Urban Design House

Urban Design House

This firm’s portfolio is not available on Qanvast.
Gina Lim
DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICE OR U WILL REGRET

Reviewed by Gina Lim・Submitted 11 Jan 2019・Project completed Jul 2018・Designer Kent Tan (Sales and Design Manager)

I renovated my new condo mid last year. I had really regretted using the service of URBAN DESIGN HOUSE located along Balestier Road. I had told the designer, KENT TAN, that this is a very rush job as I have only one month to let him complete the renovation. He assured me over and over again that one month is more than sufficient. He also assured me that their company will only used quality items and ensure good workmanship. Renovation was done in July 2018 and disaster started. I have to EMPHASISE that all problems started because of this IRRESPONSIBLE designer. I will only mention a few major mistakes here. During the one month renovation, I was there daily to check on the work and I have only seen the designer there ONCE during the whole month. (He was there to buy food for the workers, get my cheque and left) Apparently, his communication with his workers are so bad that everything went wrong. Right from the painting, carpentry, marble polishing, parquet polishing, ceiling, lightings, etc. 1) Painting - Very little protection sheets used and the painter splashed paint everywhere (including the staircase) - Masking tape was not taped properly on the side skirt causing paint to peel every time we clean - Indoor paint was used on the balcony and every time it rains, pain peel off and drop all over the floor - Painter dripped paint on the floor and other places but did not clean off - Painters would paint for 5 mins and sit outside the main door to rest for 10 mins, then carry on. - I have told Kent Tan that I do not want this batch of painters to paint for me anymore but he ignored my complaints and kept sending them back one by one, thinking that I will not recognize them. - Because the designer is not around to tell them what to do, I had to do the job. The painters were not cooperative and kept complaining and telling me they will not do the job. 2) Marble Polishing - The polishing was so bad, it seems like the surface wasn't polished at all. (Amount refunded) 3) Parquet Polishing - I really don't know much on renovation and did not know if one should polish the parquet floor first then install the carpentry or the other way round. Apparently, this designer had decided to polish floor last - Problems came. I had custom made a bed with 8 legs and after the parquet polishing, the areas with the bed legs were not polished. It is so unsightly. - Carpentry work such as TV console, wardrobe, etc had lots of vanish stained at the bottom 4) Carpentry work - They left a gap of about 5mm on all custom made furniture and silicon the bottom because bits and pieces of wood were stuck at the bottom and is very unsightly. They used silicon to cover it up but most of the silicon started peeling in less than 3 MONTHS. There are more mistakes I do not want to bring up here. 5) Lightings - Designer calculated the length of the LED lights wrongly and hence, I am still waiting for the stock of the driver till now 6) False ceiling - Started to crack within 3 MONTHS. Designer kept arranging workers to touch up but can't work. (The very first time, designer KENT TAN suggested using the simplest and easiest method, (silicon). After applying the silicon, it crack again within ONE MONTH) 7) Designer (KENT TAN) - As I have mentioned, he is hardly around to make sure that his workers are doing the right things. Even after all these mistakes, guess what he did - He arranged his workers to come over, DID NOT tell them and problems and DID NOT COME OVER. He gave my numbers to the workers and told every one of them to contact me instead. (As though Urban Design House pay me salary). What's more, when I gave him a time, ie. 2-5pm, he would tell his workers to come anytime between this time). That means, there are workers reaching at 2pm and some at 4pm+. I had to clean the house over and over again because of this - After telling him to bring his own cleaning equipments like vacuum cleaner, broom, mop, etc; he came with only ONE piece of cloth. - He assured me of good workmanship BEFORE I sign the contract, after all payments please see KENT TAN’s reply: "As for workmanship no one can guarantee ,all are handworks & labour works. But I m trying my best to solve the issue for u already.no one can guarantee all the worker won't happen any mistake or wrong .please be patient as I m no push away or finding excuse for all your request. I was actually trying to match your convenient & settle to issue for u too.” - I have also told Kent Tan that I am not comfortable with the Malay painters and hope he can send a Chinese painter instead. He rejected me saying that his company only works with Malay painters. In fact, I told him to get other painters after seeing how this batch of painters work but Kent will still send the same painters. I have to bear with his again this coming Wednesday on 16 Jan 2018. I have all the chats saved in my phone. Can produce screen shots when necessary. I have paid them over S$50,000 for the renovation work, excluding, furniture, lights, curtains, etc. for a 2-bedroom condo and gotten lots of headache because of this designer. I urge all of you not to use their service. Fyi, I have done a renovation work with Ciseern few years back and they did not even have to come back once after the renovation. Regret not using them again. But again, that designer, John, had left the company.

