Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more
S$50K Qanvast GuaranteeS$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsUpsized Furnishing DealsUpsized Deals
Get more perks
Interior Designer Reviews
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
49 reviews
ZH
Great Design!

Reviewed by Zhi Hong Toh・Submitted 20 Mar 2022・ Project completed Jan 2022・Designer Lyn Song

We wanted to convert our dual key unit to a single living unit, while creating a nice study area which would not look out of place. After visiting several IDs, we finally decided on Icon Interior after meeting Lyn. She was friendly and approachable, open to our suggestions and provided a design which we were impressed with. Being newbies in renovation, Lyn brought us around to choose materials/furniture and gave us guidance throughout the renovation process. Despite hiccups along the way with the project manager during the renovation process, Lyn was able to help address our concerns ultimately. She is a talented designer with a great eye for detail and we are both very pleased with how our home turned out!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Ang Yu Jian
Great vision and very thorough

Reviewed by Ang Yu Jian・Submitted 2 Nov 2021・ Project completed Nov 2021・Designer Marc

Marc was a very knowledgable and experienced designer who gave us so many ideas and suggestions to consider based on our priorities and budget. We took up many of these suggestions in order to give the house a more cohesive and polished look. As we weren't in a rush to finish the project, Marc was able to rectify any issues he spotted before moving onto the next stage of renovation. He was very responsive to any questions we had, as well as our requests for specific changes. Marc's regular updates with photos gave us reassurance about the quality of the worksmanship, and his dedication to meeting his artistic vision and standards meant that we did not have to worry about defects. In fact, Marc was still spotting and rectifying small imperfections that we didn't even notice, right up to the day of the handover! The entire experience was as stress free as possible thanks to Marc, and we would gladly recommend him to anyone as an artistic designer who is willing to go above and beyond to help clients achieve their vision rather than simply following instructions.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
C
Irresponsive & Lack Professionalism
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Colin・Submitted 3 Apr 2022・ Project completed Jun 2021・Designer Karen Cheong

Karen Cheong was a polite and friendly ID when we first met. However after the initial payment made to her, it was the beginning of months of nightmare. I could never reach her over the phone when I dial her number, and she will reply you that she's in meetings/on calls and worse still, reject your call without any call backs. Messages sent will take at least half a day later before responses came back. A once-upon-a-time polite lady became overnight someone who is lack of simple & basic manners to even drop you an acknowledgement with messages you dropped to her. Countless times, it ran into middle of the night to get her simple and haphazard replies, which forced me out of my bed to engage as the issues required attention. To compensate her lack of involvement in my renovation work, I took almost half a month of leave to sit in the house while the contractors do their work. For the whole duration of 2 months, I barely saw her in my unit for once, which I never had the chance to speak to her as she claimed she is busy, need to give instructions and left immediately. Since then, we never met face to face for any of the renovation work or to discuss on the defects, I literally dealt direct with the contractors who came down. Super disappointed with the experience I had with Icon Interior. You basically pay for an ID to help you project manage the renovation but none of these were delivered in mine. I would urge new home owners to stay away.

Read More
review-icon
Meet only reliable firms
Connect with an interior firm on Qanvast to be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme and enjoy perks!
E
A great experience!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Elene・Submitted 30 May 2021・ Project completed May 2021・Designer Kheng Wee

We love the concept of our new home! Finding the right ID who can truly understand your needs and expectations is not easy and after talking to many IDs, we knew we've found the one when we met Kheng Wee from ICON Interior Design. He listened to our requests and provided great suggestions and ideas and most importantly, accommodative throughout the project. We’ve in fact received many compliments from those who have been to our place. It’s modern contemporary yet homey. Overall, a great experience!

