Be part of the Qanvast Trust Programme!Find out more$50K Qanvast Guarantee$50K GuaranteePersonalised RecommendationsExclusive PerksPerksFind out more
INTERIOR DESIGNER REVIEWS
Meeting a designer? First, check out these detailed reviews, submitted by Singapore homeowners and verified with accompanying contract submissions.
Type • All
Rating • All
Format • All
Filter and Sort
6512 reviews
Review of TDI Interior
Ryan Tan
The ID that made the impossible happened

Reviewed by Ryan Tan・Submitted 29 Oct 2020・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer CG & YS

I was introduced to TDI by a common friend and right from the get go, what set them apart was the fact that they did not shoot down my ideas like the other IDs does, they listened to my ideas, expanded on it and also made it better. They are also extremely professional and came up with the pros and cons of each idea. They are very detailed orientated and had been very responsive and even when I changed my mind half way, they still thought of ways to integrate it in Faced with many challenges and my extreme fussiness, they still managed to deliver. They even went out of their way to fixed problems my previous renovation brought me and gave me a service that I literally never knew I could find. Through my entire adulthood, I had engaged 3 different IDs, and I will say TDI has been the best experience I had with ID so far.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Couple Abode
Wilson Joseph Chia
Couple Abode Review

Reviewed by Wilson Joseph Chia・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Alson Tan

Engaged Alson Tan from Couple Abode to renovate my new BTO The whole partnership started off enthusiastically in the initial phase of the discussions when we touched on the high level items (Layout, 3D, electrical) During then, we only had a few points that we felt there was room for improvement but overall we were satisfied with the partnership. However issues started arising as listed below. Aesthetics 1. We believe that interior designers, as the name implies, are required to bring in their own ideas on aesthetic coupled with functionality into the house design; however, that is seldom the case we see when we worked with Alson. We had many components of the house that we, as the customers, have to do our own research to understand the latest design trends and materials available in the market (e.g. Vulcan quartz, glass toilet doors, etc.) Possibility of Design 2. We had to scrap a few design ideas that were previously agreed upon during initial phase discussions because they were advised by Alson that those were not “doable “. However we feel that the underlying reason may be that the subcons were unavailable and not “doable” was an excuse to forgo the amount of work needed and hence we were made to compromise on those design elements instead. E.g. our mirror door is unable to open fully as it will hit our kitchen island, they removed our service yard door only to tell us later that the idea that we had for the door wasn’t able to be implemented and now we were given a choice of having no door, or a different design for the door which was uglier than the original one provided by HDB. Quality control 3. We expected Alson to do a round of defect check before he suggested the handover of the house. However, this was not the case. The responsibility of quality control solely fell on our shoulders. We had to do 2 rounds of defect rectification. And even after the second round (in which we were unpleasantly asked to sign off on an onerous form to say that Couple Abode will not do any more defects rectifications), we still found defects with the renovation work and those new defects were caused by the defect rectification itself. Responsibility 4. After the final sign off on the above handover form, we even offered to fork out money to fix those new defects found. However, Alson and team just went MIA with no replies which we felt was a huge shirk of responsibility and we were very disappointed that what started off as a great partnership turned sour after the renovations were seemingly completed by the firm and bulk of the payment was already made. Reliability 5. Toilet issue. During the renovation, we told Alson that the workers can use the common bathroom and not the master bathroom. Alson said confidently that the workers will not use any of the bathrooms To our horror, both bathrooms ended up being used and there were pee stains all over both toilet bowls and also the workers did not bother to flush the toilet as well after use. 6. I had furniture moved in during the renovation. We were promised that those furniture will be fully wrapped with plastic . However, this was only done halfheartedly as we still found out dining chairs unwrapped. 7. One of the defects was to fill up the cement grout. Alson and team went to use a different color of cement. 8. Carpentry installation - crooked and does not align to the wall. During inspection when we were going through the works, we brought up some items that were not properly done. In response, Alson left a comment for us which was heard by my brother in law and my sister, and that was “Ultimately, this is not a $100k renovation”. Update: it has been 3 weeks since we contacted Alson but he did not come back to us. Update: correction. it has only been 2 since we contacted Alson but he did not come back to us.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
Review of Fineline Design
Nazia Amira
Resale renovation

Reviewed by Nazia Amira・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Shimin

It has been a pleasant experience with Fineline Design and Our ID Shimin. She was responsible and reliable to help us In our needs for the renovation including buying of materials etc. She is prompt to respond to our queries and tries her best to resolve any issues. Overall, we are pleased with the renovation and ID. Thank you!

