Design 4 Space

Design 4 Space

18 Boon Lay Way #01-139, TradeHub 21, Singapore 609966

+ 2 more showrooms

The firm has experience in maisonette and loft units, commercial units and A&A works. The firm also has an in-house carpentry team.
Lynn Koh
A Stress Free Renovation Experience!!

Reviewed by Lynn Koh・Submitted 17 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Lee Sing

I had bought a HDB 3 room flat a couple of months ago and was shortlisting a couple of ID companies by looking through their IG, reno websites on their reviews and work. I finally narrowed down to 3 companies, M, L and Design 4 Space due to the concept/ theme that I was looking for my new place. I had a meeting with each of them and also had a first impression of each company’s ID. Personally, other than cost aside, first impressions of how each ID handle their work is important. Secondly, would be how sincere and eager they would be taking up your job. After the first meeting, M company ID sent the quote and did not follow up with me in any form of contact so I had decide to strike them off my list. L and Design 4 Space ID did a couple of follow ups with me on my requirements and provide an estimated quotation. L company took longer to response due to the levels of approvals that was needed for every amended/ updated quotation. To be honest, it took a little too long. Design 4 Space ID, Lee Sing did a regular follow up with me and patiently waited for me to get L company’s quotation to do a comparison. This is because its takes time and effort to do up a quote due to individual requirements and it is only respectful that you give the same chance to every ID you shortlisted. After comparing the quotes, reviewing the service levels and timeline, I have decided to take on Lee Sing from Design 4 Space. After all the horror and bad experiences from close friends and relatives, I was also hoping deep down in my heart that My renovation would not turn into a nightmare. Indeed, Lee Sing did an amazing job. After discussing a couple of times on the concept/theme that I wanted which is minimalist/ scandinavian, the final quote was provided and it was reasonable and affordable. The whole process of communicating with Lee Sing was easy, smooth and constant. She also provided practical suggestions which goes with my preferred theme. I was looking forward for the start of the renovation. Lee Sing was a very detailed person which I like because she planned every single detail and provided me a copy of when, where, what & who is renovating the house. This is of course an estimation schedule not a foolproof one. After renovation started (hacking was done first), she went down to inspect the work being done, provided me photos of the ongoing renovation and explained to me what was being done and what would be done next after this part of the renovation. In between the renovation, she constantly updated me with pictures and explanation on the progress of the renovation. With this attitude and precise follow up from Lee Sing, I hardly had to go down to inspect/ oversee the renovation work in fear of some unexpected “surprise”. In the midst of renovation, we had to make a trip to Balestier (took about 8-9 hours) to select the tiles, sanitary wares, lightings etc. Date and time was well discussed, planned and executed. I eventually selected and purchased all of the necessary items except curtain/ blinds. To be honest, the prices may not be the cheapest but it is also not exorbitant and I liked the fact that I was able to settle everything on that day itself and not having to fret over several weeks finding the items by myself. You have to consider the fact that if you decide to look and compare for cheaper options in different shops, you must be able to afford to spend time and remembering to complete your purchases in a certain timeline so that it does not conflict with the timeline that your ID has planned for certain fixtures. In such scenario, you also have to understand that your ID will not be able to accompany you for every trip made to purchase your items. Throughout the renovation, some of the tiles, vinyl flooring I chose initially had EOL so with the close follow up from Lee Sing all these was settled very quickly. I had people to come install the curtains which was also informed to Lee Sing so she would know what or who to expect on which day. The whole renovation process was stress free and smooth due to Lee Sing’s attentiveness, detailed, good communication skills. I only made less than 5 trips down to peep at the ongoing renovation. One of which is to advise where or what position to install the sanitary wares to the installers. I even asked for her suggestions on the furnitures that I intend to get and if it fits the theme etc. She went an extra mile to view each screenshot/photo that I had sent her and told me her selection and views of it. After the handover, there were some minor fixes needed to be done which was arranged and resolved by Lee Sing in a short time. I think overall you need to find an ID which communicates with you and understand what exactly you want of your home. Someone who is willing to provide practical suggestions for your home. Being detailed and well organised is also very important because of the timeline of renovation. Attentiveness is also another trait that you might want to look for in your ID. This is the experience Lee Sing has provided me and I didn’t have to worry about my renovation would screw up even once. On top of that she was very responsive with the minor fixes that were needed after handover which I understand that some owners faced waiting for a long time to get something fixed. I am sure there are IDs outside that may be as good as Lee Sing but with my personal experience, you will not regret getting her as your ID. At the end of the day, we don’t want to face horror stories and extreme stress on top of pur daily work stress. Lee Sing is capable of making your renovation as fuss free as possible which I admire her for it. Last but not least, keep up the good work Lee Sing! Keep fighting!! I would highly recommend her for anyone who would want my renovation experience!

