Ang Mo Kio

Designed by Black N White Haus

Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
View all10 Photos
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
Qanvast
View all 10 photos
Property Type
Landed
Property Status
Resale
Area Size
465m²
Cost
S$190,000
Bedrooms
5
Style
Modern, Contemporary
Renovation Duration
16 weeks
Year of Completion
2016
Design Fees
S$8,000
View MoreHide

Works included

  • Carpentry
  • Flooring
  • Hacking
  • False Ceiling
  • Painting
  • Plumbing
  • Feature Wall
  • Electrical Rewiring
  • Aircon
  • Tiling
View MoreHide

About Black N White Haus

Black N White Haus is a boutique interior design firm delivering bespoke design to interior spaces. We are a team of professional trained designers. Every home reflects the owner’s lifestyle and character. Our trained designers makes your dream home become a reality.
Black N White Haus is a boutique interior design firm delivering bespoke design to interior spaces. We are a team of professional trained designers. Every home reflects the owner’s lifestyle and character. Our trained designers makes your dream home become a reality.Read MoreHide

Rating

4.5
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.7 / 5
Workmanship4.3 / 5
Project Management4.5 / 5
Design4.6 / 5
Reviews (30)
Felicia Hu
Poor Finishings and Client Management Skills

Reviewed by Felicia Hu・Submitted 28 Feb 2023・ Project completed Dec 2022・Designer Mohd Lucas & Raymond

A junior inexperienced ID was assigned to our HDB renovations. Had to switch ID in the middle of the renovations due to poor communication skills and relationship management from the ID. Everything was designed and built down to the mm, with no consideration of space and UX for the home owners. A lot of add-on costings were discovered during VO stage. Poor finishing of all tiling work, grout line, carpentry, window works, wall painting and every freaking item installed was not straight and aligned. Flooring had to be redone (removed, re-screened and relay post us living in the apartment), 3 rounds of re-painting of all walls and touch ups to tiling work and grout lines. The boss of this company doesn’t care about customer’s feedback nor listens to us, but only defended every single issue brought up. I’m unsure of their highly ranked status on these various reno platforms. Btw, we spent close to $150,000 with them to get these end results. We have even consulted a lawyer to ensure we have the rights to not pay them for the final payment as we are extremely unsatisfied with them. Instead of hearsay, let the pictures be evidence. Every window installed is flawed, and not touched up nicely, every electrical light point/switch installed is not straight, even our gas stove is crooked, our wardrobe hinges and doors are all glued stained and not cleaned up, every nook and corner is not touched up nicely, our laundry area is tight as hell (space is not planned well at all) and the different gout line colours in our bathrooms. And yes, they have gotten a non-vinyl floor specialist (they were tiling people) to tear away and remove our vinyl flooring in our living room. When the actual vinyl flooring people came, they had to replace a lot more vinyl than expected. This is what $150K should look like?! And we were told this is the standard price people are paying to renovate HDB. Worst ID and contractors used for the project. Simply put, they can't handle projects that are on the higher budget spectrum as they use low-cost suppliers and vendors to conduct the renovations, and the results are evident.

company-logo
Response from Black N White Haus

Dear Felicia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take your comments very seriously.

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment on your renovation journey with us. We would like to clarify on some of the issues that you have raised in your review.

The ID who was managing your project has more than 3 years of experience in the industry, and has completed more than 13 projects. He has the relevant skills and experience to manage your project. However, we acknowledge that despite this, both of you were unable to work together. Upon your request to change your ID lead, we agreed that perhaps another ID lead would be able to work better with you both.

Prior to the fabrication works, we had multiple meetings together to draft up the drawings based on your requests and requirements. After understanding your concerns about the space and dimensions, we made several revisions. The drawings were all approved by the both of you before we proceed.

With regard to the number of add-on costings, this was mainly due to the requests during the renovation. Such as, change of material, specific colour of electrical sockets, switches, carpentry hardware accessories, painting works for the exterior wall of the unit etc... Variation orders will surface as clients may change their minds or have additional work that they would like to be done. Likewise, the variation orders were confirmed by the both of you before proceeding.

As this is a closed to 30-year old resale apartment, we needed to work on the existing structure of the unit. We beg to differ that the works have been done poorly. We agree with you that we may not deserve a 5 star rating for the entire renovation experience, however, we would like to share that our company follows the industry standards and we ensure that all drawings/plans are confirmed with clients before proceeding.

