The Design Practice

The Design Practice

12 Tannery Road, HB Centre 1 #07-07, Singapore 347722

MK
Mrs Koh
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mrs Koh・Submitted 13 Oct 2014・Project completed Oct 2014

Superb carpentry workmanship, prompt service and response, think out-of-the-box designs. Successful recommendations have been made.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About The Design Practice
Created in 2008 by Raymond Kua, THE DESIGN PRACTICE is a boutique design studio supported by a team of creatively driven designers who are determined to provide highly-skilled interior design consultancy and professional built project management works. While residential works represents the core of their portfolio, they have diversified to commercial and retail projects at their clients’ requests. The Team advocate timeless designs in their clients’ projects by discouraging short-lived trends; opting for an emphasis on quality and functionalities given the space constraint of the environment. They have no permanent formal designer language or style; each project uniquely revolves around a set of objectives and strategies that emerge from within the client’s project brief and space. Spaces are constantly challenged while they strive for originality in their designs while adhering with project intent, giving a unique persona to every project they undertake. They constantly explore possibilities to push design limits in spaces, with the objective to forge a longstanding relationship with their people and clients. Their clients’ dreams and lifestyles are one core source of inspirations, where The Design Practice tailor client's needs and lifestyle to quirky design ideas for each project.
Read More
View all 45 projects ›

Rating

4.2
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.4 / 5
Workmanship4.1 / 5
Project Management4.2 / 5
Design4.2 / 5
Accreditation
HDB-registered
HDB-registered

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB4-S$ 90,000.00
5-Room3-S$ 87,333.33
Condo2S$ 48,000.00S$ 35,000.00
3 Bedrooms1-S$ 35,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Gillian Tan
Good experience

Reviewed by Gillian Tan・Submitted 2 Dec 2019・Project completed May 2019・Designer Enzo

One of the reasons we picked The design practice because Enzo was very prompt in his response. We met up many times to discuss the design. Enzo had been very patient when we wanted to change something and he gave good suggestions and advice. Workmanship is also good, however there were some small areas that were not well done but he followed up and fixed them. We love the design of the house and i dont think there is any part of the design that we do not love.

Read More
Beven Oon
Loft Specialist ID Company
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Beven Oon・Submitted 24 Nov 2019・Project completed Aug 2019・Designer Alex

Alex and his Boss, Raymond provided us with excellent, out-of-the-box idea for the construction of our loft. Our Condo is small with a 4.5m ceiling height living room and hence the location of staircase is of paramount importance. We went through ideas with numerous ID companies but Raymond's idea suit our requirements the most and the final product proved that it really worked. We worked with Alex on all the detailing and selection of materials and colour schemes. He is practical and patient to explain all the colour suggestions and accomodated to our constant changing of colour. He even bought the materials to our home for our re-selection in the late evening upon our request. The company has a team of regular subcontractors that work amiably with each other and communicate well which is very important for an ID Contractor. After sales service is also excellent. Alex continues to attend to our request to do touching up work even after handing over.

Read More
Serynn Lee Chong
Excellent Project Management

Reviewed by Serynn Lee Chong・Submitted 8 Jun 2019・Project completed May 2019・Designer Enzo Chew

I engaged Enzo of The Design Practice for renovation works in my kitchen (wet and dry) and roof deck. He also managed the painting works. Through the process, I was impressed with Enzo’s professionalism. He was responsive, competent, creative and a great problem solver. I was most grateful when he eased the inconvenience of the renovation process for my family and I by staging the works such that it would cause minimal disruptions to our daily lives - specifically, minimising downtime inside the house by deploying max number of workers; also ensuring that various jobs take place concurrently, in different areas of the house. I was most pleasantly surprised that he was able to find ways for cost savings by refurbishing my kitchen doors, and sourcing for materials at a good price. I’ve frequently been told to be wary of contractors who are unscrupulous or tardy, but Im very glad that my experience with The Design Practice was entirely the opposite - Enzo was sincere, and delivered his work in a timely manner. What’s even better was that charges were very reasonable too!

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are The Design Practice's reviews like?

Based on 33 reviews left for The Design Practice, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.23. Read homeowners’ reviews of The Design Practice.

Where is The Design Practice's showroom?

The Design Practice has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in North-East and East. See all of The Design Practice's showroom addresses.

Is The Design Practice an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

The Design Practice is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is The Design Practice popular among homeowners?

5 homeowners have recently enquired with The Design Practice for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with The Design Practice.

Is The Design Practice a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, The Design Practice was accredited the Supertrust badge in 2018.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by The Design Practice?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by The Design Practice (in the past year) are S$90,000 for HDB and S$41,500 for Condo.
5 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$100,000.
Why Qanvast