Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
51 reviews
Review of Couple Abode
Aisyah Nasser
4-room Bidadari BTO

Reviewed by Aisyah Nasser・Submitted 29 Mar 2022・ Project completed Mar 2022・Designer Alson

My husband and I decided to engage Couple Abode since 2019 because we all shared similar values such as practicality, minimalism and simplicity. From our first meeting with Alson until the completion of our home in March 2022, Alson has shown trustworthiness and complete control over unexpected factors such as Covid. His work ethics and attention to detail shows through his interactions and actions with us, as well as with his contractors. There was no hard-selling and he ensured that what we requested was within our budget. Another point to highlight is while there was differences between what we expected and reality, Alson ensured that our expectations are met and promises are kept. In summary, we can say that we have no regrets in engaging Couple Abode, and they have been a blessing for us and our first home.

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
A
Happy couple, beautiful abode

Reviewed by Adrian・Submitted 21 Dec 2021・ Project completed Nov 2021・Designer Alson

As first-timers owning and renovating a house, the biggest fears we had from the onset alike many were possibilities of being conned, poor workmanship and deliverables. Thankfully, none of those nightmares came true and even better, we walk away with huge smiles, a dream home and a new friend. Knowing that we have high expectations for our renovation journey, we shortlisted 6 highly rated interior designers, discussed our plans with them and finally decided to proceed with Alson from Couple Abode. Some key sharings that we will love to share with fellow homeowners - pick someone who - prioritises how you live and not how many shelves you should get (a listener than salesperson), - someone who speaks the same frequency as you and - someone who can be your go-to person for all things. And that was why we chose Alson, and continue to recommend him to our friends who are renovating too. Alike every home renovation journey, there are bound to be hiccups and we believe that these are moments to test one’s true professionalism. Once again, Alson never disappoint. Often just a call away, he is a problem solver, doesn’t ever shirk from his responsibilities and often goes the extra mile to resolve issues asap with his contractors. So once again, thank you Alson. For being our new found friend and for making our dream home a reality. Also super grateful to you in making us feel prioritised whenever needed, enabling us to settle in quickly and live our best lives in the new found home. Cheers!

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
S
Seeing is believing. Let Alvin Teoh design your dreamed home !

Reviewed by Sam・Submitted 4 Apr 2021・ Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Alvin Teoh

First of all, I would like to say I am very demanding customer. Depending in quality , cost , professionalism almost everything! Most of ID can not meet my expectation , only vin Teoh from couple Adobe . There is no sponsorship on this review. Alvin Teoh us the most trustable ID in the market. I decided to work with Alvin Teoh among 8 different companies comparison. In terms of design concept, cost , quality , company background. He is very professional experienced , creative in design and project management. I work with him for 6 months for my house project, from pre- design consultation, costing , 3D, project implementation, furniture and styling selection. He is far above five star quality. He went extra miles to assist me to do all coordination , hang arts pieces on the wall, defects touch up. Seeing is believing . A dreamed home with super low cost but high quality !

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
Review of Couple Abode
KW
My Bidadari Home

Reviewed by Kang Wei Lim・Submitted 3 Dec 2020・ Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Alson Tan

We were looking for a suitable ID to design our first home. After meeting with several designers, we decided to go with Couple Abode. Our ID was Alson whom we were very comfortable. During our meeting, he sparked ideas and gave us practical advices when going through the design of the house. He also take notes on what we want/don't want and will make sure it is done accordingly. The renovation process was smooth and there was no hiccups. Alson was also very accomodating and understanding and always provided the best solutions for us. He is also responsive and takes initiative to update us on the progress. His designs and work ethics really impressed us and we knew we found the right guy to settle our house. Thank you for helping us to bring our dream house to life, Alson! We will definitely engage them again for our next home! We definitely recommend Couple Abode! 😄

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Couple Abode
JL
Thanks, Alson we appreciate it! Highly recommended!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Juliana Lee・Submitted 29 Jan 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Alson Tan

Met Alson after a few trips to other firms and we found ourselves most comfortable with Alson and the CA Team. Despite great looking portfolio, they also promote good materials while understanding out budget and needs. Alson is very hands-on and has a very keen sense of design and style. My husband and I are delighted to have him as our ID. He is very helpful and his team of workers has helped us tremendously during this project. Thank you Alson we appreciate it! Highly recommended!

