Fineline Design

Fineline Design

441 Balestier Road #02-01 Leong Hin Building Singapore 329820

The firm has experience in maisonette and loft units and A&A works. The firm also has an in-house carpentry team, and handles interior styling services.
C
A Great & Happy Experience
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Catherine・Submitted 22 Dec 2020・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Raymond Ang

It was during the circuit breaker period that I started scouting for an ID company to renovate my flat. I had zoom meetings with several IDs but decided to go with Raymond Ang from Fineline Atelier Pte Ltd as he came across as sincere, not pushy and I felt comfortable discussing with him on my reno requirements. There were some hiccups before the commencement of the project and Raymond went the extra mile to gather information from the various authorities to enable the project to kick-start successfully. Raymond was very patient to entertain the umpteen times on the changes/requests I made along the way. He was able to provide his professional inputs to my suggestions and counter-proposed, whenever necessary, while working within my budget. Leveraging on his contacts, Raymond was able to recommend suppliers to the essential items which I required for my renovated house. He even voluntarily collected the items for me, knowing my busy schedule.  Raymond never fails to deliver.  He put in extra efforts to see that the job was done properly, even though it meant working after office hours and on weekends. The renovation was completed within the planned time frame. Raymond was prompt in communication and constantly kept me updated on the progress of our renovation.  He also well-managed the rectification of minor defects after we moved in, ensuring that they were done at our convenience. My family is very happy with the renovated house. Thank you, Raymond for helping to realise our dream home. I will not hesitate to recommend Raymond Ang to my relatives and/or friends should they need any renovation works.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Fineline Design
With its decade long experience in design and project management, Fineline Design Pte Ltd is inspired and motivated to provide their clients with comprehensive turn key interior fit-out services for residential, commercial and private housing re-construction projects in Singapore. West Branch: 20 Boon Lay Way #01-169 Tradehub 21 Singapore 609967 North-East Branch: 7030 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5 #09-54 Northstar@AMK Singapore 569880 Head Office: 441 Balestier Road #02-01 Leong Hin Building Singapore 329802
Read More
View all 76 projects ›

Rating

4.3
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.5 / 5
Workmanship4.2 / 5
Project Management4.2 / 5
Design4.3 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB3S$62,000.00S$59,500.00
4-Room1-S$37,000.00
5-Room2S$62,000.00S$82,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
OJ
Satisfied Overall But With Some Problems Along The Way
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ow Jie Yu・Submitted 14 Apr 2021・Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Minyi

This was our first time doing a reno and we were looking to do up our master bedroom. We talked with a few IDs and chose Minyi from Fineline Design in the end because Minyi was most forthcoming and enthusiastic to talk to us about our project. Overall, the result was good, and we were satisfied with the outcome. We appreciate Minyi's work in helping us achieve our desired room to return to everyday. Workmanship is also overall quite good. However, we would like to review some of the not-so-good points during the design and reno process. 1) we engaged Minyi in Sep 2020 without a hard deadline to finish the project. However, we definitely did not expect it to drag beyond 4 to 5 months as we only had to reno one room (the project was finally done in early Feb 2021). The main issue was that the 3D drawings were done by a separate, dedicated team and not by Minyi. And every iteration takes 2 weeks to be done because there was always a 'queue' to get our drawings done. After waiting 2 weeks for the drawing, and if there is anything we wanted to amend, we would need to wait another 2 weeks for the drawing to be amended. Just by going through 4 or 5 iterations of 3D drawings alone, we have already spent 2 to 3 months. If you are a beginner in the area of ID and reno, and depend highly on 3D drawings to give you a feel of your desired design, this lead time for multiple iterations is definitely something you need to take into consideration. In the end, we had to push through to finalize the designs with Minyi so that she could help to quickly schedule the works, and we eventually managed to complete the reno before CNY in early Feb 2021. 2) As beginners to the ID and reno scene, we wanted to engage an ID who could propose and demonstrate designs based on the rough ideas that we give. However, we often find Minyi asking us to give specific design ideas instead. And partially because of the issue with 3D drawing, we couldn't get much inspirations / illustration from Minyi. 3) Again, as beginners to the reno scene, we started asking for quotations early on and focused more on which ID seemed to fit our design ideas best. We didn't pay much attention to the quoted prices. Anyway, the designs at this stage were still very preliminary and were bound to have many changes. Because we had already engaged Fineline Design with contract, when designs were finalized and we could finally talk prices more realistically, we did not have any bargaining power anymore. In the end, Minyi did help us secure some goodwill discounts. But we felt like Minyi/Fineline could have done more to give us better prices even though we had already signed the contract. This is after scrutinizing the unit prices and comparing against guideline prices on websites like qanvast. If you are looking to reno and are already asking for quotations, even though your design ideas are still very rough and preliminary, you might want to scrutinize the costing early on. To reiterate, by no means are we saying we had a bad reno experience with Minyi/Fineline. We are just highlighting a few problems that we encountered, for sharing with all beginners to the reno scene. Overall, Minyi did help us in achieving our desired bedroom design, and accommodating our requests. Albeit with some rough moments here and there when it came to talking about prices and work schedule.