We would like to reassure you that the management team treat each and every client as important and we tried our best to resolve the feedbacks that you have raised, such as changing the ID when there is conflict at the initial start and constantly check-in with our team members on the progress of the project.

For issues that you have raised, the team also works collectively together with you. The rectification works have been confirmed with you before we proceed. We have an understanding that rectification works were completed with your approval before the team left.

We were under the impression that your renovation journey with us ended on a good note. Our lead designer for the team also attempted to contact you at the end but we were not able to reach you when all was completed. May we suggest that we meet to go through your list of concerns?

We can be contacted at 64409766 or email at customercare@blacknwhitehaus.com. Thank you and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Black N White Haus

Read More
Felicia Hu
Poor Finishings and Client Management Skills

Reviewed by Felicia Hu・Submitted 28 Feb 2023・ Project completed Dec 2022・Designer Mohd Lucas & Raymond

A junior inexperienced ID was assigned to our HDB renovations. Had to switch ID in the middle of the renovations due to poor communication skills and relationship management from the ID. Everything was designed and built down to the mm, with no consideration of space and UX for the home owners. A lot of add-on costings were discovered during VO stage. Poor finishing of all tiling work, grout line, carpentry, window works, wall painting and every freaking item installed was not straight and aligned. Flooring had to be redone (removed, re-screened and relay post us living in the apartment), 3 rounds of re-painting of all walls and touch ups to tiling work and grout lines. The boss of this company doesn’t care about customer’s feedback nor listens to us, but only defended every single issue brought up. I’m unsure of their highly ranked status on these various reno platforms. Btw, we spent close to $150,000 with them to get these end results. We have even consulted a lawyer to ensure we have the rights to not pay them for the final payment as we are extremely unsatisfied with them. Instead of hearsay, let the pictures be evidence. Every window installed is flawed, and not touched up nicely, every electrical light point/switch installed is not straight, even our gas stove is crooked, our wardrobe hinges and doors are all glued stained and not cleaned up, every nook and corner is not touched up nicely, our laundry area is tight as hell (space is not planned well at all) and the different gout line colours in our bathrooms. And yes, they have gotten a non-vinyl floor specialist (they were tiling people) to tear away and remove our vinyl flooring in our living room. When the actual vinyl flooring people came, they had to replace a lot more vinyl than expected. This is what $150K should look like?! And we were told this is the standard price people are paying to renovate HDB. Worst ID and contractors used for the project. Simply put, they can't handle projects that are on the higher budget spectrum as they use low-cost suppliers and vendors to conduct the renovations, and the results are evident.

company-logo
Response from Black N White Haus

Dear Felicia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take your comments very seriously.

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment on your renovation journey with us. We would like to clarify on some of the issues that you have raised in your review.

The ID who was managing your project has more than 3 years of experience in the industry, and has completed more than 13 projects. He has the relevant skills and experience to manage your project. However, we acknowledge that despite this, both of you were unable to work together. Upon your request to change your ID lead, we agreed that perhaps another ID lead would be able to work better with you both.

Prior to the fabrication works, we had multiple meetings together to draft up the drawings based on your requests and requirements. After understanding your concerns about the space and dimensions, we made several revisions. The drawings were all approved by the both of you before we proceed.

With regard to the number of add-on costings, this was mainly due to the requests during the renovation. Such as, change of material, specific colour of electrical sockets, switches, carpentry hardware accessories, painting works for the exterior wall of the unit etc... Variation orders will surface as clients may change their minds or have additional work that they would like to be done. Likewise, the variation orders were confirmed by the both of you before proceeding.

As this is a closed to 30-year old resale apartment, we needed to work on the existing structure of the unit. We beg to differ that the works have been done poorly. We agree with you that we may not deserve a 5 star rating for the entire renovation experience, however, we would like to share that our company follows the industry standards and we ensure that all drawings/plans are confirmed with clients before proceeding.

We would like to reassure you that the management team treat each and every client as important and we tried our best to resolve the feedbacks that you have raised, such as changing the ID when there is conflict at the initial start and constantly check-in with our team members on the progress of the project.

For issues that you have raised, the team also works collectively together with you. The rectification works have been confirmed with you before we proceed. We have an understanding that rectification works were completed with your approval before the team left.

We were under the impression that your renovation journey with us ended on a good note. Our lead designer for the team also attempted to contact you at the end but we were not able to reach you when all was completed. May we suggest that we meet to go through your list of concerns?

We can be contacted at 64409766 or email at customercare@blacknwhitehaus.com. Thank you and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Black N White Haus

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
10 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Style Preference
No Preference
 
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Chat