Read More
review-icon
Review an Interior Firm
Help other homeowners by sharing your experience.
Review of Carpenters 匠
x
Oriental Theme

Reviewed by xxx・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Jun 2020・Designer Jas Lye

We went to Carpenters after seeing their Chinese Theme design in one of their Facebook post. We were attracted to the design. During the initial meet up, Jas gave us the confident in her work and she knew what we wanted. Unfortunately, our renovation was stopped half way during the COVID period. Jas was very thoughtful and she helped to covered up all drainages to prevent mosquitoes breeding during the no work period. As the Government relax the restriction, she immediately spring to work and made necessary arrangements to ensure our renovation was back on track. Keeping us updated throughout the Circuit Breaker period. Although there was a mad rush to complete our project, their works were not compromised. Their workmanships remain good. We are extremely happy with their cabinets’ works, high quality and made to perfection. Thank you, Carpenters and Jas!

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Jenny Loi
Smooth sailing reno process
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jenny Loi・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Javerson Wee

We decided on having Javerson as our ID after speaking to 5 other IDs due to his patience, willingness to listen and honesty to set expectations right. We collected our keys the day before circuit breaker and Javerson made the effort to come down on the same day to finalise details. Although we couldnt start work due to CB, he kept us updated on the situation and immediately applied for reno permit as soon as the company could. The renovation process went on smoothly despite labour crunch issue due to COVID. We observed that our reno was completed earlier than our neighbours who started before us! :P Throughout the process, he was very accomodating to our requests and acted upon all our feedback quickly with his team of contractors. He was very transparent with the cost for add-ons and would also confirm all decisions with us before proceeding. Workmanship is superb with no major defects during handover. We actually received several praises on our carpentry from visitors and other professional contractors (whom we engaged separately) who dropped by our unit! After reading many reno nightmare stories, we are very thankful that our reno process was so smooth-sailing, thanks to Javerson and his team! :)

Read More
DL
Exceed our expectations

Reviewed by Donald Lin・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Dennis

I had engaged ID Dennis to renovate our house. It was a very pleasant experience , we had good chemistry and communication and after 2 months of major make over, the outcome of our house is above my expectations. I would recommend friends or family who is looking to renovate their place to look for Dennis

Read More
C
Highly Recommended for a trusted service!

Reviewed by Cheryl・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Jan 2020・Designer Tony & Alice

We engaged Colourbox interior as they are in the market for more than 10years and we have heard good reviews from peers. Indeed it was a good experience with Tony & Alice right from the start! They were patient and responsive , giving us many advice! They assisted to iron out all the little hiccups that occurred along the way and we are pleased with our home. Good workmanship and professionalism displayed, highly recommended for a trusted service!

Read More
Desmond Wong
Quality Conscious and Customer Centric Professional team you can trust!

Reviewed by Desmond Wong・Submitted 28 Oct 2020・Project completed Dec 2018・Designer Kevin Neo, Gabriel

I did not know Kevin and his team when I first engaged them. I met them by chance while visiting Home theme Exhibition at Singapore Expo a little over 2 years ago. I was initially apprehensive as the price One Design Werkz quoted me was much higher than I was targeting. But I was finally persuaded by the sincerity and professionalism of Kevin and team. Throughout the renovation process, Kevin was very responsible and conscientiously visited my place every day to follow up on the status and to be an advocate for the customer (me). Kevin was able to pick up defects in the renovation work that I would not have caught otherwise and proactively remedied the defects. Gabriel was his right hand man who spent every day on site. Both Kevin and Gabriel went over and above what is expected of them on several occasions and I am extremely grateful and thankful for. I would highly recommend this team at One Design Werkz for top notch, frustration and hassle free experience with renovation on your forever home.

