Albedo Design

Albedo Design

5 Little Road, #02-01, Cemtex Industrial Building, Singapore 536983

Seasons Park
Condo・87m²・Contemporary
The Minton
Condo・74m²・Contemporary
Heritage View
Condo・108m²・Contemporary
View all24 Projects
The Minton
Condo・74m²・Contemporary
Heritage View
Condo・108m²・Contemporary
Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1
HDB・85m²・Minimalist・Scandinavian
Chai Chee Avenue
HDB・149m²・Contemporary・Scandinavian
Changi Road
Commercial・82m²・Contemporary
Cecil Street
Commercial・Contemporary・Industrial
Punggol Drive
HDB・149m²・Contemporary
Hillview Residence
Condo・118m²・Contemporary
Valley Park
Condo・121m²・Contemporary
Dover Parkview
Condo・116m²・Scandinavian
Canberra Link
HDB・91m²・Scandinavian
View all 24 projects ›

Rating

4.4
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.3 / 5
Workmanship4.4 / 5
Project Management4.3 / 5
Design4.4 / 5
Accreditation
BCA-registered
BCA-registered
HDB-registered
HDB-registered

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB4-S$54,250.00
3-Room2-S$47,000.00
4-Room1-S$49,000.00
Condo6-S$65,166.67
3 Bedrooms6-S$65,166.67
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
J
Not Professional, Poor Quality, Outstanding rectification obligations.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jeff・Submitted 30 Jul 2021・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer ID - Melvin Woo; Mgr - Lin Lin; Site Foremen - ZhangJun

I engage this company as I have spoken with them a year before previously and thought that their pricing was reasonable (I have 3 quotes, theirs is not the lowest) and their response time was good. However, all that changed once the contract was signed and payments of 10% & 40% were paid. Renovation works not carried out to agreed specifications. Many re-works are needed due to poor workmanship and no supervision and monitoring by ID or site supervisor. Paid a couple of thousands of dollars for wall screeding, but ended up with the screeding so thin and usage of wrong material (gypsum power instead of white cement) that a light knocks to the wall will cause the paint to chipped off. This show the lack of overall experience of the company. Bathrooms wall and floor tiles had to be replaced after partially completed due to mismatch of the grouting lines from the wall tiles to the floor tiles and also the uneven finished of the tiles in general. The foremen and manager said that the grouting lines have to be wider at around 3 mm for the floor due to the non-availability of tiles size with 299 mm width anywhere in Singapore. They claim that only tile sizes with width of 297 mm are available in Singapore. They brought me to a supplier (Soon Bee Huat@Changi) and together they told me that tiles size with width of 299 mm is not available in Singapore. By then, I was already sceptical of their words and decided to find out for myself. True enough, I managed to find a supplier (Hafary@Eunos) that have the necessary tiles with width of 299 mm for use and the grout width can now be at 1 mm which definitely make the laid tiles looked much much better. This show that the company do not have the interest of their customer at heart. Poor quality of work for wall tiles with a hollow sound when knocked on it and now tiles cracking and popping up too. Overlaying the floor with vinyl tiles was a bad experience for me too. Unevenness and gaps appearing on the vinyl floor. This could be poor workmanship and inferior material recommended for use. Skirtings started popping out from the walls. I told the ID, the manager and the foreman that there are many areas that they can improve on and that they can use this as a learning opportunity to gain more experience. My advice might have fallen on deaf ears. The only saving grace is that their foreman is honest and a responsible guy. I could write on and on, on the frustration faced with this "ID" company. Engage them at your own risk...

company-logo
Response from Albedo Design

Dear Jeff,

After we investigated your allegations, we are responding to provide some facts for a clearer understanding of the whole situation:

1. Before starting any renovation works, we have confirmed all the specifications through WhatsApp, Email, or on-site. Note that there were a lot of re-works due to a change of mind after confirming the specification, and we have such evidence in WhatsApp and Email.

