PHD Posh Home Design

PHD Posh Home Design

1 Queensway Queensway Shopping Centre #01-01 Singapore 149053

Dora Chan
Good work overall but terrible project management & communication

Reviewed by Dora Chan・Submitted 4 May 2019・Project completed Mar 2019・Designer Brian Ng

We were looking for an ID for kitchen renovation, installation of toilet accessories and whole house painting of our 37-year-old 3-room flat. After sourcing and speaking to 2 IDs between 1-31 Dec 2018, we decided on PHD as their design was better and more cost competitive, and could complete within 3 weeks. The renovation cost $11.4k in total. We used our own electrician for the renovation (only for creation of new powerpoints in kitchen, rooms, hall. We signed the contract on 1 Jan 2019. We finalized the design on 14 Jan 2019 and asked when the work can start. To our disappointment, our ID Dason told us that all of PHD's contractors were wrapping up their projects and are only willing to start earliest on 14 Feb 2019 after Chinese New Year. As we already signed the contract, we had no choice but to wait for 1 month. On 1 Feb 2019, I received a call from Dason and was informed that he was leaving PHD and that he will be handing over our project to another ID from PHD, Brian. He assured me that he would do a proper handover of all the details and points to note, to Brian. Long story short, many problems occurred when Brian took over: - I wanted to go through the quote when Brian on the first day of renovation (14 Feb) to ensure he is sure of all the project details however he kept saying "Yes yes I already know" - giving the impression that he was already aware of everything - We arranged to use a numerical padlock to lock the gate and agreed on a password but we found out later that Brian had locked it with another password without informing us. Only upon prompting did he tell us the password - We had informed Brian to help us receive the delivery of stove, oven, hood, sink, heater on 18 Feb between 11am-2pm, which he agreed to. We later found out that Brian was not there to receive it until 12pm as we received multiple calls from the delivery men - On 21 Feb (Day 7 of renovation), Brian told us that our 2 toilet doors are actually larger than standard size so there will be an additional charge of $70. It is very unprofessional for PHD to request more money for the services we have contractually agreed on in the quotation. It is expected that PHD has taken the required measurements before giving customers the quotation. - Throughout the renovation, there was no update from Brian on the progress of the renovation works until we prompted /asked. - There was very little proactive communication from Brian's side on when we should bring down our items (e.g. ledge) for him to install. This resulted in some misalignment in fixture dates. - During handover, we found out that the water outlet for the washing machine was done on the right side whereas our washing machine's hose was on the left. As a result the hose was too short to connect to the water outlet. When we asked why was this not done properly, Brian accused us of not informing him that our washing machine was not a typical washing machine. The washing machine was in the house since the first day of the renovation - as an ID professional we would expect Brian to be aware of this without us having to highlight it to him. Brian later agreed to replace our washing machine hose for a longer one. - The workers had also snipped the washing machine's electrical wire out of mischief. Brian agreed to replace it. - Upon handover, the hood was not fixed up when we had told Dason that we want the hood to be fixed up- this should be common sense for all kitchen renovation jobs. - During the installation of water heater, the plumbers did not complete the trunking and left the wires exposed. This was appalling as it would be very dangerous for one to bathe with exposed wires. When highlighted to Brian, he said this should be done by our electrician. After much negotiation, Brian asked us to pay another $120+GST to install the hood, mend the water heater and install 2 ledges. We were very frustrated because this should have been in the original quote. However, to prevent further delay to the project, we accepted and paid the $120+gst. In summary, the work was overall done well but there was a lot of room for improvement in the project management, communication and overall customer service. SERVICE RECOVERY UPDATE: After reading my review, Jayson responded and refunded us the $120+GST. Thank you Jayson for the nice service recovery. At least the owner is sincere about customer service!

