Habit

Habit

23 Kampong Bahru Road #03-01 Singapore 169349

JY
Newton 18

Reviewed by Jonathan Yeo・Submitted 26 Dec 2020・Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena

Habit has designed a timeless home for our family incorporating function, design and beauty all on point! Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena were able to ask us all the right questions to discover our decorating style & needs, integrating with their expertise and bring the concept to life. After deciding and agreement upon the theme and design of the home, selection of down lights, accent lights and bathroom fittings were shortlisted based on the overall design of the home. We like Habit’s artistic ability to develop practical designs that looks great but yet also aesthetically pleasing and importantly has a style that lasts through the years We had a fuss free renovation experience with a superb post-handover service. The Habit Team’s follow up is exceptional and any queries or rectifications were promptly dealt with.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Habit
A design & build workshop
Read More
View all 56 projects ›

Rating

4.7
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.7 / 5
Workmanship4.7 / 5
Project Management4.7 / 5
Design4.7 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB5S$90,000.00S$121,666.67
5-Room4S$90,000.00S$121,666.67
Condo6S$95,000.00S$144,000.00
1 Bedroom1-S$70,000.00
3 Bedrooms3S$95,000.00S$217,500.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
K
Hotel by Habit on Clementi Avenue 3
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Kavee・Submitted 22 Mar 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Daniel, Lena, Yanling and Denise

As we went about our search for an ID, it looked like most IDs are out to close with discounting and a promise of better material. Most of the IDs we met were more interested in sharing the latest promotions they were running rather than taking the time to understand what we wanted. So we had to look deeper into who we are as a couple and what we wanted. The first thing we did was to acknowledge that we are not gifted in design and space planning. We were looking for an expert to help us design a very nice home. First Impressions It took a while for the Habit team to respond to us for an initial meeting. This was interesting as most IDs would rush to meet for an initial appointment. When we first met them it was clear that the Habit team was a breath of fresh air. They asked us a series of questions about lifestyle, family, intentions and budget. They did not propose anything and simply asked for some time while they worked out proposals for us to consider. They also asked us to send them a mood board of photos to help them understand us better. After about 4 weeks, they invited us back to their office. They shared 4 floor plan proposals that challenged how we saw the conventional ways a HDB house could be constructed. Their space planning was thoughtful and it became clear to us why they were asking all those questions during our first meeting. They really paid attention to our needs and wants as a young family. However, the team had set a budget expectation that was almost double what we had in mind. We had some thinking to do but really our hearts had decided for us. So we went with them. The Planning Phase - Circuit Breaker Our key collection was delayed due to the COVID-19 circuit breaker so we got to work on finalising the floor plans via zoom. This process took about 2 zoom meetings and a bit of back and forth. It was probably the hardest part of the renovation process as the Habit team does not provide 3D drawings. However, the manner in which space planning was conveyed to us communicated much more than what conventional 3D drawings would. The attention to detail in a 2D drawing was very deep. The Habit team were extremely detailed in their 2D drawings - each carpentry (i.e. the kitchen cabinets, isles, wardrobe, etc) had been drawn in various perspectives - front view, side view, back view). It was easier to visualise with some guidance from the team. They even did up a lighting plan that showcased how much of the house would be lit up. The Execution Phase Once we finalised the floor plans, the rest of the process was fairly painless. We met them twice to confirm flooring and tiling options and carpentry and laminate colours. The 2 meetings were structured and the team had prepared 2 options for us and shared their thought process. It was clear a lot of thought had been put in prior to our meeting and there were no surprise "top ups". Additional purchases (Lighting, Toilet Fixtures, Fans) The team at Habit work with a few trusted advisors who are domain specialists. The folks they recommended to us for the additional purchases were very professional and were able to guide us well. It also helps that the Habit team had done the legwork to recommend a few options for us to consider. Once we decided on the purchase, all we had to do was to foot the bill - the delivery, checking, coordination were taken care of by the team without any issues. Project Timeline and Completion The entire renovation process from start of hacking works to handover took just under 3 months. They did not give us a timeline or expectation of progress but at this point, we trusted that things would turn out well and it did. Upon handover, there was really nothing much that needed correction. Dollars and Cents The final bill vs the one we had signed up for varied ~3%. The initial quote we had signed up for had taken into consideration the type of tiles, flooring, countertops we needed to get the final outcome, the additional top ups were minor carpentry add-ons. Living in the space two months on We have now lived in the space for over 2 months and are happy with the choice we made. The overall experience working with the team, the quality of the outcome and feeling of coming home to a well designed home is worth it. We highly recommend the team and will not hesitate to engage their services for our future homes. Sincerely, Kavee & Felicia

