider when I engage an ID is if the ID designs by listening. And Truehope absolutely hit the goals. We talked about the concept on a very high level during our first meet up. On the second meet up, Siang presented me with a few 3D photos which exactly illustrated what I wanted my house to be. During the renovation period, Siang demonstrated professionalism not only by his excellent project management skills (as in the clear communication, great schedule and cost control etc), but also by being very proactive at offering solutions, which went above and beyond his duties as an ID. All in all, thank you so much for making my vision come to life - the end product was exceptional, better than what I had envisioned! I strongly recommend Siang from Truehope to everyone who hopes for a dream home.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
Derek Chan
Highly reccomended!

Reviewed by Derek Chan・Submitted 19 Jun 2021・Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Adrian

Although not the cheapest out there, you really get what you pay or here. Adrian was extremely responsive and wad able to accommodate all our requests for a very fair price. There were no delays EVEN during these covid times and the entire renovation went extremely smoothly with almost daily updates. Design wise, Adrian was able to put together the design of our home very well and tweaked the design as we walked through our renovation journey. Design/creativity: 5/5 Communication: 5/5 Professionalism: 5/5 Workmanship: 4.5/5 Price: 4/5 Overall we are very happy with Adrian and style living interior's services.. Keep it up!

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?