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Design 4 Space
Established since June 2002, Design 4 Space Pte Ltd house a dedicated team of talented individuals. They take great pride in being able to constantly innovate creative yet sensible solutions in creating your unique dream home. NORTH SHOWROOM Block 177, Toa Payoh Central #01-114 Singapore 310177 EAST SHOWROOM 140 Paya Lebar Road, #01-05 & #01-19 AZ@Paya Lebar Singapore 409015 WEST SHOWROOM 18 Boon Lay Way, #01-139 Tradehub 21, Singapore 609966
Read More
View all 78 projects ›

Rating

4.7
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.8 / 5
Workmanship4.6 / 5
Project Management4.8 / 5
Design4.7 / 5
Accreditation
HDB-registered
HDB-registered
CaseTrust
CaseTrust

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB12S$40,375.00S$79,000.00
4-Room8S$40,000.00S$83,000.00
Condo4S$44,000.00S$60,000.00
3 Bedrooms2S$44,000.00-
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
s
Our BTO renovation

Reviewed by sriragavan@gmail.com・Submitted 10 Apr 2021・Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Mr Gary and Mr Tee

Last year for our new BTO renovation, we engaged Design4Space (Mr Gary & Mr Tee). I would like to share the experience we had during this process. Before coming to Design4Space, I approached few other IDs. Being a person with limited knowledge & experience in construction, I was expecting suggestions, corrections & feedbacks from the IDs on what we thought of doing. We found that some IDs were kind of "yes-man" to what we said & others were less flexible, enforcing their ideas on us. This is the main reason we chose to work with Mr Gary & Mr Tee. They were always good at understanding our needs and correcting whenever required with proper reasoning and alternative ideas. Because they are very experienced and aware of all the regulations, they easily guided us through this journey. From the very first meeting, I realized they are old-school fashioned & very methodical. Every single detail was discussed in detail and captured. I still can remember that roughly in total ~20hrs we spent only on planning. Being an engineer, I really liked their engineering & isometric drawings. Always emphasizing the importance of having a nice flowing design. I really appreciate their help in liaising with the vendors (Aircon, electrical & the fittings) and making the whole process smoother and easier for us. When the circuit breaker was about to begin, they frequently revised the plans and prioritize our work to help us to move in on time. During the same time we have seen many of our neighbour's renovations got delayed for months due to the pandemic. Thank you very much Mr Gary and Mr Tee. Both of you helped us to realize our dream house. We wish you all the best & good health :)

Read More
Loh Wei Long
Happy Home Owners
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Loh Wei Long・Submitted 7 Apr 2021・Project completed Mar 2021・Designer Sylvia Xue

We met Sylvia during a Qanvast Hangout event. Even though it was a short chat with no obligations, she stood out for her detail-oriented and sincere approach. We decided to engage her services and Design4Space after seeing the good reviews online. Despite multiple changes to our layout at the beginning, she is always quick to revise. Her patience and friendliness with first-time home owners like us is much appreciated. Her responsiveness to our queries is something we are thankful for as well. The whole process was smooth despite heavy works for an original condition 40+ year old flat. Which speak volumes. We will definitely recommend her to our family and friends.

Read More
Sim Xinming
Awesome ID!

Reviewed by Sim Xinming・Submitted 5 Apr 2021・Project completed Sep 2020・Designer Tee and Gary

My wife and I wanted to hack down on of our bedrooms to expand and utilize the living room space, make the MB classier, and get lighting recommendations. We sourced quite a number of IDs before settling for them due to their competitive prices and amazing ideas. Working with them was a pleasant and hassle-free experience. Both designers were very experienced, and gave excellent recommendations, which we eventually adopted. Our renovations took place during the COVID period. However, despite all the challenges that they had to face, they delivered beautiful woodwork, professional service, all within our agreed budget and timeline. Updates were regularly communicated to us throughout the COVID period as well, which was very assuring. The place was done up to what was discussed and agreed upon, and the quality delivered was flawless. Craftsmanship was excellent for sure - if you have a energetic toddler rampaging around the house and stress-testing all the woodwork, and it still hasn't failed, it says something about how sturdy and fine the workmanship is. I will highly recommend working with them, and will definitely engage them again for future renovations.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Design 4 Space's reviews like?

Based on 118 reviews left for Design 4 Space, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.74. Read homeowners’ reviews of Design 4 Space.

Where is Design 4 Space's showroom?

Design 4 Space has 3 showrooms in Singapore, mainly in West. See all of Design 4 Space's showroom addresses.

Is Design 4 Space an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Yes, Design 4 Space is an HDB-registered firm and is under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme. For more information, refer to this page on the Casetrust accreditation scheme.

Is Design 4 Space popular among homeowners?

100 homeowners have recently enquired with Design 4 Space for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Design 4 Space.

Is Design 4 Space a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Design 4 Space was accredited the Supertrust badge in 2020 and 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Design 4 Space?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Design 4 Space (in the past year) are S$48,100 for HDB and S$52,000 for Condo.
100 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Why Qanvast