Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more$50K Qanvast Guarantee$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsExclusive PerksPerksFind out more
INTERIOR DESIGNER REVIEWS
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
6032 reviews
Review of Couple Abode
Tan Chin Hock
Less than 2 months of renovation work, my dream home came true.

Reviewed by Tan Chin Hock・Submitted 13 Aug 2020・Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Alson Tan

I decided to overhaul of my house after staying for 11 years.

I was referred by my friend to Alson on March this year.

Alson listened to our ideas and concepts, understand our needs and provided us the design with cost effective and practical approach.

From Scrap drawing to 3D design drawing and then actual dimension drawing, he went through with me in detail.

Less than 2 months of renovation work, my dream home came true.

From start to end, Alson has shown his dedication, inspiration, idea, professional attitude.

As the owner of Couple Abode, he is sincere and down-to-earth person. A person who build trust and honour it.

Well done Alson!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
Christine Koh
A Worry Free Reno Experience

Reviewed by Christine Koh・Submitted 13 Aug 2020・Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Kristie Yong

We have finally completed our renovation after much delays due to covid lockdown. We came across @lemonfridge studio from @qanvast and decided to call them for an initial quotation and met with our ID kristie yong. Our initial impression was that she looked really really young and we were quite worried if she could manage our renovations and demands. I think we were Super demanding clients as we already had a clear vision of how we wanted the house to look like and wanted a designer that could help to execute and give advice that would complement our vision. We decided to give kristie and lemonfridge a shot as their quotation was pretty comprehensive for what we wanted to do. Kristie was always prompt in her replies even late into the night. We made many last min changes along the way which she accommodated without complaints and always with a smile. Rectifications were done very promptly without delays. She always double checked and reconfirmed our choices to reduce errors. I think I can safely say that with kristie, the renovation process is guaranteed to be a worry-free process. We can count on her to provide solutions for any issues we encountered. She’s also willing to listen to our feedback and take them into consideration. Due to lock down midway into our reno, kristie specially arranged for a clean up so we have a place to store our stuff while we seeked alternative accommodation, going above and beyond for us which we really appreciate.

If you want a worry-free renovation to build your dream home. Then I’d highly recommend kristie and lemonfridge.

Read More
project-upload
Review of Inizio Atelier
Xin Ling
The house we never knew we wanted
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Xin Ling・Submitted 12 Aug 2020・Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Alex Xie, Sebastian Ho

Alex was the first ID that we arranged to meet up with after we looked for IDs on Qanvast. We only had a very vague idea then, of how we wanted our house to be like, but he was able to immediately sketch out a few proposals that were in line with our ideas. When we told him he was the first ID we met, he wasn't pushy and even told us to look for other quotations before settling on one firm. We decided to work with them because we felt that they understood our wants well, and could easily add those elements into the design. Initially, we wanted to go for a Scandinavian concept, but we kept sending dark coloured mood boards. Alex was able to understand our ideas and his first draft was exactly what we wanted.

During each step of the reno, Alex and Sebastian would explain their choice of material, at times even delving deep into the technical aspects to help us better understand and appreciate where and how our money was spent. We were also extremely impressed with their resourcefulness and their broad connections which helped us obtain quality products at competitive prices. They were also able to keep within our budget most of the time, until we started adding a few more items not part of the quotation.

Although our reno process took a long time to complete due to the Covid-19 Circuit Breaker, they kept us well informed on the schedule, and even expedited certain parts of the reno once we had entered Phase 1. We were amazed at how quick the reno proceeded despite the severe shortage of manpower. In the end, the reno was able to complete on schedule, not including the 2 month-long CB period.

We thoroughly enjoyed watching them transform our flat into the one of our dreams, and highly recommend anyone looking for a knowledgeable and experienced designer to approach Inizio.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
review-icon
Review an Interior Firm
Help other homeowners by sharing your experience.
J
Your Absolute Designer - Brad Tan
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jessica・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Brad Tan

Brad is one of the interior designers who we have shortlisted and he has lived up to expectations. He came across as genuine and sincere during the first meeting which is our top consideration besides costs and style.

Throughout the renovation, he will dissuade us on unnessary renovation features as they are a waste of money. He is responsive and provides regular and timely updates. This helps us alot since both of us are busy with work. He will always consult and provide professional advices before commencing work. This makes us feel involved in the renovation decision. Personally, he also drove us around JB to shop for cheap lightings and brought them to SG by himself!

Despite the restrictions during the circuit breaker, he ensured communication was maintained and made plans each time the situation evolved. During this stressful period, he made an effort to ensure the renovation work can be resumed promptly once the circuit breaker is lifted. He also expedited the renovation knowing that the lunar 7th month is approaching. This allows us to move in on our desired date.

Thank you Brad for delivering and kept the renovation cost well within our budget!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Jöñ Gįäm
KUDOS to my ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jöñ Gįäm・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Aug 2020・Designer XiaoMin

I super love my home; it was exactly how the way I wanted. I would love to say a big THANK YOU to my ID, XiaoMin. She and her team worked hard to make a perfect home for me, their service and the workmanship is excellence. I would highly recommend Starry Homestead (XiaoMin) to those who’s looking for ID to create your lovely home.