Read More
M
First Rate Habit

Reviewed by Michael・Submitted 6 Jan 2021・Project completed Dec 2019・Designer Denise, Daniel & Yan Ling

When we were looking for an ID firm, we didn’t feel the need to approach more than one for two reasons. First, among the many design portfolios here, Habit made the biggest impression on us. Stylistically, we found their work to consistently reflect a contemporary and seamless refined look. Attitudinally, we were attracted because many of their projects had what I’d call a bit of a swagger about them. Not the showroom or pretentious kind but the understated, elusive kind with a touch of unpredictability. Attention to detailing - another key requirement for us - was also pretty evident in their own office setup. Second, we took the time to do our homework before embarking on our project - an important step in the process because it gave clarity to our brief and kind of ID we wanted. We thought about our previous homes, what we liked, didn’t, needed, scoured Pinterest and even made a mood-board of the look and feel we wanted for our new home. All that was then left was to deep-dive into the design portfolios here in Qanvast to find the closest ID match. So. There wasn’t a need to waste time approaching several ID firms or worse, mindlessly make a bunch of them put up proposals like a GE Biz tender. Worst way to engage creatives. The Habit team may have been surprised that we signed them up right after our first meeting but we weren’t, because their portfolio, attitude, personalities and enthusiasm with the brief were bang on target for us. In the weeks later, we were - pleasantly - bombarded with design ideas and layouts, followed by detailed plans for hacking, electricals, lighting, woodworking and what-not. We found the team to be always accessible and diligent in their management of the project. Yan Ling was the project gatekeeper, Denise the creative lead, Daniel the draughtsman and minder rolled into one, and Lena the support. They were constantly on the case, passionately ideas-driven, made sure that everything was on track, and paid close attention to the detailing work that evolved through the project. I recall a meeting in which Denise and Daniel debated a good 30 minutes about the ideal placement of a switch plate on our window ledge and another in which they both kept revising the design for one of the bathrooms until they were themselves satisfied that it was original and good enough to pass muster! Denise has a great and fussy eye for ideas (and loves matt black), Daniel is a passionate stickler for getting the details right, and Yan Ling offers a cool check-and-balance design head while also having an eye for super nice furniture. If you should end up with them as your ID, give them room to express their creativity and unpredictability and trust them. You’ll be pleasantly surprised how good they really are. Their commitment and professionalism were top class and we would not hesitate to use them again in the future. First-rate quality of ideas and work. Highly recommended.

Read More
JY
Newton 18

Reviewed by Jonathan Yeo・Submitted 26 Dec 2020・Project completed Nov 2020・Designer Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena

Habit has designed a timeless home for our family incorporating function, design and beauty all on point! Yanling, Denise, Daniel & Lena were able to ask us all the right questions to discover our decorating style & needs, integrating with their expertise and bring the concept to life. After deciding and agreement upon the theme and design of the home, selection of down lights, accent lights and bathroom fittings were shortlisted based on the overall design of the home. We like Habit’s artistic ability to develop practical designs that looks great but yet also aesthetically pleasing and importantly has a style that lasts through the years We had a fuss free renovation experience with a superb post-handover service. The Habit Team’s follow up is exceptional and any queries or rectifications were promptly dealt with.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Habit's reviews like?

Based on 46 reviews left for Habit, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.74. Read homeowners’ reviews of Habit.

Where is Habit's showroom?

Habit has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in Central. See all of Habit's showroom addresses.

Is Habit an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Habit is currently not an HDB-registered firm. They do however work with sub-contractors licensed by HDB. You may want to check with the interior firm for more information.

It is also not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Habit popular among homeowners?

51 homeowners have recently enquired with Habit for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Habit.

Is Habit a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Habit was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2016 to 2019.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Habit?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Habit (in the past year) are S$113,750 for HDB and S$135,833 for Condo.
51 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$50,000.
Why Qanvast