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
Abraham Ponniah
The CA team co-created our vision for our home and successfully executed it!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Abraham Ponniah・Submitted 28 Jan 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Alson Tan

Summary: If you like Couple Abode (CA)’s portfolio and are willing to spend some time to work with the CA team, I highly recommend then. The CA team (our home done by Alson) co-created our vision for our home and successfully executed it! Why we chose CA Like many, our journey began by getting overwhelmed by online ID portfolios. In the end, we got quotes from 4 firms whose portfolios we liked. Even at this stage, the Couple Abode portfolio stood out to us. All the other IDs had portfolios where we liked 2 – 3 projects but were not that fond of the rest. But for Couple Abode, we liked almost every project in their portfolio, except for maybe 2, despite the variety of styles. It’s hard to put a finger on what exactly we were looking out for in the portfolios… but was more a sense of “yes, we can see ourselves living in a place like this”. If I had to sum up with one phrase what we were looking for, it would be “contemporary and bright, yet cosy enough to feel like home”. Out of the 4 quotes, CA and one other firm quotes us a similar price, while 1 ID quoted higher, and 1 quoted significantly lower. The expensive one was over our pre-determined budget (despite us being clear on what that was), so was an easy exclusion. But why did we go for CA over the other 2 IDs, especially the cheaper one? Besides the portfolio, we also read a whole host of reviews (which I’m guessing is what you are doing right now too). We had spoken to enough friends to know that it would be almost impossible to have our reno done 100% perfect at the first time of asking. So, what struck us from the CA reviews was a common thread that CA would responsibly undertake rectifications to ensure the final home handed over was up to standard (more on our experience on this later). Then of course, there is the face-to-face meeting with the ID. When we met Alson, he struck us as someone who was willing to listen to us while gently telling us when some crazy ideas wouldn’t work. He also suggested new ideas or improved on ours based on his experience. We appreciated his effort to tell us upfront what ideas would not be feasible on our budget and help us prioritise our wants so he could present us a quotation within out budget. We felt he would be a good partner in building our home with us. Our experience with CA Price: the temptation to just spend a bit more to make improvements here and there is incredible! We succumbed to the temptation a few times (“it’s a long-term investment that we will see/use every single day”, is what we tell ourselves), but never was it due to any pressure from Alson. He did well to ensure most of what we were interested in was already covered in the initial quote, so there was not a significant change in the quotation once the work started. We kept within our budget (just!).. so, I would say all good for us. Would you be able to find someone who can do the same job for cheaper? I can’t say for sure because there are too many variables (the other 3 key ones in my mind are below), but I don’t think CA is the cheapest in the market if price is by far the most important variable you are looking at. Design: We’ve lived in our house for 3 months… and we absolutely love the design. It is bright yet cosy, just like we wanted. There are nice spaces for our almost-2-year-old son to play in. There’s enough room to host the max 5 ppl that the govt will allow us to host for now, and I think we can comfortably host the 8 ppl from 28 Dec onwards when we enter Phase 3 (not bad for a new 4-rm HDB). It’s not optimized for work from home (we had finalized the design early in the year and were supposed to start reno on the same day Circuit Breaker kicked in… who knew work from home was going to be this long?!), but its good enough even for that. So, on the whole, delighted with the look, feel and function of the place! Workmanship: carpentry is top-notch in our eyes. Almost everything was up to standard at the first time of asking, and there were very few, very minor rectifications on carpentry. The paintwork was less impressive, but Alson made sure it was rectified. Only issue was that it took a few trips, and the last one was after we had already moved in… so the smell was tough to manage for a while. If you can help it, highly recommend moving in only once everything is really complete, unfortunately we did not have that luxury. Project Management: As mentioned earlier, we were supposed to start reno when Circuit Breaker starter and needed to move in by end-Sep because we were going to be kicked out of our previous home (had already gotten our stay there extended by a month). We are really grateful that Alson managed to deliver it in time despite the restrictions on workers, material shortage and safe management measures in place. Having said that, this is the variable we felt that CA can improve the most. There were moments of frustration when we could not get clarity on what the progress of the renovations would be like, when things did not follow the schedule of works (even things not affected by Circuit Breaker), and when we had to request for updates. But things got better when we realized that responses are faster and better through calls rather WhatsApp! Still some things got missed, though the only significant one was that we had purchased a built-in dishwasher instead of a standalone one, which resulted in not the precise slot being created in the cabinetry for it. In the end though, this was also suitably rectified by their expert carpenters! The past reviews of CA also proved true, Alson was very accommodating and even hands-on in getting the rectifications done, even going beyond the call of duty to help get everything in our house just as we wanted it. Conclusion On the whole, we are delighted with the outcome of our home, though we felt there is room for improvement in the journey to get us there. However, the last thing I want to add is that Alson showed great personal care for our home as well as great desire and ambition to continue to improve and grow CA. I think this combination will see CA scale great heights going forward. This also means that your experience with CA could be even better than the happy one we had! As I said at the start, if you like their portfolio and are willing to invest some time into your house, I think you would be very happy with engaging CA. I hope this helps you, just like we were helped by the reviews before us.