Before I start finding an ID, I roughly have some idea how I want my home to look like. When I met XiaoMin, we exchange and share our design ideas with each other to have the common understanding of what I want and how the house going to look like. She always tries her best to accommodate my request and suggest things that are very practical and realistic if she thinks it’s necessary.

With my busy work schedule, XiaoMin always took time to meet me over the weekends for discussions or bring me to shops to choose tiles, countertop, sinks etc. Materials and colours selections is a breeze, as she selects those colours that match the theme and to my liking.

XiaoMin, manage and oversee the whole renovation works. I do not have much fuss or worry about the coordination with contractors or if renovations weren’t done according to the design. Even during this difficult situation (COVID-19), everything is so uncertain but yet she tried her very best to arrange whichever work that her team able to do and tried her best to minimise the delay as much as possible. She even went the extra mile to help me to collect the data cable from the company and also to accommodate my last min request to change my countertop material due to the travel restrictions. Thumbs up to her and her team for all the hard work, dedication and commitment to make my dream home to reality.

Read More
SB
A Scandinavian Theme Design
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Seng Boon Wui・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Cai Xiao Min

My experience with Starry Homestead was a pleasant and fulfilling one. Before our renovation, I have been coming across the design for Starry Homestead. Overall the themes they offer are quite minimalist and refreshing to me.

After exercising the option to purchase for our resale flat at Tampines, we went to a reno fair at Suntec and was attended by our ID Ms Cai Xiaomin. She was very patient in going through our floor plan and listen to what we really want. What is appealing to me is a Scandinavian and minimalist theme. She understand what we want and note down.

We arrange to meet her at TradeHub21 where we discuss in details. The next visit we were given the quotation with the 3D drawings. It was almost what we want.

Before the reno starts, she also took the effort to bring us to the tile shop and later kitchen appliance shop for selection. She also gave us recommendations based on her experience.

At the last minute, we threw her a surprise to construct an altar, she obliged and is able to get her contractor to do it for us.

Despite COVID-19 looming around, she kept to her timeline and managed to deliver just one month before Circuit Breaker. I must thank her for this wonderful house! I strongly recommend Starry Homestead for everyone!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
SL
The Perfect Team

Reviewed by SR Lee・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Sherry Lee & Carol Lim

THE PERFECT TEAM

Our home renovation was suspended in the first week of work as a result of the Covid-19 Circuit Breaker measures. The anxiety of being caught in the midst of this two months long Circuit Breaker cannot be summed up in words. Nevertheless, our engagement of Mr Shopper Studio (MSS) turned out to be one of the best decisions ever, with a professional, committed and synergistic team comprising Sherry Lee (Theme Designer), Carol Lim (Project Manager), Reyane (Home Stylist) and Stephanie (Assistant Home Stylist) rallying behind us to see us through such a difficult time, and transforming our ordinary looking place into a cosy, intimate and beautiful space which we proudly call ‘Our home’.

The great renovation experience would not have been possible without the passionate team who came together with their unique strengths to help us realize our ideal home.

Sherry Lee, MSS Theme Designer

————————————————

Sherry is talented, intentional in her design and has an eye for details. She listened carefully to our preferences, and weaved our lifestyle needs into her designs. Her ideas are refreshing, aesthetically pleasing, offers a good balance of luxury and simplicity and has a touch of elegance. We were awed when she presented her proposed interior design and mood board to us.

She is a very professional Theme Designer. We appreciate her highlighting to us options (that we like) which would not go well with the overall theme, and going the extra mile of sharing with us the rationale – this, truly, is a mark of professionalism. With clarity on the end-point look and feel of our home, she patiently guided us along at every stage: from design to material (and even furnishing and furniture) selection.

She takes pride in her design work and we knew she would not settle for any second best for our home. With her around, we felt assured that our home was in good hands.

We enjoyed working with Sherry thoroughly.

Carol Lim, MSS Project Manager

———————————————

Carol is professional, knowledgeable and strong in her technical knowledge. She complemented Sherry very well by bringing to the table of discussion her practical insights and technical know-hows to value-add to the ideation and creation processes. She was also able to translate the technical content into something relative easy to understand for layman like me.

She shows initiative and has an eagle eye for details. She displayed initiative and took ownership in ensuring the renovation work was of good standard. She provided very regular updates on the renovation work and excited us with photographs of work done at our home and even photographs of fabrication work-in-progress at the factory. She is hands-on and would personally comb through areas that required touch-ups or early rectifications, and immediately followed up with the sub-contractors even before our feedback. She made us feel at ease that while we were busy at work, she could be relied on to ensure everything was in order and help us safeguard the quality standard of work done.

She has pleasant dispositions and demonstrates effective project management. Throughout the entire project, she was empathetic and most patient with our needs. She would go the extra mile to explore ways to help us in all possible ways, sometimes late into the nights. Even on occasions where changes brought hassles and inconvenience to her, she would still patiently and good-naturedly accommodate them as she believes in helping home-owners fulfill their dream homes. Her pleasant dispositions allow her to build good rapport with the sub-contractors and this in turn facilitated good progress for the renovation work.