Read More
刘錦翰
Resale flat Reno
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by 刘錦翰・Submitted 27 Oct 2020・Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Jeff Lau

I was introduced to Jeff by my bro who had deal with him for his home reno. However, my project was delay due to CB. Once CB is over, our worry is manpower issue but jeff promise us that he will not have issue and he really complete the project within our expected timeline. We can see that he really work hard with his worker in the renovation. He was humble and knowledgeable and he always put our interests at his top priority. He was very experienced and was also sharp and meticulous in his stuffs. Throughout the whole reno, I was almost worries free as he would constantly update us on the progress of our Reno. He will however consulted us on our views and decisions when it comes to stuffs that were not confirmed earlier. I will definitely recommend his services to whoever person who needs Reno.

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Poh Hong Yi
Effective and creative in making our dream come true

Reviewed by Poh Hong Yi・Submitted 27 Oct 2020・Project completed Mar 2016・Designer Tina

I visited the expo sales and visiting lot of store to look at the design. Of which , the design from Tina is one of the choices as the design is simple but nice. She is always responded to our idea with lower budget as compared to others as she knew that we are just married and not much budget just like a typical newly couple in Singapore. she is definitely one of them who I will be recommending for those couple who wish to engage an interior designer.

Read More
SF Chok
Good Quality Of Work

Reviewed by SF Chok・Submitted 27 Oct 2020・Project completed Oct 2020・Designer Vic

We would like to express our million thanks to Vic & teams (our ID from forefront), truly glad that we met him as he understand all our needs and able to visualize what we are looking for ( chemistry like a found a long lost friend) Vic is very detailed orientated unlike other IDs that we met, he show us enough patient and listen to what we are looking for despite that we do not have any specific themes but trying to keep things simple, having Reno done during this kind of pandemic isn’t easy, we went thru up n downs during the period where Reno halt and resume, Vic always provide updates on status and keep us assure that our unit will be taken care off. Me & my husband are very bad with colors and decision making,he doesn’t mind going extra miles to help us with all the small little things, thank you for the patient with my lots and lots of what’s apps message bombard, frankly speaking I text him more that I text my husband Having a tight deadline as we failed to meet our planned move in date due to covid circuit breaker, Vic are very helpful to assist to make things happen, we are glad that we made the right decision on picking him among others! Initially before engaging ID, we have heard many stories from friends on how things turn ugly after engagement or how prices changed and nearly all my friend not recommending their ID, as a newly wed I strongly believe many of us are alike when it come to cost control, Vic are good in helping us to keep everything within our budget while still be able to achieve the result of what we wanted without having any VO! I will strongly recommend him to any others without hesitation~ quality work with reasonable and affordable price! We love the work done! It’s exactly what we wanted in our mind, Vic and teams beautifully transform our visualize into reality. If you are looking for a trustable ID, try a non obligation talk with Vic~ he might be one of the choice you never regret making :)

Read More
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Kleo
Creative and Trusted ID

Reviewed by Kleo・Submitted 27 Oct 2020・Project completed Aug 2017・Designer Damien Koh

Damien from ONE Design Werkz did an amazing job in our renovation. It is imperative that an ID takes care of all arrangements with contractors and professional in spotting defects. His creativity in aesthetics value added in achieving the look and feel that we originally planned out. Overall, it gave us peace throughout the entire renovation works.

Read More
project-upload

Interior Designer Reviews

When choosing an interior designer, we believe that doing your own research matters – and it’s the reason why we have compiled a comprehensive list of independent homeowner reviews from all over Singapore for your reference.

Our reviews are vetted and independently submitted by verified users, so you can be sure that they will help you make the right move in your renovation journey. You may refer to our Review Policy on how we manage and police the reviews.

You can also make a more informed decision by checking out these useful resources and guides:

Hiring an interior designer, contractor or architect for the very first time? Keep an eye out for these key characteristics and details before choosing to work with a design firm and/or service:

  1. Project portfolio – What type of projects has your designer completed to date? Are they a good fit for your needs?

  2. Chemistry – Is your designer a good communicator? Are your interactions pleasant?

  3. Quote – Are you comfortable with your designer’s quotation? How does it compare to similar projects?

  4. Management style – Does your designer handle his work with care? Is he or she on the ball about his/her work?

  5. Reviews and references – What do other clients and/or homeowners say about your chosen designer?