2. We used the correct raw materials for the wall screeding.

3. For the bathroom walls and floor tiles, you requested the size tiles with 300mm, but our supervisor had informed you that manual cutting tiles only can be found 297-299mm. You had confirmed the size and gap with our supervisor on site. After completing the tile work, you disagreed on the gaps which was already highlighted to you previously. As such, we sourced a new supplier for you – Hafary.

We hacked the tiles in progress and reinstalled the new tile size with 299mm for you without any additional cost.

1. Hafary is our supplier, which we sourced for you. Out of your interest, we even met up 2-3 times per week to settle this issue. Our suppliers can vouch for us on this.

2. Wall tiles with a hollow sound is due to the wall being an old wall. When the handover was done in October 2019, everything was in good condition.

3. Overlaying the floor with vinyl tiles is subject to the site condition and climate in Singapore, not the standard of work done

All the works carried out for your home is done according to generally and standard accepted guidelines. We have also tried our best to fulfil your requirements; such as changing the toilet window for free, changing all the kitchen cupboard doors for free; changing the painting colour for free, changing the toilet glass door for free. We have put in a lot of effort and manpower to fulfil your requirements.

We do have evidence to support our stand, hence we would appreciate if you prefer to settle the issue amicably or legally rather than to tarnish our reputation on different platforms.

Regards,

Albedo Design Pte Ltd

Read More
R&
Woodlands HDB

Reviewed by Ruby & William・Submitted 18 Feb 2021・ Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Team Albedo

Bravo! Thank you for make our dream home came true. The renovation process is smooth. The designers from Albedo Design are professional and experienced. The most important thing- there are no any hidden costs since everything listed down in the quotation. Once we sign contact, they will create a WhatsApp’s group include designer, project manager and site manager. They provide a clear timeline of the renovation work. We had received daily updates (with photos/ video) and responded all our message promptly. They always provide extra mile for their clients. Will definitely recommend to all.

Read More
NN
Happy first house renovation experience

Reviewed by Ning Ning & Seon・Submitted 3 Feb 2021・ Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Team Albedo

Due to Circuit break, our renovation has been forces to suspend. Albedo Team managed the all the issues during the period and kept to updated on the reno progress. We heard a lot of stories regarding ID company have collapsed during circuit break period. We feel incredibility lucky to have Albedo Design on our renovation journey. Highly recommended Albedo Design if you look for trustworthy ID

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
Reviews (18)
J
Not Professional, Poor Quality, Outstanding rectification obligations.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jeff・Submitted 30 Jul 2021・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer ID - Melvin Woo; Mgr - Lin Lin; Site Foremen - ZhangJun

I engage this company as I have spoken with them a year before previously and thought that their pricing was reasonable (I have 3 quotes, theirs is not the lowest) and their response time was good. However, all that changed once the contract was signed and payments of 10% & 40% were paid. Renovation works not carried out to agreed specifications. Many re-works are needed due to poor workmanship and no supervision and monitoring by ID or site supervisor. Paid a couple of thousands of dollars for wall screeding, but ended up with the screeding so thin and usage of wrong material (gypsum power instead of white cement) that a light knocks to the wall will cause the paint to chipped off. This show the lack of overall experience of the company. Bathrooms wall and floor tiles had to be replaced after partially completed due to mismatch of the grouting lines from the wall tiles to the floor tiles and also the uneven finished of the tiles in general. The foremen and manager said that the grouting lines have to be wider at around 3 mm for the floor due to the non-availability of tiles size with 299 mm width anywhere in Singapore. They claim that only tile sizes with width of 297 mm are available in Singapore. They brought me to a supplier (Soon Bee Huat@Changi) and together they told me that tiles size with width of 299 mm is not available in Singapore. By then, I was already sceptical of their words and decided to find out for myself. True enough, I managed to find a supplier (Hafary@Eunos) that have the necessary tiles with width of 299 mm for use and the grout width can now be at 1 mm which definitely make the laid tiles looked much much better. This show that the company do not have the interest of their customer at heart. Poor quality of work for wall tiles with a hollow sound when knocked on it and now tiles cracking and popping up too. Overlaying the floor with vinyl tiles was a bad experience for me too. Unevenness and gaps appearing on the vinyl floor. This could be poor workmanship and inferior material recommended for use. Skirtings started popping out from the walls. I told the ID, the manager and the foreman that there are many areas that they can improve on and that they can use this as a learning opportunity to gain more experience. My advice might have fallen on deaf ears. The only saving grace is that their foreman is honest and a responsible guy. I could write on and on, on the frustration faced with this "ID" company. Engage them at your own risk...