Carol is really a joy to work with. It’s our blessing that our renovation was overseen by such a responsible and hands-on Project Manager like her. Given her commitment, professionalism and excellent service standards, without doubt, she is an asset to any ID firm.

Reyane. Home Stylist, and Stephanie, Assistant Home Stylist

——————————————————————-

Lastly, our beautiful home would not have been possible without the professional inputs of Reyane who tastefully selected our furnishings and accessories, and the finishing touch by both Reyane and Stephanie to style our home.

We were blessed with such a perfect MSS team! Thank you!

Read More
Review of Versaform
F
Pleasant experience with Versaform
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Felicia・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Vincent Neo

This being our first home, we did a ton of research and met up with 5-6 IDs before deciding to go with Vincent from Versaform. Apart from his experience in the industry, what stood out during the initial consultations was Vincent’s thoroughness (our first session with him was 2.5hrs – he took the time to understand our requirements and our reasons for wanting things to be done in a certain way) and strong sense of design (we really liked that his projects are non-cookie cutter). He is also meticulous and organised.

While our renovation was originally scheduled to be completed within 7 weeks, it was extended for a couple of months due to unforeseen disruptions arising from the MCO and Circuit Breaker. Nonetheless, Vincent managed to resume works almost immediately once approvals could be granted. This was no mean feat considering the various restrictive measures restarted projects had to adhere to, as well as the manpower shortage faced by the industry. There were so many obstacles faced before our renovation was completed, none of which was Vincent’s fault, but he managed to so efficiently clear these obstacles anyway.

Throughout the renovation period, Vincent constantly kept us updated on progress and was always prompt in his communications. He was quick to rectify issues that we raised, even when these were only highlighted after handover. We felt that Vincent was extremely invested in the outcome of our home and was always honest with his opinions (which was sometimes a ‘pain’ because it meant that we could not settle on a particular piece of furniture for lack of better options. but really, he pushed us to look harder and we appreciate this honesty).

Needless to say, we are pleased with how our first home turned out and we cannot be more grateful to Vincent for this smooth and pleasant renovation journey. Highly recommend Vincent/Versaform to homeowners looking for a sincere, reliable and dedicated ID.

Read More
Review of Space Atelier
KE
Great Design, Good Advise And Awesome Service
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Keith Er・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Jeff Gan

I got in touch with Jeff Gan as I was recommended by a friend. Had a very good experience with Jeff who was very down to earth and had good experience. The previous companies I have engaged over promised and under delivered. For Jeff, he gave sound advise to us and proposed good ideas for our home. He was very committed to follow up on issues we raised during the renovation period. Also, during CB period, he was proactive to plan his contractos to promptly initiate our renovation once government relaxed the control measures. Overall, we were pleased with the renovation outcome and the post renovation services from Jeff. Two thumbs up!

Read More
Scott Sam
Flexible and Attentive ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Scott Sam・Submitted 11 Aug 2020・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Jia Ming

Home Access Interior ID Jia Ming is an attentive ID and highly flexible. He has always update any changes promptly. Despite facing numerous challenges due to Covid including M'sia lockdown and S'po re Circuit Breaker, Jia Ming has conducted himself as a professional and is flexible enough to cope and push through the renovations. He has accommodated many changes and requests by us. The quality of work is of high quality and he has creative designs and ideas. Overall we are pleased with his company and himself.

Home Access Interior should look into getting more contractors and looking to provide more innovative ideas (e.g. Smart Home, latest technology). Furthermore, they should look at workload of 1 ID to assist them to better focus on the projects they have on hand.

Summary Rating (1 - Bad, 10 - Excellent)

1. Flexibility - 8

2. Communication - 7

3. Quality of work - 8

4. Creativity - 7

5. Solutions - 8

6. Professional - 9

7. Price - 8

Read More
Review of Butler Interior
c
100% satisfied and impressed
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by canny・Submitted 10 Aug 2020・Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Murphy Lian

Murphy really very experienced and he give his professional recommendations every step of the way from e.g. the laminate to type of fan/lights which we appreciated greatly as both me and my wife are very indecisive. He has good taste and eye for detail yet at a very reasonable price. 100% satisfied and impressed with the workmanship and design. Exceeded our expectations.

Thumbs up and highly recommended.

Read More
SB
Good work and full satisfaction

Reviewed by SREELEKHA BHADRAN・Submitted 10 Aug 2020・Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Ashton

We approached Starry Homestead to renovate our 3 bedroom condo. Living room and kitchen demanded a complete renovation, with minor works in other rooms.

Ashton was the consultant, and he was very attentive and never tried to impose his views. His suggestions were always aligned with what we wanted.

The work was completed within the timelines, and quality was not compromised.

Even after the works are done, we could always reach out to Ashton and he was happy to help with minor touch works here and there. He is a customer oriented and professional consultant.

We are very satisfied with the work, and would certainly recommend Ashton and his firm for renovation works.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?