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
Fransisca Kho
We had a good time working with Hazel in the past few months
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Fransisca Kho・Submitted 4 Jan 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Hazel

We engaged Hazel from Couple Abode after meeting with several IDs for our HDB resale renovation. As an ID, Hazel has high attention to details and very transparent with us in terms of choosing the materials, design and cost. Hazel always try to provide suggestions and recommendation to meet our needs. She is very agile in answering our questions and concerns related to our house renovation. Furthermore, she is always helpful whenever we ask her opinion in choosing materials and furniture for our house. We had a good time working with Hazel in the past few months 🙂.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Couple Abode
Jenny Liew
Pleasant experience with Couple Abode

Reviewed by Jenny Liew・Submitted 8 Nov 2020・ Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Alson & Chally

My relative's house was done up by Chally from Couple Abode, I was amazed by the workmanship and design so I got Chally's contact from my friend. We found out that Chally works in the back of house in Couple Abode now but she manages to get Alson to help us with our renovation. After countless meeting with all the IDs, we still decided to go with Couple Abode.Chally and Alson was very prompt and delivered the house on time even when the circuit breaker happens during the midst of renovation. Overall, we have a pleasant experience with Couple Abode, would definitely recommend my friends/family if they are looking to renovate.

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
KK
A big thank you to Alson and the team
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Koh KC・Submitted 28 Jan 2021・ Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Alson Tan

My partner and I had a lovely experience working with CA team, specifically with Alson. He is an amazing project manager. We started our renovation work just after the Circuit Breaker, Alson ensured that there were no delays in all the works (from carpentry to plumbing), and managed our expectations. Our place was handed over well before our targeted date, and we were able to move in comfortably. Alson also patiently provided his advice and input on how we should furnish our home. We're grateful that he remained contactable most of the time. My favorite thing about working with him was his patience and great taste of design. A big thank you to Alson and the team

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
Rodrick
My experience with Couple Abode is very wonderful.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Rodrick・Submitted 29 Jan 2021・ Project completed Sep 2020・Designer Alson Tan

My experience with Couple Abode is very wonderful. Despite great design sense and meticulousness on their quality works, their after-sales service is so responsive and swift. Alson also ensure us everything is fine during the renovation, we felt safe with our home in their hands. I strongly recommend Alson of Couple Abode if you wanted to renovate your house. Because of him, my renovation experience was so smooth sailing. Thank you so much, Alson.

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
Vincent Ong
It is definitely value for money. Many thanks for the job well done 🙂🙂🙂

Reviewed by Vincent Ong・Submitted 14 Jan 2021・ Project completed Sep 2020・Designer Alson & Chally

Got to know about Couple Abode through my son. Decided to go with Couple Abode because of quick response, experience, trendy portfolio, good reviews and works done in my son home. Service experience with our IDs, Alson & Chally, was superb. Overall, we are very pleased with Alson & Chally recommendations for design, materials, lighting options and responsiveness to additional queries. Even after our renovation was completed, both Chally & Alson remains friendly and patient with other requests we had. Would recommend Couple Abode Pte Ltd! It is definitely value for money. Many thanks for the job well done 🙂🙂🙂

Read More
Review of Couple Abode
h
Thank you, Alvin, for your patience & dedication, to fulfilling our home goals.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by hakim・Submitted 28 Jan 2021・ Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Alvin

Working with Alvin was comfortable and smooth sailing from the start. He is professional and able to advise us well in all sorts of aspects, letting us know what are the other options aside from the ones we had in mind. Even though COVID happened, with the lack of manpower at the same time, Couple Abode will follow through with every contractor and supplier with what is suppose to be done and managed to keep within the timeline as communicated, giving us promptly updates. Thank you, Alvin, for your patience & dedication, to fulfilling our home goals.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?