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
company-logo
Response from PHD Posh Home Design

Dear Dora

I am Jayson the owner of PHD Posh Home Design Pte Ltd.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience and any inconvenienced caused to you. I have spoken to my staff and have acknowledged the situation. My company goal is to always maintain 99% negative review free which we have done so for the past years. Once I read this review, I have tried reaching out to you but to no avail. If you dun mind , kindly call me at 98196893 or email me at Jayson@phdpodhhomedesign.com.sg so I can try resolve these issues to your satisfaction. I look forward to resolve these issues soon.

Thank you!

My sincere apologies and best regards

Jayson See

Hide
About PHD Posh Home Design
Founded by Jayson and Junee, we set out with a mission to design responsible, context driven works that create a sense of place for both the objects they contain and the people that experience them.
Read More
View all 15 projects ›

Rating

4.7
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.8 / 5
Workmanship4.6 / 5
Project Management4.7 / 5
Design4.6 / 5
Accreditation

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB2S$ 57,500.00-
5-Room2S$ 57,500.00-
Condo2-S$ 125,000.00
3 Bedrooms2-S$ 125,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Hidayat Selamat
Great Team To Work With

Reviewed by Hidayat Selamat・Submitted 21 Feb 2021・Project completed Feb 2021・Designer Johnny

Being first time home owners, we were unsure of what to look out for in an ID and the type of feasible designs that will suit our budget. After meeting 7 IDs, we decided on PHD. They offered us a good deal, and the team understood what we envisioned our dream home to look like. Throughout the planning stage, they were on the ball to respond to our queries and doubts. During the renovation process, it was fuss-free. Communication between the team was clear and concise. Finally, the handover date came and my wife and I are truly pleased with the outcome. Our dream home was turned into reality! Thank you PHD team for the pleasant experience and turning our unit into our beautiful home!

Read More
Chuan Ng
PHD Posh Home Design Save the Day

Reviewed by Chuan Ng・Submitted 28 Jan 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer NA

PHD Posh Home Design is my builder for my lovely Home. My Project Manager, at PHD Posh Home Design is responsive and responsible. His team of sub-con delivers Good workmanship. Our PM managed timeline well and very professional when dealing with both Client/Designer. We communicated well throughout the project so that we can keep with the timeline. At times, he worked tirelessly and take extra effort to co-ordinate with all sub-cons during the pandemic. We were happy to work with the responsible PM to transform an old flat to our lovely home, and not just another house project. Will recommend PHD Posh Home Design to our friends who are interested to renovate their home.

Read More
JP
Post Reno Review

Reviewed by Jeremia Patrick wardana・Submitted 26 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Johnny

We found PHD Posh Home Design through Qanvast recommendation. Being first home owner, we were very particular about having the right balance of making our dream home a reality, and at the same time not blowing our budget. We met 5+ ID firm before deciding to go ahead with Johnny as we have the impression that he is the most on the ball ID. The price he quoted us was also very competitive. We are happy that finally now our home is completed and we've been staying in it for a couple weeks. There are of course minor challenges here and there during renovation works, some things sometimes overlooked by the workers, but Johnny responded quickly always, and he did his best to fix and accommodate every time. Thank you PHD Posh Home Design !

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are PHD Posh Home Design's reviews like?

Based on 54 reviews left for PHD Posh Home Design, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.66. Read homeowners’ reviews of PHD Posh Home Design.

Where is PHD Posh Home Design's showroom?

PHD Posh Home Design has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in Central and West. See all of PHD Posh Home Design's showroom addresses.

Is PHD Posh Home Design an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

PHD Posh Home Design is currently not an HDB-registered firm. They do however work with sub-contractors licensed by HDB. You may want to check with the interior firm for more information.

It is also not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is PHD Posh Home Design popular among homeowners?

4 homeowners have recently enquired with PHD Posh Home Design for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with PHD Posh Home Design.

Is PHD Posh Home Design a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, PHD Posh Home Design was accredited the Supertrust badge in 2020.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by PHD Posh Home Design?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by PHD Posh Home Design (in the past year) are S$57,500 for HDB and S$125,000 for Condo.
4 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Why Qanvast