Habit

Habit

23 Kampong Bahru Road #03-01 Singapore 169349

AS
A Breath of Fresh Air!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Alvin Soh・Submitted 18 Jun 2019・Project completed Nov 2018・Designer Li Yanling and Denise Chng

Background My wife and I are a young'ish couple in our thirties who are quite different in our tastes and preferences when it comes home decor. When we bought our place at Keppel Bay, we both had fairly specific ideas that we wanted for our home and knew that it was crucial to find a designer that could not only find a style that we both liked but also to let our individualism stand out without being clashing. We met up with many different IDs and every one of them proposed similar cookie cutter designs that honestly did not differ much with each other, and after more than 5 different meetings, we hadn't met anyone that we were remotely impressed with. Why Habit After our initial meeting, Habit took a while longer to get back to us, but when they did, it was definitely worth the wait - they presented us with THREE completely different proposals and walked us through the options in detail, pointing out at every turn why they decided to make a particular design choice usually referencing a small comment I made during our initial meeting. Needless to say, we were VERY impressed by their attention to detail and creativity that was so evident in just their first draft of proposals. While they definitely weren't the cheapest option, the quality and obvious pride they take in their work was more than enough to convince us to engage them, and boy were we glad we did! Experience As we had some rather complicated requests, the entire renovation project from planning to completion took longer than we had initially expected but we were delighted with the responsiveness and level of communication we had with Habit. They are a small outfit and had quite a few concurrent jobs but at no point in time did we ever feel that they were too busy for us – every question we had was answered promptly, every concern discussed openly and every doubt addressed in detail. When we wanted to make changes, not only were Habit receptive of our suggestions, they encouraged us to completely be ourselves and we genuinely felt that their end goal was to just build OUR dream home, regardless of the extra work or complications such changes might involve. Special mention must go to the quality of their work. As Habit uses only contractors that they have worked with for many years, the workmanship and service is impeccable. In fact, the only faults that were found after handover was discovered by them and they immediately arranged for touch ups. Throughout the whole process, we were very appreciative of how Habit handled our expectations – not only did they deliver everything they promised but perhaps more importantly, they were not afraid to be upfront with us when we had unrealistic requests. This was especially evident in their budgeting and timeline projection – the final amount and handover date was almost EXACTLY as initially projected! Afterthoughts Looking back, there is frankly very little more we could have asked for. Habit’s high level of professionalism, limitless creativity guided by years of experience honing their craft and shaped by the bubbling chemistry between the superb team of Yanling and Denise and their protégé Daniel resulted in a home that my wife and I are extremely proud of. At the end of this wonderful journey, we are extremely happy to have had the joy of working with them and also proud to call them our friends. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Habit
A design & build workshop
Read More
View all 55 projects ›

Rating

4.7
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.7 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.7 / 5
Design4.7 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB4S$ 90,000.00S$ 121,666.67
5-Room4S$ 90,000.00S$ 121,666.67
Condo6S$ 95,000.00S$ 144,000.00
1 Bedroom1-S$ 70,000.00
3 Bedrooms3S$ 95,000.00S$ 217,500.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
M
First Rate Habit

Reviewed by Michael・Submitted 6 Jan 2021・Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Denise, Daniel & Yan Ling

When we were looking for an ID firm, we didn’t feel the need to approach more than one for two reasons. First, among the many design portfolios here, Habit made the biggest impression on us. Stylistically, we found their work to consistently reflect a contemporary and seamless refined look. Attitudinally, we were attracted because many of their projects had what I’d call a bit of a swagger about them. Not the showroom or pretentious kind but the understated, elusive kind with a touch of unpredictability. Attention to detailing - another key requirement for us - was also pretty evident in their own office setup. Second, we took the time to do our homework before embarking on our project - an important step in the process because it gave clarity to our brief and kind of ID we wanted. We thought about our previous homes, what we liked, didn’t, needed, scoured Pinterest and even made a mood-board of the look and feel we wanted for our new home. All that was then left was to deep-dive into the design portfolios here in Qanvast to find the closest ID match. So. There wasn’t a need to waste time approaching several ID firms or worse, mindlessly make a bunch of them put up proposals like a GE Biz tender. Worst way to engage creatives. The Habit team may have been surprised that we signed them up right after our first meeting but we weren’t, because their portfolio, attitude, personalities and enthusiasm with the brief were bang on target for us. In the weeks later, we were - pleasantly - bombarded with design ideas and layouts, followed by detailed plans for hacking, electricals, lighting, woodworking and what-not. We found the team to be always accessible and diligent in their management of the project. Yan Ling was the project gatekeeper, Denise the creative lead, Daniel the draughtsman and minder rolled into one, and Lena the support. They were constantly on the case, passionately ideas-driven, made sure that everything was on track, and paid close attention to the detailing work that evolved through the project. I recall a meeting in which Denise and Daniel debated a good 30 minutes about the ideal placement of a switch plate on our window ledge and another in which they both kept revising the design for one of the bathrooms until they were themselves satisfied that it was original and good enough to pass muster! Denise has a great and fussy eye for ideas (and loves matt black), Daniel is a passionate stickler for getting the details right, and Yan Ling offers a cool check-and-balance design head while also having an eye for super nice furniture. If you should end up with them as your ID, give them room to express their creativity and unpredictability and trust them. You’ll be pleasantly surprised how good they really are. Their commitment and professionalism were top class and we would not hesitate to use them again in the future. First-rate quality of ideas and work. Highly recommended.

