The Scientist

The Scientist

This firm’s portfolio is not available on Qanvast.
Mark Khaw
Excellent ID And Highly Professional
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mark Khaw・Submitted 16 Jun 2019・Project completed Jun 2018・Designer Alvin Ling And Krystle Teoh

We shortlisted Scientist out of 3 ID proposals because we liked their design proposal, technical capabilities and mood board presentation. They were very patient and accommodating and were very honest in sharing their sub-contractors and carpentry capabilities. This gave us confidence in their workmanship quality and technical capabilities from the beginning. We also felt very comfortable working with Alvin and Krystle. They are very meticulous and spent many hours working through every single detail with us. We also like the fact that they considered our ideas and discussed technical complications and came up with great solutions. Every detail was prepared properly into drawings. They were also very patient as we spent many trips to Hafary to select the right tile combinations. The team is also excellent in project planning. The project completed almost exactly to their plan, which was important as we had a fix date to move in. We also like that they are very current in their design ideas as well as sourcing for unique materials. We were introduced to very unique variety of knobs and handles, fittings, furniture pieces and lighting accessories. They are also very prompt in fixing issues during construction and even after handover. We had couple of post handover discovery which was fixed very promptly even a few months after handover. The overall process with Scientist was very enjoyable and we are very impressed with the professionalism and quality from Alvin and Krystle. This is a highly recommended ID.

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
Mark Khaw
Excellent ID And Highly Professional
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mark Khaw・Submitted 16 Jun 2019・Project completed Jun 2018・Designer Alvin Ling And Krystle Teoh

We shortlisted Scientist out of 3 ID proposals because we liked their design proposal, technical capabilities and mood board presentation. They were very patient and accommodating and were very honest in sharing their sub-contractors and carpentry capabilities. This gave us confidence in their workmanship quality and technical capabilities from the beginning. We also felt very comfortable working with Alvin and Krystle. They are very meticulous and spent many hours working through every single detail with us. We also like the fact that they considered our ideas and discussed technical complications and came up with great solutions. Every detail was prepared properly into drawings. They were also very patient as we spent many trips to Hafary to select the right tile combinations. The team is also excellent in project planning. The project completed almost exactly to their plan, which was important as we had a fix date to move in. We also like that they are very current in their design ideas as well as sourcing for unique materials. We were introduced to very unique variety of knobs and handles, fittings, furniture pieces and lighting accessories. They are also very prompt in fixing issues during construction and even after handover. We had couple of post handover discovery which was fixed very promptly even a few months after handover. The overall process with Scientist was very enjoyable and we are very impressed with the professionalism and quality from Alvin and Krystle. This is a highly recommended ID.

Read More
Linus Ang
Recommended for Uniqueness
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Linus Ang・Submitted 16 Jun 2019・Project completed Apr 2019・Designer Shyn Sum

Before Renovation: We were searching for a designer that can come up with a concept that is not just unique from most others but also willing to explore a colour palette that is not conservative, particularly not to include white and wooden tones. We came across The Scientist Interior when they were featured for their design by one of the social media pages. At that point in time, we knew The Scientist Interior should be able to achieve the concept we have in mind. Upon contacting them, we were introduced to our assigned ID, Shyn Sum. Before we were sure about The Scientist Interior, Shyn was patient with us, sharing different ideas and concepts to compliment what we have in mind. Her response to our queries was prompt. She also advised us on what are some of the concepts that may not be practical in the long run and would only be aesthetically pleasing. Despite this, she was able to provide alternatives that could fulfil both aspects while keeping in mind of our budget. After much consideration, we decided to let her handle our renovation. During Renovation: The process was really smooth, without any delay. The impression that she gave was that the entire renovation was well-planned and organised. At various stages of the renovation, she would update us with photos and seek our opinions to ensure that everything was going according to what we had discussed. Site visits were also welcomed to explain why certain approaches were taken to realise the plan in mind. During the process, we had many queries and she was able to address them promptly and clearly. In addition, our requests for rectifications and changes were also promptly addressed. After Renovation: To date, Shyn remains prompt in answering our queries and providing after-sales support. She is definitely not like some designers out there that fades off as time passes by after job completion. In fact, she also provides us with tips on cleaning some parts of the flat. Summary: In overall, we can see that Shyn is a young but passionate designer with a positive learning attitude. Her promptness in response and creativity in design within budget are qualities that make us not regretting choosing The Scientist Interior. For those wanting to be different, The Scientist Interior should definitely be in your list of consideration.

Read More
Michelle
Excellent ID and Workmanship
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Michelle・Submitted 15 May 2019・Project completed Jan 2019・Designer Shyn

It has been a long awaited dream to have a place of our own. When we finally bought our humble abode, it was was time to find an interior designer to create our dream home. I have been following The Scientist’s project for awhile and it didn’t take long for me to decide to call them for a discussion. It was however not easy to secure an appointment with them but I persevered. When I got to meet Shyn, an interior designer from The Scientist, she impressed me as someone who has a good head on her shoulders and able to balance practicality with whimsical design ideas. Of two shortlisted interior design firms, I decided to go with Shyn from The Scientist. It is probably the best decision I made with regard to our house renovation. The renovation process was very exciting and dynamic. Shyn is such a joy to work with! As with most house renovation projects, ours was not without unexpected challenges but Shyn always took things in her stride and calmly navigated the whole renovation journey. What I appreciated most was her attention to details, professionalism and great ability to transform our design ideas into reality. Even when the house renovation has ended, she would take time to attend to our questions and requests, and always going the extra mile despite her busy schedule. My husband and I absolutely love our house. We have been recommending Shyn and The Scientist to our friends who are looking for a reliable, creative and passionate interior designer/firm to embark on their house renovation journey.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review