Free Space Intent

Free Space Intent

No. 8 Ubi Road 2, Zervex #02-07, Singapore 408538

Calvin Tan Cheow Hwee
Rebirth of an Old Walk-up Apartment (Ex-HUDC)
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Calvin Tan Cheow Hwee・Submitted 29 Dec 2020・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Carlos Sim & Jacqueline Ek

This is our fourth home renovation. Learning from the previous three not too satisfactory renovation experiences, my wife and I wanted to be more careful this time round. We really hope to be able to find an ID designer/company who could truly understand our needs, sincere and responsive, and able to deliver the jobs promised within time and cost. Then we met Carlos from FSI. Carlos was the first ID Designer to call us after we put up our request at Qanvast. The first meeting went well. We noticed this young gentleman was very detailed, keen to listen and diligent in jotting down our requirements. Our apartment is a 39 years old, ex-HUDC walk-up apartment on the 4th floor. It was tenanted out for about 9 years. It was in a state of despair when we decided to take it back for own stay. Our vision was to transform this old lady into a Lite-Industrial style apartment with high ceiling and a loft. While other designers were eagerly providing us proposals and quotes for the work scope, Carlos unexpectedly informed us that he had to turn down our project. This was because after carefully reviewing our requirements with his management, Carlos came to the conclusion that it would be difficult to get the MCST’s approval to build a loft at our apartment (which we had strongly desired). Although FSI was really in need of jobs after the 3-months CB period when all renovation works were halted, Carlos explained that they did not want to promise us something that they eventually could not deliver. They also did not want to by-pass the MCST and build the loft “illegally” for us, as this might get us into trouble in the future. This act of honesty and integrity really impressed us! After much deliberation, my wife and I decided to give up the loft idea. We asked Carlos to continue working with us to complete the preliminary design and quotation. The rest was history. Carlos came up with a near perfect design that excited us and met our needs and budget. We signed the contract, went through a 2 months detailed design phase, and handed over the apartment to Carlos and his reliable contractors to begin actual works. The workers hacked and cleared up all debris, bought in renovation materials (all through 4 storeys of stairs!). Despite many challenges with the unique design and associated high ceiling works, Carlos and his team met all the major deadlines and took care of everything for us. We would like to specially mention that Carlos brought in Jacqueline, a cheerful young lady designer from the same company, as his partner when the work started. While Carlos and I would spent times reviewing the structural works, Jacqueline and my wife would exchange ideas on wardrobes and cabinets design for bedrooms and bathrooms. After a few site/office meetings, tiles and materials selection sessions at suppliers, the four of us were fast evolving into a real team with lots of synergy, ideas and funs working together. Work started on 10 September, and the apartment was handled back to us on 10th December, a slight delay from the original schedule of end November due to manpower shortage. Cost variance was about 13% higher than the original budget of $7Xk, mainly due to new requirements discovered and subsequent design changes after work started. Despite the slight delay and running over cost, we were truly grateful to Carlos and his team, for trying their very best to keep to the schedule and budget, without compromising quality. If not for their excellent efforts, the project could have faced even more delay and cost overrun, during this challenging Covid-19 period. On the day of completion, we specially bought a cake, sat down with Carlos and Jacqueline, enjoyed the space we envisaged and created together, in celebration of the rebirth of our apartment! Last but not least, we wish Carlos, Jacqueline and all those who have contributed in this project, that you would continue your excellent endeavours in touching and changing the lives of other home owners, seeking a fruitful and enjoyable experience for their home renovation.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Free Space Intent
Established in 1999, Free Space Intent (FSI) is a full-service residential and commercial interior design firm. With 2 decades of experience under our belt, we have worked with a large variety of private and corporate clients, creating a wide range of residential spaces, bars/lounges, restaurants, retail outlets, and office spaces. Our aim is to provide distinctive, customized interiors while remaining sensitive to every client’s budget and time constraints. The purest form of beauty lies in the raw basics. Free Space Intent (FSI) espouses designs that speak of timeless elegance, defined grace and modern functionality. This down-to-earth approach is clearly marked by clean lines, muted shades and clever space planning to suit the cosmopolitan lifestyles. Celebrating the notion of going back to the bare essentials, FSI creates urban retreats that soothe the senses and rejuvenate the tired soul. Always an active hub of fresh designs, FSI plays along boundaries that are untouched by many, creating homes with a strong presence and personality.
Read More
View all 99 projects ›

