Starry Homestead

Starry Homestead

18 Boon Lay Way #01-101, Tradehub 21, Singapore 609966

+ 2 more showrooms

The firm has experience in maisonette, loft units and commercial units.
Cherelle Lim
My Biggest Nightmare.

Reviewed by Cherelle Lim・Submitted 30 Oct 2019・Project completed Oct 2019・Designer Amy

Additional woes after moving in (updated on 23 August 2020) I've already written a review below and this is on top of what I had experienced during move in. I've moved in for only more than half a year, and the laminate on kitchen cabinet is already coming off. The lighting in my master dropped off. And, I got a second opinion about the backsplash where I was charged 950 but they did not even bother to hack off the old tiles and just do an ugly overlay job... basically, it is not even something acceptable in this industry and the ID also, probably on purpose, asked the worker to split the tiles into two pieces before overlaying behind my tap. Cause how else would a one large piece tiles became two? [4th edit - Formaldehyde in unhealthy levels found in carpentry] Writing this more 3 months after move in. I continued to experience burn sensation in my eyes so I got a formaldehyde sensor. Indeed, the amount of just a small drawer was at unhealthy level - DOUBLE the avg amount accepted by Euro standard. I just want to add this update to caution fellow home owners to be selective with their reno company and ask abt this because it is really very bad for your health. [3rd edit - 1 month plus after move in] I am editing this once again and this time, I will not mince my words. It started off with a bad experience due to being led into signing LOI with low prices but when it was time to sign the final quotation a day before work starts, I was told the quotation was "wrongly quoted". Till now, more than a month after I moved in I continued to be plaque by bad workmanship. Today, I found another chip which led me to find out that they did not use sealant to seal the gaps between the two laminates that joint the kitchen cabinets just because it cannot be seen. Any experienced contractors will know to use sealants to seal that up due to insect and moisture (just Google this and also checked with friends who did kitchen reno recently) and I just decided I've been too kind to adjust my review earlier just because the project manager asked me to help them. USE STARRY HOMESTEAD AT YOUR OWN RISK... [2nd edit] They've made good of all the issues and everything looks fine now (about a week after moving in). Emily, Rex's manager even came by and apologise for the issues and further inspect to make sure very thing is fine. I really appreciate all the efforts here and for this, I've improved my ratings slightly. :) [Edited] Rex, the manager stepped in today and basically overtake the entire project. Just within one day, he turned around most of the issues I brought up below. Thank you Rex and I really appreciate all the hard work on your part. I see you doing some of touch ups yourself and I am truly amazed by what you were able to achieve just in 1 day to turn around the bad situation. For Rex, I am rating 5 stars for professionalism and project management. --------------------------------------- Today is my moving in day and below is what happened supported with photos. - base of kitchen drawers were all made of substandard plywood (not the same thickness as the sides and shelves). I applied some pressure and it Caved in. - I chose Jennings gloss white lamitech and was even given a sample of it. They applied lamitak white gloss (which is an off white color and not the pure white I chose) and installed all of it (ID did not even flag). The change resulted in a 1 week delay to my project. - found more than 10 knocks and chips on the surface combined just in my kitchen - ID bait you to sign on the contract with a very good promising price and a day before we sign off the final quotation, I was told of price increases because "sorry I made a mistake". I paid 26k to do just kitchen, a platform bed, L box and this was after I escalated to their manager. They wanted to charge almost 29k initially. - really bad finishing E. G I cut my finger when I run it by the edge if the platform bed. The joint lines in my kitchen cabinets are nearly 2mm wide. - we already shown them a photo of a lego display cabinet we wanted to do since day 1. Fairly simple with glass doors and shelves. On the week before the carpentry work is supposed to begin, they told us there will be price increase for the glass shelves (185/piece). We accepted as we don't want to drag our timeline further. One day before they were to start carpentry work for the display cabinet, they say because the glass shelves do not have support, they need to add tracks which is another $265. - they quoted for full height mirror and mirror on 3D render is without any joint lines. Even stated on their own hand writing on the render that it will be full height, but the day before they were supposed to install, they told me there will be joint lines and that they proposed to do 4 pieces of mirror pieced together. I did not accept and had to continue to push on before we finally agreed to 2 piece which still fits within the lift. Till today, my mirror is still not up. Not to mention many other problems like uneven patch work on walls and ceiling that they charged for, holes on the sides of downlight, paint on door frame wasn't painted double coat and some parts like behind the hinge wasn't painted at all. And now, after 1 month of takeover of unit, my kitchen is missing cabinet doors, broken drawers, missing quartz, uneven walls and ceiling require massive replaster job...