Read More
crystal
A Wonderful Experience With Marc

Reviewed by crystal・Submitted 24 Mar 2021・ Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Marc

We met a few IDs before deciding to engage Marc. Some ID were too accommodating to our ideas, they just want to build what we asked with min design input. Some IDs were protective of their design, not open to our suggestions. Marc listened and gave us design proposal that meet our needs. He was also frank to tell us if something won’t work. We are very happy with the tasteful yet functional design of our new home which never fail to impressed our visitors so far. During the project, Marc would update us regularly on work progress, he helped to source cheaper alternatives for our fixtures too. It has been a wonderful experience working with Marc. We have worked with 4 IDs in our previous home reno projects, Marc is the only one that I would strongly recommend.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
LL
A Modern Contemporary Finishing Work

Reviewed by Leon Low・Submitted 10 Mar 2021・ Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Kheng Wee & Wayne

Chances are, as you look back on the last 12 months of 2020 you feel a raft of mixed emotions about it. But it has also been a year of learning and new opportunities! Gratitude we have made it through with the support and help from family and friends during this journey. In the last quarter of 2020, we decided to jump to the commitment of owning a slightly bigger place under HDB which is a EM (Executive Maisonette). I would say... the feelings are mixed with uncertainties which is both scary and yet holds excitement.  The fear of renovation nightmares, the timeline, the budget... issues etc xxxxx... But mostly we are excited and hopeful towards the potential of having a whole new experience in both space and design of the new place. However, the questions is who and how we are going to do it with( ID/Contractor) ? Save on cost? Go for Contractor (Which many suggested that...)? or will have to Spend or cost more...go for ID? From our experience and many others we have came across.. we decided to engage a ID and so the hunt begins... one of our close friend helped us shortlist 3 IDs and visited and discuss on design and quotation within 3 weeks and we decided to move on with 1 which is not based on the lowest quotation cost nor design  but based on the comfort of communication and the experience of the firm. The ID firm we engaged is Icon Interior. Timeline: When we took over the EM that was after mid of Dec 2020, the planning and design took about 3 weeks of discussion before that. We have shared with our ID that we are putting up at a temporary place with the whole family and ofcos its not comfortable. The expected renovation time is about 10-12 weeks ideally so meaning we will have our place completed in late Feb to March 2021...not much hope before CNY... (I hope to move in before CNY! Which i believe this is the normal request they received during that period 😅). The renovation work started off on the 3rd week of Dec, a planned schedule of work was given to us and it stated that it will be complete 3 days before CNY 2021! (We were very doubtful...but hopeful 🙏🏼😁) and during this period more discussion on 3D(this only gives you the idea and overall concept of how it will look and feel...!Don't waste too much time on having multiple changes after each discussion...and request a new revised 3D before commencing work.)  , paint colour, material, electricity and carpentry elevation were also discussed.    As per planned! The whole journey was a present and a good one 👍. The timeline and planned schedule was 95% carry out and with "5%" due to workers constrain, materials and some changes we have made last min... but we managed to moved into our new place with a 98% work completion 1week before CNY ! The renovation: The Workmanship of tiling work, carpentry, electricity and plumbing work are good,  issues were resolved at the soonest time when we identified the problems. The communication with our ID is very responsive and effective. I have met the people during site visit doing the work on tiling, plumbing and carpentry, they are passionate and also patience in explaining to me some of the work  and having the work done properly. 👍👍👍 Finally! I have to give credits to both gentlemen  Wayne (The boss) and KhengWee (Project manager for us) Icon Interiors. A well planned execution of schedule and communication with workers/vendors for having our renovation journey result in a smooth ride was amazing and impressive. The design and space planning proposed by them doesn't compromise daily practicality and understanding our likes and don't s was also a factor in their proposal.  This is our review and comment ! "A surprisingly good journey and experience with ICON INTERIOR!  Thank you!" For more pictures and updates can visit at our reno IG @maisonettejournal (Picture paints a thousand words)

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Iqee Shariqee
Best ID ever..

Reviewed by Iqee Shariqee・Submitted 22 Jan 2021・ Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Marc & Clement

Many times we would think that we do not need an ID coz we basically know what we want for our house. Little did we know that some which we had in mind were practically undoable due to certain reasons. This is when the knowledge of an ID comes very useful to us. We met Marc a year before actually collecting of keys, signed with him on the spot without any hesitation as he provided great knowledge and the chemistry between us and him was just wonderful. He is very detail oriented and meticulous in all that he does. Due to Covid-19, there were delays in keys collection and we could only collect our keys last November. As there were too many homeowners collecting keys at the same batch of time with us due to the delays of keys during circuit breaker period, Clement assisted Marc with our project too. That was how we met Clement. Clement is very accommodating. Even when we texted him late at night, he will still reply to us when he is not obligated to. We started our reno on 25/11/20 and informed both Marc and Clement that we need to move out from our house by end of year 2020 as our lease is up. We understood that it is not doable and we really hope the house could at least be in a move-in condition so that we could actually move in before the lease is up. Exactly a month later, everything is completed and that was the best Christmas present we could ask for. There were some issues after we moved in which Marc and Clement resolved it as soon as they could. We are thankful for that. We have now moved in to our new flat for 3 weeks now and we love it. We would love to work with Clement and especially Marc again when we get another flat in the future. Thank you Marc and Clement for making our new year a great one to start with. We love our home, thanks to you.