Rating

4.8
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.9 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.9 / 5
Design4.8 / 5
Qanvast Awards
Refers to the number of times this firm's project photos were saved to homeowners' boards.
Photo Saves
15,000 Saves
Based on homeowners’ reviews left on Qanvast.
5-star Reviews
80 Reviews
Accreditation
HDB-registered
HDB-registered

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB8-S$85,000.00
3-Room3-S$68,333.33
5-Room1-S$80,000.00
Condo5S$75,000.00S$140,000.00
3 Bedrooms3S$75,000.00S$140,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Daphne
Highly recommended

Reviewed by Daphne・Submitted 3 Aug 2022・ Project completed Jul 2022・Designer Brandon Hee

I was looking for an interior design company which is bold in trying out new things and open to new ideas. After spending time talking to four IDs from different companies, I finally decided to sign the contract with Free Space Intent. I was first drawn to their past portfolios which many included colourful designs. Brandon is meticulous in the details of the design and is patient in listening to my ideas and concerns. I was really impressed when I saw my own paintings appearing in the 3D designs. The furniture and appliances I have picked also appeared in the 3D drawings. My house now looks almost 98% like in the 3D drawing. Amazing! While picking for the tiles, I saw a design which I liked it very much. Although it doesn’t quite fit the colour theme of the house, Brandon tried to incorporate into the design as well. That has become one of the main highlights of the house now. The whole project management was also well handled. Brandon was also able to handle unforeseen circumstances and followed through the process to rectify the issues during the renovation. His responses were prompt and he communicates clearly if some things were not possible to be done. He does not overpromise but delivers what he promised. I highly recommend Free Space Intent if you are looking for new and fun ideas for your house.

Read More
Jadie Chan
Three Times Lucky! Excellent Design and Project Management

Reviewed by Jadie Chan・Submitted 17 Jul 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Raymond Seow

Our place has been transformed and we love it! In fact, we had such positive experiences with FSI in the past that this was our third time engaging them. From start to finish, we loved working with them. Raymond and his team were great listeners, complete professionals, extremely responsive and most importantly, fun to work with. From the very beginning, they understood our style and vision. We thoroughly appreciated how they excelled at project management and execution. We were kept in the loop every step of the way. They made the entire process - easy, transparent, and efficient and we cannot recommend FSI enough.

Read More
Daniel Phua
Top Notch Design and Renovation

Reviewed by Daniel Phua・Submitted 6 Jun 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

I engaged FSI as my interior design company as I've always loved their unique designs and they never looked dull or boring. Jasmine was the designer who was assigned to me. From the start with the 3d design with Jasmine, there was a lot of attention paid towards the reference images I provided and the requirements I gave her. I can see a lot of thoughts put into the design. And it really shows in the rendering. Even though I didn't have much of a theme in mind, Jasmine managed to capture the gist of it and it really impressed me. After confirming the designs, it was now onto tiles selection and all the various fittings that would be needed in the home. As I wasn't really good at picking colors and designs, Jasmine always gave really good advice on which ones to pick. And I was never disappointed in the choices. They were always interesting and not the run of the mill designs and choices. When actual renovations started, Jasmine was very pro active in keeping me updated on the progress of the renovation. I almost never had to go down on site to check on the progress. When there were some miscommunication or errors, she very quickly got them rectified and kept me updated. Towards the end of the renovation, she also helped coordinate the delivery of various items and installations of fixtures in the home when she didn't have to. She even helped to purchase various fixtures such as mirrors in the house for me as I wasn't available at that time. I'm very grateful to her for that. It made me realise how important it is to have a trust worthy ID helping with renovation. All in all, the entire renovation progress went very smoothly and quickly. The completed home looked really close to the 3d renderings. And I am very happy with it! Thanks Jasmine

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
Reviews (138)
Daphne
Highly recommended

Reviewed by Daphne・Submitted 3 Aug 2022・ Project completed Jul 2022・Designer Brandon Hee

I was looking for an interior design company which is bold in trying out new things and open to new ideas. After spending time talking to four IDs from different companies, I finally decided to sign the contract with Free Space Intent. I was first drawn to their past portfolios which many included colourful designs. Brandon is meticulous in the details of the design and is patient in listening to my ideas and concerns. I was really impressed when I saw my own paintings appearing in the 3D designs. The furniture and appliances I have picked also appeared in the 3D drawings. My house now looks almost 98% like in the 3D drawing. Amazing! While picking for the tiles, I saw a design which I liked it very much. Although it doesn’t quite fit the colour theme of the house, Brandon tried to incorporate into the design as well. That has become one of the main highlights of the house now. The whole project management was also well handled. Brandon was also able to handle unforeseen circumstances and followed through the process to rectify the issues during the renovation. His responses were prompt and he communicates clearly if some things were not possible to be done. He does not overpromise but delivers what he promised. I highly recommend Free Space Intent if you are looking for new and fun ideas for your house.

