Starry Homestead

Starry Homestead

18 Boon Lay Way #01-101, Tradehub 21, Singapore 609966

+ 2 more showrooms

The firm has experience in maisonette, loft units, commercial units and A&A works.
Cherelle Lim
My Biggest Nightmare.

Reviewed by Cherelle Lim・Submitted 30 Oct 2019・ Project completed Oct 2019・Designer Amy

Additional woes after moving in (updated on 23 August 2020) I've already written a review below and this is on top of what I had experienced during move in. I've moved in for only more than half a year, and the laminate on kitchen cabinet is already coming off. The lighting in my master dropped off. And, I got a second opinion about the backsplash where I was charged 950 but they did not even bother to hack off the old tiles and just do an ugly overlay job... basically, it is not even something acceptable in this industry and the ID also, probably on purpose, asked the worker to split the tiles into two pieces before overlaying behind my tap. Cause how else would a one large piece tiles became two? [4th edit - Formaldehyde in unhealthy levels found in carpentry] Writing this more 3 months after move in. I continued to experience burn sensation in my eyes so I got a formaldehyde sensor. Indeed, the amount of just a small drawer was at unhealthy level - DOUBLE the avg amount accepted by Euro standard. I just want to add this update to caution fellow home owners to be selective with their reno company and ask abt this because it is really very bad for your health. [3rd edit - 1 month plus after move in] I am editing this once again and this time, I will not mince my words. It started off with a bad experience due to being led into signing LOI with low prices but when it was time to sign the final quotation a day before work starts, I was told the quotation was "wrongly quoted". Till now, more than a month after I moved in I continued to be plaque by bad workmanship. Today, I found another chip which led me to find out that they did not use sealant to seal the gaps between the two laminates that joint the kitchen cabinets just because it cannot be seen. Any experienced contractors will know to use sealants to seal that up due to insect and moisture (just Google this and also checked with friends who did kitchen reno recently) and I just decided I've been too kind to adjust my review earlier just because the project manager asked me to help them. USE STARRY HOMESTEAD AT YOUR OWN RISK... [2nd edit] They've made good of all the issues and everything looks fine now (about a week after moving in). Emily, Rex's manager even came by and apologise for the issues and further inspect to make sure very thing is fine. I really appreciate all the efforts here and for this, I've improved my ratings slightly. :) [Edited] Rex, the manager stepped in today and basically overtake the entire project. Just within one day, he turned around most of the issues I brought up below. Thank you Rex and I really appreciate all the hard work on your part. I see you doing some of touch ups yourself and I am truly amazed by what you were able to achieve just in 1 day to turn around the bad situation. For Rex, I am rating 5 stars for professionalism and project management. --------------------------------------- Today is my moving in day and below is what happened supported with photos. - base of kitchen drawers were all made of substandard plywood (not the same thickness as the sides and shelves). I applied some pressure and it Caved in. - I chose Jennings gloss white lamitech and was even given a sample of it. They applied lamitak white gloss (which is an off white color and not the pure white I chose) and installed all of it (ID did not even flag). The change resulted in a 1 week delay to my project. - found more than 10 knocks and chips on the surface combined just in my kitchen - ID bait you to sign on the contract with a very good promising price and a day before we sign off the final quotation, I was told of price increases because "sorry I made a mistake". I paid 26k to do just kitchen, a platform bed, L box and this was after I escalated to their manager. They wanted to charge almost 29k initially. - really bad finishing E. G I cut my finger when I run it by the edge if the platform bed. The joint lines in my kitchen cabinets are nearly 2mm wide. - we already shown them a photo of a lego display cabinet we wanted to do since day 1. Fairly simple with glass doors and shelves. On the week before the carpentry work is supposed to begin, they told us there will be price increase for the glass shelves (185/piece). We accepted as we don't want to drag our timeline further. One day before they were to start carpentry work for the display cabinet, they say because the glass shelves do not have support, they need to add tracks which is another $265. - they quoted for full height mirror and mirror on 3D render is without any joint lines. Even stated on their own hand writing on the render that it will be full height, but the day before they were supposed to install, they told me there will be joint lines and that they proposed to do 4 pieces of mirror pieced together. I did not accept and had to continue to push on before we finally agreed to 2 piece which still fits within the lift. Till today, my mirror is still not up. Not to mention many other problems like uneven patch work on walls and ceiling that they charged for, holes on the sides of downlight, paint on door frame wasn't painted double coat and some parts like behind the hinge wasn't painted at all. And now, after 1 month of takeover of unit, my kitchen is missing cabinet doors, broken drawers, missing quartz, uneven walls and ceiling require massive replaster job...