Read More
Daniel Lim
A match made in heaven.
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Daniel Lim・Submitted 14 Apr 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Roger Sim

5 years prior, I helped a friend who used qanvast to meet and interview designers. I’m a film production designer by profession so I know a thing or 2 about design and contractors, timelines and stuff. I also know that the most important thing above all, is chemistry. 5 years back I helped my friend comb through 9 different design firms and we settled with Roger from Fineline. It was a simple decision, really. And thus, I engaged Roger again for my own home renovation project recently. Roger is sincere, genuine, pragmatic, realistic, doesn’t oversell and doesn’t try too hard to impress. Why are these important qualities, you might ask? As a designer and art director myself, I often meet young designers who “over-design”, try to put too many concept or ideas and try to use their clients to make a showcase of themselves and all the fanciful ideas that they see in foreign publications and just dying to try out on their next project. Often, these designers are eager to make a portfolio of their client’s home and forget that they are designing to meet the needs of their clients’ rather than showcase themselves. Roger is anything but a young designer. His experience shows from the moment he presents an initial quotation. The amount of detail and level of understanding of my vision showed clearly because he factored in all the minor detailed costings that were casually omitted by other IDs who would later add in to the additional costs as variation order. Nobody likes to get surprised by the final bill, I definitely appreciate Roger’s upfront and true quotation. For specific materials that I chose that cost beyond the allocated costing of the quotation, he would be there to remind me and to suggest alternatives to me so that I could stay within budget, but eventually still let me have the final say. Being in the design field myself, I don’t particularly appreciate that my work hours are odd and people generally text and ask for things at the weirdest hours; so I try not to do that to Roger but sometimes inspiration strikes at the strangest times and you just wanna say it before you forget. Roger always surprises me with his responsiveness even though I insisted that he can reply only when convenient. Why do I call this a match made in heaven? Quite simply, I’m the one with an overall vision and Roger did an amazing job of complimenting me and filling in all the tiniest nitty-gritty details to conceal all the unsightly piping, trunking and detailings and false wall etc. Most of which I would never have spared a moment of thought to. The thing that I’m most impressed with him is his dedication and uncompromising commitment. I built a feature storage wall that needed special hinges to work, but those hinges did not allow for soft closing... I was willing to let it go and settle with no soft closing but he insisted on experimenting with certain techniques just to give me a soft closing feature wall and more importantly, suceeded. He delivered beyond my expectation and the carpentry was top-notch. That is not to say that everything was all smooth and perfect all the time, of course there were times when things were miscalculated and errors occured, but Roger was never afraid to own the error and rectify them in a timely and responsible manner. That’s why I dare say that this renovation experience was one that’s a match made in heaven.

Read More
Mawi Rahim
Carpentry Works
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mawi Rahim・Submitted 13 Apr 2021・Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Addy & Steve

A good team of designers who carefully pay attention to details thoroughout the job. Even though I am still staying in the house when renovation works is going on, they managed to carefully coordinate the job thus protecting other household items and good housekeeping after every job. Changes/Modifications that were suggested was fullfilled, even though job was halfway started. Thank you Fineline Design.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Fineline Design's reviews like?

Based on 115 reviews left for Fineline Design, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.30. Read homeowners’ reviews of Fineline Design.

Where is Fineline Design's showroom?

Fineline Design has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in Central, North-East and West. See all of Fineline Design's showroom addresses.

Is Fineline Design an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Yes, Fineline Design is an HDB-registered firm and is under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme. For more information, refer to this page on the Casetrust accreditation scheme.

Is Fineline Design popular among homeowners?

6 homeowners have recently enquired with Fineline Design for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Fineline Design.

Is Fineline Design a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Fineline Design was accredited the Supertrust badge in 2017, 2018, 2020 and 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Fineline Design?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Fineline Design (in the past year) is S$60,333 for HDB.
6 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$20,000.
Fineline Design is currently unavailable to take on new projects.

View Similar Firms