company-logo
Response from Albedo Design

Dear Jeff,

After we investigated your allegations, we are responding to provide some facts for a clearer understanding of the whole situation:

1. Before starting any renovation works, we have confirmed all the specifications through WhatsApp, Email, or on-site. Note that there were a lot of re-works due to a change of mind after confirming the specification, and we have such evidence in WhatsApp and Email.

2. We used the correct raw materials for the wall screeding.

3. For the bathroom walls and floor tiles, you requested the size tiles with 300mm, but our supervisor had informed you that manual cutting tiles only can be found 297-299mm. You had confirmed the size and gap with our supervisor on site. After completing the tile work, you disagreed on the gaps which was already highlighted to you previously. As such, we sourced a new supplier for you – Hafary.

We hacked the tiles in progress and reinstalled the new tile size with 299mm for you without any additional cost.

1. Hafary is our supplier, which we sourced for you. Out of your interest, we even met up 2-3 times per week to settle this issue. Our suppliers can vouch for us on this.

2. Wall tiles with a hollow sound is due to the wall being an old wall. When the handover was done in October 2019, everything was in good condition.

3. Overlaying the floor with vinyl tiles is subject to the site condition and climate in Singapore, not the standard of work done

All the works carried out for your home is done according to generally and standard accepted guidelines. We have also tried our best to fulfil your requirements; such as changing the toilet window for free, changing all the kitchen cupboard doors for free; changing the painting colour for free, changing the toilet glass door for free. We have put in a lot of effort and manpower to fulfil your requirements.

We do have evidence to support our stand, hence we would appreciate if you prefer to settle the issue amicably or legally rather than to tarnish our reputation on different platforms.

Regards,

Albedo Design Pte Ltd

Read More
R&
Woodlands HDB

Reviewed by Ruby & William・Submitted 18 Feb 2021・ Project completed Mar 2020・Designer Team Albedo

Bravo! Thank you for make our dream home came true. The renovation process is smooth. The designers from Albedo Design are professional and experienced. The most important thing- there are no any hidden costs since everything listed down in the quotation. Once we sign contact, they will create a WhatsApp’s group include designer, project manager and site manager. They provide a clear timeline of the renovation work. We had received daily updates (with photos/ video) and responded all our message promptly. They always provide extra mile for their clients. Will definitely recommend to all.

Read More
NN
Happy first house renovation experience

Reviewed by Ning Ning & Seon・Submitted 3 Feb 2021・ Project completed Jul 2020・Designer Team Albedo

Due to Circuit break, our renovation has been forces to suspend. Albedo Team managed the all the issues during the period and kept to updated on the reno progress. We heard a lot of stories regarding ID company have collapsed during circuit break period. We feel incredibility lucky to have Albedo Design on our renovation journey. Highly recommended Albedo Design if you look for trustworthy ID

Read More
J
Not Professional, Poor Quality, Outstanding rectification obligations.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Jeff・Submitted 30 Jul 2021・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer ID - Melvin Woo; Mgr - Lin Lin; Site Foremen - ZhangJun

