Space Atelier

Space Atelier

6 Harper Road, Leong Huat Building #05-07, Singapore 369674

M
Space Atelier built our dream home during a pandemic
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Mizna・Submitted 21 Jan 2021・Project completed Dec 2020・Designer Alex

A few months before we received the keys to our 3-room HDB BTO flat, we interviewed several IDs as it was very important to us to find an ID that would be able to realise our vision, communicate well and have a high personal standard of work. A few of them understood what we wanted, others tried to force/push their ideas and completely ignore our wishes. One was downright rude, by making us feel as if we didn't pass her test for the 'honour' of working with her. Ultimately we decided on Space Atelier as we found Alex to be sincere, practical, pleasant to work with and a fast worker. Alex first took the time to understand us, our lifestyle, our needs, and the possibilities/constraints of the space. He digested our brief and images from our Pinterest board, and quickly translated these into impressive visual 3D renders. He would respond quickly whenever we needed to clarify anything with respect to design, materials, or space-planning. We collaborated on many aspects of the design. While Alex had his own views and suggestions, he always listened and took into consideration our ideas and style preferences - often building on them or refining them further. If something was too impractical, he would tell is in a straightforward, yet patient way. When it came to picking the finishes and fixtures, I mostly knew what I wanted, but whenever I was unsure, I was able to discuss with Alex. In hindsight, I kind of wish I hadn't rushed through some of the choices, and would advise new homeowners to take their time and consider when in a showroom or looking at samples. Especially for countertop surfaces, try to go to the factory and see large slabs, instead of picking from small samples. But mine and Alex's haste was due to the air of urgency in the early days of Covid. The renovation began in February 2020 and was scheduled to finish in April 2020. Alex was coordinating the contractors very well and sending us photos of the progress. We made a few requests for changes, which he adapted to with no problem. Unfortunately the pandemic hit in March and due to the circuit breaker and the closing of borders (Alex then became stuck in Malaysia) the work came to a halt. Luckily our flat was already 70% complete and Alex remotely coordinated the contractors as much as he could so that we could move into a functional apartment in April, which we really appreciated. We kept in contact with Alex until he and his contractors could finally come back to Singapore and resume the reno in September 2020. It was worth the wait as the quality of the workmanship is superb. Every renovation, especially one as extensive as ours, is bound to have some hiccups. We appreciate that Alex was responsible and always quick to provide us with a solution. He guided us through our first home renovation, reassured us and eased our worries during a pandemic. We are very happy with Alex’s service, although a small suggestion to him would be to not rush during the materials selection stage. That said, we would highly recommend engaging Alex from Space Atelier for your upcoming renovation.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
Hide
About Space Atelier
Imagination inspires great design. Our goal is to capture the balance between dynamic design & functional home that reflects the homeowner's personality. With all our experience and expertise, we focus on creating clever designs that allow your home to look beautiful and fit your lifestyle requirements. Great design must be functional and easy to live-in every single day. West Showroom: 321 Alexandra Road, #02-28 Alexandra Central, Singapore 159971
Read More
View all 121 projects ›

Rating

4.6
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.7 / 5
Workmanship4.5 / 5
Project Management4.6 / 5
Design4.5 / 5

Experience

Property TypeProjectsAverage Cost (New)Average Cost (Resale)
HDB10S$ 52,700.00S$ 96,750.00
3-Room1-S$ 53,000.00
4-Room2S$ 52,000.00S$ 140,000.00
5-Room3S$ 57,100.00S$ 108,000.00
Condo7S$ 37,400.00S$ 80,000.00
2 Bedrooms1S$ 13,000.00-
3 Bedrooms5S$ 43,500.00S$ 120,000.00
The information is based on the projects we received in the past year and may not represent the firm's full portfolio and capability.
Michael Yudistira
Kitchen renovation
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Michael Yudistira・Submitted 20 Feb 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Lesley

Lesley is organised, helped with scheduling and logistics a lot. Gives advice when requested and takes in my opinion too. Shows me the available options, pros, and cons. Comes down to my house for more critical work. Gives payment schedule and required information professionally. Gives receipts and concrete transactions professionally. Craftmanship of kitchen cabinet is good. Other works are to satisfaction. Only minor issue is that the whole thing took 5 weeks to complete, but with COVID + CNY it's understandable.

Read More
Sean Tan
Excellent work!

Reviewed by Sean Tan・Submitted 29 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer Jeff Gan

Good follow up on the whole project. Satisfied with the final project and worth on the money spent. Definitely will recommend more people and friends to approach Space Atelier and the ID for house renovation. From 3D drawing till the end, well communication with me to understand what I need and provide continuously update with photos on the work progress. This is very impression for me. I never met this service before in my past renovation.

Read More
Chay Chien Hong
Excellent service and workmanship
verified-reviewVerified Review

Reviewed by Chay Chien Hong・Submitted 28 Jan 2021・Project completed Jan 2021・Designer San

We have shortlisted Space Atelier after consulting 5 different IDs firm, and it turned out that it's the right choice! Despite the circuit breaker, the renovation process has been enjoyable and smooth. San has been very prompt in replying our queries and give practical/useful suggestions on the renovation. During the renovation process, he always keep us updated on the renovation progress. We really appreciate San's effort in going extra miles by providing us ideas and helping us in selecting furniture, curtains and all the accessories that match with the style/theme of the renovation. Despite all the challenges due to man power shortage and tight timeline, he managed to handover the house to us without comprising quality. The post renovation follow up process to rectify minor defects was smooth and fast as well! Overall, we are very happy with the excellent workmanship and final product. We would like to thank him for his professional advice and top class service. Highly recommend San.

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review
Featured In

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Space Atelier's reviews like?

Based on 146 reviews left for Space Atelier, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.58. Read homeowners’ reviews of Space Atelier.

Where is Space Atelier's showroom?

Space Atelier has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in North-East, East, Central and West. See all of Space Atelier's showroom addresses.

Is Space Atelier an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Space Atelier is currently an HDB-registered firm. It is however not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Space Atelier popular among homeowners?

45 homeowners have recently enquired with Space Atelier for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Space Atelier.

Is Space Atelier a reliable firm on Qanvast?

Yes, based on the reviews left by our community of homeowners who reviewed on our platform, Space Atelier was accredited the Supertrust badge from 2016 to 2021.

The Supertrust badge is awarded based on a couple of factors, such as the number of projects the firm has closed (i.e. homeowners can trust them with renovation projects), ranked within the top 15% firms, and garnered at least 10 positive verified reviews in that year.

It’s safe to say that these firms are approved by homeowners, like you!

What is the average renovation cost on the projects completed by Space Atelier?

The average renovation costs of projects completed by Space Atelier (in the past year) are S$70,320 for HDB and S$49,571 for Condo.
45 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$10,000. You will not be eligible for the Qanvast Guarantee as this firm is not subscribed to Qanvast’s recommendation service.
Space Atelier is currently unavailable to take on new projects.

View Similar Firms