Bowerman

Bowerman

5 Lorong Bachok Singapore 387782

Kevin Lee
Great plan & design but failed in the details & customer support

Reviewed by Kevin Lee・Submitted 13 Sep 2020・Project completed Dec 2017・Designer Ian

The planning and design of our flat was good for the most part. Things were great until we started seeing the final product and quality of work from the contractor appointed by Bowerman after the renovations were complete. Flooring was uneven, tiles weren't even flat in some areas but sunk into the ground. Rain water leaking into to the house through the walls because of bad waterproofing. Poor electrical work led to power outages at our place every week. Had to hire our own electrician to rewire certain parts of the house to fix this issue. We had AC water leaking into the below HDB with the tenants below complaining so we had to reroute the tubing at our own expense. Poor installation of our sink mixer taps have become loose in less than a year. In the end the ball was thrown to us to manage most of these mishaps from the contractor and Bowerman did little to support us in this area as we saw more and more issues arise.

Professionalism
Workmanship
Design
Project Management
company-logo
Response from Bowerman

Dear Mr. Lee,

We are regretful that the said main contractor recommended did not meet your expectation. After the stipulated warranty period, although our attempts to facilitate alternative solutions were met with your objections, we were still trying to resolve the issues that you encountered. Since 2018, the said main contractor is no longer in our panel. Nevertheless, we appreciate the feedback given and it is valuable to improve ourselves as well as the service we provide.

Kind regards,

Ian Lai

Hide
About Bowerman
Firm expertise: The firm has experience in maisonette and loft units, commercial units and A&A works. The firm also has in-house carpenters, and handles interior styling services. --- Bowerman is a boutique interior firm that handles both interior designing and styling. This firm do charge design consulting fee. The fee ranges from $500 to $2000 depending on the budget of the renovation. The fee will be part of the final designer fee once we are commissioned. Deliverable of design fee includes: - Design conceptualisation - Space planning - 3D modelling with home styling - Basic lighting plan with suggested light fixture - Furniture selection - Mood board Fees collected are not refundable
Read More
View all 21 projects ›

Rating

4.7
Based on reviews left by homeowners
Professionalism4.7 / 5
Workmanship4.5 / 5
Project Management4.7 / 5
Design4.8 / 5
Tony Tan
Sembawang Cottage by Bowerman - A piece of art that functions like a home

Reviewed by Tony Tan・Submitted 18 Mar 2021・Project completed May 2019・Designer Ian

The transformation journey of our renovation project from sketches to auto cad drawings to the final product with Ian without a better word, was simply a awesome and fruitful experience. Then after scouting talking to a few interior design & renovation firms, we finally settled with Bowerman. We met Adreae (Sales) and was later introduced to Ian (the Designer) on separate occasions. There were no hard sell from both but an exchange of expectations and tossing of ideas. At that point my wife Julie and I were contemplating to renovate our HDB 5A Maisonette. After a few burning candles nights I guessed, Ian came back with his proposal. Our jaws literally dropped when Ian proposed to shift the guest toilet on ground level behind the newly created walls of the living room and accessing only from the balcony. What? As he continues to present more about his other renovation ideas of the unit...what? wow! what?.. The finished impression by Ian was simply brilliant! However after some serious considerations on the investment returns and future plans, we decided to drop the plan and relook at renovating the second home for a better return in the longer run (freehold). Naturally we expected Ian to react cold and disappointed with our decision. Instead to our surprise, he said "understand, let's go have a look!". We were utterly impressed by his professionalism. As in any proceedings to renovate an apartment, we went through every little details, many weekends to view materials, lighting fixtures and even small big furniture. Aside the professionalism as a designer, what come out strongest was Ian's ability to incorporate our ideas and sharing of love-to-have images into his design concepts, without compromising his and our expectation so nicely. From my personal experiences of working on company's renovation projects, I understand the reluctance and resistance from contractors whenever a change request and rectifications work is required. Ian took upon himself to proactively facilitate and smoothen the entire process whenever such needs and situations crops up. Although the entire project took longer than the prescribed timeline, but we gladly accepted as we knew it was going to become our better home for a long long time. And the finished results were indeed a million dollar outcome. All of us loved the house so much. The 7 fleets of stairs were tormenting for many who visited our home. But all walked out commenting that our apartment was worth the every step to visit. Thanks Ian for all you have done for us and I am certain many others whom had their home transformed by you would say the same. Keep up the passion of good designing soulful spirit and help make more residence the home unique and exclusive.