I engage this company as I have spoken with them a year before previously and thought that their pricing was reasonable (I have 3 quotes, theirs is not the lowest) and their response time was good. However, all that changed once the contract was signed and payments of 10% & 40% were paid. Renovation works not carried out to agreed specifications. Many re-works are needed due to poor workmanship and no supervision and monitoring by ID or site supervisor. Paid a couple of thousands of dollars for wall screeding, but ended up with the screeding so thin and usage of wrong material (gypsum power instead of white cement) that a light knocks to the wall will cause the paint to chipped off. This show the lack of overall experience of the company. Bathrooms wall and floor tiles had to be replaced after partially completed due to mismatch of the grouting lines from the wall tiles to the floor tiles and also the uneven finished of the tiles in general. The foremen and manager said that the grouting lines have to be wider at around 3 mm for the floor due to the non-availability of tiles size with 299 mm width anywhere in Singapore. They claim that only tile sizes with width of 297 mm are available in Singapore. They brought me to a supplier (Soon Bee Huat@Changi) and together they told me that tiles size with width of 299 mm is not available in Singapore. By then, I was already sceptical of their words and decided to find out for myself. True enough, I managed to find a supplier (Hafary@Eunos) that have the necessary tiles with width of 299 mm for use and the grout width can now be at 1 mm which definitely make the laid tiles looked much much better. This show that the company do not have the interest of their customer at heart. Poor quality of work for wall tiles with a hollow sound when knocked on it and now tiles cracking and popping up too. Overlaying the floor with vinyl tiles was a bad experience for me too. Unevenness and gaps appearing on the vinyl floor. This could be poor workmanship and inferior material recommended for use. Skirtings started popping out from the walls. I told the ID, the manager and the foreman that there are many areas that they can improve on and that they can use this as a learning opportunity to gain more experience. My advice might have fallen on deaf ears. The only saving grace is that their foreman is honest and a responsible guy. I could write on and on, on the frustration faced with this "ID" company. Engage them at your own risk...

company-logo
Response from Albedo Design

Dear Jeff,

After we investigated your allegations, we are responding to provide some facts for a clearer understanding of the whole situation:

1. Before starting any renovation works, we have confirmed all the specifications through WhatsApp, Email, or on-site. Note that there were a lot of re-works due to a change of mind after confirming the specification, and we have such evidence in WhatsApp and Email.

2. We used the correct raw materials for the wall screeding.

3. For the bathroom walls and floor tiles, you requested the size tiles with 300mm, but our supervisor had informed you that manual cutting tiles only can be found 297-299mm. You had confirmed the size and gap with our supervisor on site. After completing the tile work, you disagreed on the gaps which was already highlighted to you previously. As such, we sourced a new supplier for you – Hafary.

We hacked the tiles in progress and reinstalled the new tile size with 299mm for you without any additional cost.

1. Hafary is our supplier, which we sourced for you. Out of your interest, we even met up 2-3 times per week to settle this issue. Our suppliers can vouch for us on this.

2. Wall tiles with a hollow sound is due to the wall being an old wall. When the handover was done in October 2019, everything was in good condition.

3. Overlaying the floor with vinyl tiles is subject to the site condition and climate in Singapore, not the standard of work done

All the works carried out for your home is done according to generally and standard accepted guidelines. We have also tried our best to fulfil your requirements; such as changing the toilet window for free, changing all the kitchen cupboard doors for free; changing the painting colour for free, changing the toilet glass door for free. We have put in a lot of effort and manpower to fulfil your requirements.

We do have evidence to support our stand, hence we would appreciate if you prefer to settle the issue amicably or legally rather than to tarnish our reputation on different platforms.

Regards,

Albedo Design Pte Ltd

Read More
View All Reviews ›
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
About Albedo Design
Albedo Design is a rapid growing Design and Renovation services and solutions provider. Established with a pool of experienced Engineers, Designers, and 3D modelers. Albedo Design offers a full range of Renovation and Design services that can be used to construct and deliver projects within budget and on time. We can help to develop your dreams to reality and their respective deliverables to best serve the needs of our clients. With the latest intelligent technology, we can integrate design and detailing services into any project and at any stage of its development.
Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Albedo Design's reviews like?

Based on 18 reviews left for Albedo Design, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.36. Read homeowners’ reviews of Albedo Design.

Where is Albedo Design's showroom?

Albedo Design has 1 showroom in Singapore. See Albedo Design's showroom address.

Is Albedo Design an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Albedo Design is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Albedo Design?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Albedo Design (in the past year) are S$54,250 for HDB and S$65,167 for Condo.
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
Style Preference
No Preference
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Albedo Design is currently unavailable to take on new projects.

View Similar Firms