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Starry Homestead
Starry Homestead is an innovative interior design firm founded in Singapore. With experience spanning across residential projects, retail shops and business offices. Their dedicated professional design team pays attention to every client’s needs and preferences, optimising spatial design and functionality in a space. West Showroom - Head Office: 18 Boon Lay Way #01-101, Tradehub 21, Singapore 609966 East Showroom: 140 Paya Lebar Road #01-01, AZ@Paya Lebar, Singapore 409015 Central Showroom: 511 Balestier Road, Singapore 329849
Read More
View all 223 projects ›

Rating

4.7
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.8 / 5
Workmanship4.6 / 5
Project Management4.7 / 5
Design4.7 / 5
Qanvast Awards
Refers to the number of times this firm's project photos were saved to homeowners' boards.
Photo Saves
35,000 Saves
Based on homeowners’ reviews left on Qanvast.
5-star Reviews
130 Reviews
Accreditation
BCA-registered
BCA-registered
HDB-registered
HDB-registered
CaseTrust
CaseTrust
BCA Licensed General Builder
BCA Licensed General Builder

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB14S$53,400.00S$64,000.00
3-Room3S$44,666.67-
4-Room6S$51,250.00S$68,500.00
5-Room5S$65,000.00S$59,500.00
Condo7-S$88,285.71
3 Bedrooms7-S$88,285.71
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
January Sun
High Responsible & Very Responsive ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by January Sun・Submitted 18 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Yong Jing

We’ve met about 10 IDs before we decided to go with Yong Jing (YJ) from Starry Homestead. There are those really experienced senior IDs and even one of them was recommended by a friend. However, after meeting all of them, YJ gave us the best vibe due to his personality and attitude. We were not able to find too much reviews about YJ prior to that but we just trust our guts and would really want to see what this young ID could help with our resale HDB overhaul. We know reno journey would definitely have lots of hiccups and disagreements, hence when deciding on the ID, we want someone whom we can have good discussions with, and is able to take up responsibility and solve problems. YJ has proven that we have found the best ID we can ever asked for. Since the very beginning, YJ has been proactively setting up meetings, timelines, and updating us on the progress. He’s really responsive even during late nights and willingly to have late night calls to get things sorted out for us. We also like his “kiasu-ness” that he booked in the contractors for us ASAP and we managed to move in within 3 months after reno started. Of course there were some hiccups throughout the process but YJ always take the initiative to inform us about it and did his best to coordinate and get them sorted. We know fingers pointing and blaming each other is really not gonna make things work and glad that YJ is on the same page with us. I’d have to compliment YJ for his high EQ management. We’ve never seen him being impatient at any point of time. Even after we’ve moved in, YJ still get his contractors to come up for some minor touch ups, to ensure that we are satisfied and comfortable with our new house. We have other friends who are undergoing renovations too with other firms but after comparing to their experiences, we are really happy and satisfied with Yong Jing from Starry Homestead. Thank you for making our home sweet home comes true.

Read More
Cy
A Job Well Done

Reviewed by Charlen yap・Submitted 12 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Yong Jing

Our original plan was to check out at least 5 ID renovation company before deciding on the ONE to design and renovate our new house. Starry Homestead was our first stop and guess what? We decided on the spot to engage Starry Homestead simply because of Yong Jing. He won us over with his warm, genius personality and professionalism. We are also impress by his passion and dedication. He constantly provide us with regular update of on the renovation progress even after office hours and weekends. Even due to the tight schedule we have given him, Yong Jing manage to complete it. Even after completion and hand over our flat to us, he is still willing to assist us. We are thankful and grateful to have meet Yong Jing. A huge Thank You to Yong Jing, for giving us his best.

Read More
Felix Tsui
Professional Job

Reviewed by Felix Tsui・Submitted 8 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Si Ming

Very satisfied with the work done with my designer Si Ming. Work started in January for a 2-room flat with a clean minimalist concept. The whole designing process was meticulous and he addressed many minute details and issues with me. Various changes in ideas during the renovation phase were also accommodated where possible. Overall he is designer who is very knowledgeable in his field of work and would be a great choice for any would be homeowners looking for a interior designer.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
Reviews (220)
January Sun
High Responsible & Very Responsive ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by January Sun・Submitted 18 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Yong Jing