Read More
C
Bowerman Is An Embodiment Of A Dream House

Reviewed by Christine Lim・Submitted 9 Feb 2021・Project completed Sep 2019・Designer Chris Huang

This review is long over due. Praises of our house from visitors and relatives always reminded me to write a honest review and here I am today. In pursuit of our dream home, my wife and I sieved through countless of Designers in vain and then we met Chris from Bowerman. Chris and his team somehow have this “magic connection” when you try to articulate your ideals of a dream house. They are able to comprehend and execute on point. Being able to deliver within our budget made the journey all the more memorable. Inevitably, there will be speed bumps along the way just like any other renovation works. What we deemed important is when an ID is able to resolve the issues promptly without incurring additional costs. In this aspect, Chris and his team exceeded our expectations. Words cannot do justice what it feels like working with Bowerman. I could only conclude by saying that if you are looking for an ID who can execute what you have in mind, I highly recommend you approach Bowerman.

Read More
Kevin Lee
Great plan & design but failed in the details & customer support

Reviewed by Kevin Lee・Submitted 13 Sep 2020・Project completed Dec 2017・Designer Ian

The planning and design of our flat was good for the most part. Things were great until we started seeing the final product and quality of work from the contractor appointed by Bowerman after the renovations were complete. Flooring was uneven, tiles weren't even flat in some areas but sunk into the ground. Rain water leaking into to the house through the walls because of bad waterproofing. Poor electrical work led to power outages at our place every week. Had to hire our own electrician to rewire certain parts of the house to fix this issue. We had AC water leaking into the below HDB with the tenants below complaining so we had to reroute the tubing at our own expense. Poor installation of our sink mixer taps have become loose in less than a year. In the end the ball was thrown to us to manage most of these mishaps from the contractor and Bowerman did little to support us in this area as we saw more and more issues arise.

company-logo
Response from Bowerman

Dear Mr. Lee,

We are regretful that the said main contractor recommended did not meet your expectation. After the stipulated warranty period, although our attempts to facilitate alternative solutions were met with your objections, we were still trying to resolve the issues that you encountered. Since 2018, the said main contractor is no longer in our panel. Nevertheless, we appreciate the feedback given and it is valuable to improve ourselves as well as the service we provide.

Kind regards,

Ian Lai

Read More
Completed your renovation with this firm? Write a review

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Bowerman's reviews like?

Based on 19 reviews left for Bowerman, the firm achieved an average rating of 4.68. Read homeowners’ reviews of Bowerman.

Where is Bowerman's showroom?

Bowerman has 1 showroom in Singapore, mainly in East. See all of Bowerman's showroom addresses.

Is Bowerman an HDB-registered or a Casetrust-accredited firm?

Bowerman is currently not an HDB-registered firm. They do however work with sub-contractors licensed by HDB. You may want to check with the interior firm for more information.

It is also not recognised under the Casetrust Renovation Business scheme.

If you would like additional assurance on the firm’s reliability, you may want to opt in for the Qanvast Guarantee, a free initiative to safeguard your renovation deposits when you engage an interior firm through our platform.

Is Bowerman popular among homeowners?

10 homeowners have recently enquired with Bowerman for their upcoming renovation project. Enquire with Bowerman.

10 people enquired recently
Submit an enquiry
Property Type
HDB
 
Property Status
New
 
Area Size (m²)
Budget (S$)
Keys Collected
Yes
 
This firm has a minimum budget requirement of S$100,000.
Why Qanvast