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Starry Homestead
Starry Homestead is an innovative interior design firm founded in Singapore. With experience spanning across residential projects, retail shops and business offices. Their dedicated professional design team pays attention to every client’s needs and preferences, optimising spatial design and functionality in a space. West Showroom - Head Office: 18 Boon Lay Way #01-101, Tradehub 21, Singapore 609966 East Showroom: 140 Paya Lebar Road #01-01, AZ@Paya Lebar, Singapore 409015 Central Showroom: 511 Balestier Road, Singapore 329849
Read More
View all 189 projects ›

Rating

4.6
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.7 / 5
Workmanship4.4 / 5
Project Management4.6 / 5
Design4.6 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB27S$ 42,777.78S$ 68,500.00
3-Room1-S$ 43,000.00
4-Room6S$ 63,000.00S$ 49,250.00
5-Room14S$ 39,500.00S$ 62,000.00
Condo5S$ 26,000.00S$ 71,333.33
2 Bedrooms3-S$ 71,333.33
3 Bedrooms1S$ 15,000.00-
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
S
5* service from Tim!

Reviewed by Samantha・Submitted 7 Mar 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Timonthy Ong

We met Tim by chance when we visited Starry Homestead at Balestier to get a quotation. He left a positive first impression as he was sincere and it was easy speaking to him. Throughout the renovation, Tim would always take the initiative to provide us with updates and constantly made us feel that our house was left in good hands. When we were choosing tiles, furnitures, or fittings, we could always turn to him for advice. Tim is patient, and someone who would always go the extra mile for us. Even after moving in, Tim would try to pick out tiny imperfections and try his best to rectify them whenever he visited for some touch ups. He didn't mind getting his hands dirty by doing the patching work for us! Tim is consistent throughout the entire renovation journey. He takes pride in his work and we are very lucky to have found him! It was a pleasant experience working with him! We would definitely recommend Tim if you are looking for a committed and responsible ID.

Read More
Neville Chua Yq
Great Work!

Reviewed by Neville Chua Yq・Submitted 9 Feb 2021・Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Ashton

Our experience with Ashton was amazing overall. He was contientious and had great design acuity. Ashton was actually our 2nd designer from starryhomestead as we had a horrendous experience from our first. That aside, he took over the project quickly and listened to our opinions carefully. In terms of design, he suggested great ideas that are innovative and groundbreaking. Not just something you can plug off google images or from past designs. He listens to our endless demands and goes the extra mile. He also made many changes to any carpentry defects we were not satisfied with and that im extremely thankful for. Workmanship was great. Esp tiling. We had a section of the house where many IDs told us was impossible to tile but starry did it seamlessly. Customer service was good by ashton. He replied our messages even late into the midnight and his committment to his craft is applaudable. He clarifies our doubts patiently. In terms of value for money, i wouldn't say starry is the cheapest in the market but they are reasonably priced. Overall, we had a good experience with ashton. Thanks ashton!

Read More
Ng Cheong Kiat Michael
Smooth Sailing Transition from Semi-D To Condo
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Ng Cheong Kiat Michael・Submitted 6 Feb 2021・Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Nicky NG

Nicky is the best design and project manager we have worked with. She impressed us from day 1 with her experienced project milestones explanation that allayed fears of slippages thru reasonable timescales estimations. Additionally her design concepts fit our floor area having downsized from a 6.5k sq ft net floor area semi-d to a condo of 1.7k floor area without compromising on our high-end requirements balanced against practicality. Nicky then won us with her experience on materials selections and very reasonable pricings. There was no Variation to Work Orders becoz she was backed by a team of very dedicated experienced contractors that she must have partnered with thru seemingly countless projects becoz the synergy was highly visible. Any departures from original design/materials contemplation was corrected quickly with good workmanship - her patience and cheerful demeanor invited our involvement with her for a desired outcome. We now have our dream home! We will not hesitate to recommend Nicky and Starry Homestead to our friends and family. And Nicky is the face that represents Starry Homestead and her team of contractors.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Starry Homestead's reviews like?

Based on 126 reviews left for Starry Homestead, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.56. Read homeowners’ reviews of Starry Homestead.

Where is Starry Homestead's showroom?

Starry Homestead has 3 showrooms in Singapore, mainly in North-East, East, Central and West. See all of Starry Homestead's showroom addresses.

Is Starry Homestead an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Yes, Starry Homestead is an HDB-registered firm and is under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme. For more information, refer to this page on the Casetrust accreditation scheme.

Is Starry Homestead popular among homeowners?

120 homeowners have recently enquired with Starry Homestead for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Starry Homestead.

Is Starry Homestead a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Starry Homestead was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2016 to 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Starry Homestead?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Starry Homestead (in the past year) are S$59,926 for HDB and S$53,200 for Condo.
120 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$30,000.
Why Qanvast