Read More
Jadie Chan
Three Times Lucky! Excellent Design and Project Management

Reviewed by Jadie Chan・Submitted 17 Jul 2022・ Project completed May 2022・Designer Raymond Seow

Our place has been transformed and we love it! In fact, we had such positive experiences with FSI in the past that this was our third time engaging them. From start to finish, we loved working with them. Raymond and his team were great listeners, complete professionals, extremely responsive and most importantly, fun to work with. From the very beginning, they understood our style and vision. We thoroughly appreciated how they excelled at project management and execution. We were kept in the loop every step of the way. They made the entire process - easy, transparent, and efficient and we cannot recommend FSI enough.

Read More
Daniel Phua
Top Notch Design and Renovation

Reviewed by Daniel Phua・Submitted 6 Jun 2022・ Project completed Apr 2022・Designer Jasmine

I engaged FSI as my interior design company as I've always loved their unique designs and they never looked dull or boring. Jasmine was the designer who was assigned to me. From the start with the 3d design with Jasmine, there was a lot of attention paid towards the reference images I provided and the requirements I gave her. I can see a lot of thoughts put into the design. And it really shows in the rendering. Even though I didn't have much of a theme in mind, Jasmine managed to capture the gist of it and it really impressed me. After confirming the designs, it was now onto tiles selection and all the various fittings that would be needed in the home. As I wasn't really good at picking colors and designs, Jasmine always gave really good advice on which ones to pick. And I was never disappointed in the choices. They were always interesting and not the run of the mill designs and choices. When actual renovations started, Jasmine was very pro active in keeping me updated on the progress of the renovation. I almost never had to go down on site to check on the progress. When there were some miscommunication or errors, she very quickly got them rectified and kept me updated. Towards the end of the renovation, she also helped coordinate the delivery of various items and installations of fixtures in the home when she didn't have to. She even helped to purchase various fixtures such as mirrors in the house for me as I wasn't available at that time. I'm very grateful to her for that. It made me realise how important it is to have a trust worthy ID helping with renovation. All in all, the entire renovation progress went very smoothly and quickly. The completed home looked really close to the 3d renderings. And I am very happy with it! Thanks Jasmine

Read More
Daphne
Highly recommended

Reviewed by Daphne・Submitted 3 Aug 2022・ Project completed Jul 2022・Designer Brandon Hee

I was looking for an interior design company which is bold in trying out new things and open to new ideas. After spending time talking to four IDs from different companies, I finally decided to sign the contract with Free Space Intent. I was first drawn to their past portfolios which many included colourful designs. Brandon is meticulous in the details of the design and is patient in listening to my ideas and concerns. I was really impressed when I saw my own paintings appearing in the 3D designs. The furniture and appliances I have picked also appeared in the 3D drawings. My house now looks almost 98% like in the 3D drawing. Amazing! While picking for the tiles, I saw a design which I liked it very much. Although it doesn’t quite fit the colour theme of the house, Brandon tried to incorporate into the design as well. That has become one of the main highlights of the house now. The whole project management was also well handled. Brandon was also able to handle unforeseen circumstances and followed through the process to rectify the issues during the renovation. His responses were prompt and he communicates clearly if some things were not possible to be done. He does not overpromise but delivers what he promised. I highly recommend Free Space Intent if you are looking for new and fun ideas for your house.

Read More
View All Reviews ›
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Free Space Intent's reviews like?

Based on 138 reviews left for Free Space Intent, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.83. Read homeowners’ reviews of Free Space Intent.

Where is Free Space Intent's showroom?

Free Space Intent has 1 showroom in Singapore. See Free Space Intent's showroom address.

Is Free Space Intent an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Free Space Intent is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Free Space Intent popular among homeowners?

19 homeowners have recently enquired with Free Space Intent for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Free Space Intent.

Is Free Space Intent a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Free Space Intent was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2019 to 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Free Space Intent?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Free Space Intent (in the past year) are S$85,000 for HDB and S$118,333 for Condo.
19 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
Style Preference
No Preference
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$50,000.
Free Space Intent is currently unavailable to take on new projects.

View Similar Firms