project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
project-upload
Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
KK
Renovation progress

Reviewed by KK・Submitted 4 Jan 2020・Project completed Dec 2019・Designer C

Our experience with urban design wasn’t pleasant and it could be better. We only renovated the living room and our master bedroom but the renovation took almost 3 months instead of the initial planning of 1 month. It stressed me so much that I feel aged and grow lot of white hair during the process of renovation. I can’t sleep well and I don’t understand the way they handle the work. We have to follow up with the ID on the progress on the renovation. My hubby and I am working so the reason to engage an ID co so we can relax and ensure work are done properly and we don’t have to stress over it. But we are the one who go to the site to oversee it most of the time. The waiting time for the carpenter is long and we have to wait for weeks for urban design to arrange the carpenter to come over! All the wait delay our renovation and moving in! People will think we should be relax and let them handle the renovation but it’s hard when we realised 1. The ID gave the wrong laminates code to the carpenter and resulting in using the wrong laminates. 2. the design for the living room shoes cabinet and display cabinet is different from 3D. All these added time as amendment required. Our renovation start in Sep 2019. We are still waiting for urban design to arrange the carpenter to come for touch up.

Read More
qihui
Loft unit in modern style with an oriental twist
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by qihui・Submitted 1 Sep 2019・Project completed Jul 2019・Designer Cherrie

The modern oriental style is not something that most designers are used too. In addition, I was not too keen to affect the furnishing provided by the developer. With these constraints in mind, I turned to Qanvast to recommend designers whom may be able to do so within my budget. I’m was very glad to meet Cherrie through Qanvast. Before our first meeting, she reached out to me to find out my design vision and preference. I was pleasantly surprised that she was able to suggest a layout plan and shared reference photos to verify what I had in mind during our first meeting. Working was Cherrie and her team was a breeze. With my requirements in mind, it only took us 1 round of edits to get to the 3D drawings which I was satisfied with. I’m similarly impressed by her project management skills. With my loft unit, a scaffolding is required for the works. And this needs to be coordinated between painters, carpenters, electricians and even my zip blinds contractor. Not an easy task for sure! Overall, the renovation works took about 4-5 weeks. This is within the estimated 6 weeks which Cherrie has first committed to me. With this, I was able to achieve my objective of moving in before the lunar 7th month. The end results of the renovation was amazing. And it far exceeded any expectations I had from the start and surprisingly within the budget that I’ve set. Well done to Cherrie and her team and thank you for the efforts that you have put in (really appreciate it!) and the attention to details (would have otherwise be missed out by me!)

Read More
YL
Great Service and Renovation Experience - Highly Recommended!
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Yong Lyu・Submitted 23 Aug 2019・Project completed May 2019・Designer Teyos Tay

We got to know Urban Design House through referral by Qanvast and they clearly stood out amongst all the other 4 ID firms we met - Thanks to the professionalism and great service of our ID, Tayos. Their quotation may not be the cheapest but the quality of work, service and also warranty that comes with it make the choice very worthwhile. Tayos is very smart and spent time to understand our requirements and expectation. He is always very candid in sharing his advice to our ideas so that the final design can be optimized with the combination of aesthetics, functionality and practicality / cost. This is greatly valued by us as we want to have an experienced ID that can help us to improve our initial renovation ideas, rather than someone who simply takes our view and gets it straight to drawings / plans. He kept us informed on the progress and responded to our questions and requests promptly despite of managing a few other projects at the same time. Whenever there was an issue / hiccup during the process, Tayos is always able to propose solutions to meet our needs, including sometimes changes and rectifications needed (pretty much unavoidable for renovation based on our prior experience across different places :-)). We are also quite happy with the strong commitment on timeline and budget by Tayos and his team. The workmanship is satisfactory as well and you receive 5-year warranty from completion. Now we have lived in our new home for a few months and this review is over-due - We want to sincerely thank Tayos and his team for a smooth and pleasant renovation experience. His professionalism and great service are highly appreciated. We will be happy to recommend Urban Design House and Tayos to anyone who is looking for an excellent and reliable ID for their project. All the very best with your renovation experience!

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review