We’ve met about 10 IDs before we decided to go with Yong Jing (YJ) from Starry Homestead. There are those really experienced senior IDs and even one of them was recommended by a friend. However, after meeting all of them, YJ gave us the best vibe due to his personality and attitude. We were not able to find too much reviews about YJ prior to that but we just trust our guts and would really want to see what this young ID could help with our resale HDB overhaul. We know reno journey would definitely have lots of hiccups and disagreements, hence when deciding on the ID, we want someone whom we can have good discussions with, and is able to take up responsibility and solve problems. YJ has proven that we have found the best ID we can ever asked for. Since the very beginning, YJ has been proactively setting up meetings, timelines, and updating us on the progress. He’s really responsive even during late nights and willingly to have late night calls to get things sorted out for us. We also like his “kiasu-ness” that he booked in the contractors for us ASAP and we managed to move in within 3 months after reno started. Of course there were some hiccups throughout the process but YJ always take the initiative to inform us about it and did his best to coordinate and get them sorted. We know fingers pointing and blaming each other is really not gonna make things work and glad that YJ is on the same page with us. I’d have to compliment YJ for his high EQ management. We’ve never seen him being impatient at any point of time. Even after we’ve moved in, YJ still get his contractors to come up for some minor touch ups, to ensure that we are satisfied and comfortable with our new house. We have other friends who are undergoing renovations too with other firms but after comparing to their experiences, we are really happy and satisfied with Yong Jing from Starry Homestead. Thank you for making our home sweet home comes true.

Read More
Cy
A Job Well Done

Reviewed by Charlen yap・Submitted 12 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Yong Jing

Our original plan was to check out at least 5 ID renovation company before deciding on the ONE to design and renovate our new house. Starry Homestead was our first stop and guess what? We decided on the spot to engage Starry Homestead simply because of Yong Jing. He won us over with his warm, genius personality and professionalism. We are also impress by his passion and dedication. He constantly provide us with regular update of on the renovation progress even after office hours and weekends. Even due to the tight schedule we have given him, Yong Jing manage to complete it. Even after completion and hand over our flat to us, he is still willing to assist us. We are thankful and grateful to have meet Yong Jing. A huge Thank You to Yong Jing, for giving us his best.

Read More
Felix Tsui
Professional Job

Reviewed by Felix Tsui・Submitted 8 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Si Ming

Very satisfied with the work done with my designer Si Ming. Work started in January for a 2-room flat with a clean minimalist concept. The whole designing process was meticulous and he addressed many minute details and issues with me. Various changes in ideas during the renovation phase were also accommodated where possible. Overall he is designer who is very knowledgeable in his field of work and would be a great choice for any would be homeowners looking for a interior designer.

Read More
January Sun
High Responsible & Very Responsive ID
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by January Sun・Submitted 18 Jun 2022・ Project completed Jun 2022・Designer Yong Jing

We’ve met about 10 IDs before we decided to go with Yong Jing (YJ) from Starry Homestead. There are those really experienced senior IDs and even one of them was recommended by a friend. However, after meeting all of them, YJ gave us the best vibe due to his personality and attitude. We were not able to find too much reviews about YJ prior to that but we just trust our guts and would really want to see what this young ID could help with our resale HDB overhaul. We know reno journey would definitely have lots of hiccups and disagreements, hence when deciding on the ID, we want someone whom we can have good discussions with, and is able to take up responsibility and solve problems. YJ has proven that we have found the best ID we can ever asked for. Since the very beginning, YJ has been proactively setting up meetings, timelines, and updating us on the progress. He’s really responsive even during late nights and willingly to have late night calls to get things sorted out for us. We also like his “kiasu-ness” that he booked in the contractors for us ASAP and we managed to move in within 3 months after reno started. Of course there were some hiccups throughout the process but YJ always take the initiative to inform us about it and did his best to coordinate and get them sorted. We know fingers pointing and blaming each other is really not gonna make things work and glad that YJ is on the same page with us. I’d have to compliment YJ for his high EQ management. We’ve never seen him being impatient at any point of time. Even after we’ve moved in, YJ still get his contractors to come up for some minor touch ups, to ensure that we are satisfied and comfortable with our new house. We have other friends who are undergoing renovations too with other firms but after comparing to their experiences, we are really happy and satisfied with Yong Jing from Starry Homestead. Thank you for making our home sweet home comes true.

Read More
View All Reviews ›
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Starry Homestead's reviews like?

Based on 220 reviews left for Starry Homestead, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.70. Read homeowners’ reviews of Starry Homestead.

Where is Starry Homestead's showroom?

Starry Homestead has 3 showrooms in Singapore. See all of Starry Homestead's showroom addresses.

Is Starry Homestead an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Yes, Starry Homestead is an HDB-registered firm and is under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme. For more information, refer to this page on the Casetrust accreditation scheme.

Is Starry Homestead popular among homeowners?

100 homeowners have recently enquired with Starry Homestead for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Starry Homestead.

Is Starry Homestead a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Starry Homestead was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2016 to 2022.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Starry Homestead?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Starry Homestead (in the past year) are S$56,429 for HDB and S$88,286 for Condo.
100 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
Style Preference
No Preference
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$50,000.