Read More
JY
Newton 18

Reviewed by Jonathan Yeo・Submitted 26 Dec 2020・Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena

Habit has designed a timeless home for our family incorporating function, design and beauty all on point! Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena were able to ask us all the right questions to discover our decorating style & needs, integrating with their expertise and bring the concept to life. After deciding and agreement upon the theme and design of the home, selection of down lights, accent lights and bathroom fittings were shortlisted based on the overall design of the home. We like Habit’s artistic ability to develop practical designs that looks great but yet also aesthetically pleasing and importantly has a style that lasts through the years We had a fuss free renovation experience with a superb post-handover service. The Habit Team’s follow up is exceptional and any queries or rectifications were promptly dealt with.

Read More
YS
Our designers, our 'plumbers', our friends.....
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Yim Swee Yeng・Submitted 24 Dec 2020・Project completed Aug 2020・Designer Denise, Yanling, Daniel & Lena

"What's meant to be, will always find a way....." and so it was for our engagement with the Habit team. Despite having other "tried and tested" recommendations, we went ahead with Denise & Yanling, whose project of transforming an old Tiong Bahru shophouse into a chic, modern home captivated our hearts. Our new home was an apartment in a 30+ year old development. The unit had been, for as long as anyone could remember, tenanted, with much of the original fixtures in tact. It would be a major overhaul and we needed a team that would be able to manage a lot more than the aesthetics.... The Tiong Bahru project, hence resonated well though it was still very much a leap of faith for us to sign with the team who was unknown to us. And of course, we never looked back! Starting from the conceptual floor plans to the detailed electrical drawings (with big thanks to 'OC' Daniel), the team was meticulous and creative, never failing to have solutions to our issues, always adding that extra innovative touch..... (My dream dry kitchen with the extra long island ala MBS cantilever with circular support never fails to awe our guests!) Everything that was put in, had a raison d'être - not just for aesthetics but always had a practical reason (like how the steps to the living area became useful storage spaces!). There were a million decisions to make but the recommendations and advice of the team made it so much easier. Our renovation was unfortunately delayed by the circuit breaker - apartment was left empty and enclosed for 2 months and when we came back, we found a number of issues arising from the trapped humidity - nails in the cupboards rusted and there was warping in the panelling... all our issues were always quickly and effectively resolved. Always responsive and helpful, we realised after a while that we should actually remove their numbers from our speed dial! Big shout out to Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena! It was almost a 10 month long journey (due to no fault of anyone but COVID19) with an amazing outcome. Along the way, we also found a few good friends who made the "trip" particularly pleasant and enjoyable.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Habit's reviews like?

Based on 45 reviews left for Habit, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.73. Read homeowners’ reviews of Habit.

Where is Habit's showroom?

Habit has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in Central. See all of Habit's showroom addresses.

Is Habit an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Habit is currently not an HDB-registered firm. They do however work with sub-contractors licensed by HDB. You may want to check with the interior firm for more information.

It is also not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Habit popular among homeowners?

54 homeowners have recently enquired with Habit for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Habit.

Is Habit a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Habit was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2016 to 2019.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Habit?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Habit (in the past year) are S$113,750 for HDB and S$135,833 for Condo.
54 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$50,000.
Why Qanvast