Ovon Design

Ovon Design

53 Joo Chiat Place, Singapore 427777

The firm has experience in maisonette and loft units, commercial units and A&A works
YT
No more hassle in renovation
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Yi Teck・Submitted 6 Nov 2019・Project completed Nov 2019・Designer Leon

We started our design firm hunting with a planned budget. Upon our initial discussion, Ovon Design came out with a detailed quotation that provides us a detailed insight on what can be dropped or what can be added. With the flexibility provided, the renovation journey continues with an in-depth discussion on the design. Leon came into the picture and provided constructive recommendations on tiles selection and flooring design. The routing of lighting and fans are also well recommended. Enough lighting are provided without having shadow issue with ceiling fans. Photos and promptly follow up actions are provided along the renovation. Minor tweaking along the way are well handled without hassle. The renovation journey is completed in within the time frame without extra spending. All in all, it works well and all the talks are well implemented.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Ovon Design
Combining our knowledge on aesthetics, design technicalities and bespoke carpentry skills, we promise to bring out the beauty and functionality in every square foot of space.
Read More
View all 23 projects ›

Rating

4.9
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism5 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.9 / 5
Design4.9 / 5
Accreditation
BCA-registered
BCA-registered
HDB-registered
HDB-registered
CaseTrust
CaseTrust
BCA Licensed General Builder
BCA Licensed General Builder

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB6-S$ 73,666.67
4-Room3-S$ 55,666.67
5-Room2-S$ 92,500.00
Condo1-S$ 80,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Nelson Peh
Good quality work and accommodating designer

Reviewed by Nelson Peh・Submitted 28 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Wai Tuck

We shortlisted 2 after having invited 5 ID firms over for site visit discussion. ID Wai Tuck was able to suggest designs and changes to the original state of our 10 year old seafront penthouse. They put the talk to the walk and we were given 3D visualization of the kitchen island extension which was the biggest project in the house with more than 40ft of carpentry for both wet and dry together with the free reno Insurance included in the package gave us assurance and confidence to go ahead with this project. The whole process has been quite smooth, frustration kept to the minimum with his prompt communication and updates despite Covid-19. The end product is not too far from the 3D drawings given before the start. Let the pictures do the talking.

Read More
LL
Excellence Service

Reviewed by Lim Lai Xing・Submitted 26 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Wai Tuck

Special thanks to designer Wai Tuck and his team for the wonderful works. He was very patient as we have difficulties choosing the idea and layout that suit us. He constantly provide us with ideas. He even went through step by step in helping us with the renovation. Everything went through smoothly even during the CB period. Overall I would recommend him and the team to our friends. Thanks for the service and excellence works.

Read More
Cindy Oh
Excellent Service and Professionalism

Reviewed by Cindy Oh・Submitted 22 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Kwan Wai Tuck

I had done 3 other renovations for my previous houses and my office previously, hence I have high expectation of what to expect in the IDs and the practicality of the designs. I had a horrible experience with my previous ID which left a design flaw in my current house, that I had to face for the last 10 years. With all these in mind, I am determined to only settle for a design firm and ID whose able to meet my expectation. We first had our online non-obligation discussion with Wai Tuck during CB period. It was inconvenient, but he walked us through patiently for more than 2 hours, using zoom, sharing the floor plan and how it will work out with full visual explanation after we put out the reason for this renovation. Through this discussion, my husband and I were very impressed with his professionalism and expertise of his work. As we are looking at doing a re-layout of the house from an old 3 room HDB flat, to 'transform' into a 4 bedroom house with practical space management. the ID working on this project will have to put these in mind that we do not intend to over-carpentry the place nor causing the place to look claustrophobic. Apart from Ovon, we spoke with some other IDs to compare design and quotation prices, but Wai Tuck won our hearts hands down. Wai Tuck not only cleverly put the rooms into a liveable space, he utilises the 'dead-space' for our display and storage. He is also able to answer our questions with regards to space management with practical ideas and suggestions, putting in mind our priority and concerns. There is definitely, no sales talk and all the payment are based on quotation, in fact a lot of additional work were done which was not charged to our bill. We are really grateful to find such honest and good ID to manage our house. Those of you who had done renovation previously will understand the amount of things we need to consider and manage during the whole process. Wai Tuck is definitely a problem solver for us and helped us to salvage many situations without burning our pockets to do top ups. In the midst of renovations, there were many unforeseen hiccups, but Wai Tuck, handled it professionally, with no fault blaming, no pushing of responsibilities but seeing things resolved professionally, even if it means to absorbs some additional cost and even to make last minute arrangement for additional workers to fix up what was originally not in the plan. Some were fault caused by my other sub contractor, yet Wai Tuck, took it upon himself and ensure he sees through the work to perfect completion. There was a miscommunication of the glass door placement, I made known to Wai Tuck, we will not be able to accept if it was the other way round. With no argument nor fault chasing, Wai Tuck immediately called his supplier to make the necessary change. Right before my eyes, I saw how he was trying to explain to his guys that this work needs to be put on hold as there will be changes. With all patience, putting down his foot that this change will be done. I can tell the supplier is likely scolding him over the phone as he kept apologising and making it known to them firmly that this glass door will not be fixed the way they discussed previously. I am convinced that the ID we had selected is definitely a promising young man in this industry as he has the capacity to handle mistakes and see to the solution promptly. On top of all these stresses that occurs, Wai Tuck kept in mind of our budget and gave many practical suggestion to save cost and to helped to ensure minimum delay to the renovation work. Another thing that I am very particular about will be 'after payment services'. After we made our last payment, there were still some minor work to be done. I was waiting to see if it will slack in the work or 'forgotten'.(it happened for my previous renovation) But Wai Tuck continue to update us promptly and ensure the seeing of those work to be completed to satisfaction. He even continue to be present at the time of those work done to ensure the completion of the work with no error. Many friends who came to visit us during Christmas, were impressed with the way the house was re-layout. Not only we have enough space to host guest, the new layout also enhanced the wind movement in the house. The place is now much more airy and we can even feel 'wind movement' which we never did the past 10 years staying in the same unit. I will highly recommend anyone to Wai Tuck and Ovon Design, their professionalism and services definitely match the bill and above!

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Ovon Design's reviews like?

Based on 50 reviews left for Ovon Design, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.86. Read homeowners’ reviews of Ovon Design.

Where is Ovon Design's showroom?

Ovon Design has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in East and Central. See all of Ovon Design's showroom addresses.

Is Ovon Design an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Yes, Ovon Design is an HDB-registered firm and is under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme. For more information, refer to this page on the Casetrust accreditation scheme.

Is Ovon Design popular among homeowners?

14 homeowners have recently enquired with Ovon Design for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Ovon Design.

Is Ovon Design a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Ovon Design was accredited the Supertrust badge in 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Ovon Design?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Ovon Design (in the past year) are S$73,667 for HDB and S$80,000 for Condo.
14 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$40,000.
Why Qanvast