Read More
Crystal Yau
Superb service and workmanship
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Crystal Yau・Submitted 27 Feb 2020・ Project completed Feb 2020・Designer Marc

I have been running around to seek for more than 20 quotations from different ID/contractors. Marc from Icon ID was the 3rd i met and eventually i came back for him. Price and items quoted by other IDs are more or less the same, I chose Icon ID coz of the 'chemistry' with Marc. What more you are expecting when it comes to describing the 'feel' you want for your home. Marc has a telepathic guess and able finish off my sentence, on all my requests for the renovation. Marc is very detailed, experienced and has great follow-up skills. He patiently listened to my requests and tried his best to fulfill them. Although there were some hiccups after moving in, Marc offered very good after-sales service by resolving them promptly. Price quoted is not the cheapest but reasonable. Workmanship is superb, nothing much to worry about during and after the renovation. After 1 month of long-neck waiting, finally my home turned out from 'cui' to 'atas'. Don't feel like leaving the home after moving in :) If I had a second home, probably will engage Marc from Icon ID again.

Read More
Kaichun Lee
1 million stars for Marc - he is a design superstar

Reviewed by Kaichun Lee・Submitted 1 Oct 2020・ Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Marc

Like most new home owners, my partner and I searched and met with around 10 interior designers to really zoom in on one which 'gets' the design we wanted for our new home. When we met Marc, we immediately felt the connection. Marc came across as genuine, authentic, experienced, and when we talked about our vision for our home, Marc knew what we were talking about. We knew that we have found the one to design our new home. Throughout the design conceptualization phase to actual renovation phase, Marc never fail to provide his full support. He went above and beyond his duties as a designer, and helped sourced for furniture and coordinate all the works despite a difficult period during Covid19. Marc was always cheerful, accommodating, and his expertise and experience speaks for itself. After renovation, our home looked even better than the 3D render, and everyone was full of praises. This could not be achieved without Marc's help. I will highly highly recommend Marc to anyone who wants a dedicated, experienced star designer to design their home. Marc, thank you so much for everything you have done for us!

Read More
Nur'aina Borhan
Super happy
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Nur'aina Borhan・Submitted 30 Mar 2020・ Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Medz

My husband and i has been seeing a few renovation companies on the internet but our pick is Icon Interior Design. Our ID is Medz we love his idea on our hse design.Medz really listen to what we want and needs. Friendly and helpful, kitchen design with blum is our favorite. We were update for every step its important to us because at that time our old place was in east and new hse in west . So at least it ease our time. Our most favorite part is our kitchen.

Read More
project-upload
Z
Attentive designer. Good workmanship. Great after sales service.

Reviewed by Zhuang・Submitted 28 Jan 2020・ Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Lixuan

Icon Interior design was one of the 10 interior design company we had approached for our resales flat. Lixuan was the interior designer assigned to us. We were pleasantly surprised by her patience and the understanding she had on our design ideas. Although her quotations were not the lowest. We still decided to sign the contract because of Lixuan's technical knowledge and attention to details. We were not let down because the final results were better than expected. Truly there were some technical issue along the way but Lixuan was able to quickly resolved them. Thanks for the effort. We will definitely recommend Lixuan and Icon Interior to our friends and family.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Ghazali Razak
Great experience

Reviewed by Ghazali Razak・Submitted 8 Feb 2020・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer Shafee

Had a pleasant experience with Icon Interior Design. My Interior designer was Mr Shafee whom is totally experience and very transparent. The completion is very fast. Frequent update on the work done. Completion date is earlier than expected. Any decfect can surface to him and the work done was prompt. I will definitely recommend Icon interior design to those who have no idea or have an idea to make your dream home unique.

Read More

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?